Honest Lawyer Hotel

3

THE BRIDGE, DURHAM, DH1 3SP

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (155)

88% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Paul S

  • May 2015

OK hotel with disturbing boiler noise

Rooms are motel type, slightly tired but OK at the discounted price of £54.

Not worth more. Comfortable bed, good shower, flat-screen television, tea/coffee-making facilities. Don't stay in room 36: it is next to a boiler room which has a very noisy boiler that is disturbing every time someone draws hot water. Didn't have breakfast: too expensive at £9.95. Evening meal was good and at an acceptable price. Try the Thai fish cakes, with a sauce to die for. The chicken fajitas was tasty and plentiful.

  • David d

  • May 2015

Great stay

Really good value for money room.

The food in the restaurant was excellent. Service was also fantastic, both in the restaurant and the receptionist who managed to locate a jacket we left in the room. Would definitely stay again!

  • K Parker

  • April 2015

Three Night Stay at The Honest Lawyer

The first night we stayed in the motel block rooms away from the main hotel.

The room was noisy due to the road traffic and was not up to the standard we were expecting for the cost; some of the furniture was a bit worn/faded and the cleanliness of the carpet and room was not up to the required standard. However, the staff were very good and dealt with our complaint most efficiently. We stayed the next two nights in the main building which was much better apart from a noisy fan that had been left on by mistake in the next room by another guest. The breakfast was very good and the manager and staff were very helpful.

  • Dennis Freeman-Wright

  • April 2015

Enjoyable stay

Rooms were in an annex block behind the bar and restaurant.

I had a dog with me so this was excellent. Rural but near Durham; road works outside at the moment spoils the ambience but this is only temporary.

  • Andrea T

  • April 2015

Would never stay again

The room was next to a store room where the pumps are situated.

Every time someone turned on a tap the pumps started. It was loud!!!. The hotel is also on a main road where once it got dark it turned in to a race trace.

As for the food. Well. I never knew you could kill fish and chips. The fish was so wet and tasteless it has to have been frozen fish. Would never use again for a meal or food.

  • H Wheeler

  • April 2015

Everything was lovely.

The breakfast in the morning was an extra £9.95 or thereabouts, which seemed quite a lot so I skipped that but other than that, no complaints.

  • Jeff Phillips

  • April 2015

OK for one night

We stayed for 1night in the chalet accomodation at the rear of the hotel.

The room was very clean, but quite cold. The radiator seemed to need bleeding. We were kept awake by what sounded like dripping water above the ceiling.This continued all night and at times got worse, even getting louder at times, I think this was due to some sort of water heater which "kicked in" whenever another room used the hot water, which in itself was very noisy. A lot of road noise from the adjacent main road, glad we were only staying one night !

  • Ian D

  • March 2015

Excellent customer service and freindly

Very good location and excellent value for money.

The hotel staff are very friendly and go out of their way to help.

  • Sarah B

  • March 2015

Durham

The hotel was good value and 5 minutes from city centre

  • suzanne s

  • March 2015

last minute stop out

Me and my husband went for a night away.

the staff were fantastic. the food was second to none and the room was simply immaculate. will be back there very soon. Thanks to all thr staff.