No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Claremont Hotel

4Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
18-22 Loch Promenade , Douglas, IM1 2LX
Premium location, facilities & destination - The Claremont offers a unique experience for the more discerning traveller with an ideal location, right at the heart of the business district.

The extensively refurbished Claremont enjoys a sea view location on the central promenade of the Islands capital, Douglas. The hotel offers excellent accommodation and is within easy access to many of the local attractions and town centre facilities. A winner of a number of design and business awards, the hotel features modern and well equipped guest rooms many with a fabulous Sea View. The relaxing lounge areas and the Coast Bar and Brasserie add to the hotel facilities. All rooms rates include a traditional Full Manx breakfast as standard and the hotel also offers extensive lunch and dinner menus, where daily dishes include fresh seafood and local produce to be enjoyed alongside the restaurant's magnificent sea views. In the evenings, the extensive bar and lounge area provides an ambient space for a night of relaxation. Hotel guests receive complimentary services including a guest use PC, high speed Wi-Fi, DVD hire and local leisure club pass.

Standard Facilities:
Restaurant - breakfast/ lunch/ afternoon tea / dinner
Lounge with Lounge Menu
24 hour room service
Free WI-FI throughout
Sky News & Sports
Guest Computer Facility
Thermostat controlled heating
Hair Dryers
Tea/ Coffee making facilities all rooms
Laundry/ Dry Cleaning Service
24 hour Reception
Parking on road or nearby parking
Town Centre / Business District location
Conference & Event Venue
Wedding Venue
Complimentary Newspaper
DVD Facilities
Iron and Ironing Board
Business Services
Lift to all guest floors
Leisure Facilities (Local Pass)
Child friendly
Cot and High chairs available

Please note that due to the original architectural features of the Claremont, we advise that it is not suitable for any guests requiring mobility assistance or street level access. The property has a number of external steps to access the hotel entrance, as well as internal steps to the upper floors, including the access route from the lift to bedroom corridors.
Picture of Claremont Hotel, Douglas at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 8 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 95% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Gem by the sea
Excellent hotel over looking the sea, with easy reach of the town & transport links.
Nicely furnished rooms, very clean, but perhaps could just do with air con.
Great breakfasts, I recommend the Manx Kippers!
Friendly helpful service, will definitely go again!

Reviewed by
Carol A

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location and staff were great. We were off to a wedding on the sat so came to breakfast at 8 but had to leave at 8.40 as me and my friend were getting picked up for our hair so we left without any as it still hadnt come.Staff were very apologetic and gave us a dinner voucher which was very kind but unfortunately we didn't use it as we were at a wedding. Would stay here again.

Reviewed by
K Leonard-Ker

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel in the heart of Douglas
I was recommended to the hotel by colleagues based on the Isle Of Man. The hotel itself is located overlooking the sea and close to the main shopping area of Douglas. Once I had booked the hotel I received an email from them explaining that building works were in progress and they hoped it would not disrupt my stay. On arrival I was impressed by the new reception area. Whilst there was evidence of work being done it was well hidden. The staff were excellent, the restaurant was very good and overall this is a nice hotel being made even better by the improvement works being undertaken.

Reviewed by
d carter

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Claremont, Douglas
Nice and central for business purposes. Hotel staff very friendly.

Reviewed by
S Worsey

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Satisfied
Everything was good, I enjoyed my staying and most of all my breakfast

Reviewed by
S P

From , England
Who stayed in November 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic location, quality, food, service and value for money - what more do you need !!!
I would highly recommend this hotel which is located at the start of the promenade very close to the ferry terminal, with all the shops located in the street just behind and restaurants and pubs within short walking distance. I was a bit concerned about the on street disc parking, 8am-6pm with 2 hours using a disc, you can park from 4pm to 10am unrestricted so long as you set your disc which was no problem and managed just fine, and you can park all day on Sundays with no restrictions.
We had an executive double room for our 17 year old son, who loved the large bed and complimentary wifi and DVD hire, and although had no view was free of traffic noise being located at the rear. We upgraded ourselves to a luxury suite double room for just £50 per night more, which was fantastic, wonderful sea view, and upgraded modern shower room with double sink and amazing power shower room, with other added extras - and would strongly recommend the upgrade to fully appreciate everything.
Breakfast was a very civilised affair no rushing around trying to locate the toaster and no food left out to go cold. Appertising buffet style including cereals, juices, pastries, meat, fish, cheeses, fruit, with full english cooked breakfast varieties plus specialities all cooked to order, served with plenty fresh toast, which was better quality than many expensive chain hotels we have stayed at in the past - a wonderful start to the day !
The staff were all very efficient, welcoming and pleasant. A really relaxed stay of quality - highly recommended.

Reviewed by
C Wood

From Windermere, England
Who stayed in November 2012

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice hotel
Plus
bed super comfy, room stylish and modern and big. seaview. breakfast good
minus
glass shelving very dusty, alot of road noise through windows.
overall best hotel yet in isle of man definately stay again friednly staff .thanks

Reviewed by
Ross H

From Wakefield, England
Who stayed in November 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel right on the sea front.
Lovely hotel on the sea front in Douglas. Beautiful room with very large bathroom and all the mod cons. Staff were very polite and helpful. Breakfast was very good with a good selection of hot and cold options. Very conveniently located for all of the tourist attractions on the island.

Reviewed by
L Stuart

From Falkirk, Scotland
Who stayed in August 2012

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.