No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Red Lion Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Hart Street,Henley-On-Thames,Oxfordshire , Henley on Thames, RG9 2AR
Since the fifteenth century, travellers - including three Kings of England - have enjoyed the hospitality of The Red Lion Hotel.Uniquely situated overlooking the Royal Regatta course on the river Thames and the town of Henley on Thames. The hotel is close to both central London and Heathrow airport.Privately owned by the Gill family of MG Hotels, The Red Lion Hotel has been extensively restored and now includes 39 bedrooms,restaurant, bar, cosy lounges and facilities for wedding receptions, private dining and business meetings. Complimentary wireless internet access is available throughout the hotel.

Picture of The Red Lion Hotel, Henley on Thames at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 53 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
73% recommended this accommodation to a friend 75% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Good Place to Stay
Very central, close to the river and town. Easy parking. Room small but adequate with very comfortable bed.

Reviewed by
Heather B

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

convenient location, tired hotel
brilliant location for regatta,ask for room 115, best view in the hotel of the river etc. hotel is a bit 'worn and tired' ,although ALL staff seem to do a pretty good job of keeping it afloat. What is not exceptable is the condition of the bathroom's sanitary ware, broken and cracked sink, non flushing toilet , plastic showercurtain????? , please Mr. director on top of company, ask your wife our daughter to stay 1 night and get their feedback! breakfastquality is very good.

Reviewed by
carlo v

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very polite and friendly staff, helpful too.

Reviewed by
M Ward

From Spalding, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quick and easy check in, decent room, excellent location

Reviewed by
James D

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A good stay
We enjoyed the hotel.The staff were friendly and efficient.The room was clean
and quiet and very handy for the town.We didn't eat at the hotel so no comment on food.
Would definately use again

Reviewed by
Keith S

From Saundersfoot, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A nice Hotel
The staff were friendly and very helpful, we can only comment on the breakfast which was well cooked and freshly made with a good choice. There are also spa treatment rooms attached where I had an excellent deep tissue massage, thank you Rebecca. A couple of minor niggles were the TV in the very large room was to small and difficult to see on the other side of the room, and when we arrived and shortly before we left the cleaners left black bin liners to collect the sheets etc.. on the landing, which did not give a professional look to the place. Overall a good experience and we would stop there again should the need arise.

Reviewed by
A Wiggins

From Chipping norton, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful night
Great hotel set on the banks of the river Thames. The room was spacious with a beautiful view of the river.
Staff very courteous and friendly.
Would have no problem in recommending The Red Lion.

Reviewed by
A Jackson

From Clitheroe, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Complicated wi-fi
Wi-fi required you to enter the network name and password each time you woke up your ipad. Ugh.

Reviewed by
Rob W

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic Night. Recommend to anyone!
We decided on a whim to book a night away in a hotel and thought that since we absolutely love Henley on Thames, then where better to stay than The Red Lion Hotel. It is conveniently situated right on the High Street so you don’t have to walk far to any of the quaint pubs or restaurants if you choose not to eat in the hotel, and the hotel itself is absolutely beautiful! Much bigger than it looks from the road!
The room that we had was quite small, but did the job and was comfy. We had a room that overlooked the Thames which I would imagine that in the summer would be absolutely beautiful.
The onsite parking is a bit to be desired, so you will be very lucky if you get a space, but worth a try!
Breakfast the next morning was absolutely beautiful, and the staff are always there on hand for teas and coffees. There is not much of a selection but I guess it’s not all about quantity and more about quality.
Over all I would highly recommend this hotel to any one who was looking to stay in Henley, or even just fancied a night away somewhere. I know I will be going back!

Reviewed by
Claire M

From Uxbridge, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Charming place to stay
This inn boasts of character and makes you immediately feel at ease in the cozy comfortable setting. Even though the hotel had not received our booking information from Late Rooms prior to our arrival, they quickly provided us with upgraded rooms at our booked pricing. We were very thankful for the hospitality we were shown after a long day of travel.

Reviewed by
Shaun H

From Cold Lake, Canada
Who stayed in January 2014

Family with teenage children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next