No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Red Lion Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Hart Street,Henley-On-Thames,Oxfordshire , Henley on Thames, RG9 2AR
Since the fifteenth century, travellers - including three Kings of England - have enjoyed the hospitality of The Red Lion Hotel.Uniquely situated overlooking the Royal Regatta course on the river Thames and the town of Henley on Thames. The hotel is close to both central London and Heathrow airport.Privately owned by the Gill family of MG Hotels, The Red Lion Hotel has been extensively restored and now includes 39 bedrooms,restaurant, bar, cosy lounges and facilities for wedding receptions, private dining and business meetings. Complimentary wireless internet access is available throughout the hotel.

Picture of The Red Lion Hotel, Henley on Thames at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 53 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
73% recommended this accommodation to a friend 74% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great weekend hotel
we stayed here as our base to,enjoy Henley and the area.
Excellent service. Very warm and extremely clean.

Reviewed by
C Wiseman

From Grays, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quaint and Cosy

Reviewed by
S Medhat

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Most disappointing stay yet
We have stayed at The Red Lion a number of times as our son & family live in Henley however this visit was really disappointing. The 1st room we were allocated was tiny, dark and shabby. The 2nd not much better, the curtains were ripped, the bath had mould around it, the hair drier & bedside lamps didn't work...two nights cost nearly £250 obscene for accommodation of this standard. Other rooms we have stayed in at The Red Lion have obviously been 'premium' rooms...however we've never paid more...in fact we've generally paid less. We will only stay here again if we really have no other choice, there are many other hotels in a Henley that offer far cleaner accommodation at competitive prices

Reviewed by
d Dickens

From Gloucester, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Could be a really Good Hotel with a bit more effort
The entrance / reception area, bar and especially the lounges of this hotel are quaint and welcoming. The staff are all very pleasant. The restaurant was lonely but it was a Monday night, but we were looked after and the food pleasant.
Our room was a good size with a very comfortable bed, as well as a little seating area. So far so good. The bathroom was cold and the radiator/towel rail not working. Strange orange and green lights over the not quite clean enough bath, this is a hard water area and I think this gave it the effect of not being clean. There wasn't any soap so I had to go and ask at reception for some.
We only had 2 little milk pots so I needed to ask for more and was given a cup of hot and rather odd type of milk...
When the waiter came to take our hot breakfast order I asked what was on offer and was told a full cooked breakfast, there was no menu so we said OK. However it was very good so no complaints just seemed a little odd not having a choice. Toast was make it yourself which usually drives me nuts but the machine was quick and delivered perfect toast every time.
I thought having to pay £10 to park the car overnight a bit of a cheek but no option to park anywhere else.
Would we stay here again, probably not. There are just a few too many things that aren't quite right, which may be why they have so many empty rooms....

Reviewed by
Kate G

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice room, fantastic location
The room was lovely and the location was fantastic being right in the centre of Henley.

Reviewed by
Emma W

From Zurich, Switzerland
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dissapointing
We were thoroughly disappointed with our stay.the room was in the car park . The carpets were filthy . The bathroom was un clean . There wasnt even bottled water supplied . There was no wardrobe . And we were woken by bottles being emptied into the bins outside our room at 7.30 am , not quite the peaceful lay in i had hoped for on a weekend away

Reviewed by
T Nevard

From Uxbridge, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfy but cold!
Very comfy room that was spacious (403 in car park) and had nice big bathroom.
We stayed in October and the room was very cold and we had trouble with the radiators. Getting hot water to run was also impossible. In summer I'm sure this is fine. The bed was tiny. 4"6? but the covers and pillows were very comfortable. Furniture etc lovely.
Overall it was a nice place and well done but the heat would have bothered me if we'd been staying more than 1 night.

Reviewed by
David J

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Red Lion
Generally a nice hotel with character in an ideal location.
Service was great - including dealing with my request to provide flowers and champagne in advance.
Rooms are all different with plenty of space, comfortable beds, tea & coffee, iron & board. The small TVs should be replaced with properly positioned, wall mounted large screens though, and shower water pressure should be higher.
Some basic maintenance is being neglected e.g. damage to corridor/landing walls and decor which hasn't been repaired.
Breakfast was quite good but there should have been more choice and eggs should be cooked to order.
No real ale in the hotel bar is disappointing.
Standard rates are very expensive for what you get. For the price you might expect to be getting a luxury hotel but you don't. It is a traditional old style market town hotel and 3 stars is right.

Reviewed by
Charles W

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rewind 2014
Me & Wife stayed while we were at Rewind festival 2014 - cannot fault location , cleanliness & luxury of hotel.

Reviewed by
j austin

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Room was fine, large and tastefully furnished, however Car Parking and Breakfast were charged as expensive extras, so this was certainly not good value for money.

Reviewed by
D Carson

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next