Reviews - The Red Lion Hotel


Hart Street,Henley-On-Thames,Oxfordshire, Henley on Thames, RG9 2AR

Price From 261.48 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (36)

67% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • A Marques

  • November 2015

For paying over £140... it wasn't worth it

I didn't expect to pay £120 for a hotel room for hairs in the bathroom, a dusty room, a fan which didn't work along with a radiator which was broken and stuck on high (which we didn't know of until we got in late that evening due to the wedding) and at past midnight its not something you want to be chasing.

Furthermore the breakfast wasn't worth its money, advertising a full english breakfast and having to ask for various items because they weren't offered. Just for the price of the breakfast i expected a lot more.

Overall with the room appalled and breakfast very disappointing.

  • P W

  • October 2015

Live by the river

An oblique of river framing the red lion itself and the medieval church right behind.

Ideal situation and lots of old world charm

  • J H

  • October 2015

More attention to detail

Various items needed attention in our room, however it was a nice cosy room.

Food was excellent.


  • August 2015

Hotel used for wine tasting experience close by

My parents and my wife and I chose the Red Lion as it seemed to be the nicest place closest to our wine tasting experience.Due to an upgrade to a riverside room we thought we'd struck gold but we were somewhat disappointed to find a biscuit wrapper under a bedside table but it was in the bathroom where we scratched our heads because the additional lighting,hairdryer or shaving mirror on the walls had no button to turn them on...?

  • Gill H

  • August 2015

Good position, comfortable, clean room but on the expensive side considering no breakfast included

  • lee h

  • July 2015

Do not stay here!!

Do Not Stay at the Red Lion Hotel.

In short - bath was in the bedroom (yes really), duck tape holding paper over a hole in the ceiling, faulty and dangerous electrical cables on the lamps, a bathroom sink that floods when you run it... the list goes on and on. And this was the second room we had. When we asked about a change we were told that these rooms were specifically for laterooms people. The pictures look nothing like the rooms you will be given. We took photos of all the problems and will be writing to the hotel management as well.

  • Jeanette M

  • March 2015


Great night's stay again..

been here several times and never disappointed. Staff friendly and helpful.

  • C Wiseman

  • January 2015

Great weekend hotel

we stayed here as our base to,enjoy Henley and the area.

Excellent service. Very warm and extremely clean.

  • S Medhat

  • January 2015

Quaint and Cosy

  • d Dickens

  • January 2015

Most disappointing stay yet

We have stayed at The Red Lion a number of times as our son & family live in Henley however this visit was really disappointing.

The 1st room we were allocated was tiny, dark and shabby. The 2nd not much better, the curtains were ripped, the bath had mould around it, the hair drier & bedside lamps didn't work...two nights cost nearly £250 obscene for accommodation of this standard. Other rooms we have stayed in at The Red Lion have obviously been 'premium' rooms...however we've never paid fact we've generally paid less. We will only stay here again if we really have no other choice, there are many other hotels in a Henley that offer far cleaner accommodation at competitive prices