Reviews - The Whitehall Hotel


Exeter Park Road, Bournemouth, BH2 5AX

Price From 181.98 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (13)

85% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Konrad M

  • August 2015

A pleasant stay in the heart of town

This is a very comfortable and pleasant hotel.

It is large enough to offer comprehensive service, but not so large as to be impersonal. I had a twin-bedded room on the basis of single occupancy for a good price. It was clean and the en-suite services were very good. My room overlooked the centre of the town, but the double-glazing was excellent in blocking out the noise at night. There was a reasonable choice of breakfasts on offer, well cooked and served promptly. The staff were helpful and friendly. The hotel is quite old, but most of the facilities are modern, and the rooms are in a good state of decoration. The lift is old-fashioned, and the user has to open and close the doors manually, but it worked well and I found it rather charming!

  • L Willett

  • July 2015

Lovely central hotel, but rooms and corridors very dated. Needs a spruce up.

My room was lovely ,but doors and corridors and stairs old and dated.

Staff on reception very friendly . Can't say the same for breakfast staff . We were phoned at 8.30 to say breakfast was being served. We didn't ask to be woken . Seems like everyone had to be at breakfast together. The hotel was a lovely building and very central for the BIC.

  • Stacey H

  • June 2015

Great position for all nightlife and shops/beach the staff were very friendly and helpful

We were on the ground floor the room was lovely although a little warm as there were main pipes in our room the staff were very plesent and the breakfast was lovely

  • C Davies

  • September 2014

Friendly staff and convenient position for BIC/ town center/ BIC

The staff at this hotel were really friendly and helpful.

Great views of the park out of the back of the hotel.

  • Jon A

  • September 2014

Potential to be really good but is just pretty average

Good town centre location with some rooms overlooking the park.

Quite liked the traditional 1920s seaside hotel feel of the place and lavish ornate decor, it didn't bother us that it was crumbling and worn out. Also liked the antique lift with manually operated concertina doors. Corridors and Stairs suggest this place was never particularly lavish in it's hey day and stairs now spoiled by 1970s 'modernisation' and Georgian wired glass fire screens cramping the stair enclosure means you can barely swing a cat let alone a suitcase. Breakfast was the let down. No reason for it to be so poor. They should change it to buffet style rather than 'you are getting fatty bangers, beans and fried bread on your plate whether you want it or not' style. As for the coffee - it was unforgivable and tasted like instant. Could make this place feel twice as good just be serving a good breakfast with decent coffee.

  • Malcolm K

  • September 2014

Good value for money

A good value for money hotel .

Be warned - it's close to town centre so surrounding area was noisy on Friday night we stayed, but room had double-glazed windows which effectively cut out the noise (but also the fresh air - can't have it both ways!). Otherwise, staff friendly and helpful, rooms clean and a good breakfast.

  • Richard D

  • August 2014

Hotel fine excellent value

Service attentive and helpful

Car park small

  • M Tuliao

  • July 2014

Simply the best

The receptionist are welcoming and pleasant.

The lady is helpful,warm and polite. We enjoyed our breakfast with very friendly person who served us. I like room no.42 because I can see the park , the balloon up high when I look at the window. We enjoyed our stay with nice and welcoming staff at the hotel. Next time we will stay a little bit longer.Thank you very much.

  • R Isom

  • July 2014

Contributed to a satisfying holiday

Hotel was well located for trips both in and around Bournemouth.

Information about local travel Links (timetables) were available from the hotel. Room was clean and well maintained. Staff are polite and approachable. I would use this hotel again and would recommend it.

  • Maria Earland

  • July 2014

our stay

Although we only stayed one night, I cannot praise this hotel enough.

Staff were very helpful, welcoming and informative. The room we had was clean and comfortable for our needs. I would definitely recommend it to others and return there again.