No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Best Western Crown Hotel

3Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Horsefair , Boroughbridge , YO51 9LB
The Crown is at the very heart of the market town of Boroughbridge, a hotel which has been at the centre of the community since the 16th Century – when it was a renowned coaching inn on the road from London to Edinburgh. Things have changed of course – you’ll enjoy free WIFI when you stay with us throughout the hotel, and can indulge in our leisure spa with indoor pool, Jacuzzi, steam room, sauna and gym. Also available is an up to date Flabelos vibration plate and sun shower to tone and tan. Everything you need for relaxation is right here. The hotel also offers a large secure free car park for all guests.

There are 37 bedrooms, some with four posters, a wide range of conference facilities catering for everything you need from intimate board meetings for up to 15 to large presentations for up to 100 delegates. Just ask for our conference details. We have great wedding packages and are licensed for Weddings and Civil Partnerships, so whatever your plans are, we’d love to be part of them! Just give us a call.

We have family rooms and well-behaved children and dogs are welcome! There is a small supplement for both! Close to the Cathedral cities of Ripon and York, this is a great location for exploring glorious North Yorkshire with everything right on our doorstep.

Picture of Best Western Crown Hotel, Boroughbridge  at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 33 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
I would definitely recommend this hotel. Quiet, stylish, with bags of character. Really enjoyed the stay and planning to return in the near future

Reviewed by
Edel Greenwood

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

North Yorkshire one night stay
Great welcome and comfortable room with welcoming seating areas on the ground floor. Secure car park on site, pleasant small swimming pool, good sized bathroom. Nice meal and good service in restaurant. Only small criticism was that I didn't want a cooked English breakfast and I should have been more assertive about what I wanted for a continental style choice as it wasn't a buffet. I asked for croissants and just got one and we had 2 slices of toast each. Thought there would be other bread rolls or something brought to the table. My fault I suppose but it didn't seem good value.

Reviewed by
Anne B

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room we were allocated was nice but rather small and the bathroom had a bit of an unpleasant smell - think mainly due to age??

Reviewed by
K Jackson

From Stockton on Tees, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good hotel with decent facilities
Booked hotel via laterooms day before my stay. Hotel is easy to find and has a gym attached (with pool)
When you first arrive, it looks just like a pub, but is deceptively large.
decor is quite quaint (patterned carpets and wallpaper etc) but is in good order.
Room was an acceptable size for one night stay and bathroom was clean if not the most modern.
Staff were extremely helpful and friendly.
Would stay again.

Reviewed by
Stephen T

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly staff, nice and relaxing stay

Reviewed by
Tony D

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice break
Good friendly atmophere and staff pool nice and food was good

Reviewed by
David Traynor

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay
We stayed for one night - the staff were very friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. We had a meal the night we stayed - there was a good choice and the food was excellent. At breakfast the next morning there was lots to choice from. We had a 'dip' in the pool the night we arrived - this was clean and warm. Would definitely stay again and recommend it to anyone. Our room was a good size as was the en suite - and very clean.

Reviewed by
Deborah B

From Thetford, England
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay except ......
everything was brilliant including the facilities of the pool and gym.... The room was massive with lots of space and a massive bed.
However if you book please ask NOT to be in room 30 as it is at the top of the first flight of stairs and the floor boards creak outside the door ..... many times woken up by people walking to their rooms and chatting loudly as they did so.

Reviewed by
Stuart B

From Bishop's Stortford, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Don't book room 30!
Hotel nice. Real mixture of styles. The bedroom was very antique furniture. The swimming pool had Grecian statues. The bar and restaurant very country cottage. Stayed in room 30 which was at the top of a flight of stairs. It seemed like the room had been carved out of the landing. Every time a guest came up or down the very creaky stairs, we could hear it in our room. At about half five on Sunday morning we heard the general foot traffic of the guests and staff. Not good. Spoke to the manager about the fact that we had had an interrupted night's sleep but she offered no compensation. When you pay £110 for the night, you at least expect a good night's sleep. Gym very tiny. Swimming pool and facilities tired. Watch out for the very odd signs such as the one on the steam room door which asks guests to kindly not shave in the steam room! What??? A little disappointed for the price we paid.

Reviewed by
Victoria T

From Beverley, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing Leisure Break
£118.80 per night for a very small twin room was expensive. The bathrom was dated with cheap looking white tiles, some of the grouting was stained black. There was 1 cheap plastic beaker in the bathroom and the loo roll must have been the cheapest available. We've stayed in many Best Westerns (often paying a lot less than £118) where the facilities have been far superior than this hotel - little things like decent toiletries, fruit tea's, still and sparkling mineral water. The TV was located in such a position that we ended up with stiff necks trying to watch it. The windows were painted shut so the room got very hot (even though the radiator wasn't on. When we went for a quiet drink in the bar there was lots of children running around so we decided to move to the coffee lounge, only to be followed by a couple of children and their Mums - the children (and obviously their mothers) thought it perfectly acceptable to climb all over the leather chesterfields. We had 1 drink and left. If there are 2 bar areas, one should be designated for adults only.
Would we stay again - NO - not at £118. Not worth more than £79.

Reviewed by
E Thompson

From York, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next