No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Burn How Garden House Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Back Belsfield Road,Bowness-On-Windermere , Bowness on Windermere, LA23 3HH
This peaceful, family run Lake District hotel is a two minute stroll from Lake Windermere and offers an AA Rosetted Restaurant, free WiFi and car parking. The Burn How’s unique layout is refreshingly different to most hotels; all of the bedrooms are located outside of the main building within the private grounds making the stay peaceful and relaxing for the discerning guest. You can take picturesque walks from the hotel, or cruise on Lake Windermere, and if you take the Post Knott walk and you find the hotels bench, bring back the inscription and you will have a drink on us. For the shopping magnets find a special Lakeland gift in the village only two minutes walk away. On your return from a full day, relax and meet friends or family in the congenial atmosphere of the lounge and bar, or on pleasant summers evening sit out on the patio and take in the beautiful surroundings.

Relax in the comfort of your room choosing from modern chalet style to four poster or traditional bedrooms. Most have private sun terraces. All have ensuite bathrooms, colour televisions, telephones and hot beverages. Rooms on the ground floor have direct access to the rose garden and patio, with some having disabled facilities. There is ample free parking available.

Experience English and French Cuisine made only from the freshest produce and served in the style in which Burn How Garden House Hotel is famous. Three courses and coffee is around £25.00 per person. At the end of the day relax with family and friends in the congenial atmosphere of the lounge and bar or on a pleasant summers evening take in the beautiful surroundings of the patio and gardens.
Picture of Burn How Garden House Hotel, Bowness on Windermere at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 23 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Unique Little Hotel
A totally different kind of hotel - nothing like your multi chain hotels - a family run hotel that focused on the customer and ensuring they were comfortable and happy - they really offer the personal touch. Nothing was too much trouble for them. Breakfast cooked to order if you wanted that option so was always piping hot and a great choice of fruits, cereals, jams etc. if you preferred that option - or you could have both.
Outside areas probably could do with a bit of a tidy up in places. Accommodation was first class - our room was huge with two huge comfortable chairs and a very comfortable huge bed. We had the added bonus of a balcony so was great to open the patio doors and sit out - didn't make you feel once you were in your room you were trapped. Bathroom was a good size with a window which makes a change. Both room and bathroom were spotless - couldn't fault it cleanlness. Quaint Lounge and dining room gave a very homely feel like you were sitting in your own home.
If you want a different kind of accommodation in a small friendly hotel that offers that personal touch give this place a try - one hotel where the guest comes first and they ensure that your every need is met. Staff were lovely and friendly and although this was our first visit felt we had known them years .

Reviewed by
j miller

From Stockton on Tees, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent experience
From the moment we arrived until the moment we left was just brilliant - wonderful room, friendly and helpful staff, amazing breakfast!

Reviewed by
E Ayre

From Sheringham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent & Relaxing Stay
Fantastic location, the hotel is a few minutes walk from the Lake in Bowness on Windermere. The breakfast was really nice and the staff were awesome, our rooms were the Rose Garden Rooms which gave us a perfect view of the gardens. The rooms themselves were very clean. Parking is right outside your room. Will come back to this hotel again.

Reviewed by
A Sabel

From Sutton Coldfield, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We only had breakfast there which was excellent. Great buffet and great selection of warm breakfasts to order. Did not eat dinner there as vegetarian choices were limited. Friendly staff, room was nice but a little dated. Faint odour in the room though it was large. Great location for the lovely village of Bowness and easy for lakeside walks. Recommended!

Reviewed by
S Lee

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Hotel whose staff excelled in making guest comfort a priority.
We had a restful, relaxing holiday in Burn How. Easily reached by car or public transport and only a couple of minutes walk from the Lakeside, boats and shops. The room was large, very clean with a beautiful en-suite which was spotless. Plenty of space for clothes and e really comfortable clean bed. The breakfast had a great range of choices, and the cooked breakfast was beautifully cooked and piping hot! The best bit was that your breakfast could be served until 10am. The evening meal had a varied menu, something for everyone's taste and pocket. It was well cooked with a nice selection of desserts.! Everyone on the staff went out of their way to make sure we had a good holiday.

Reviewed by
J Hobbs

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

AMAZING!!
We stayed here for three nights as it was my husband's 60th birthday, we were upgraded when we arrived and staff had kindly left a 60th birthday card for him in the room. The food was amazing staff very friendly and welcoming, definitely visit here again and would highly recommend it.

Reviewed by
Jane H

From Bury, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent - above expectations
One is never sure when booking over the Internet, but nobody should have any doubts about this hotel. It is excellent in all respects. Don't miss the dining experience - not cheap, but scrumptious!

Reviewed by
John Oldfield

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lake land gem
I have been visiting the lakes for over 40 years and stayed in many hotels but from now on I will only stay at the Burn How excellant in every way, great staff, food and room a little gem in the lakes highly recommended

Reviewed by
DAVID B

From Looe, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really good quality and close to everything. Room spacious
And comfortable.

Reviewed by
M KELLY

From York, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

True Service.
Unfortunately my husband became ill whilst we were there, the staff were very understanding and very fair about the bill(which is a rarity in this day and age). The hotel was in a great position with a variety of rooms and lovely food. As we were unable to enjoy all there was to offer we look forward to going to Burn How again.

Reviewed by
C Spencer

From Keighley, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next