No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Charingworth Manor

4AA Assessed Country House Hotel Ratings explained
The Manor,Charingworth , Chipping Campden, GL55 6NS
The perfect manor house hotel in warm Cotswold stone, Charingworth has commanded views over idyllic rural Gloucestershire countryside for 700 years. Now we are proud to announce that every one of the 26 bedrooms has been carefully refurbished to the highest standard offering contemporary style, all-new beds and duvets, plasma TVs, tea and coffee facilities and, most importantly, fabulous bathrooms.

Choose from standard or luxury rooms, all with their own character and some with private terraces and views over five counties.

Ideally located for exploring this beautiful part of England, Charingworth Manor is also a peaceful location for an important conference or elegant Cotswold country wedding.

Dine in our intimate AA two rosette restaurant with a seasonal menu that makes the very best of fresh Cotswold produce, and unwind in our leisure area with its gym, sauna, steam room and pool. And there is the heart of England on our doorstep, with historic houses and world famous gardens to explore, Shakespeare's Stratford to discover and the delightful Cotswold towns of Chipping Campden, Broadway and Burford just a short drive away.

Picture of Charingworth Manor, Chipping Campden at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 18 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A beautiful manor house in stunning suroundings, run by very polite and helpful staff.
We only stayed for 1 night in this hotel, in the Corbett room, and were very pleased with our stay. The welcome was warm, the room lovely and the views, and surrounding area, stunning. Ebbrington, a local village was worth a quick visit and to have a pint in the Ebbrington arms. Overall a very peaceful place to stay.

Reviewed by
nigel h

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

an enjoyable break
my wife and I stayed for an overnight whilst in the area visiting friends , very much enjoyed our stay , a very well appointed hotel , in an beautiful location, the staff were excellent, helpful and friendly , we used, relaxed and enjoyed the spa facilities and the food in the evening was very good , would recommend this hotel to anyone

Reviewed by
keith e

From Mitcham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friend's 60th Birthday Lunch and overnight Stay
Reception friendly and helpful. Lunch excellent choice, private dinning room, staff very attentive, obliging and cheerful, nothing too much trouble. Hotel sitting rooms cosy log fires and comfortable. Bar snacks good choices and well presented. Rooms very clean and well appointed. Hotel has lots of historical character. Well appointed gymn and very attractive indoor pool area. Great to be well looked after by friendly well presented staff, which made the short stay memorable.

Reviewed by
Allen Taylor

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wedding Anniversary away day
A pleasant stay in a very nice hotel. It is an old building so room design is limited by that but cosy and comfortable. Nice en suite but loose fittings hanging off (toilet holder and adjustable mirror). Not an issue but forgot to feed back to reception. Restaurant and bar staff very friendly and professional. We used the swimming pool, which was an attractive design and pleasantly warm. Enjoyed the meal (we had an inclusive package) which was three courses of interesting and tasty food. Wine was a silly price but always is in hotels these days ...we factor it in when assessing value! I don't think anyone would be disappointed if staying here.

Reviewed by
David B

From Coalville, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful old hotel in lovely setting. Very friendly staff, We were upgraded and the room was very large with a really lovely bathroom even though the shower was really tiny. Our only complaint regarding the hotel was that there was no draught beer in the bar. The bottle of beer that I had was the smallest size available and cost £4.50. Everything else was wonderful

Reviewed by
P Carr

From Ellesmere Port, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the hotel was superb , staff were very pleasant, could not fault anything

Reviewed by
D Burgess

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful Setting, Great character and Charm
Had a two night stay here on a deal including afternoon tea and evening meals. Charingworth is a beautiful setting in which to chill out and enjoy the scenery of the Cotswolds. Afternoon Tea was a real treat, enjoyed in the character of the hotel. We also enjoyed two good quality evening meals at the hotel, highlights being the beef cheeks and duck starter. The music in the restaurant was an odd choice and a bit distracting, but staff were responsive to turning it down. We used the pool which was a great size, but it is not really a spa with no treatment rooms and poor quality sauna/steam room.
The hotel is full of charm, quirk and character, nice not to be staying in a place that looks the same as every other in a chain.
Overall, would recommend staying at this hotel as a great escape to the modern pace of life.

Reviewed by
Julia T

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stay

Reviewed by
S Wheeler

From Salisbury, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Charingworth - was it worth it??
Set in a nice piece of land, small hotel with oldish rooms which some of them require some updating. We were upgraded to a four poster room. The view of the garden was picturesque. Room was ok as despite being 17 century hotel I was expecting a bit more out of 4 stars. Food was very tasty and staff was friendly enough to make you feel looked after. Did not fancy pool as again would recommend updating changing room area if you would like to be 4 star hotel. Ok for the price we paid I guess, but will consider trying some other hotels if revisiting Cotswolds. If you do like that kind of historic creaking floor boards and old style battered furniture around you then it might be a good choice for you.

Reviewed by
Tariq P

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quite outstanding value for money.
The lovely old building in the idyllic surroundings of the Cotswolds complemented the excellent service and high standards we enjoyed. The food was excellent and the room most satisfactory. A very delightful hotel. Full marks to all concerned.

Reviewed by
C Cutler

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next