No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Chilston Park Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Boughton Road,Sandway , Lenham, ME17 2BE
Chilston Park has been rated in the top 200 hotels in the country and has been awarded four red stars by the AA for exceptional quality of accommodation and service. Located only 12 miles from Maidstone and easily accessible via the M20, Chilston Park is the ideal choice for the business or leisure traveller.

The long sweeping drive carries you through acres of scenic farmland towards the lake and to the front door of the house, bringing you to a place that's a world apart from the hustle and bustle of everyday life.

Chilston Park is a wonderfully preserved 17th century manor house, furnished with exquisite antiques and fine paintings. Despite this grand appearance, whether you're relaxing in front of one of the many open fires in the Drawing Room, dining rooms, reception and bar, or strolling in the beautiful gardens, you'll be struck by the feeling that you have been welcomed into someones home. Its a feeling that is emphasised by the attentive but unobtrusive service, the fine food and wine, served in the 2 AA Rosette standard restaurant, as well as the genuine hospitality.

From the 1st January 2007, Chilston Park Hotel is proud to be a non-smoking hotel.

Local attractions include; Leeds Castle - The Loveliest Castle in the World 5m away; Biddenden Vineyards & Cider Works 12 miles away; Sissinghurst Castle Gardens 13 miles away; Canterbury, 20 miles away; Port Lympne Wild Animal Park, 24 miles away;
Hop farm 25 miles away. Easy access to Ashford International Station (Eurostar), Maidstone and London.
Picture of Chilston Park Hotel, Lenham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 11 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely house in a beautiful setting
Lovely house and grounds with good food. Would recommend booking a table early for dinner. Very helpful staff. Could of done with some air conditioning though - fan provided only just sufficient.

Reviewed by
Emily S

From West Malling, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

what a pity
The room was incredibly hot with no air conditioning unbearable like sleeping in an oven.
The member of staff who put the early departure paperwork under the door slammed the main door so hard that the building shook.

Reviewed by
Paolo R

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Underwhelmed
The location and exterior were not matched by a room which was underwhelming. It lacked character, luxury or charm, all the things I thought a hotel like this ought to offer. And there's just no escaping from the constant traffic rumble from the M20.

Reviewed by
fergal s

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff were very efficient and polite - food in the lounge fairly average
Good value

Reviewed by
Barry D

From Hemel Hempstead, England
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A room for the homeless
My Wife booked a "Standard" room.
Booked in and we were taken to the "Wren" room.......Utterly horrible. Small bed, no chairs, sad worn out furniture, not antique - junkshop stuff! A TV you would expect to see left out for the dustman, no Wi-Fi.
Worst hotel room I can ever remember bar none, utterly cheap and nasty.
We were just about to march back down to reception before leaving, when a call was received to ask how the room was. You can guess my response. We were taken to an executive room "Shelley", which according to the website is a standard. It was none the less very comfortable.
Dinner - amazing!

Reviewed by
Beverly Yarrow

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Hotel

Reviewed by
Peter D

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Another excellent stay

Reviewed by
Peter D

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not too bad dreadful taped music in all public areas that went round on a loop.
We booked as a last minute get away. The grounds and approach are attractive and although the receptionist was friendly I always think it is nicer if you are shown to your room rather than issued directions. We decided to have a cup of tea as it was about 5pm but when we entered the lounge area there was not a clean table in sight. A member of staff cleared a table but then did not bother to re lay it with a cloth like all the others, forgot the strainer and the gave us old menu when we asked to look at the menu to make a decision about whether to book for dinner. We drank our tea surrounded by dirty tables and although there were three members of staff hovering about by the dining room service point non of them cleared the tables.
Pre dinner drinks were fine and the waitress recommended a nice bottle of wine. Dining roo Very disappointed with both starters. My husband ordered smoked salmon, crayfish and grapefruit salad. I thought this a very weird combination! When it arrived presentation was poor, lots of grapefruit, small amount of crayfish and the smoked salmon looked like offcuts and trimmings that you would mince up for a pate. I ordered fig, brie and cranberry salad. When it arrived I could not find the brie so I asked the very lovely waitress (Almira) to return it to the kitchen to add the brie. When it came back the tiniest amount had been inserted into the fig, It was just laughable, perhaps as the bank rates are so low we should all be investing in brie as it is obviously so expensive. The main courses were much better (blade, potatoes, cabbage). Puddings a bit of a disappointment. I had pavlova and not convinced that they were home made. Looked and tasted like commercially produced meringue.
We slept well in our somewhat small four poster bed having removed the pillows (lumpy and hard), we are seasoned travellers so always take our own however the room was quiet and we were able to open the windows to allow fresh air
Breakfast was good although when they say freshly squeezed orange juice and give you dreadful mass produced concentrate it does grate. Oh and the music was still playing, same tape as the evening before (old 80's radio 3 top 100 classics) !!!

Reviewed by
frances b

From Huntingdon, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hidden gem
Finding the hotel in the dark was a challenge - and really forced a reliance on the satnav - which eventually came up trumps. The hotel was lovely, and the room well appointed although it would have been even better had I worked out how to operate the heating system so that the room became a bit cooler. the bed was perhaps a little hard for my ideal, but apart from that the experience was excellent.

Reviewed by
Anne D

From UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First class
Booked this room for myself and my partner as it was her 40th birthday and has always wanted to stay at the Chilston hotel after being at a Xmas party there. We could not fault the room or staff in any way. We will DEFINITELY be staying there again asap.

Reviewed by
P Stuart

From greenhithe, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next