No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Moorings Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Banavie , Fort William, PH33 7LY
The Moorings Hotel lies alongside the Caledonian Canal at the famous Neptune's Staircase. With splendid panoramic views of Ben Nevis and Aonoch Mor, The Moorings offers comfort and style coupled with the convenience of a modern hotel. Here you will receive a warm Highland welcome from the friendly staff, who maintain the highest standards enhanced by the personal touch. The hotel has benefited from an extensive upgrade of all facilities in recent times, along with the addition of 10 executive bedrooms, each with a superb outlook over the canal and mountains.Rest assured dining in the Neptunes Restaurant will be a pleasure. With award-winning cuisine brought to you in comfortable surroundings and unobtrusive service in a welcoming atmosphere. Guests can now enjoy free use of our fitness suite and a free round of golf at the local course which can be booked on arrival for you.
Picture of The Moorings Hotel, Fort William at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 13 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Scenic break
Good venue for exploring Highlands and break journey to Scottish Islands

Reviewed by
celia b

From Kidderminster, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous Hotel
Had already arranged to eat out but food looked fantastic. Excellent staff, beautiful room - will most definitely be back!

Reviewed by
S Mann

From Huntly, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Weekdnd
Thoroughly enjoyed our weekend at the Moorings, everyone at hotel very friendly, our superior room with canal and Ben Nevis views was very nice, food and Chilean Merlot in the bar was excellent!!

Reviewed by
Catherine Handley

From Prestwick, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dogs welcome with open arms! Great location.
We stayed for new year. We booked at the last minute and I trawled the web for ages trying to find somewhere that didn't have a compulsory new year package sign up. The moorings offered a reasonable B and B rate AND were willing to make the dug welcome. When we arrived we were shown to the room by the receptionist and the dug had a selection of treats laid out on a blanket. Lovely touch. The room was a tad small, but very warm and comfortable. The staff were very friendly and accomodating, even though the hotel was very busy. We had the New Years buffet which was nice and the breakfast was tasty. The hotel was very clean and our room was cleaned promtly. The property is positioned right next to neptunes staircase and away from the hustle and bustle of the of Fort William centre. There's a great local pub a 5 minute walk away called the Lochy.

Reviewed by
Mhairi T

From Broxburn, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Scotland at its Best!
The weather on our trip was dreadful but the welcome and service we received at The Moorings more than made up for it! The staff went out of their way to make sure we had an enjoyable time. We travel a lot both here and abroad and found this little gem of a hotel to be one of our best discoveries.We shall return!

Reviewed by
ian Hughes

From Beith, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Moored by Neptune's Staircase
Reception staff very friendly and helpful. Well equipped reasonably sized gym with water and towels available FOC. Clean and comfortable room with free wi-fi, bottled water and plenty of normal coffee, tea biscuits etc provided. A well situated hotel with fine views and pleasant walks nearby.

Reviewed by
I Laing

From Kelso, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very enjoyable
Very welcoming and friendly staff. Accommodation was as described and advertised. Room large & pleasant with generous bathroom (mirror not well placed and no shaving mirror). Comfortable bed though two twin beds together rather than genuine double. Excellent food, we ate at bar rather than dining room. Bar prices a little steep. Overall an excellent two days much enjoyed!

Reviewed by
j maclachlan

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An Amazing Stay at the Moorings
Excellent customer service that makes you feel welcome and at home. Staff are professional and friendly and nothing is too much trouble to suit your needs.
Great location and wonderful food. Overall a wonderful stay and look forward to returning in the future.

Reviewed by
k lynch

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable stay.
Friendly staff, pleasant accommodation, good food. Dog friendly.

Reviewed by
J Campbell

From Lossiemouth, Scotland
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good service not so good bar food
The rooms were excellent so was the service, the breakfast was good value but the bar meals were in the bar were over priced and so was the beer at £4.00 a pint and lager at £4.15p but over all a good place to stay.

Reviewed by
david gardner

From darlington, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next