Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > Central England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Harborne Hotels > Menzies Hotels Birmingham City - Strathallan
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Menzies Hotels Birmingham City - Strathallan

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
225 Hagley Road , Birmingham, B16 9RY
Menzies Hotels Birmingham City - Strathallan offers a superb range of facilities and excellent value for money in the centre of Birmingham. With modern comfortable bedrooms offering free Wi-Fi access and flat screen TV’s with Sky Sports 1,2,3 & 4 in all rooms and air conditioning available in our standard double rooms, a contemporary Brasserie style restaurant and a spacious lounge bar with Sky Sports Ultimate our Birmingham hotel is ideal for both business and leisure guests. Mini gym available from 6am-10pm. The hotel offers free onsite car parking for 160 cars. Conveniently located in central Birmingham, easy access to the many attractions that Birmingham has to offer, and just 2 miles from Birmingham New Street Station, the hotel has something to offer everyone. So, if you are looking for a quality hotel in Birmingham, Menzies Hotels Birmingham City is your ideal choice.

Hotel Accredited with the Silver Green Tourism Award.
Picture of Menzies Hotels Birmingham City - Strathallan, Birmingham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 116 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
74% recommended this accommodation to a friend 78% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Such a shame
We've stayed at this hotel a few times before without an issue. We arrived to check in and the process was simple, efficient and a pleasure. We went up to our room and sadly, it looked like they'd converted Harry Potter's cupboard under the stairs! I went to reception and asked to be moved but was refused as they were full. That wasn't an issue until going to dinner and seeing somebody complaining about their room and the receptionist agreeing to move them.
A shame; a good way to sour my opinion of a nice hotel.

Reviewed by
paul hughes

From episkopi, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing, cramped & dated
This is the most disappointing 4 star hotel I have ever stayed in, I have stayed in better 3 stars. In fact I have stayed in better budget hotels. The room I booked was a double, but to say my cupboard under the stairs is not much smaller is no exaggeration. The carpets are dirty, the decor is dated and the bathroom was not that clean. On the positive side the receptionist was very polite and helpful. Congratulations Menzies Hotel the only thing going for this hotel is your staff!!

Reviewed by
Rachel H

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not a bad hotel but probably not worth the £50/£60 a night for a single room
The room was clean and tidy and the bed was pretty big for a single room.
Downside was the walls were paper thin, i could hear people next door throwing up in the morning and the maids were very loud and seemed to start about 7.30/8 in the morning on my floor. Seemed like a lot of noise when check out is at 11. Breakfast was good and the one meal i had in the bar at night was very good.
The hotel did the job as i was visiting someone at hospital so didnt spend a lot of time there but thought it was overpriced for what it was.

Reviewed by
Josh W

From Leominster, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend trip
Stayed here with my partner. For a four star hotel this wasn't what I expected. The room was tiny and an odd shape. The air conditioning wasn't working the first night and when enquired with reception they said someone can have a look when we are out. I suspect it had been switched off on mains. The pillows were very limp and I did end up with a neck sprain. No papers on Sunday available.
On the plus side cleaners and breakfast staff were great and friendly and breakfast was nice. It is near the centre. Wouldn't stay again as the room was positively claustrophobic.

Reviewed by
J Arora

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Menzies Hotel
Over all the hotel sounded ok on late rooms, when I arrived the staff were friendly and i was checked in with no fuss.
The room was the smallest room i have ever stayed in, due to the round shape of the hotel the rooms were a funny shape and the funiture didnt fit square thus using more space than it needed.

Reviewed by
David M

From Marlborough, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First time in Birmingham hotel, will come again!
Reasonably priced, excellent standard of service and a lovely room to spend a night.

Reviewed by
T Campbell

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value
Nice people. Overall a fair choice.

Reviewed by
G Flowers

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight in Birmingham
Very comfortable room, friendly, helpful staff, near Broad Sreet & other city centre amenities

Reviewed by
Andy Pickering

From Swadlincote, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best value for money
We booked 2 nights to see family and friends in Birmingham where we used to live. Parking on site was a bonus on the busy central location of Hagley Road. Our room was adequate for our needs and the food was lovely. The staff were very helpful and pleasant.

Reviewed by
Trevor Adie

From York, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant stay
This Hotel is excellent for links into Birmingham and with free easy parking this was a good benefit. I ordered room service which was prompt, hot and of very good quality. The room although oddly shaped was actually very practical and well designed for all of my needs. The free Wi-Fi was a great feature of this hotel. Room had air con which made my stay extremely comfortable as it was 34 Degrees outside and the bed and pillows were very comfortable too.

Reviewed by
K Fawcett

From Stockton on Tees, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 Next