No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Slaughters Country Inn

5AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Washbourne Court ,Lower Slaughter , Cheltenham, GL54 2HS

Recommended by Condé Nast Johansens

Our inspector loved "The attractive setting ensuring a thoroughly relaxing experience and good company."

The Slaughters Country Inn formally Washbourne Court is located in the heart of the village of Lower Slaughter one of the prettiest villages in the Cotswolds this charming property sits right on the river bank. The 30 bedrooms are contemporary in style, dining is relaxed and informal in Scholars bar, enjoy roaring log fires in the winter months and dining al fresco on the riverside terrace in the summer. Perfectly positioned for exploring the Cotswolds Washbourne Court is an excellent location. Recently purchased by Brownsword Hotels the property will develop under their ownership in the coming months.

Bathrobes and slippers are not included.
Bottled water is included
Newspaper not included but can be ordered on reception

Picture of The Slaughters Country Inn, Cheltenham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 47 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the slaughters inn
we enjoyed our stay a lovley hotel to get away for a country break .the room was great but the resturant food could be better would eat in the bar area next time .would return though the setting is wonderfull.

Reviewed by
D Currier

From Solihull, England
Who stayed in November 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent service.

Reviewed by
Philip Wood

From Dudley, UK
Who stayed in November 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our short break at The Slaughters.
Very enjoyable stay, charming location,polite and helpful staff,good menu offering excellant food and for our 2 day stay the sun shone!

Reviewed by
D Hawkley

From Birmingham, England
Who stayed in November 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excelent stopover
the slaughters was an great stopover in a beautifull location with a great room only 20 yards across the yard from the bar with an open fire .couldn"t ask for more (apart from another night !)

Reviewed by
robert osborne

From Sheffield, England
Who stayed in October 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely place and very friendly. A few issues with the room

Reviewed by
s v

From Bridport, England
Who stayed in October 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxing stay
Great deal from laterooms enhanced by room upgrade. Staff courteous and attentive, great room and food. Lovely setting and overall a fantastic break.

Reviewed by
J Lewis

From Bridgend, UK
Who stayed in October 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A wonderful 40th Wedding Anniversary weekend
Our weekend was booked as a surprise by our family for our 40th Wedding Anniversary and we couldn't have wished for better. We were greeted by name, the staff were friendly and courteous throughout our stay, the hotel is beautiful, and our room was perfect with an extremely comfortable bed, and quality bed linen. Breakfast was lovely, and the evening meal delicious. The hotel had a warm welcoming feel, with log fires and comfy sofas, our stay was completely relaxing and we would highly recommend it to anyone. We would happily go back having been so well looked after.

Reviewed by
R Walker

From England
Who stayed in October 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Have to thank the inn for an upgrade on our bedroom. Bedroom was modern and spotlessly clean. Receptionist on arrival extremely helpful and friendly as in general were all the staff. Friday night dinner in the restaurant enjoyable but breakfast average and slow particularly on the Sunday morning which from comments made to other customers in the dining room (but not to us) was the result of a large party dining in a separate room. 35 minutes to wait for a cooked breakfast is far too long and when it arrived it looked as if it had been sat under a heat lamp for too long. Monday breakfast much better but then there were fewer guests. Bar food overpriced and average. Would use the inn for overnight accommodation but would eat elsewhere. Lovely surroundings.

Reviewed by
B Richards

From Woodford, England
Who stayed in October 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quintessential Cotswolds.
This charming hotel is in a superb setting. Ideal for a tour of the Cotswolds. The staff are friendly and helpful, and the whole package represented excellent value as far as we were concerned. We will definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
O Evans

From Swansea, UK
Who stayed in October 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel but short on storage space
This is a pretty hotel in a great location.The hotel is very well kept and looked after.The restaurant is nice the food is good but the menu is very limited.The staff are very friendly and helpfull particularly the recepion staff.The room we were in "Angelos" was very short of storage space and one window was set in the roof and could not really be left open as the kitchen vent was very nearby and cooking smell were very strong.The other window was very difficult to use as it was behind the bed and the headboard was in the way.If I was in this area again I would either stay elsewhere or book a cottage.As I booked through "late rooms" I thought the hotel was very good value @ £95 per night.

Reviewed by
J O Reilly

From Ballybrack,co Dublin, Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in September 2012

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next