No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Harrowgate Hill Lodge

Self Classified Budget Hotel Ratings explained
Harrowgate Hill , Darlington, DL1 3AD
Previously known as the White Horse Hotel, the Harrowgate Hill Lodge is ideally situated to take advantage of the north east road system and national motorway network - 2 miles from A1M, situated on the main A167 road. Completely modernised throughout, the hotel provides high level comfort at affordable prices. The hotel has no bar or restaurant facilities, however there is a Sizzling Pub Company public house located to the front of the hotel. A continental breakfast is available at an extra charge.
Picture of Harrowgate Hill Lodge, Darlington at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 52 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
72% recommended this accommodation to a friend 77% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money

Reviewed by
David Liddle

From York, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

well pleased
Stayed at this hotel a few times and well pleased for money we pay

Reviewed by
p wilkins

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I know its a budget hotel but cleanliness should still be kept to a high standard, the rooms are out dated and the bathrooms are aged and the showers are not very good, also they haven't fixed the lift and my kettle and hairdryer did not work. As for the women on reception she needs training, she doesn't seem to understand most people and doesn't not smile or make you feel welcome x

Reviewed by
Tracy T

From Stockton on Tees, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I'd call this a value for money venue
This site offers a bed for the night. The bed was comfortable, tea making facilities included full and skimmed milk. TV offers subtitles and the bathroom (yes bath) was clean, tidy.

Reviewed by
Daren C

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to rest your head.
Good pub next door which has a large menu or just pop in for a night cap. Rooms are quite large and have a seated area with a small table. bathroom has a good over bath shower and the rooms were clean, sheets were soft and if you choose a room around the back quiet. Will be staying again when in that area.

Reviewed by
G PEAK

From Carshalton, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Terrible
The bathrooms are a disgrace especially around the bath and tiles. I would not let my children or myself take a shower.,had to move rooms at 11pm at night due to noisy bathroom fan. The whole place has a urine smell. Continental breakfast is choice of one cereal, toast and tea or,coffee. There is no yogurts or fruit as an option.

Reviewed by
Kevin Smith

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good value

Reviewed by
Sarah Candlin

From Leigh, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very run down - Needs updating
The hotel is one I had stayed at previously when visiting my son and his young family. At check in the receptionist/security guard was wearing casual shorts with a shirt which I didn't think looked very professional. Yes it was a warm night but it didn't look very smart.
The room was not very clean and there was mould growing up the wall next to the window. The window was screwed shut and as there was no air conditioning or fan it made the room very uncomfortable to sleep in.
There were plates and rubbish in some of the drawers too.
It is a real shame that the hotel has gone a bit downhill as only 2 years ago I stayed here and thought it was a lovely place. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Reviewed by
T Watson

From Chesterfield, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Does what it says on the tin :)
We arrived not expecting great things after reading several reviews but I have to say the stay was a pleasure. The guy on the desk was really nice and offered to carry our bags due to the lift not working. The room was clean, if in need of some TLC, the bed comfy and the shower was awesome. If you are looking for value for money and a place to lay your head then this ticks all the boxes.

Reviewed by
Michelle Morgan

From Bexhill on Sea, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

although hotel in the process of being renovated ..it did not affect our stay ..it was still clean and the staff friendly

Reviewed by
catherine m

From Kirriemuir, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next