Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > Central England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Harborne Hotels > Menzies Hotels Birmingham City - Strathallan
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Menzies Hotels Birmingham City - Strathallan

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
225 Hagley Road , Birmingham, B16 9RY
Menzies Hotels Birmingham City - Strathallan offers a superb range of facilities and excellent value for money in the centre of Birmingham. With modern comfortable bedrooms offering free Wi-Fi access and flat screen TV’s with Sky Sports 1,2,3 & 4 in all rooms and air conditioning available in our standard double rooms, a contemporary Brasserie style restaurant and a spacious lounge bar with Sky Sports Ultimate our Birmingham hotel is ideal for both business and leisure guests. Mini gym available from 6am-10pm. The hotel offers free onsite car parking for 160 cars. Conveniently located in central Birmingham, easy access to the many attractions that Birmingham has to offer, and just 2 miles from Birmingham New Street Station, the hotel has something to offer everyone. So, if you are looking for a quality hotel in Birmingham, Menzies Hotels Birmingham City is your ideal choice.

Hotel Accredited with the Silver Green Tourism Award.
Picture of Menzies Hotels Birmingham City - Strathallan, Birmingham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 116 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
74% recommended this accommodation to a friend 78% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

spoilt by secondary glazing.
Excellent team of staff.Given an Excellent welcome by the desk staff, also valuable information.
Staff could not do enough for us.
We stayed two nights in january.With the radiators on it was cold in the bedroom due to secondary glazing.

Reviewed by
john f

From England
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very disappointing quality of hotel for a 4 star hotel
We were very disappointed with the quality of this hotel for a 4 star. The site we booked through has very misleading pictures for this hotel. We chose to stay out of the town centre to treat ourselves to what we thought was going to be a better quality of hotel. The hotel from the outside looks very run down. The lack of a proper bar area was very disappointing to, it felt more like a waiting room and was expensive. The worse bit was the room, it was tiny, barely room for a double bed. So bad in fact we literally dumped our bags and wanted to get out. For the money we were very disappointed.

Reviewed by
dean r

From Warminster, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay
Booked on room-only basis and was only in the room from 11.00pm til 8.00am. Perfectly comfortable and adequate for my purposes.

Reviewed by
Alan C

From Oxford, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value
Great room great hotel great location breakfast was average but ok

Reviewed by
stuart m

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant
Food excellent room brilliant all u need for a good stay

Reviewed by
andy w

From Burton on Trent, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stood at the bar for 15 mins to get service, small room with a dreadful view, toilet will not flush during peak times and kept awake all night by a couple talking in the next room.

Reviewed by
M Austin

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

German Market/Back to backs stop over
Stopped over one night in December to sample the delights of the Birmingham German Market and booked in to visit the National Trust Birmingham back to backs - which were also excellent and highly recommended. The hotel is positioned a few miles away, so we took a taxi and bus ride to get where we wanted - conveniently there is a bus stop right outside the front of the hotel. The parking was free at the hotel, so that's something to bear in mind when selecting a hotel in and around Birmingham. The hotel room was well equipped, clean and spacious which made our stay that much more enjoyable. The restaurant area where we had breakfast was a little odd as this is open to the main reception lobby of the hotel, although this certainly didn't detract from the overall experience. Breakfast was a buffet style, but catered for the full english breakfast needs after a few too many the night before! We would certainly stop again at this hotel and would highly recommend it.

Reviewed by
J Bradshaw

From Telford, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not what a four star should be
Lovely reception and bar area professional staff although some did find it difficult to understand English. Booked executive room so had good expectations however room was cold, I mean cold, maintainence called and delivered us an electric radiator!!! Raw plugs and holes in wall, poor shower pressure

Reviewed by
E Rowe

From Derbyshire, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

OK for business but not in city centre
Room was really big but very cold.

Reviewed by
Fiona M

From Aberdeen, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent

Reviewed by
P C

From England
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next