No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - South Lodge Hotel

3Self Classified Town House Hotel Ratings explained
196 New London Road , Chelmsford, CM2 0AR
The Victorian town house hotel offers accommodation with a tasteful combination of modern design and traditional comfort. Situated only a short stroll away from the Chelmsford town centre, The South Lodge Hotel provides guests with a relaxed hideaway for a weekend getaway or for a short business trip. We are located just ten minute walk from Chelmsford Town Centre and the County Cricket ground, only a short distance from the A12 and 14 miles from the M25. The hotel is ideal for leisure travellers and business people alike.
The hotel was a former inn, which has been upgraded over a number of years, with the emphasis on restaurant design, comfort and great food.
The head chef’s inventive menu will tantalise your taste buds with imaginative dishes catering for all tastes. Our contemporary bar and restaurant also offers daily specials along with our full bar menu, set menu and a la carte options. Dine inside or outside on our relaxing terrace.
Our mission is to provide all our guests with a warm welcome together with a personal high quality service and attention to detail.
With 36 bedrooms, featuring 2 “ Four Poster” style' - simple and comfortable with magnolia walls and dark wood furniture.
You can choose from a varied choice of accommodation, from single rooms to family rooms, all offer en-suite facilities, direct dial telephone, colour television and complimentary tea making facilities.

Picture of South Lodge Hotel, Chelmsford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 19 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
75% recommended this accommodation to a friend 81% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for single traveller
I may have been lucky but my room was spacious and well kept and had all that I needed for a short stay. This is not always the case when booking a single room in hotels . Customer service was friendly and helpful at all levels.

Reviewed by
Robert U

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

1st stay at South Lodge
After numerous family members had stayed as South Lodge as my Neice lives close to the hotel. We travelled from the midlands for an overnight stay. Unfortunately our stay wasn't so good. We had to carry cases up two flights of stairs, shower did not work, there was very loud music playing until 2.30 in the morning all be it not from the Hotel, then in the morning the breakfast was very disappointing, buffet style which was cold, had to ask for glasses for the juice, had to try and find a member of staff to get a pot of tea. I did mention this when I checked out and was told that the chef hadn't turned up and if we stayed there again we would get a free breakfast. Not really going to attempt to expand on that.

Reviewed by
J Sanders

From Walsall, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Convenient location
Great customer service and well cooked evening meal. Only problem was the low water pressure from the shower.

Reviewed by
Paul M

From Hyde, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay
Room was reasonably spacious although bath and shower need updating. Only problem was outside noise at night which hotel can do little about. A hot night so windows needed to be open, hence the problem. Breakfast the following morning was excellent. Greater choice of cereal would have been appreciated.

Reviewed by
L C L

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great food and friendly staff

Reviewed by
Justin Sandler

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant Stay
Warm greeting & we couldn't fault the friendly staff. Our one comment was that the shower in the room suffered from low water pressure & took a long while to reach an acceptable temperature, other wise spot on

Reviewed by
D Richardson

From Plymouth, England
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

breakfast
For a reasonably priced hotel the breakfast was very good - cooked to order and excellent quality The staff were extremely helpful

Reviewed by
Jane Caine

From Whitchurch, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Exactly what we needed
We just stayed for one night on a weekend as we were going to a party. Greeted by really friendly receptionist. When we returned late that night the guy on night duty was just as friendly. Room was fine. The only minor constructive feedback I would like to mention is that the shower took ages for warm water to come thru - I'm talking literally five minutes standing under freezing cold water. Not a problem as it was great once the water came thru - but might be worth receptionists informing customers - (I was about to give up on it thinking there was no hot water)

Reviewed by
vincenzo A

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly welcome. Room was ok, no wifi on top floor, and a bit of a trek with a heavy bag. Didn't have cooked breakfast so can't comment on that, alternative selection a bit uninspiring - would have liked some fruit and decent bread choice, but overall it was ok. Needs a bit of a facelift.

Reviewed by
A Carter

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value
A little tired but good value for money. Friendly staff. Food was excellent.

Reviewed by
faye g

From Lowestoft, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next