No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Oxford Thames Four Pillars Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Henley Road, Sandford-On-Thames , Oxford, OX4 4GX
Just over three miles from the centre of Oxford, this luxury four star hotel offers an elegant retreat from the bustle of the city. Set in 30 acres of beautiful parkland leading down to the River Thames, its unique architectural style incorporates charming medieval buildings, along with sympathetically designed modern additions. From the stunning baronial-style reception area to the elegant River Room Restaurant, you could not find a more perfect setting for a memorable stay.
Sit back with a drink in one of the hotel’s beautiful lounge areas, or enjoy a meal from the tempting Crusader’s Lounge menu. For dining with a stunning view of parkland and the River Thames, choose the River Room Restaurant, where the menu offers the best of classic and contemporary cuisine.
Hotel guests can make full use of Jeromes Leisure Club during their stay, and can enjoy the Roman-style swimming pool, spa bath, sauna, steam room and state of the art gymnasium. Outside, there is a riverside tennis court and acres of parkland to walk in. Oxford has something to appeal to every visitor. The famous Bicester Village outlet shopping centre is nearby, as is Blenheim Palace, perfect for a day out.
Picture of Oxford Thames Four Pillars Hotel, Oxford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 51 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent room. Newly refurbished by the look of it. Spotlessly clean and well cared for hotel. Only issue, my room was just beyond the entrance door (key operated) and it banged shut every time someone came through, waking me up each time. So if you are given room 200, ask for another.
Breakfast serving area is tiny for the number of guests. Meant guests constantly having to ask the staff (who were doing their best) to replenish items. While I was at breakfast that included glasses, plates, fruit, croissants, fried eggs, bread for toasting.

Reviewed by
Anna P

From Knebworth, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very comfortable. And cleane loverly surroundings plenty to look forward to we highly recommend
Pleasing staff always cheerful always willing to help with any quiry
We loved our stay every thing was just right for a tranquil stay it was fantastic

Reviewed by
vincent hawkins

From Eastbourne, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

10 wedding anniversary
My wife and I stayed for two nights (a very rare break without the kids!) at the beginning of October.
The hotel is very well presented, the grounds are beautiful and the staff very helpful. We ate in the bar / lounge on Friday night & the River room restaurant on Saturday night & on both occasions the food was very good. The breakfast was also excellent. I had mentioned the occasion of our anniversary when booking and on arrival we received a free room upgrade to one of the garden rooms which was a nice touch. We would love to stay here again.

Reviewed by
P Jones

From Rugby, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel in beautiful surroundings. Excellent value for money. great find.

Reviewed by
S Weinstock

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel kindly accommodated our group of sixth in adjacent rooms on our own landing, which was excellent. The rooms were comfortable. Breakfast was not included in the room deal which was very unexpected and not typical of similar offers in other hotels of the same standard.

Reviewed by
Diana H

From England
Who stayed in September 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stay!
Me and my partner throughly enjoyed our stay we would give the hotel and staff top marks. The only fault we could find was that there was no shower gel in the room and no pen.

Reviewed by
I Sekhon

From Wolverhampton, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

oxford four pillars
We stayed here as a couple - nice location with gardens down to the thames. We walked alongside the river into Oxford - about 1 hour 15 mins - quite a way but nice on a sunny day.
Hotel is very clean and looked after and spa/pool is nice.Only complaint is that the breakfast was not very hot - some food gone cold under the buffet heat lamps - would not liked to have paid full price for it but was nice for only £5 supplement.

Reviewed by
mark p

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice setting an grounds but the spa pool was a dissapointment
For the price of the accomodation I was hoping for a better room but the grounds were very pretty. Decor was a bit clinical and the spa pool needs a refurb but good customer service.

Reviewed by
Rosie L

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly


Lovely location. Hired bikes and rode into Oxford along tow path. Ate out but enjoyed the ambience of the bar one evening after a relaxing spa.

Reviewed by
D Crafer

From Aylsham, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

our stay
We had an overnight stay celebrating our 45th wedding anniversary. There was a card and chocolates in our room which made it special. The pool was a good facility. The staff were friendly and helpful. A lovely stay.

Reviewed by
H Padley

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next