No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Honest Lawyer Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
THE BRIDGE , DURHAM, DH1 3SP
Just 3 miles from Durham City Centre, the Honest Lawyer Hotel is a 3* hotel and AA rosette restaurant, ideally located for exploring County Durham, as well as being an ideal base for doing business in and around Durham City.

All of our rooms are en-suite with modern furnishings, LCD TVs, tea and coffee making facilities, as well as free wifi, which is also available in our public areas.

A full English and continental breakfast is served each morning between 7am and 9am weekdays and 8am until 10am weekends, with an extensive, locally sourced menu including healthy options such as Poached Eggs and Brown Toast.

Bailey’s Bar and Restaurant serve food all day, with a full a la carte menu which includes our famous North Sea Black Sheep Beer Battered Haddock & Chips, as well as Pan Fried Seabass and Corn Fed Chicken.

As well as all of the above, guests exploring County Durham receive a discount on entry to Beamish Museum, and Durham City is just a short bus ride from the hotel, with a number of buses going directly into the city stopping every 15 minutes.

The warmest of welcomes awaits you at The Honest Lawyer Hotel, we look forward to your arrival.
Picture of Honest Lawyer Hotel, DURHAM at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 140 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very enjoyable
Staff were fantastic. Allowed us to check in earlier as we arrived early and allowed us to park at hotel all day. Staff wrre more than happy to help with all of our quiries. I often use late rooms and this hotel looked nicer than the pictures given. Very modern and upmarket great value for money. Very homely and welcoming atmosphere. Bar and restaurant were very good. Only slight downside was the bath tap had slughtly dirty water when i turned it on. I think this was because the tap had not been used for a while. This was only a tiny problem which resolved itself almost immediately. Loved this hotel. Would happily stay here again in future!

Reviewed by
S Dawson

From Gateshead, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

cold room
only stayed here for overnight sleep-hotel bar/restaurant looked good although didnt use it. Road works by hotel a pain but not the hotels fault. Room was fairly basic with uncomfortable chairs ( basic brown wickerwork type ) but fine for purpose. Internet connection on wi fi was not good and poor signal. Bathroom freezing as radiator clap cold just towel rail warming it . Room itself chilly although was -5 C. Not keen on motel style but aware it was like this-didnt feel as safe as staying in normal hotel

Reviewed by
Russ G

From Pontefract, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Honest Lawyer Hotel
Nice place to stay for a short break.

Reviewed by
K Smith

From Chorley, England
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay - would definitely revisit
Fantastic hotel with friendly staff, food was absolutely outstanding and will definitely return.

Reviewed by
Claire A

From Billingham, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Warm, comfortable and welcoming.
Only drawback was a lot of noise from adjoining room, sounded like furniture removal ( not voices or TV)

Reviewed by
J Bain

From Darlington, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good for a couple of nights away
Room was part of the hotel's American motel style accommodation. Nice sized room, direct access from the car park to the room, though the proximity to the road can make it a little noisy. Doors to the rooms need to be shut quite firmly so doors slam when people arrive and leave. Beds were comfortable, good heating in room with easy control on radiator. Didn't try the food at the hotel (slept too late). Nice distance from Durham City centre, bus stop directly outside, or a park and ride service round the corner.

Reviewed by
James H

From Stockton on Tees, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous room, very clean, and very comfy bed! Would definitely recommend :)

Reviewed by
stephanie w

From Durham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Top class
Really had a great time. Food and staff where excellent

Reviewed by
I Brown

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

50 Year Reunion visit
Hotel more of a Motel than a hotel, rooms arranged around a courtyard at rear of Hotel main building. Rooms were clean and well equipped. Staff were friendly and courteous. Evening meal was good and was served promptly to a party of 6 even though we all ordered different meals. In all a good experience for my first visit there .

Reviewed by
Peter W

From Cockermouth, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Courtyard access is pleasant- no long corridors!

Reviewed by
Anthea W

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next