No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Honest Lawyer Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
THE BRIDGE , DURHAM, DH1 3SP
Just 3 miles from Durham City Centre, the Honest Lawyer Hotel is a 3* hotel and AA rosette restaurant, ideally located for exploring County Durham, as well as being an ideal base for doing business in and around Durham City.

All of our rooms are en-suite with modern furnishings, LCD TVs, tea and coffee making facilities, as well as free wifi, which is also available in our public areas.

A full English and continental breakfast is served each morning between 7am and 9am weekdays and 8am until 10am weekends, with an extensive, locally sourced menu including healthy options such as Poached Eggs and Brown Toast.

Bailey’s Bar and Restaurant serve food all day, with a full a la carte menu which includes our famous North Sea Black Sheep Beer Battered Haddock & Chips, as well as Pan Fried Seabass and Corn Fed Chicken.

As well as all of the above, guests exploring County Durham receive a discount on entry to Beamish Museum, and Durham City is just a short bus ride from the hotel, with a number of buses going directly into the city stopping every 15 minutes.

The warmest of welcomes awaits you at The Honest Lawyer Hotel, we look forward to your arrival.
Picture of Honest Lawyer Hotel, DURHAM at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 144 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Good
A nice hotel for a short business break, Good sized clean room the food was excellent. Only downside was the Free WIFI didnt stretch to my room.

Reviewed by
Liam H

From Ellesmere Port, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly service
The location is excellent if you are visiting Durham, only about !.5 miles away. The room was clean and fresh with all the additional bits you expect. Was a bit disappointed that breakfast wasn't included but managed to get a reasonably priced one at The Library in town.

Reviewed by
p yeates

From Wimborne, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice cosy room, liked the motel idea, nice decoration, close to Durham

Reviewed by
Christina H

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short break
Really welcoming and very helpful.

Reviewed by
Ryan D

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent stay
we have stayed here a number of times it is really comfortable decor is to a high standard.reception is very welcoming and always happy to help.in an ideal location great value for money.

Reviewed by
deborah monaghan

From Spennymoor, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice little motel
Very pleasant stay, receptionists were very nice.
Only stayed for a one-night retreat so can't really comment on many features, parking and access were excellent.

Reviewed by
B Walker

From Bishop Auckland, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cosy and comfortable
The room was very cozy and the beds were very comfortable. The added bonus of having a door leading onto a courtyard enabled easy short access to the car. This would make a lovely venue for a wedding. A short ride away from Durham and easy access from the major roads. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. Highly recommended and good value for money.

Reviewed by
Jacqui J

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very enjoyable
Staff were fantastic. Allowed us to check in earlier as we arrived early and allowed us to park at hotel all day. Staff wrre more than happy to help with all of our quiries. I often use late rooms and this hotel looked nicer than the pictures given. Very modern and upmarket great value for money. Very homely and welcoming atmosphere. Bar and restaurant were very good. Only slight downside was the bath tap had slughtly dirty water when i turned it on. I think this was because the tap had not been used for a while. This was only a tiny problem which resolved itself almost immediately. Loved this hotel. Would happily stay here again in future!

Reviewed by
S Dawson

From Gateshead, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

cold room
only stayed here for overnight sleep-hotel bar/restaurant looked good although didnt use it. Road works by hotel a pain but not the hotels fault. Room was fairly basic with uncomfortable chairs ( basic brown wickerwork type ) but fine for purpose. Internet connection on wi fi was not good and poor signal. Bathroom freezing as radiator clap cold just towel rail warming it . Room itself chilly although was -5 C. Not keen on motel style but aware it was like this-didnt feel as safe as staying in normal hotel

Reviewed by
Russ G

From Pontefract, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Honest Lawyer Hotel
Nice place to stay for a short break.

Reviewed by
K Smith

From Chorley, England
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next