No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Slaughters Country Inn

5AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Washbourne Court ,Lower Slaughter , Cheltenham, GL54 2HS

Recommended by Condé Nast Johansens

Our inspector loved "The attractive setting ensuring a thoroughly relaxing experience and good company."

The Slaughters Country Inn formally Washbourne Court is located in the heart of the village of Lower Slaughter one of the prettiest villages in the Cotswolds this charming property sits right on the river bank. The 30 bedrooms are contemporary in style, dining is relaxed and informal in Scholars bar, enjoy roaring log fires in the winter months and dining al fresco on the riverside terrace in the summer. Perfectly positioned for exploring the Cotswolds Washbourne Court is an excellent location. Recently purchased by Brownsword Hotels the property will develop under their ownership in the coming months.

Bathrobes and slippers are not included.
Bottled water is included
Newspaper not included but can be ordered on reception

Picture of The Slaughters Country Inn, Cheltenham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 42 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Why We Would Stay Again .
We recently stayed at the Slaughters Country Inn ,in Lower Slaughter.We were looking for a nice relaxing weekend in the Cotswolds somewhere.Having looked at the reviews of many of the hotels and inns in and around the area, we always seemed to come back to the Slaughters Country Inn.The previous reviews by other guests were exactly correct as we found out for our selves. Everything about the hotel from the staff , rooms ,food , the relaxing surroundings and those lovely log fires ,made our weekend a weekend to remember and another stay in the future a must. If you tried the rest why not try the best. Many Thanks To All The Staff .

Reviewed by
john saunders

From HENGOED, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

BREAKFAST
The connection with the actuality of this hotel was at breakfast mainly. Very pleasant and well meaning but dizzy and cumulatively incompetent persons waited on table: five breakfasts. The first three mornings we had to ask to give our orders. Scrambled eggs requested on toast only came on or with toast twice. Coffee jugs had to be asked to be replenished. The bar food if not the restaurant (it is suspected) is overpriced for what it is. All was meant well as usual but as was said to the Manor House over the road it was as if no one was visible or in authority and certianly no one at all in charge. Take the waiting staff aside and train them to realise what is required, namely their silence and their obvious efficiencies yet regarding the surely, most obvious of requirements, namely, good service. Whoever has put investment money into this I do feel very sorry for them because for the price it wasn-t really good enough alas. Perhaps they will improve yet.

Reviewed by
jeremy rosenblatt

From England
Who stayed in December 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fantastic nights stay
only stayed for one night,but the location and place was excellent,lovely setting,great room,lovely and warm despite very cold weather outside,very attentive staff,great service cant wait to go back soon but for much longer

Reviewed by
paul ferdinand

From Basildon, England
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the slaughters inn
we enjoyed our stay a lovley hotel to get away for a country break .the room was great but the resturant food could be better would eat in the bar area next time .would return though the setting is wonderfull.

Reviewed by
D Currier

From Solihull, England
Who stayed in November 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent service.

Reviewed by
Philip Wood

From Dudley, UK
Who stayed in November 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our short break at The Slaughters.
Very enjoyable stay, charming location,polite and helpful staff,good menu offering excellant food and for our 2 day stay the sun shone!

Reviewed by
D Hawkley

From Birmingham, England
Who stayed in November 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excelent stopover
the slaughters was an great stopover in a beautifull location with a great room only 20 yards across the yard from the bar with an open fire .couldn"t ask for more (apart from another night !)

Reviewed by
robert osborne

From Sheffield, England
Who stayed in October 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely place and very friendly. A few issues with the room

Reviewed by
s v

From Bridport, England
Who stayed in October 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxing stay
Great deal from laterooms enhanced by room upgrade. Staff courteous and attentive, great room and food. Lovely setting and overall a fantastic break.

Reviewed by
J Lewis

From Bridgend, UK
Who stayed in October 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A wonderful 40th Wedding Anniversary weekend
Our weekend was booked as a surprise by our family for our 40th Wedding Anniversary and we couldn't have wished for better. We were greeted by name, the staff were friendly and courteous throughout our stay, the hotel is beautiful, and our room was perfect with an extremely comfortable bed, and quality bed linen. Breakfast was lovely, and the evening meal delicious. The hotel had a warm welcoming feel, with log fires and comfy sofas, our stay was completely relaxing and we would highly recommend it to anyone. We would happily go back having been so well looked after.

Reviewed by
R Walker

From England
Who stayed in October 2012

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next