No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Red Lion Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Hart Street,Henley-On-Thames,Oxfordshire , Henley on Thames, RG9 2AR
Since the fifteenth century, travellers - including three Kings of England - have enjoyed the hospitality of The Red Lion Hotel.Uniquely situated overlooking the Royal Regatta course on the river Thames and the town of Henley on Thames. The hotel is close to both central London and Heathrow airport.Privately owned by the Gill family of MG Hotels, The Red Lion Hotel has been extensively restored and now includes 39 bedrooms,restaurant, bar, cosy lounges and facilities for wedding receptions, private dining and business meetings. Complimentary wireless internet access is available throughout the hotel.

Picture of The Red Lion Hotel, Henley on Thames at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 59 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
73% recommended this accommodation to a friend 75% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfy but cold!
Very comfy room that was spacious (403 in car park) and had nice big bathroom.
We stayed in October and the room was very cold and we had trouble with the radiators. Getting hot water to run was also impossible. In summer I'm sure this is fine. The bed was tiny. 4"6? but the covers and pillows were very comfortable. Furniture etc lovely.
Overall it was a nice place and well done but the heat would have bothered me if we'd been staying more than 1 night.

Reviewed by
David J

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Red Lion
Generally a nice hotel with character in an ideal location.
Service was great - including dealing with my request to provide flowers and champagne in advance.
Rooms are all different with plenty of space, comfortable beds, tea & coffee, iron & board. The small TVs should be replaced with properly positioned, wall mounted large screens though, and shower water pressure should be higher.
Some basic maintenance is being neglected e.g. damage to corridor/landing walls and decor which hasn't been repaired.
Breakfast was quite good but there should have been more choice and eggs should be cooked to order.
No real ale in the hotel bar is disappointing.
Standard rates are very expensive for what you get. For the price you might expect to be getting a luxury hotel but you don't. It is a traditional old style market town hotel and 3 stars is right.

Reviewed by
Charles W

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rewind 2014
Me & Wife stayed while we were at Rewind festival 2014 - cannot fault location , cleanliness & luxury of hotel.

Reviewed by
j austin

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Room was fine, large and tastefully furnished, however Car Parking and Breakfast were charged as expensive extras, so this was certainly not good value for money.

Reviewed by
D Carson

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Memory Lane
We had an enjoyable stay, the staff were very friendly. The rooms where clean but a little refurb would not go amiss.
Dinner was a little disappointing as I ordered a serve of roasted root veg which I think had been forgotten. On asking I was brought a bowl of vegatables that consisted of cauliflower, broccoli, green beans and carrots (being the only root veg) and they were steamed not roasted. Also our first and second choice of wine from the list was not available but when we went into the public bar later the first choice wine was on the shelf.

Reviewed by
William Burgess

From St Annes on Sea, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place as a surprise for husbands 40th birthday
I booked this as a last minute night away for my husbands 40th and originally only booked a double room. Unfortunately babysitter fell through and we had to take the kids but the hotel were so accommodating and we're able to change our room despite them being very busy with a wedding party. We were given a lovely family room on the second floor so as not to hear the music from the wedding which overlooked the river. The room was really spacious with two double beds in it and a lovely ensuite.

Reviewed by
I Corbett

From Banbury, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous location but.........
The red lion hotel has a prime spot both close to the river and the town centre and in general a decent place to stay. The issue we had was that our room [108] had the noisiest floorboards we've ever heard. This was so extreme that we daren't get up in the night for a drink of water for fear of waking others up. This may sound petty but it has to be heard to be believed.
Breakfast ok although last serving at 9am was a touch early if you are at the hotel for leisure purposes.

Reviewed by
S Smith

From Loughborough, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room very small. Bed hard. And the court yard view was the car park. I am sure the rooms in the main building are nice. But these rooms left a lot to be desired for comfort. Location of hotel really good. (Beside the river). I don't like leaving a poor review, but you can only say what you see.

Reviewed by
Neil H

From Henley on Thames, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Good Place to Stay
Very central, close to the river and town. Easy parking. Room small but adequate with very comfortable bed.

Reviewed by
Heather B

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

convenient location, tired hotel
brilliant location for regatta,ask for room 115, best view in the hotel of the river etc. hotel is a bit 'worn and tired' ,although ALL staff seem to do a pretty good job of keeping it afloat. What is not exceptable is the condition of the bathroom's sanitary ware, broken and cracked sink, non flushing toilet , plastic showercurtain????? , please Mr. director on top of company, ask your wife our daughter to stay 1 night and get their feedback! breakfastquality is very good.

Reviewed by
carlo v

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next