You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - The Red Lion Hotel

3

Hart Street,Henley-On-Thames,Oxfordshire, Henley on Thames, RG9 2AR

Price From 144.70 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (26)

65% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • John d

  • April 2016

Second Visit

Very pleasant service but the hotel is looking a bit tired in many areas.

The carpets are threadbare and the plumbing in the rooms is also antique and not very functional. I had to point out that the lavatory was exceedingly difficult to flush. It was attended to while we were out but the repair was only a temporary fix. The food was good and well cooked and a hearty breakfast was provided.

  • J Coll

  • March 2016

Red Lion

The hotel is based in a great position but unfortunately the hotel was very tired and under managed.

Having had to move room two times due to toilet not working, then a radiator making alarming sounds, the third room we only realised late in the evening was not a double bed but two singles with a cover (and both beds were uneven). Food is very basic and easily beaten by home cooking. Service is very hit and miss and we put this down to lack of ANY training.

  • Clare V

  • December 2015

Beautiful but shabby

A gorgeous building with a lot of lovely furniture and my room was a great size with a very comfortable bed and a good sized bathroom.

The food was delicious and we nabbed the last space in the car park, I wouldn't rely on getting a space though.

However, my room was extremely shabby- lots of peeling wallpaper and worn out bedspreads with holes in. The bathroom was mouldy with bubbling walls and the bidet had no water supply. There was no bottled water in the room which I felt was very cheap for the price payed.

It's a shame that such s beautiful old building is being allowed to leak and bubble considering how much one pays to stay there, there is definitely the money to look after it!

  • A Marques

  • November 2015

For paying over £140... it wasn't worth it

I didn't expect to pay £120 for a hotel room for hairs in the bathroom, a dusty room, a fan which didn't work along with a radiator which was broken and stuck on high (which we didn't know of until we got in late that evening due to the wedding) and at past midnight its not something you want to be chasing.

Furthermore the breakfast wasn't worth its money, advertising a full english breakfast and having to ask for various items because they weren't offered. Just for the price of the breakfast i expected a lot more.

Overall with the room appalled and breakfast very disappointing.

  • P W

  • October 2015

Live by the river

An oblique of river framing the red lion itself and the medieval church right behind.

Ideal situation and lots of old world charm

  • J H

  • October 2015

More attention to detail

Various items needed attention in our room, however it was a nice cosy room.

Food was excellent.

  • G TINGLEY

  • August 2015

Hotel used for wine tasting experience close by

My parents and my wife and I chose the Red Lion as it seemed to be the nicest place closest to our wine tasting experience.Due to an upgrade to a riverside room we thought we'd struck gold but we were somewhat disappointed to find a biscuit wrapper under a bedside table but it was in the bathroom where we scratched our heads because the additional lighting,hairdryer or shaving mirror on the walls had no button to turn them on...?

  • Gill H

  • August 2015

Good position, comfortable, clean room but on the expensive side considering no breakfast included

  • lee h

  • July 2015

Do not stay here!!

Do Not Stay at the Red Lion Hotel.

In short - bath was in the bedroom (yes really), duck tape holding paper over a hole in the ceiling, faulty and dangerous electrical cables on the lamps, a bathroom sink that floods when you run it... the list goes on and on. And this was the second room we had. When we asked about a change we were told that these rooms were specifically for laterooms people. The pictures look nothing like the rooms you will be given. We took photos of all the problems and will be writing to the hotel management as well.

  • Jeanette M

  • March 2015

Fabulous

Great night's stay again..

been here several times and never disappointed. Staff friendly and helpful.