Reviews - The Royal Angus Hotel


St. Chads Queensway, Birmingham, B4 6HY

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (32)

59% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Cherry S

  • April 2014

Good location in centre of Birmingham

The location is good but lack of well-insulated windows meant that the noise from the dual carriageway kept waking me both nights.

Ask for a room away from the road and it may be alright. £11.95 for a continental breakfast seems excessive.

  • J Greenfield

  • April 2014

Not the greatest

Not a great start when you get into your room & find that someone else's belongings are still there.

I was given a free breakfast to compensate, but not really satisfactory. My second room was very dated, shabby & small

  • j hagues

  • March 2014

royal angus

pleasant breakfast

  • tracey w

  • January 2014

fine for the money

basic room but perfectly fine and comfortable

the mens toilets near the restaurant left in appaling state following a xmas party

a man was asleep on a sofa in the lobby!

  • mel e

  • December 2013

Value for money


  • R Townsend

  • December 2013

Weekend stay

Very good location, and helpful staff, but I thought that the rooms were very basic for a Thistle hotel, which in my past experiences have been very nice.

  • Ian T

  • December 2013

OK for an overnight stay

car park cost is excessive, even at the half-price deal offered by the hotel

  • Matthew F

  • December 2013

Tired Old Fashioned Room & Overpriced

Thist was my first stay at a Thistle hotel, the imagery and feel given by the company is that its modern, clean and on a par with the other big chains across the UK.

The room was abysmal at best, it may have been for the most part, clean at least. However the room was massively dated, curtain overhangs on the bed, dark and warn green colouring, carpet definitely seen better days, and been cleaned better previously I would have thought too. Considering the reservation I made was meant to be a discounted rate, I wasn't happy paying the discounted rate, nevermind the standard rate of pay.

This sort of experience, definitely isn't what you come to expect from a hotel in the middle of Birmingham.

  • Tony H

  • November 2013

The hotel was nice and within walking distance of the center but the overpriced and tasteless food let it down.

  • V Williams

  • November 2013

Avoid the restaurant

We waited 50 minutes for dinner to arrive, quality was very poor and cost far too much for what it was.

Very, very disappointed.