Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff > Lisvane & Thornhill Hotels > BEST WESTERN PLUS New House Country Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - BEST WESTERN PLUS New House Country Hotel

Not Classified  Hotel Ratings explained
Thornhill, Cardiff, CF83 1LY
Open country and open fires lie in wait here at BEST WESTERN PLUS New House Country Hotel. And depending on the weather, you'll enjoy one or both of them every day you stay! This elegant country hotel nestles nicely on the outskirts of Cardiff and therefore commands spectacular views of the city itself as well as the Vale of Glamorgan and Bristol Channel. Just five miles from Cardiff Castle, all our bedrooms are individual in style (and boy, do we mean style!) and are appointed to a very high standard indeed. For weddings, the hotel's a perfect proposition thanks to scenery, standards and service that cannot be beaten! Join us for a Welsh weekend, or stay a little longer to fully appreciate the accommodation!
Picture of BEST WESTERN PLUS New House Country Hotel, Cardiff at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 28 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
95% recommended this accommodation to a friend 95% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Summer special
A beautifully positioned hotel with magnificent view and gardens.
Room was comfortable and exceptionally spacious.
Staff were helpful and courteous.

Reviewed by
Sarah D

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely views
It was nice to stay out of Cardiff much quieter. The Resturant was very nice and the food of good quality. The room was very comfortable with a cal cony and lovely views

Reviewed by
Christine O'Shea

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay
Lovely setting overlooking Cardiff. Room very high standard, best we have stayed in in that part of the country

Reviewed by
Sian S

From Chertsey, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weddings.
We Often like a weekend away and regularly go to Best Western hotels and until this stay we have always been pleased with our stay. Our bed would have been too short for anybody much taller than ourselves, and wasn't that comfortable, There was a wedding every day while we were there, we were booked in for three nights, and we found it noisy with the music in the Marquee up until mid night, also with people returning to their rooms after that time. For breakfast, there was no room for us because of the wedding guests taking all the tables so we were having to eat on a small table in the lounge, On the plus side, the staff were pleasant, and the food in the restaurant for dinner was good. At £120 a night, we would expect to have peace and quiet at night, as this is why we go away, comfort, and a pleasant environment to eat and sit for coffee. We could have been for warned about the wedding breakfast and the noise. We left one night earlier.

Reviewed by
Christine Stinchcombe

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Only criticism is that my poached egg should have been better drained. Staff and accomodation excellent.

Reviewed by
M Power

From Alresford, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleasant experience. No hesitation whatsoever using this hotel again. Excellent breakfast just a little different and better than previous Best Western venues used. Parking especially easy.

Reviewed by
D Rhodes

From Nuneaton, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

new house
Booked at the last minute and was lucky to have chosen New House. Very friendly and I had a comfortable stay

Reviewed by
Neil R

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

saturday stay
Extremely happy stay at the hotel , everything was clean tidy and well run, felt very welcome and will definitely stay again

Reviewed by
N Hewitt

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful little gem
Spent one night here for the rugby but wish we'd had longer. Our room was spacious and very comfortable. Fantastic views over Cardiff and the bay. Stunning grounds. We had room service of sandwiches late evening when we got back from match which was lovely and breakfast was lovely too. Would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
L Pugh

From Wrecsam, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay. Excellent staff. A real treat weekend.

Reviewed by
Hilary T

From Kidderminster, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next