Reviews - Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan (formerly Menzies)


225 Hagley Road, Edgbaston, Birmingham, B16 9RY

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (86)

79% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality



  • June 2015

Nice Hotel

Very good hotel with friendly staff.

The only gripe I have is as with most hotel breakfasts, the fried eggs are left out for too long and the yolks had set. As I say, this is a minor matter as I would be naive to think that the eggs would be fried to order. Enjoyed my stay. Thank you to the staff!

  • C Dance

  • June 2015

The staff were very efficient and friendly and the room was very clean.

I would recommend the hotel

and would like to stay there again.

  • Elizabeth O

  • June 2015

Menzies Hotels Birmingham City - Strathallan

Small room but clean and provided everything you need for a short stay.

  • C Collins

  • April 2015

Short break

Very good value for a short break.

The only grumble would be about being chased after to pay for our drinks after the evening meal when we expected they would be charged to our room as stated on the docket we were asked to show when we arrived for our table.

  • T Edwards

  • April 2015

Menzies Hotels Birmingham City - Strathallan

Good value for a two night break with bed and breakfast and evening meal on one night.

  • M Woodger

  • April 2015


The staff were absolutely amazing.

Very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The outstanding member of staff was behind the bar and was thoughtful, attentive and made us feel special.

  • Rhys Plank

  • March 2015

Very poor room

Room was very tired and dated, hotel is very old fashioned and rooms need updating, very disappointing after spending £106 for the room

  • Shirley J

  • March 2015

Family Friendly Hotel

We booked this hotel for one night as we were going to a party in Birmingham.

The suite was spacious. The free parking was a bonus. It was clean and the staff friendly and the breakfast the next morning was really nice,

  • michael walsh

  • March 2015

Menzies Hotels Birmingham City - Strathallan

I was put on the 7th floor where one member of staff called it the "party floor" I paid for exec room was kept awake ended up checking out at 0600hrs due to not being able to sleep due to noise of group of females partying.

  • j brown

  • February 2015

Reasonable hotel for the price

I stayed at this hotel on a recent trip to birmingham, staff friendly enough on arrival, room was ok, i was meeting a customer so did`nt have dinner in the hotel but breakfast was good,