No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Slaughters Country Inn

5AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Washbourne Court ,Lower Slaughter , Cheltenham, GL54 2HS

Recommended by Condé Nast Johansens

Our inspector loved "The attractive setting ensuring a thoroughly relaxing experience and good company."

The Slaughters Country Inn formally Washbourne Court is located in the heart of the village of Lower Slaughter one of the prettiest villages in the Cotswolds this charming property sits right on the river bank. The 30 bedrooms are contemporary in style, dining is relaxed and informal in Scholars bar, enjoy roaring log fires in the winter months and dining al fresco on the riverside terrace in the summer. Perfectly positioned for exploring the Cotswolds Washbourne Court is an excellent location. Recently purchased by Brownsword Hotels the property will develop under their ownership in the coming months.

Bathrobes and slippers are not included.
Bottled water is included
Newspaper not included but can be ordered on reception

Picture of The Slaughters Country Inn, Cheltenham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 40 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous stay. Great location
Really first class all round. Lovely hotel with excellent service and very friendly staff

Reviewed by
Ian H

From York, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful!
I booked this hotel for a weekend stay to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Amazing location, beautiful hotel and outstanding service. It has the most relaxing atmosphere and staff are friendly and helpful. We will definitely return.

Reviewed by
Helen R

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful Location
My partner and I stayed for 1 night at the hotel. The location was perfect, pretty and quiet. We took a short walk along a trail to another village for afternoon tea. The grounds of the hotel were lovely and well maintained. The staff were friendly and accommodating, bedrooms clean and comfortable, we had a room with the roll topped bath. The shower/bathroom was tiny and has a step up to the shower, so if anyone has a disability this room would not be appropriate. There was a cozy fire in the bar area. We dined in the restaurant, the service was very good, we both ordered a steak which was ok. Breakfast was lovely with a good choice to suit everyone and again the service was very good. A very enjoyable stay.

Reviewed by
Susan B

From Romford, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Gorgeous Place and Setting
The Inn couldn't be more lovely or the staff more gracious. Our room was on the lower end so it was a garrett which was absolutely charming and first class. We had a spectacular dinner for a reasonable price. I highly recommend.

Reviewed by
Teresa B

From Seattle, USA
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing place
We were celebrating our wedding anniversary so booked this hotel , hoping that it would be special. It certainly was. We will most definitely be going back there.

Reviewed by
GILL L

From ST CLEARS, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely hotel,staff very friendly,

Reviewed by
ann hathaway

From Sudbury, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We had a lovely room . Bed and bed linen very luxurious - great nights sleep . Staff friendly and helpful. Bar and restaurant top marks

Reviewed by
Andrew G

From Erith, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel
The service, the rooms, the location and the food all great.

Reviewed by
Julie P

From Newport Pagnell, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel, fab customer service
Such a beautiful hotel situated in a very pretty and romantic location in the Cotswolds. We had booked in for 2 nights but I could've stated for much longer. My goodness, what a room! We booked a superior room and we got a suite across from the main building - 2 bedrooms and a huge lounge. Modern and clean, TV and DVD, kettle etc. Staff are all lovely. Food is great in the bar if a little expensive. We walked to Bourton On The Water one night which is around a mile away on a bridleway. Breakfast is fab too.

Reviewed by
J Hunter-Lowe

From Ambleside, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Only one regret we only stayed for one night as we were going to a local wedding .
Only one complaint we tried to stay another night but it was full , can you call that a complaint !
Would go back and intend too as well .

Reviewed by
M Neale

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next