You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - The Red Lion Hotel

3

Hart Street,Henley-On-Thames,Oxfordshire, Henley on Thames, RG9 2AR

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (23)

57% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Steven L

  • September 2016

Absolutely great place, could not find fault with one thing.

The hotel was great in every way.

Clean, classy, our only wish was to have stayed another night as we enjoyed Henley so much.

  • Claire A

  • August 2016

You pay the money for the location!!

We stayed last minute at this hotel to attend a wedding, we arrived early and were allowed to check in.

Worth noting the hotel hadn't contacted us prior to us arriving regarding my notes on checking in early but happy they allowed us to. Allocated a court yard room which is in the carpark. Greeted by too other guests sat on a bench outside our door having a cigarette. Classy. The car park seems small for the hotel but we parked as we arrived early. The bedroom was suitable in size. TV pointless as the size of a stamp on the wall. The bookshelf was covered in cobwebs and much to my surprise as I am petrified of spiders as was the shower cubicle. It clearly hasn't been cleaned properly as no windows in the bathroom so no ease of access for spiders. The lampshade in the bedroom was filthy and for over £100 a night it should be clean. You're not paying for the room you are paying for the location. Staff were friendly enough but clearly overworked. Looked knackered and conversation was kept to a minimum when checking out.

  • Christopher C

  • July 2016

In serious need of refurbishment

Staff were pleasant enough and rooms were clean.

However, rooms and stairwells were run down and in serious need of refurbishment. Rug in our room with polished would floor was a death trap, pregnant wife almost slipped over so had to roll rug up and put to one side. Food was average. All in all poor value for money given that rooms was £110 for the night.

  • Rosalind H

  • June 2016

Red Lyon Henley

Enjoyed my stay here.

Lovely view of the river. Staff very polite but did not respond to simple requests like asking for milk. Finally got some after two days from the night porter who was excellent.

  • J Lee

  • June 2016

Poor customer service

I checked in on a Sunday evening and was told that breakfast would be 8-10.

Perfect, so I enjoyed a bit of a lie-in and went in at 9:20 and sat down. The man serving told me that breakfast had finished at 9 and all he could offer me was some coffee (great customer service, I thought). I went to reception to explain the situation and the gentleman there told me that it finished at 9 and I should have read this in the information in my room (not sure why I would have read it when at check-in they told me 8-10). Fortunately, they arranged an omlette, but that was all I got. It seemed I was not the only person that had been given the wrong information. It was a great shame not to have a room viewing the river, but other than that it was adequate if a little warm.

  • John d

  • April 2016

Second Visit

Very pleasant service but the hotel is looking a bit tired in many areas.

The carpets are threadbare and the plumbing in the rooms is also antique and not very functional. I had to point out that the lavatory was exceedingly difficult to flush. It was attended to while we were out but the repair was only a temporary fix. The food was good and well cooked and a hearty breakfast was provided.

  • J Coll

  • March 2016

Red Lion

The hotel is based in a great position but unfortunately the hotel was very tired and under managed.

Having had to move room two times due to toilet not working, then a radiator making alarming sounds, the third room we only realised late in the evening was not a double bed but two singles with a cover (and both beds were uneven). Food is very basic and easily beaten by home cooking. Service is very hit and miss and we put this down to lack of ANY training.

  • Clare V

  • December 2015

Beautiful but shabby

A gorgeous building with a lot of lovely furniture and my room was a great size with a very comfortable bed and a good sized bathroom.

The food was delicious and we nabbed the last space in the car park, I wouldn't rely on getting a space though.

However, my room was extremely shabby- lots of peeling wallpaper and worn out bedspreads with holes in. The bathroom was mouldy with bubbling walls and the bidet had no water supply. There was no bottled water in the room which I felt was very cheap for the price payed.

It's a shame that such s beautiful old building is being allowed to leak and bubble considering how much one pays to stay there, there is definitely the money to look after it!

  • A Marques

  • November 2015

For paying over £140... it wasn't worth it

I didn't expect to pay £120 for a hotel room for hairs in the bathroom, a dusty room, a fan which didn't work along with a radiator which was broken and stuck on high (which we didn't know of until we got in late that evening due to the wedding) and at past midnight its not something you want to be chasing.

Furthermore the breakfast wasn't worth its money, advertising a full english breakfast and having to ask for various items because they weren't offered. Just for the price of the breakfast i expected a lot more.

Overall with the room appalled and breakfast very disappointing.

  • P W

  • October 2015

Live by the river

An oblique of river framing the red lion itself and the medieval church right behind.

Ideal situation and lots of old world charm