Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > Central England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Harborne Hotels > Menzies Hotels Birmingham City - Strathallan
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Menzies Hotels Birmingham City - Strathallan

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
225 Hagley Road , Birmingham, B16 9RY
Menzies Hotels Birmingham City - Strathallan offers a superb range of facilities and excellent value for money in the centre of Birmingham. With modern comfortable bedrooms offering free Wi-Fi access and flat screen TV’s with Sky Sports 1,2,3 & 4 in all rooms and air conditioning available in our standard double rooms, a contemporary Brasserie style restaurant and a spacious lounge bar with Sky Sports Ultimate our Birmingham hotel is ideal for both business and leisure guests. Mini gym available from 6am-10pm. The hotel offers free onsite car parking for 160 cars. Conveniently located in central Birmingham, easy access to the many attractions that Birmingham has to offer, and just 2 miles from Birmingham New Street Station, the hotel has something to offer everyone. So, if you are looking for a quality hotel in Birmingham, Menzies Hotels Birmingham City is your ideal choice.

Hotel Accredited with the Silver Green Tourism Award.
Picture of Menzies Hotels Birmingham City - Strathallan, Birmingham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 143 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
74% recommended this accommodation to a friend 78% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Strathallan Hagley Rd
Excellent value and food good location

Reviewed by
Steven Platts

From Loughborough, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Okay
Got a good late deal, but more like a 3 star

Reviewed by
Sam P

From Aylesford, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Does exactly what it says on the tin
Clean and comfortable room. Only two minor criticisms the car park spaces are "tight" and no real ale on tap :-)
Staff very friendly and attentive. The Steak & Ale pie was delicious.

Reviewed by
Mark S

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great staff, mediocre hotel
On arrival the staff were helpful and efficient and this set the standard throughout my stay in all areas of the hotel. The room was compact, and the orientation of the room meant the view from the window was the other side of the hotel only. My biggest bug bear was noise - hoping for 2 good night's sleep, thwarted by hen do attendees staying in the hotel. Clearly the hotel cannot be fully responsible for noise levels of guests but there is little if any sound attenuation between corridor and room and so conversations held several feet down the corridor at 3 and 4 am could clearly be heard. Also the hotel advertises a fitness suite which is extremely limited and somewhat disappointing.

Reviewed by
Lisa G

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We Enjoyed Our Stay Very Much
Great hotel.Much better than we had expected.Friendly and helpfull staff.Good reception and pleasant atmosphere.Room was good, well designed and equipped.Lovely comfortable bed with clean bedcovers and sheets.Air conditioning and heating worked well.We will definately stay again as so much better than the Hagley Road hotels we have stayed in.

Reviewed by
David M

From Harrow, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Attending St John Fellowship Conference and AGM
We were made very welcome, the meals were good and the service on the first night was particularly good. The room was a bit small for two but adequate, clean, plenty of hot water, lovely large bath sheets.

Reviewed by
ANNE M

From SCARBOROUGH, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very enjoyable couple of days. Hotel very nice, food excellent and very clean. Will stay again

Reviewed by
H Knowles

From Wrexham, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Retro hotel? And how real is that discount?
I am not sure how genuine the discount offered was. It seemed to be good to be true and it was. When I booked the room at around £50 per night I was told that I had a saving of over £300 on this room.Wow! I thought but when I saw it it was more of omg. The room was tiny and triangular in shape with a tiny window that faced into the concrete centre of the this concrete, circular hotel that was constructed in the 70s. I thought the 70s retro look was supposed to be fashionable until I realised that the rooms and the bare -walled, bland, claustrophobic corridors had not changed in probably 40 years. It was genuine. Putting it into context, however - it was clean, the staff were very pleasant ( although don't try and phone reception late at night because no-one will answer) and the food - which was free on the first night - was not too bad. It has free parking, close to the city centre with a bus stop directly outside if you don't want to use a taxi. I would stay there again, if I had to, though, this time, I'll know what to expect.

Reviewed by
Brian S

From Welwyn, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An excellent stay

Reviewed by
David S

From Maidstone, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I stayed here to attend a charity function nearby. My overall stay was very good, however when I returned to the hotel a 2am, my key would not work so I had to go back to reception to have this changed. My room was also very cold at night, but I will stay at this hotel gain.

Reviewed by
Faith S

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next