No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Honest Lawyer Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
THE BRIDGE , DURHAM, DH1 3SP
Just 3 miles from Durham City Centre, the Honest Lawyer Hotel is a 3* hotel and AA rosette restaurant, ideally located for exploring County Durham, as well as being an ideal base for doing business in and around Durham City.

All of our rooms are en-suite with modern furnishings, LCD TVs, tea and coffee making facilities, as well as free wifi, which is also available in our public areas.

A full English and continental breakfast is served each morning between 7am and 9am weekdays and 8am until 10am weekends, with an extensive, locally sourced menu including healthy options such as Poached Eggs and Brown Toast.

Bailey’s Bar and Restaurant serve food all day, with a full a la carte menu which includes our famous North Sea Black Sheep Beer Battered Haddock & Chips, as well as Pan Fried Seabass and Corn Fed Chicken.

As well as all of the above, guests exploring County Durham receive a discount on entry to Beamish Museum, and Durham City is just a short bus ride from the hotel, with a number of buses going directly into the city stopping every 15 minutes.

The warmest of welcomes awaits you at The Honest Lawyer Hotel, we look forward to your arrival.
Picture of Honest Lawyer Hotel, DURHAM at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 128 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean and quite
having stayed here before, I found it very handy for the Uni (Daughter Student) with easy access Motorway and Durham....

Reviewed by
A Ryan

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

neil delanty
probably not their fault but the internet and broadband speed offered was very very slow and of poor quality. A faster connection and say a £5.00 charge would have been perfect. Very hospitable and well trained staff throughout. Another plus point is that they only swipe your card for 1p to activate it so you can use it. other hotels in the region swipe up to the room value and don't put it back for 5-7 days

Reviewed by
Neil D

From Cannock, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

reasonable
Good enough room, unfortunately right next to (10 meters away) from a very very busy main A road and also at night one of the lights used to illuminate the outside of the building shines right through the window so both of these factors somewhat ruin any good points that could be raised about the room.

Reviewed by
d cox

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Worth it.
I have zero complaints for this place.

Reviewed by
J Smails

From Gateshead, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First rate "no frills"
First rate no frills motel type property. Car at the door is a big plus. Staff were excellent food good but a little slow in coming.

Reviewed by
Peter M

From Nairn, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

general review
Room was clean and comfortable. Bathroom had a bath and integral shower. The shower was powerful and plenty of hot water. One criticism was that a couple of times at night the toilet did not flush.
The restaurant was good overall and the breakfast was excellent.
We liked the layout of the hotel which was like an american motel. This meant we could park outside the room which was very convenient. Also the outside sitting area was pleasant.

Reviewed by
P Anderson

From Iver, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good d

Reviewed by
Robin L

From Leek, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Won't be staying here again
Bathroom smelled fusty (Room 10), room was small, dark and hot with little ventilation and no air conditioning. Window had restraining tie preventing it from opening more than a couple of inches. Poor quality economy lighting produced no light adequate for reading. Door to room opened directly onto car park courtyard with a busy road nearby. I was able to get very little sleep - too noisy, too hot, inadequate ventilation. The cheap security mechanism on the door was broken. Shower was quirky with fluctuating temperature in the evening, and at 7:00 Sunday morning it came through as a very small, cold trickle. No breakfast was served before 8:00, so we had to leave without breakfast for our 8:00 rendezvous. No information on how to access WiFi was found in the room.
Evening meal in bar was good and free wifi was available from there.

Reviewed by
J Heath

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice place to stay just outside Durham
Absolutely nothing to complain about in both the accommodation and the restaurant. Great location and dog friendly.

Reviewed by
j douglas

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money
We found the hotel was situated just right for our journey and was very comfortable. would use it again. We have also recommended it to our friends.

Reviewed by
W Fawcett

From Lytham St Annes, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next