No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Alexandra Hotel

3Visit Scotland Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
The Parade Town Centre, Fort William, PH33 6AZ
The Alexandra Hotel is located in the centre of Fort William with shops, restaurants and bars close at hand.

Ideal for soaking up the apres ski-ing atmosphere in and around the town.

You will have free membership at the Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club only 1 mile away.

A warm, friendly Highland welcome awaits you.
Picture of Alexandra Hotel , Fort William at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 53 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location
Lovely place, great central location next to all local amenities. Some rooms could do with an update but very clean and comfortable.

Reviewed by
Claire D

From Linlithgow, Scotland
Who stayed in April 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

e
Excellent location , staff very welcoming and helpful. Will visit again when we come back for a break.

Reviewed by
kenneth johnston

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very enjoyable looking for my next stay

Reviewed by
c gordon

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

IMaintains the standards
I last stayed in this hotel 50 years ago. Much has changed but the same friendliness and quality of service remains.
I hope to return in less than 50 years for my next visit.

Reviewed by
Ronald J Roberts

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very disappointed
First of all I blame the Strathmore group and not the staff at this hotel. I booked a superior room and I was disgusted at what I got. It took 3 rooms later to get one I was at least ok about staying it. It is a rip off that this hotel offers superior and executive rooms to people that are of a poor standard. I will not be staying there again.
The staff are friendly and were very good at getting me a room I could accept.
My husband and I go to Fort William every year to a Rally and I will defiantly not stay at the Alexandria. This hotel is badly needing refurbished.

Reviewed by
Elspeth Reid

From Forfar, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

midweek break
The hotel although a little"tired" was clean and comfortable.The staff were friendly and welcoming.The 3 course evening meal for £20 had a varied menu and the food was hot and appetising.It was a little dissapointing that we were charged an extra £2.50 ( told about this charge when ordering) when my husband opted for biscuits and cheese instead of the dessert.
Breakfast was "mega".
All in all good value for money....reduced rate as "late booking"booked that morning.
Only big let down was the very wet weather!!!

Reviewed by
K Allan

From Leven, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This was my second visit to the Alexandra. Using the hotel as a base for a weeks snowboarding we found the hotel and staff to be very friendly. The rooms were comfortable and adequate for our needs and were very clean and maintained daily. Breakfast was great with a wide variety of food available. If only the weather had been as reliable!

Reviewed by
John Clegg

From Rochdale, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We will return....
The hotel is a typically appointed 3 star Scottish Highland town hotel though catering for those who spend their days in the hills/ ski slopes the reception does resemble at times something of a boot room with back-packs and sundry gear being sorted by clients. Perhaps a rear entrance boot room would be appropriate.
Our room, 123, overlooked the neighbouring church which was not a problem though the Double glazed window was rendered useless by having ill-fitting closures. The handles did not draw the window shut. A couple of pieces of wadding (rolled-up paper) fixed this so that the central heating had a chance to take effect. The room was clean and had tea/coffee making facilities, a hair-drier and there was a trouser press......wasted on the hill-walkers I fear. Twin beds in this room were comfortable though noise from adjacent room as other guests enjoyed a nightcap with fellow travellers so avoiding bar prices was a bit tiresome. Bar prices are not at all unreasonable.
The bathroom was clean and functional though the trim around the shower head was broken and the bath has seen better days. Enamelling touch up might help.
Staff are attentive and friendly. Dinner (including wine list) and breakfast both excellent.
Some people may find other's dogs a turn off....especially when said dogs are on the public lounge seating.

Reviewed by
Colin McKenna

From Perth, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

comfortable and good value

Reviewed by
Tom Bryson

From Acharacle, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Av ery well managed and run hotel.

Reviewed by
John Kingdom

From Port Talbot, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next