No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Rutland Hotel

4Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
452 Glossop Road , Sheffield, S10 2PY
Step into The Rutland and you will be instantly inspired by its eclectic charm, where traditional Victorian character and contemporary design seamlessly marry together. A truly unique hotel experience, The Rutland offers modern bedrooms with stunning design features, a warm and relaxed atmosphere, fresh local food, and an exceptional level of service that sets it apart from other, sometimes soulless, city centre properties.

Complete refurbishment of hotel reception area and meeting rooms completed early 2010, with rustic features, leather furniture and modern art.

Stay at The Rutland and you’ll discover an idyllic retreat, set in its own private landscaped gardens, away from the hustle and bustle of city life, yet just a short cab ride away from Sheffield’s vibrant centre and most fashionable haunts.

The hotel also offers free on site floodlit car park, complimentary wi-fi use throughout and our breakfast is a good full Yorkshire breakfast! Located with walking distance of Sheffield University, Sheffield Children's / Royal Hallamshire and Western Park hospitals and the Botanical gardens.
Picture of Rutland Hotel, Sheffield at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 57 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
76% recommended this accommodation to a friend 80% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Doesn't live up to the promotion.
Lots of stairs. Our room was a long way from reception. The bathroom was extremely cramped and it wasn't any where near as good as we expected. The breakfast was good though. We wouldn't stay again.

Reviewed by
Michael McNally

From Hebburn, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good breakfast, but small room for the money and kept awake by wedding party till after 4 am
The staff were good as was breakfast. However the room was very small for the money paid, and we were kept awake until after 4 am by a noisy wedding party.

Reviewed by
Kathryn P

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not clean hotel
Not very nice people working there??

Reviewed by
m chimuka

From England
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Functional accommodation and friendly staff. Whilst I'd stay here again and wouldn't want to put potential guests off I could also offer constructive criticism. Obviously money has been spent upgrading but room interior design has suffered in the hotel trying to be boutique, eg bathrooms are in effect wet rooms so floors remain soaking after showers. Colour scheme is predominantly brown so a bit like spending the night in a dark batcave. But ticks all necessary boxes for comfy bed, pleasant service etc.

Reviewed by
Janet R

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good stay at the Rutland
Hotel staff very polite and friendly on arrival and departure. Room was very good and clean. It was in walking distance to University and Bromhill.I booked this to see my son on his 21st, I would stay at this hotel again and tell my friends and family.

Reviewed by
Joyce M

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My husband and I stayed at the Rutland for 2 nights. The room was very cold and there was just cold air coming through the heating system. We reported this at reception on our way out for the evening. We were delighted to come back to a warm, cosy room. The second night it was just as cold again and we phoned reception and were told that they would see to it. Unfortunately, the heating did not get any warmer.
The bathroom lacks shelves or space to leave toiletries, etc. The floor was in need of a good clean, the grout was filthy and at least 3 tiles were cracked. Definitely not worth the 4* rating.

Reviewed by
mary m

From Dunfermline, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent service with very helpful staff
Very helpful staff especially. On arrival we found we had been given one room right at the top of the building and the other right down at the bottom (countless stairs in both cases). Being as we were one pensioner and the other partially disabled we asked if we could have comparable rooms nearer ground level. No problem. Reception relocated us immediately.

Reviewed by
Jean D

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable visit
The staff were very professional and friendly.
The food I found was to a very high standard.
The accommodation was clean and tidy with a very comfortable bed.

Reviewed by
Patck O'Hanlon

From Pontypridd, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review
Good value for money good facilities.

Reviewed by
C Watson

From Whitley Bay, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We used this hotel to stay overnight for our sons graduation at Sheffield university. Was perfect location about 10 minute stroll. Friendly staff nice rooms would use again

Reviewed by
L Liburd

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next