No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Gailes Hotel

4Visit Scotland Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Marine Drive Gailes, Irvine, KA11 5AE
This award-winning four-star hotel has it all. Distinctive modern accommodation includes 40 well-appointed bedrooms with the focal point undoubtedly the recently refurbished Penthouse Apartment. The Gailes Penthouse is the ultimate in luxury retreats with private spa and Jacuzzi, not to mention rooftop terrace and conservatory with views out to Arran. Championship golf is literally on our doorstep (Glasgow Gailes, Dundonald Links and Western Gailes). Open Championship venues such as Royal Troon is 10 minutes away while Turnberry is only a 30 minute drive. The Gailes really is the perfect retreat for leisure or golf breaks while hugely popular for wedding, conference and business needs. Free car parking. Complimentary Wifi.
Picture of The Gailes Hotel, Irvine at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 62 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
95% recommended this accommodation to a friend 95% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good

Reviewed by
Z Wu

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First class hotel
First class hotel have stayed here quite a few times and have always found it to be relaxing very clean with very good service, good menu with excellent food good spa I would recommend this hotel to everyone

Reviewed by
J Wither

From Stranraer, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short break at Christmas
Really enjoyed the stay at the hotel.
Staff were very friendly and helpful, food was very good and the overall experience exceeded expectations

Reviewed by
Richard P

From Toddington, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant Stay
I've stay here several times over the years when working in the area.
No issues to report.
Not outstanding but good overall.
Handy for the Irvine area.

Reviewed by
S Brown

From Glenrothes, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Gold star
From check in to check out and the Chrustmas function in between, all the Gailes staff I encountered were first class. A real credit to the company.
At such a busy, busy time of year particularly so in your industry, one could expect standards to slip somewhat - however there was certainly no sign of such a thing.
First class!
Sadly due to a family emergency I had to rush off first thing in the morning without even time for a coffee, so I can't comment on breakfast - however, if the evening meal the previous night was anything to go by then I'm sure it was excellent.
For me, personally, the only let down for the evening was the, I felt, the perhaps slightly inexperienced MC for the function - however as he wasn't, I suspect an actual Gailes staff member, it's not overly relevant.

Reviewed by
Jennifer B

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

There was a reunion party that continued into the small hours and congregated in the hall outside our room untill 3am. I had to call reception regarding the noise that this party was making and in the end it spoiled the occassion of my wifes birthday. We have stayed many times with simpsinns but after this stay I would not be in a hurry to return to Gailes. We were very disappointed with the stay and would not recommend Gailes to any of our friends.

Reviewed by
D Speirs

From Kilmarnock, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Business Trip
Friendly efficient staff, clean warm room, good food all for £60 !! Couldn't ask for more.

Reviewed by
Tom G

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fab stay!
Friendly check in, spacious clean room. Had a delicious 3 course meal from the lite menu. Very attentive waiting staff.defo recommend the cocktails. All in all a lovely stay. Only thing was the bed wasn't comfortable.

Reviewed by
p tyre

From Kilbirnie, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Noisy Wedding
No sleep until 3am as noisy wedding party, previous stay walls so thin snoring next door could not get to sleep.....slept in bathroom, customer service offered free night....however be warned.....or I might have had two unlucky stays.....oh very first stay was fine...so take your chance...

Reviewed by
Gary M

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Never a bad word
Perfect as always.

Reviewed by
Michael Taylor

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next