No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club

2Visit Scotland Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
North Road , Fort William, PH33 6TG
Our hotel is situated at the foot of Ben Nevis on the outskirts of Fort William close to the ski slopes of the Nevis Range.

The leisure facilities are second to none with a 50 foot heated indoor pool, jacuzzi, fully equipped gym, sauna & steam room.

A warm Highland welcome is assured with friendly staff and relaxing atmosphere.

Free Wi-Fi only in public areas.
Picture of Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club, Fort William at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 93 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
68% recommended this accommodation to a friend 72% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable & welcoming
After climbing Ben Nevis overnight this was the perfect spot to recover & relax. Decor a little dated but a homely feel. Food tasty & great value! I didn't get a chance to use the leisure facilities but I believe they are very good. When I realised I'd left my makeup bag behind, the reception staff located it & posted it back to me the very next day. I really do rate this hotel & if in the area would definitely stay again!

Reviewed by
Fiona H

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Left a day early
Me and my girlfriend intended to stay two nights at this hotel but decided to leave early after the overwhelming disappointment in the value for money for the room we got. "Superior" room was a stretch for anybody's imagination and the general standards of cleanliness of the whole hotel - even the exterior - were very poor. Rooms were dated and dirty and I am glad I opted for the 3 hour drive home instead of another night here. £250 wasted. When we explained we were leaving early and that we were disappointed, we were basically told we would not get a refund - I had never even asked for one. No addressing of the issues, no attempt to apologise or generally make an effort for the customer. Very surprising and very disappointing.

Reviewed by
J Wilson

From Dunfermline, Scotland
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

OK for a short break
Basically a reasonable hotel. Could do with modernising/upgrade in some areas. Service very good.

Reviewed by
David F

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bedroom for Ben Nevis
I booked into the Ben Nevis Hotel as i needed accomodation whilst my wife was taking part in an organised Trek up Ben Nevis. My original room was a single room (501), well decorated with views out to the mountains, the bathroom was a little basic but was clean and very spacious, I cant comment on the comfort of the room as i managed to swap rooms with the lady who was booked in to share my wifes room... This rooms was a twin room (410) again this was nicely decorated with plenty of space, and we had views over the rear of the hotel with sheep on the hills.
The beds were amazingly comfortable with plenty of covers, which were needed as the room was a little cool (possibly due to the old wooden windows). There was no hairdrier in the room which disappointed the wife a little as she would have liked to have been able to dry her hair after showering and spending a very soggy day on the Ben. the only other little things which would make the stay easier, would be a key card entry system instead of keys, we made this istake a few times and realised half way down the staors that we hadnt locked the door and finally Lifts... my poor wife really struggled with the stairs the day after her Trek, maybe in hindsight we would have benefitted from booking a groundfloor room but I suppose a large number of guests would probably book this hotel for the proximity to the mountain.
Food what can i say about the food... Delicious. Large choice of breakfast cereals, toast fruit yoghurt and the all important fry up (bacon, sausage, haggis, black pudding, hash browns, potato cakes, beans tomatos mushrooms, scrambled and fried eggs. The evening meals were also very nice. The dinidroom did seem exessively hot and on both evening the waiting staff opened the large awkward windows to cool the room but this could only be done once half the dining guests had left. The bar was well stocked with plenty of wihsky varieties and the staff were very friendly, Colin even gave advise as to places i could visit whilst my wife was on the mountain, The decor was a little dated in the bar and the ballroom but the reception area was beautifulwith the large sofas anf fireplace.
Altogether a lovely weekend away, If we planned a trip to Fort william again Im sure the Ben Nevis Hotel would be our hotel of choice

Reviewed by
s wilks

From Rotherham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Average hotel situated a bit far from the town centre (option to take a bus that stops next to the hotel). The room is clean but dated.
Nice pool but not convenient as you need to walk outside if your room is not in the main building.

Reviewed by
Armelle L

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean and comfortable, public areas a bit tired
We enjoyed our stay at the hotel. Our room was clean and comfortable and the leisure facilities are very good. The public areas (reception, lounge and bar area) are a little tired and in need of some sprucing up. Breakfast was adequate, though we did have to laugh at 'miss grubby apron' who wore the same filthy apron two days running (and no smile, perhaps because her apron was so dirty!) A perfectly acceptable hotel, with a great view and reasonably well located.

Reviewed by
Annette S

From Addlestone, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very comfortable accommodation with friendly staff. Particularly enjoyed the spa facilities - we would use this hotel again.

Reviewed by
S Lambert

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely stay
I was rather worried having read lots of negative reviews on trip adviser but was mildly surprised when we arrived. Friendly staff and the room was fine, our bed was hard and I always like soft beds, you can't please everyone all the time! We stayed 2 nights and made full use of the leisure facilities. Night one we swam, used the jacuzzi and sauna getting ready for walking Ben nevis the following day and aftre our walk the pool was a treat. The breakfast buffet was very good too.

Reviewed by
Sarah B

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Arranged at short notice. Had double room with single occupancy. Room good sized but bathroom a bit dated. Excellent choice at breakfast and reasonable, well-priced evening bar meal.

Reviewed by
E Brown

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Older large hotel, great location with gym & pool
Older large hotel, great location and gym,pool.
Poor wifi access and only in the bar.
Room good but has tired furnishings.
Popular with coachloads of people.

Reviewed by
Jason F

From Pontefract, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next