No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Slaughters Country Inn

5AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Washbourne Court ,Lower Slaughter , Cheltenham, GL54 2HS

Recommended by Condé Nast Johansens

Our inspector loved "The attractive setting ensuring a thoroughly relaxing experience and good company."

The Slaughters Country Inn formally Washbourne Court is located in the heart of the village of Lower Slaughter one of the prettiest villages in the Cotswolds this charming property sits right on the river bank. The 30 bedrooms are contemporary in style, dining is relaxed and informal in Scholars bar, enjoy roaring log fires in the winter months and dining al fresco on the riverside terrace in the summer. Perfectly positioned for exploring the Cotswolds Washbourne Court is an excellent location. Recently purchased by Brownsword Hotels the property will develop under their ownership in the coming months.

Bathrobes and slippers are not included.
Bottled water is included
Newspaper not included but can be ordered on reception

Picture of The Slaughters Country Inn, Cheltenham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 41 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Delightful Visit
We have visited this hotel many times and we thoroughly enjoy each visit. The location is beautiful and really helps us relax in this cosy hotel.

Reviewed by
A Wingrove

From High Wycombe, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely inn, friendly staff, beautiful location
Myself and my partner really enjoyed our stay here. The inn is in a very pretty location. The rooms are mini cottages with a downstairs lounge and upstairs bedroom and large bathroom. The staff were lovely and very helpful. Breakfast was delicious. Me being a sewer and my partner being a property maintenance person - we were itching to just touch up some paintwork in the cottage , mend the couple of holes in the sofa cushions. Minor things that would have given it a 6 if done - would only all take an hour or two! We would recommend this place and can't wait to stay again

Reviewed by
F Poole

From England
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Absolutely loved our stay

Reviewed by
Avril M

From Huntingdon, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Draughty room
Very good stay except for the draughty room. I know it's an old building and that very little can be done to the structure, however some form of secondary glazing would have been welcome.

Reviewed by
B Jones

From UK
Who stayed in February 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely break
We stayed at the Slaughters Countyr inn for one night, the room was lovely. The pub ajoining the inn was very welcoming and the drink & food was great. Will definately go back!!!

Reviewed by
helen o

From UK
Who stayed in February 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Delightful Visit
This was our fifth visit to The Slaughter Inn and it was as enjoyable as ever. The staff are very efficient and friendly which creates a really relaxed atmosphere. I would have given the room quality a 6 as we love this room but it does need the paintwork refreshing slightly.
The quality of the food is very good and the only reason for that not being 6 is that the menu is not really vegetarian friendly. Apart from these small details everything is perfect, we will be back soon.

Reviewed by
A Wingrove

From High Wycombe, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Picture postcard Cotswold village ideal for a relaxing couple of days but enough to do within a short distance, be it country walks or visits to Stow on the Wold or Bourton on the water, the latter being within walking distance. The inn was clean, comfortable with helpful staff and good home cooked meals. Good value for money in a lovely part of the country that I would not hesitate to visit again. A brilliant couple of days despite the covering of snow that almost made the village even more delightful.

Reviewed by
Adrian Roberts

From UK
Who stayed in February 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel & beautiful area
Great hotel in a beautiful area. The general and bar staff were brilliant but the restaurant food was a slight let down.

Reviewed by
Guy G

From London, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff at the hotel were polite and professional and attentive to there guests.
The restaurant is to bright and the tables are to close together. There are no table cloths on the table which you would expect at a 4 star hotel. The decor in the restaurant is awful large mirrors everywhere veiwing yourself eating dinner was not a good experience. The dark dinning room furniture was not a fit for this hotel.

Reviewed by
lisa mason bradley

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Why We Would Stay Again .
We recently stayed at the Slaughters Country Inn ,in Lower Slaughter.We were looking for a nice relaxing weekend in the Cotswolds somewhere.Having looked at the reviews of many of the hotels and inns in and around the area, we always seemed to come back to the Slaughters Country Inn.The previous reviews by other guests were exactly correct as we found out for our selves. Everything about the hotel from the staff , rooms ,food , the relaxing surroundings and those lovely log fires ,made our weekend a weekend to remember and another stay in the future a must. If you tried the rest why not try the best. Many Thanks To All The Staff .

Reviewed by
john saunders

From HENGOED, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next