No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - THE GLENBURN HOTEL

4Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
New Road, WINDERMERE , LA23 2EE
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant and Self-catering cottages are in an elegantly appointed Edwardian property set in the Heart of Windermere offering delightful accommodation on a Bed & Breakfast or Half Board basis. With 16 guest rooms, including Deluxe rooms with spa baths and Rain showers, freshly prepared locally sourced food to order from our Restaurant and full cooked Cumbrian breakfasts to candlelit evening meals The Glenburn Hotel has the best the Lakes have to offer. We offer a choice of wines providing the perfect partner for every culinary choice. You can also enjoy a warming aperitif in our licensed bar.

"At the Glenburn all of our guests have free use of Parklands Country Club in Bowness on Windermere. Guests can enjoy the use of, the sauna, swimming pool, jaccuzzi and much more free of charge. The Glenburn offers free parking for all guests.

The Glenburn Hotel and Cottages is ideal for exploring the English Lake District. The Glenburn is a 5 min walk from Windermere and a 10 minute stroll will take you to the vibrant area of Bowness and the Lake where boats will ferry you to many intriguing destinations. For the more energetic there are lots of walks to enjoy at your leisure including a gentle hike up to Orrest Head just a short walk from the hotel. Here you will find viewing point 750 feet high where you can sit and enjoy magnificent views of the central fells, the Yorkshire Pennines and the Lakes or just to watch the sunset over this picturesque corner of England.
Picture of THE GLENBURN HOTEL, WINDERMERE  at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 37 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
81% recommended this accommodation to a friend 81% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely comfy and clean. perfect for a weekend in Windermere. very friendly staff.

Reviewed by
Victoria W

From Bradford, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent accommodation
The hotel was spotless, the breakfast was great and plenty of variety.
The staff couldn't do enough for you, we would definitely stay again and recommend to our friends and family.

Reviewed by
gill t

From Wakefield, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel
Clean rooms and nice decor. Friendly polite staff and the hotel is in a nice location. The food was good and all freshly cooked. It was nice knowing there was access to a swimming pool had the weather been bad but we were lucky and had a lovely weekend. Would definitely recommend

Reviewed by
A Shaw

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful cosy and elegant looking hotel. The 'superior' double room which sleeps 4 was ample size. Bathroom was clean and shower worked like a whistle! Tea, sugar and milk was available. Plus TV had most channels for the kids to watch. Staff are friendly and hospitable. Breakfast at Glenburn Hotel was absolutely tip top. Lots of cereal options, fresh fruit, yoghurt and cooked breakfast was delicious and presented with care. Location is a plus point too as it is only a 5 minutes walk to Windermere Lake, to local shops and restaurants. Overall the stay at this hotel was fab!

Reviewed by
A Begum

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place, with very friendly staff. Made the kids feel really welcome too. Bit s
Disappointed as not hot water in the morning but overall a pleasant stay, would recommend. Bit of a walk to Ambleside but that's the should point of the lakes.

Reviewed by
Elliott C

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We wished we were staying longer
We found the staff friendly and helpful - even provided our 7 year old with a small screwdriver which he needed to remove a toy from some packaging. We arrived just after 8pm and were shown to our rooms promptly and then given information on local area. The food was excellent worth staying in the hotel for rather than eating out!

Reviewed by
C Barrow

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our stay at glenburn hotel
On arrival receptionist booked us in, then showed us round lounge /dining areas then round our room then gave us information about the area, very helpfull , room clean n tidy and staff very friendly , breakfast was very good and there was a variety of cereals and fruits on breakfast bar ,

Reviewed by
k rowland

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good family hotel
Very good customer service. Staff were very friendly and accommodative. Breakfast was very good. very child firendly. Will recommend the hotel.

Reviewed by
n okpala

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff are friendly, room excellent, bed was to die for very comfy, and food top notch, would recomend the steak and ale pie it's very filling.

Reviewed by
T Walsh

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal for explorering the lakes
Beautifully stylish room with good facilities (the complimentary Wi-Fi a nice addition). The Glenburn is in a great location allowing easy walking access to both Windermere and Bowness.
The staff were also really helpful suggesting local points of interest. Overall I highly recommend.

Reviewed by
Alistair R

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next