No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Oxford Thames Four Pillars Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Henley Road, Sandford-On-Thames , Oxford, OX4 4GX
Just over three miles from the centre of Oxford, this luxury four star hotel offers an elegant retreat from the bustle of the city. Set in 30 acres of beautiful parkland leading down to the River Thames, its unique architectural style incorporates charming medieval buildings, along with sympathetically designed modern additions. From the stunning baronial-style reception area to the elegant River Room Restaurant, you could not find a more perfect setting for a memorable stay.
Sit back with a drink in one of the hotel’s beautiful lounge areas, or enjoy a meal from the tempting Crusader’s Lounge menu. For dining with a stunning view of parkland and the River Thames, choose the River Room Restaurant, where the menu offers the best of classic and contemporary cuisine.
Hotel guests can make full use of Jeromes Leisure Club during their stay, and can enjoy the Roman-style swimming pool, spa bath, sauna, steam room and state of the art gymnasium. Outside, there is a riverside tennis court and acres of parkland to walk in. Oxford has something to appeal to every visitor. The famous Bicester Village outlet shopping centre is nearby, as is Blenheim Palace, perfect for a day out.
Picture of Oxford Thames Four Pillars Hotel, Oxford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 51 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great location - enjoyable stay
The location is outside Oxford but its a very pleasant walk in along the river if the weather is agreeable. But the setting and general ambience is lovely and a pleasant contrast to Oxford.
The room was pretty standard, but acceptable.
The food was good but nothing special.
It is expensive for what it is, but so is everwhere else in Oxford.

Reviewed by
martyn c

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful Hotel
A beautiful hotel to stay in set in lovely surroundings. The staff were polite and very helpful. The rooms were spacious and very nicely presented. I would recommend the Thames Four Pillars Hotel to anyone who was looking for a relaxing break in the Oxford area.

Reviewed by
Stephen L

From Wickford, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a gracious place to be
Very helpful staff, great food freshly cooked.
Some building work going on but no inconveniemce.It will be beautiful when it is done.

Reviewed by
diane r

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable Break
The hotel was clean and the staff very attentive and polite. We were on a short break in Oxford and the hotel served our purpose well. My wife made use of the pool which she said was good. We had food in the hotel bar area in the evening and this was good, price reasonable and comparable with pub prices.
We would return again at the late rooms price but not at the full rate. It was an enjoyable short break.

Reviewed by
Steve S

From BATH, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room lacked a bath-plug. Bedside lamps too dim to read in bed (common in many hotels!)

Reviewed by
Donald W

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel, very good customer service

Reviewed by
Julie P

From York, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel let down by poor food
Everything about the hotel was lovely except for the food. All of it tasted As if It had been cooked previously and just reheated before serving. We also had a bottle of Prosecco with our meal. Unfortunately it was a grotty bottle. Despite paying what 24 £25 for it it I would imagine it was probably about 4 pound bottle of wine. So the whole meal experience was very poor.
Despite that we thought the hotel itself was lovely. We would go there again but not to eat.

Reviewed by
Monique P

From UK
Who stayed in January 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Gem
Lovely hotel in a very pleasant and convenient location with excellent facilities and super rooms.

Reviewed by
Stephen W

From York, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Hotel
This is a really lovely hotel. Beautiful views of the river and the staff were really helpful and friendly. The internal decor was fab and the leisure facilities are great too. Would highly recommend.

Reviewed by
Nicola Clarke

From Knutsford, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

hotel
Lovely hotel. Friendly staff. But not worth all the money for the room.

Reviewed by
angela s

From Leeds, England
Who stayed in November 2012

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next