No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Honest Lawyer Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
THE BRIDGE , DURHAM, DH1 3SP
Just 3 miles from Durham City Centre, the Honest Lawyer Hotel is a 3* hotel and AA rosette restaurant, ideally located for exploring County Durham, as well as being an ideal base for doing business in and around Durham City.

All of our rooms are en-suite with modern furnishings, LCD TVs, tea and coffee making facilities, as well as free wifi, which is also available in our public areas.

A full English and continental breakfast is served each morning between 7am and 9am weekdays and 8am until 10am weekends, with an extensive, locally sourced menu including healthy options such as Poached Eggs and Brown Toast.

Bailey’s Bar and Restaurant serve food all day, with a full a la carte menu which includes our famous North Sea Black Sheep Beer Battered Haddock & Chips, as well as Pan Fried Seabass and Corn Fed Chicken.

As well as all of the above, guests exploring County Durham receive a discount on entry to Beamish Museum, and Durham City is just a short bus ride from the hotel, with a number of buses going directly into the city stopping every 15 minutes.

The warmest of welcomes awaits you at The Honest Lawyer Hotel, we look forward to your arrival.
Picture of Honest Lawyer Hotel, DURHAM at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 149 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable, convenient, clean
I stayed at the honest lawyer as the name appealed to me - I work for a firm of solicitors and the location was ideal for this business trip.
Check in was slightly delayed as the printer wasn't working and I was not shown to my room. My first room was room 2 - which I immediately requested to be changed as the close proximity to a busy road meant it was very noisy. This request was dealt with right away and I got room 35.bwhivh I discovered the next morning was next to the boiler room - which explained the rumbling nose throughout the night! However the bed was comfortable and the room clean if somewhat basic ( plastic beaker instead of glass in the bathroom). Breakfast is not included - £9.95 - the poached eggs and bacon were delicious but the buffet again somewhat basic - tinned grapefruit and tinned mandarins. Service was friendly quick and efficient.

Reviewed by
Alison H

From Carlisle, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value, pleasant stay
Our room,although the decor was a bit tired, was immaculate. The bed was extremely comfortable, and although the room overlooked the main road, we were not aware of much traffic noise.
Staff were very pleasant and the breakfast was one of the best we have had.

Reviewed by
Jennifer M

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for Money
Warm welcome, friendly and helpful. Room was cheerfully decorated and warm. Food was good and plentiful. Thank you all at The Honest Lawyer for a very pleasant stay.

Reviewed by
Linda Wallace

From Tonbridge, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect place to stay
A really lovely hotel. Nipping clean, friendly staff and a perfect location for Durham and surrounding cities/countryside. We were so impressed we actually stayed an extra night. This was arranged seamlessly and the customer service was brilliant. We will most certainly be back.

Reviewed by
James N

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

short stay
We booked this hotel for a one night stay, but as we had plans to meet up with family, we did not have any meals or spend much time in the hotel. The room was as expected from the photos and the reception staff were welcoming and very helpful.

Reviewed by
J A B

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Honest Lawyer Hotel
The Honest Lawyer is a lovely "motel" style hotel with plenty of free parking, great rooms with a bath and a really comfortable bed. We had 2 great nights sleep thanks to the blackout blinds! The reception staff were great and really friendly and helpful. We will have no hesitation staying here again.

Reviewed by
G Weetman

From Oxford, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Hotel
Good comfort and service

Reviewed by
h lovegrove

From England
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Honest Lawyer Hotel
Fab service and room, excellent value for money!
Short bus journey from beautiful Durham town.
Fantastic overall, will be staying again.

Reviewed by
James O

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Honest Lawyer Hotel
We enjoyed our stay but it was a bit expensive the food.

Reviewed by
Sharon Y

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Good
A nice hotel for a short business break, Good sized clean room the food was excellent. Only downside was the Free WIFI didnt stretch to my room.

Reviewed by
Liam H

From Ellesmere Port, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next