Reviews - Glenville House


Lake Road, Windermere, LA23 2EQ

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (31)

97% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • j gleed

  • March 2015

Well worth a visit.

Very welcoming.

Great service. Nice rooms with lots of special extras.

  • James Langley

  • January 2015

Glenville Hotel

The weather was a little wet for the first few days, but the welcome and presentation of the accommodation was so warming, cosy and homely that the weather made no difference to the experience.

Pete and Jayne made us very welcome with homemade cake in the hallway, mince pies, biscuits and ginger wine in our room. A great time, lots of shopping and even saw a film at the local picture house. All in all a great experience and will be going back in June.

  • Cindy Wilson

  • January 2015

Excellent place.

Beautiful guest house.

Very clean and smells lovely as you walk through the door. Very warm welcome, nothing too much trouble. Very friendly, lovely food. Love the sherry and ginger wine that was put in our room every morning with the little Kendal mint cake placed on our pillows. Excellent family run business. Thanks. P.s hope to see you again in the summer.. Cindy wilson and jim rudge.

  • m westwell

  • January 2015

holiday with a rest

Glenville house is a clean, comfortable, cosy and friendly.

we have stayed there twice in a month, just for a short break. loved the room and the food, little treats in your room, homemade cake and ginger wine.

  • Janette D

  • November 2014

Would Highly Recommend!

My husband and I stayed for a weekend in November at Glenville House.

It was a very relaxing stay with excellent standards of service. The hotel is situated on the main road between Windermere and Bowness with a short walk either way to each area. We stayed in a superior room which was immaculate, beautifully furnished and extremely comfortable. The extras such as fresh milk, sherry & home made cake & cookies were a really special touch and made the hotel stand out in comparison to other places that we have stayed. The breakfast was excellent & the owners very welcoming & friendly - we got the impression that nothing was too much trouble for them. We had a lovely stay and hope to return in the not too distant future.

  • Brian Zachary

  • November 2014


  • David B

  • October 2014

Many extras

Great attention to detail.

  • J Peel

  • September 2014

Beautiful Area

We found the hotel to be clean modern and well presented and catered for our requirements for a one night stay.

Breakfast was excellent.

  • B Rogers

  • August 2014

Great Place to Stay

Peter and Jayne have a superb B&B, the room was excellent, breakfast was superb and the little extras that are provided without extra charge are amazing.

the home made biscuits in the room along with fresh milk every day in the fridge and the decanter of sherry. also there was fresh cake left in the entrance for all guests to help themselves to. Glenville House is most definitely the first place i would call if i need accommodation in the Windermere area.

  • Sean G

  • August 2014

Lovely Stay

Fantastic place, great food and lots of little touches that make the stay very enjoyable and welcoming.