Reviews - Honest Lawyer Hotel



Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (107)

90% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • M Bedford

  • September 2015

Honest Lawyer.. Great quality hotel.. fantastic food!

Great hotel..

rooms were clean and food was fantastic both evening meal and breakfast.. stayed while attending a course with work and would definetly stay again

  • J Winder

  • September 2015

Good budget accommodation.

Room was clean and tidy, just what you would expect for the price. Noisy neighbours could be an issue late at night.

  • John d

  • July 2015

Honest Lawyer Hotel

Very friendly and helpful staff in reception, bar and restaurant.

Good food for dinner and breakfast.

Spacious and pleasant room. Odd to find electric kettle situated in open wardrobe hanging space. Room at front was very noisy with traffic noise from busy main road outside. Needed to keep windows open because of hot weather as room not air-conditioned, which of course made it noisier. Also intermittent background machinery noise. Winter-warmth duvet too hot for summer weather and no alternative bedding option.

  • Steve fleetwood

  • July 2015

Honest Lawyer Hotel

Breakfast was very poor.

  • Christopher N

  • July 2015

Honest Lawyer Hotel

The staff were very helpful and welcoming.

The accommodation was lovely & spacious.

  • S Dent

  • May 2015

Honest Lawyer Hotel

A lovely room , clean and well equipped.

We did have a problem with the extractor , as the noise from it was keeping next doors awake, but we turned it off until required

Food was very average , although well presented tasted rather poor, Yorkshire pudding although large were tasteless as was roasted potatoes Sorry chef

  • Paul S

  • May 2015

OK hotel with disturbing boiler noise

Rooms are motel type, slightly tired but OK at the discounted price of £54.

Not worth more. Comfortable bed, good shower, flat-screen television, tea/coffee-making facilities. Don't stay in room 36: it is next to a boiler room which has a very noisy boiler that is disturbing every time someone draws hot water. Didn't have breakfast: too expensive at £9.95. Evening meal was good and at an acceptable price. Try the Thai fish cakes, with a sauce to die for. The chicken fajitas was tasty and plentiful.

  • David d

  • May 2015

Great stay

Really good value for money room.

The food in the restaurant was excellent. Service was also fantastic, both in the restaurant and the receptionist who managed to locate a jacket we left in the room. Would definitely stay again!

  • K Parker

  • April 2015

Three Night Stay at The Honest Lawyer

The first night we stayed in the motel block rooms away from the main hotel.

The room was noisy due to the road traffic and was not up to the standard we were expecting for the cost; some of the furniture was a bit worn/faded and the cleanliness of the carpet and room was not up to the required standard. However, the staff were very good and dealt with our complaint most efficiently. We stayed the next two nights in the main building which was much better apart from a noisy fan that had been left on by mistake in the next room by another guest. The breakfast was very good and the manager and staff were very helpful.

  • Dennis Freeman-Wright

  • April 2015

Enjoyable stay

Rooms were in an annex block behind the bar and restaurant.

I had a dog with me so this was excellent. Rural but near Durham; road works outside at the moment spoils the ambience but this is only temporary.