No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Harrowgate Hill Lodge

Self Classified Budget Hotel Ratings explained
Harrowgate Hill , Darlington, DL1 3AD
Previously known as the White Horse Hotel, the Harrowgate Hill Lodge is ideally situated to take advantage of the north east road system and national motorway network - 2 miles from A1M, situated on the main A167 road. Completely modernised throughout, the hotel provides high level comfort at affordable prices. The hotel has no bar or restaurant facilities, however there is a Sizzling Pub Company public house located to the front of the hotel. A continental breakfast is available at an extra charge.
Picture of Harrowgate Hill Lodge, Darlington at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 56 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
73% recommended this accommodation to a friend 77% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

basic but cheap
Arrived 1:00am to be told there was no record of a reservation for me and no room. After I found and showed the paperwork for my booking (including note of late arrival) a room was found for me. The 5:00am alarm call I requested came at 5:15 (lucky I was not relying on this).
Not impressed!

Reviewed by
A Hughes

From Spennymoor, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A One Night Stay I'm Happy to Repeat.
I booked my room as I travelled from York to Darlington for a work Christmas Party. Many colleagues stayed at the Travelodge. I wanted a hotel. Every Premier Inn is the same. Every Travelodge is the same. I wanted an independent hotel that has it's own personality and character. The Harrowgate Hill Lodge Hotel was welcoming, clean and I was looked after really well. I would recommend it to anyone. Their hospitality was excellent and I would stay there again.

Reviewed by
Alan C

From York, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Gosport Chelsea
Staff were so nice.

Reviewed by
p clark

From Lee on The Solent, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

harrogate hill
Nice clean room no complaints

Reviewed by
David Liddle

From York, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A good nights sleep for a cheap price
Have to say what a comfortable bed! Can't argue with the price. I had read the reviews so knew what to expect. Why not just add some croissants to the breakfast menu, otherwise advertise as tea, toast and cereal. Good budget hotel.

Reviewed by
Caroline W

From York, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money
Excellent value for money

Reviewed by
Kyle Travis

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money

Reviewed by
David Liddle

From York, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

well pleased
Stayed at this hotel a few times and well pleased for money we pay

Reviewed by
p wilkins

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I know its a budget hotel but cleanliness should still be kept to a high standard, the rooms are out dated and the bathrooms are aged and the showers are not very good, also they haven't fixed the lift and my kettle and hairdryer did not work. As for the women on reception she needs training, she doesn't seem to understand most people and doesn't not smile or make you feel welcome x

Reviewed by
Tracy T

From Stockton on Tees, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I'd call this a value for money venue
This site offers a bed for the night. The bed was comfortable, tea making facilities included full and skimmed milk. TV offers subtitles and the bathroom (yes bath) was clean, tidy.

Reviewed by
Daren C

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next