No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Gailes Hotel

4Visit Scotland Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Marine Drive Gailes, Irvine, KA11 5AE
This award-winning four-star hotel has it all. Distinctive modern accommodation includes 40 well-appointed bedrooms with the focal point undoubtedly the recently refurbished Penthouse Apartment. The Gailes Penthouse is the ultimate in luxury retreats with private spa and Jacuzzi, not to mention rooftop terrace and conservatory with views out to Arran. Championship golf is literally on our doorstep (Glasgow Gailes, Dundonald Links and Western Gailes). Open Championship venues such as Royal Troon is 10 minutes away while Turnberry is only a 30 minute drive. The Gailes really is the perfect retreat for leisure or golf breaks while hugely popular for wedding, conference and business needs. Free car parking. Complimentary Wifi.
Picture of The Gailes Hotel, Irvine at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 73 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
96% recommended this accommodation to a friend 95% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Never a bad word
Perfect as always.

Reviewed by
Michael Taylor

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

overnight stay
we were attending a wedding on 22nd august so decided to stay in the hotel for convenience. i can sum up by saying- lovely hotel lovely room and lovely staff!
will have no qualms about recommending the gailes hotel to all my friends and family

Reviewed by
elaine stott

From Kilmarnock, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable and Nice Surroundings
First stay at The Gailes as I was on a business trip with a colleague to the. First impressions are good, the hotel is clean, well presented and staff friendly. Room size is about average for a hotel like this. We eat in the restaurant in the evening and the food was very good, as was the service. Breakfast experience was the same.
Overall I'd recommend the hotel although I thought the room rate we paid (£89 B&B) was slightly higher than the average. However, there was a golfing competition on nearby and maybe a hang over from the games in Glasgow pushing the prices up? Personally I would have thought £75 was a fair price.

Reviewed by
R Lessels

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great for a short break
Very nice, modern hotel with good facilities. Not much to do within walking distance so better if you're driving or don't mind getting a taxi.

Reviewed by
David R

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We chose this hotel for three nights as our base while we attended the Commonwealth Games in Glasgow. Although it lies about 30 miles from Glasgow it represented great value, so much cheaper than similar accommodation nearer to Glasgow. There was a huge amount of parking. The receptionist was efficient and friendly. The room was well-appointed and of good size, containing an exceptionally large bed as well as three comfortable chairs (often lacking in budget hotel rooms). The room was also well-lit and had a pleasant view of a small lake. The restaurant served a wide selection of food at breakfast and service was excellent. This hotel is designated four stars and it certainly lived up to that high standard and yet at the same time was devoid of stuffiness. The Gailes is a hotel I would heartily recommend.

Reviewed by
J Jackson

From Stoke on Trent, England
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay

Reviewed by
M Dominey

From Ottery St Mary, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel but!
The staff and the hotel are lovely and we could not fault the hotel one bit. It is such a shame that there is a smelly landfill site next to the hotel, really spoils sitting outside if the wind is blowing the wrong way. Fab breakfast too.

Reviewed by
lynda B

From Northwich, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First class standard, friendly helpful staff, brilliant value for money.

Reviewed by
D. Gilbert W

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Gailes Hotel
The stay was perfect from check in to check out with the exception that we were disappointed with the evening meal. The Tempura Chicken was more like Chicken Pakora. The batter was thick, heavy and tough......not Tempura! My wife followed with the Gailes Fish Supper with another killer batter......clearly not the chef's strong point. I should add that both lunch and breakfast were excellent! This is a great little hotel just put the chef on a batter course......
We'll be back but we'll avoid Tempura................

Reviewed by
Trevor R

From Dunblane, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best hotel ever
I cannot praise the gailes hotel high enough from the minute we arrived the staff were fantastic and couldnt do enough for us. the room was beautiful and absolutely immaculate as was the rest of the hotel, and i mean spotless. The bed was huge and we had an amazing view of the golf course. the food was to die for, and very reasonably priced. the breakfast was second to none and we have stayed in alot of hotels. we had asked for a smoking room which we were given but you couldnt tell as it did not smell of smoke. This hotel should be five star it is fantastic.

Reviewed by
samantha mcgowan

From Bathgate, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next