Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > Central England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Harborne Hotels > Menzies Hotels Birmingham City - Strathallan
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Menzies Hotels Birmingham City - Strathallan

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
225 Hagley Road , Birmingham, B16 9RY
Menzies Hotels Birmingham City - Strathallan offers a superb range of facilities and excellent value for money in the centre of Birmingham. With modern comfortable bedrooms offering free Wi-Fi access and flat screen TV’s with Sky Sports 1,2,3 & 4 in all rooms and air conditioning available in our standard double rooms, a contemporary Brasserie style restaurant and a spacious lounge bar with Sky Sports Ultimate our Birmingham hotel is ideal for both business and leisure guests. Mini gym available from 6am-10pm. The hotel offers free onsite car parking for 160 cars. Conveniently located in central Birmingham, easy access to the many attractions that Birmingham has to offer, and just 2 miles from Birmingham New Street Station, the hotel has something to offer everyone. So, if you are looking for a quality hotel in Birmingham, Menzies Hotels Birmingham City is your ideal choice.

Hotel Accredited with the Silver Green Tourism Award.
Picture of Menzies Hotels Birmingham City - Strathallan, Birmingham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 128 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
74% recommended this accommodation to a friend 78% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I stayed here to attend a charity function nearby. My overall stay was very good, however when I returned to the hotel a 2am, my key would not work so I had to go back to reception to have this changed. My room was also very cold at night, but I will stay at this hotel gain.

Reviewed by
Faith S

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

i enjoyed my stay so much last time i came again,i think for the deal we where offered its good value and close to the city centre i am more than happy with my stay

Reviewed by
john c

From liverpool, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value for money

Reviewed by
J James

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay
Booked room close to office at short notice for evening out. Comfortable bed, decent shower and good breakfast.

Reviewed by
Alan C

From Oxford, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Why is the restaurant empty on an evening
I bought a package that included dinner on one of the evenings. I ate on my first evening I wish I had not. Firstly the glass had lipstick on it which I did not notice until I was wearing it. I ordered muscles for starter they where terrible not just bad they where broken a funny colour. I tried a few and pulled out a few shells gave them back to the waiter who took them away. I told him my problem he went to tell the chef I got no feed back and was not offered an alternative or replacement even though I had not moved more than a third into the empty shell dish. The main the meat was good but the potatoes still had the shape of the dish they where microwaved in and the parsnip could not be cut through.
Reception I found to be insulting four time I had to have the room card reset once I was up and down three time in the slowest lift in the world. Both time I was told it was my accent which they could not understand think it don't say it. Baring in. Mind I stay in hotels in the area three nights a week and never had a problem being understood. A guest had left Their car lights on I told reception who would not try to find the guest..
As previous review say the rooms where cold this normally is not a problem for me but they where bitter. I heard another guest comment they had to wrap in the bath towel to keep warm I went to work with wet hair I gave up with the dryer after 15 mins it was yellow not cream and looked about 20 years old.

Reviewed by
lesley l

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

spoilt by secondary glazing.
Excellent team of staff.Given an Excellent welcome by the desk staff, also valuable information.
Staff could not do enough for us.
We stayed two nights in january.With the radiators on it was cold in the bedroom due to secondary glazing.

Reviewed by
john f

From England
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very disappointing quality of hotel for a 4 star hotel
We were very disappointed with the quality of this hotel for a 4 star. The site we booked through has very misleading pictures for this hotel. We chose to stay out of the town centre to treat ourselves to what we thought was going to be a better quality of hotel. The hotel from the outside looks very run down. The lack of a proper bar area was very disappointing to, it felt more like a waiting room and was expensive. The worse bit was the room, it was tiny, barely room for a double bed. So bad in fact we literally dumped our bags and wanted to get out. For the money we were very disappointed.

Reviewed by
dean r

From Warminster, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay
Booked on room-only basis and was only in the room from 11.00pm til 8.00am. Perfectly comfortable and adequate for my purposes.

Reviewed by
Alan C

From Oxford, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value
Great room great hotel great location breakfast was average but ok

Reviewed by
stuart m

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant
Food excellent room brilliant all u need for a good stay

Reviewed by
andy w

From Burton on Trent, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next