No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club

2Visit Scotland Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
North Road , Fort William, PH33 6TG
Our hotel is situated at the foot of Ben Nevis on the outskirts of Fort William close to the ski slopes of the Nevis Range.

The leisure facilities are second to none with a 50 foot heated indoor pool, jacuzzi, fully equipped gym, sauna & steam room.

A warm Highland welcome is assured with friendly staff and relaxing atmosphere.

Free Wi-Fi only in public areas.
Picture of Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club, Fort William at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 96 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
68% recommended this accommodation to a friend 73% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very enjoyable short break
Great food, good service and a very pleasant stay. The pool/sauna/steam room/jacuzzi set up was superb, and worth the stay just for that. My only minor complaint is arriving off the sleeper from London (a. 09:55) I was not able to check in straight away, which was a little inconvenient. Otherwise the service was fantastic, and the food for breakfast and dinner was great. The hotel is about 15 mins walk from the centre of Fort William, so bear that in mind if on foot.

Reviewed by
S Bavington

From England
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal
Very pleasant two night stay.
Excellent breakfast.

Reviewed by
PETER W

From Bradford, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Could do better
Outwardly nice. Inside a bit dated and our room billed as superior was certainly not. Bathroom basic and in need of updating. Looked dirty. We had no water on the morning of our stay and were not informed until I called reception to say there was a huge puddle of water in the corridor. Staff were helpful and food good. If booking check if you are in main building . We were not and for someone with walking difficulty , a trek back and forwards. I had informed hotel that my husband had mobility problems but still we were put in other building. We were given a slight reduction in room rate when I expressed displeasure. Communication was very good in e mails but not in person. I would go again if in main building and if in a refurbished room. With a little more care it would be worth rate but not as things stand.

Reviewed by
K Birney

From Paisley, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The dog had a ball!
Hotel was a bit dated but very clean, tidy and well presented. You get the feeling it would have been very grand in its day. Very happy and well mannered staff who made you feel welcome.
Room was basic but very clean and tidy. Bed was comfy which is always a bonus. We had our 14 month old dog staying with us. She had a ball being able to roam a hotel with all its new smells.
Went to the bar for dinner and was very happy with the food taste, presentation and price. The home made chips and haggis balls were lovely.
We used the pool which was a good size. Followed by the very enjoyable relaxing jacuzzi. Through the windows in the pool you can visibly see people use the gym facilities. The sauna and steam tom were a good size, well maintained and hot!
Overall I would love to go back. Tad expensive but the pool facilities made the price workable. Highly recommend.

Reviewed by
lindsay ellis

From Perth, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable & welcoming
After climbing Ben Nevis overnight this was the perfect spot to recover & relax. Decor a little dated but a homely feel. Food tasty & great value! I didn't get a chance to use the leisure facilities but I believe they are very good. When I realised I'd left my makeup bag behind, the reception staff located it & posted it back to me the very next day. I really do rate this hotel & if in the area would definitely stay again!

Reviewed by
Fiona H

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Left a day early
Me and my girlfriend intended to stay two nights at this hotel but decided to leave early after the overwhelming disappointment in the value for money for the room we got. "Superior" room was a stretch for anybody's imagination and the general standards of cleanliness of the whole hotel - even the exterior - were very poor. Rooms were dated and dirty and I am glad I opted for the 3 hour drive home instead of another night here. £250 wasted. When we explained we were leaving early and that we were disappointed, we were basically told we would not get a refund - I had never even asked for one. No addressing of the issues, no attempt to apologise or generally make an effort for the customer. Very surprising and very disappointing.

Reviewed by
J Wilson

From Dunfermline, Scotland
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

OK for a short break
Basically a reasonable hotel. Could do with modernising/upgrade in some areas. Service very good.

Reviewed by
David F

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bedroom for Ben Nevis
I booked into the Ben Nevis Hotel as i needed accomodation whilst my wife was taking part in an organised Trek up Ben Nevis. My original room was a single room (501), well decorated with views out to the mountains, the bathroom was a little basic but was clean and very spacious, I cant comment on the comfort of the room as i managed to swap rooms with the lady who was booked in to share my wifes room... This rooms was a twin room (410) again this was nicely decorated with plenty of space, and we had views over the rear of the hotel with sheep on the hills.
The beds were amazingly comfortable with plenty of covers, which were needed as the room was a little cool (possibly due to the old wooden windows). There was no hairdrier in the room which disappointed the wife a little as she would have liked to have been able to dry her hair after showering and spending a very soggy day on the Ben. the only other little things which would make the stay easier, would be a key card entry system instead of keys, we made this istake a few times and realised half way down the staors that we hadnt locked the door and finally Lifts... my poor wife really struggled with the stairs the day after her Trek, maybe in hindsight we would have benefitted from booking a groundfloor room but I suppose a large number of guests would probably book this hotel for the proximity to the mountain.
Food what can i say about the food... Delicious. Large choice of breakfast cereals, toast fruit yoghurt and the all important fry up (bacon, sausage, haggis, black pudding, hash browns, potato cakes, beans tomatos mushrooms, scrambled and fried eggs. The evening meals were also very nice. The dinidroom did seem exessively hot and on both evening the waiting staff opened the large awkward windows to cool the room but this could only be done once half the dining guests had left. The bar was well stocked with plenty of wihsky varieties and the staff were very friendly, Colin even gave advise as to places i could visit whilst my wife was on the mountain, The decor was a little dated in the bar and the ballroom but the reception area was beautifulwith the large sofas anf fireplace.
Altogether a lovely weekend away, If we planned a trip to Fort william again Im sure the Ben Nevis Hotel would be our hotel of choice

Reviewed by
s wilks

From Rotherham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Average hotel situated a bit far from the town centre (option to take a bus that stops next to the hotel). The room is clean but dated.
Nice pool but not convenient as you need to walk outside if your room is not in the main building.

Reviewed by
Armelle L

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean and comfortable, public areas a bit tired
We enjoyed our stay at the hotel. Our room was clean and comfortable and the leisure facilities are very good. The public areas (reception, lounge and bar area) are a little tired and in need of some sprucing up. Breakfast was adequate, though we did have to laugh at 'miss grubby apron' who wore the same filthy apron two days running (and no smile, perhaps because her apron was so dirty!) A perfectly acceptable hotel, with a great view and reasonably well located.

Reviewed by
Annette S

From Addlestone, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next