Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > Central England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Harborne Hotels > Menzies Hotels Birmingham City - Strathallan
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Menzies Hotels Birmingham City - Strathallan

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
225 Hagley Road , Birmingham, B16 9RY
Menzies Hotels Birmingham City - Strathallan offers a superb range of facilities and excellent value for money in the centre of Birmingham. With modern comfortable bedrooms offering free Wi-Fi access and flat screen TV’s with Sky Sports 1,2,3 & 4 in all rooms and air conditioning available in our standard double rooms, a contemporary Brasserie style restaurant and a spacious lounge bar with Sky Sports Ultimate our Birmingham hotel is ideal for both business and leisure guests. Mini gym available from 6am-10pm. The hotel offers free onsite car parking for 160 cars. Conveniently located in central Birmingham, easy access to the many attractions that Birmingham has to offer, and just 2 miles from Birmingham New Street Station, the hotel has something to offer everyone. So, if you are looking for a quality hotel in Birmingham, Menzies Hotels Birmingham City is your ideal choice.

Hotel Accredited with the Silver Green Tourism Award.
Picture of Menzies Hotels Birmingham City - Strathallan, Birmingham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 124 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
74% recommended this accommodation to a friend 78% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

strathallan
The room we had was very small, dark and dreary with only one chair which was small and uncomfortable

Reviewed by
JOHN J

From Stanley, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

night in Birmingham
Stayed here due to close location to the n.i.a. Very nice hotel would recommend to others

Reviewed by
T Holmes

From Burton on Trent, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel, free parking and lovely breakfast. What more could you ask for.
Great hotel

Reviewed by
Lucy S

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very helpful and welcoming staff. Room was spacious modern and clean. Very good bathroom.

Reviewed by
J Vickers

From Hope Valley, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good hotel but small, hot rooms!!
Hotel was good but rooms were very small (pizza slice shape!) and very hot although radiator wasn't on! Had to keep air con on just to be able to sleep. Good value for money though and great location!!

Reviewed by
E Champion

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

poor value for money
I booked this room as a 'pit stop' on our way home from a holiday. I booked at short notice and only booked this because my first choice was already full. On arrival the reception staff were friendly and informative. When we got to our room it was not fully prepared for us. The sofa bed needed to be pulled out and made but there were no bedding for it and not enough cups, tea/coffee etc for us. I called down to reception for additional bedding but only a couple of sheets, 2 bath towels and 2 cups were brought. It was late and I didn't pursue the issue further which I should have done. This meant that my son had to sleep on the sofa with no duvet or blanket; its probably just as well that the room was so over- bearingly hot even with the radiators turned down as low as they would go.
There were unnecessary luxuries such as 2 TV's in the room without having the basics.
The breakfast was good with a choice and good customer service.
Taking all this into account; I probably won't be booking in again

Reviewed by
L Fox

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Small Room Good Quality Bad Smell!!!
I really enjoyed my stay at the Menzies Hotel. It was convenient to the Town Centre and good for the price. The accommodation was 4 star and the breakfast brilliant...I loved the mini fruit smoothies. However there was a ghastly smell I could hardly breath and slept badly....I had to borrow air fresher from the hotel who said that there was nothing they could do about it....it was a strong thick smell of mould and damp..... when I arrived back home my clothing also had the smell on it. (I stayed on the 4th floor)

Reviewed by
M Cameron

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Welcoming and relaxing.
I had a nice stay at the Menzies Hotel. It was good value for money, it had modern rooms that was fresh and comfortable. The staff were lovely, very helpful and customer focused. The breakfast buffet was of good quality with plenty of choice.
It didn't seem like the hotel staff were trying to Rush you out in the morning like other hotels and they also have a little gym for clients too. I really enjoyed staying here and I would most probably use this hotel each time I visit Birmingham. I would recommend it to anybody as it is what you pay your money for from accommodation cleanliness to friendliness of staff.

Reviewed by
C Wilson - Downie

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good experiance
5 points awarded as this was the best hotel I've stayed in via Laterooms as yet, I'm holding on the the 6 points in the unlikely event I find myself staying in something even better! This hotel is placed in just the right area for me. The communal areas (even the corridors) were in excellent condition, the room , although small, was very clean and well laid out. the bed was large for a single and very comfortable. Although the hotel is next to a very busy road, the room was very quiet. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was excellent. I have to be very picky to find fault and could only find that an extra shelf in the bathroom would have been helpful. All in all a really enjoyable break, although I would balk at staying there for the full price shown in Lateroms..

Reviewed by
J Ely

From Spilsby, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean and comfortable
A nice place and friendly staff.
Only disappointment was no veggie sausages available at breakfast.

Reviewed by
Valerie G

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next