Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > Central England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Harborne Hotels > Menzies Hotels Birmingham City - Strathallan
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Menzies Hotels Birmingham City - Strathallan

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
225 Hagley Road , Birmingham, B16 9RY
Menzies Hotels Birmingham City - Strathallan offers a superb range of facilities and excellent value for money in the centre of Birmingham. With modern comfortable bedrooms offering free Wi-Fi access and flat screen TV’s with Sky Sports 1,2,3 & 4 in all rooms and air conditioning available in our standard double rooms, a contemporary Brasserie style restaurant and a spacious lounge bar with Sky Sports Ultimate our Birmingham hotel is ideal for both business and leisure guests. Mini gym available from 6am-10pm. The hotel offers free onsite car parking for 160 cars. Conveniently located in central Birmingham, easy access to the many attractions that Birmingham has to offer, and just 2 miles from Birmingham New Street Station, the hotel has something to offer everyone. So, if you are looking for a quality hotel in Birmingham, Menzies Hotels Birmingham City is your ideal choice.

Hotel Accredited with the Silver Green Tourism Award.
Picture of Menzies Hotels Birmingham City - Strathallan, Birmingham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 142 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
74% recommended this accommodation to a friend 78% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ex hotel with great food and service.
Great hotel at a very reasonable price. Pretty clean rooms. Fine communal areas and fantastic food. Good breakfast. Really highly recommended.

Reviewed by
M Ullebø

From Tønsberg, Norway
Who stayed in March 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Another lovely stay
Now that all the refurbishment work has been completed since my last visit, I was very pleased with the end result.
It was nice to see that the service was as good as last time from check in to check out.
It was also pleasing not to have to pay for parking any more (one of my gripes last time).
I would have no hesitation in suggesting this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in Birmingham. It's location is ideal for getting about by public transport, it's not too far from the infamous Broad Street (but far enough to be away from the noise).
All my meals were of high quality and plentiful in portion size. The discount card for bar purchases is a nice touch as well.
I look forward to staying here again.

Reviewed by
Colin B

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

city break
Great hotel very close to the city centre easy to find recommended

Reviewed by
roger b

From plymouth, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Extremely pleasant staff, got a tremendous deal on price, rooms modern and spotless. Great value!

Reviewed by
A Woolf

From Knutsford, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent stay
Very comfortable, welcoming staff and for someone who doesn't know Birmingham and dosen't have satnav,easy to locate. Would recommend this hotel.
Great value breakfast at 7.50 pounds !!!!

Reviewed by
mairead b

From East Grinstead, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great rates, nice food but don't expect a great nights sleep!
Booked two double rooms for a business trip. Got a little lost looking for the hotel as it isn't actually called 'Menzies' it is the 'Strathallan Hotel' - staff were very helpful over the phone when helping us find our way. Check in was quick and the room was compact but spotlessly clean with a nice bathroom. Shower wasn't great - shower head needed replacing but wouldn't really complain at that for the deal we got. The biggest let down for this hotel is the paper thin nature of the walls - we could hear the guests next door use the facilities! Staying there on a Saturday night for business (or if you like to sleep) isn't recommended either - extremely noisy guests returning from a night out kept us awake for the majority of the night and the ones in the room right next door were awful - had to call reception at 4am and request they visit the room and ask them to keep the noise down. All in all the accommodation and food is great value for money at the rate paid but wouldn't recommend anyone pay the 'rack rate'.

Reviewed by
Ashley V

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good value for moiney
only fault breakfast not very hot. had an inside room which are smaller, good location.

Reviewed by
k panaro

From Darwen, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very disappointed
Initial booking in was ok. Pleasant receptionist. The first room we were given was very dark and dingy. The bathroom was in very poor condition and the flush handle for the toilet was broken so I requested another room. After a 30 minute wait we were shown to another room, not quite as dark and dingy but at had a working toilet and there didn't appear to be any broken tiles or other fixtures hanging loose. Although the room was listed as a double it was impossible for two people to walk past each other to use the bathroom or dressing table. There was a single wardrobe but hardly any room to hang any clothes as it had an ironing board and iron inside.The room was on the "inside" of the hotel which is built in a circle so none of the inner rooms has anything to look at other than dirty pipes and cables. This also meant that you were not able to open the single window. If I had known that the rooms did not have any natural ventilation or something to look at other than pipework, then I would not have booked to stay.Ventilation was via air con unit. The room was cool initially but as the evening/night went on became extremely hot and stuffy. We had to put air con on maximum which made it very noisy. The walls were very thin so you could hear which programme the people in the next room were watching.
Dinner was included in the deal but my main course had to be sent back because it was cold. It was obviously re-heated in the micro wave which didn't help either. There were not enough waiting staff on duty in the restaurant as they were busy with an outside party booking. On the plus side, breakfast was good.

Reviewed by
Andrea S

From Mansfield, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Surprise 50th Birthday
As a child I remember the "Strathallan" as Birmingham's premier hotel venue. Indeed, in the 70's and 80's it's where all the TV stars stayed. Well 40 years on. it's a tired old place. still has the charm (for those who remember the good old days) but that's about it, sadly. It was a last minute port in the storm for me, as it is only 400 metres away from when we held our party. It is only worth the discounted rates on offer, trust me, as the £200 a room price tag is a fairy story. Worth £50 a night and that's it.

Reviewed by
DAVID HOMER

From BIGGLESWADE, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a pleasent suprise
After my first glimse of the hotel my expectations were not high ,we where offered an upgrade but declined as we hadnt even seen our room.Our room was small but tidy,the bathroom was clean ,neat and tidy Our evening meal was very good as was our breakfast which offered a good selection,on the whole a really good deal.

Reviewed by
john c

From liverpool, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 Next