No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hallmark Hotel Gloucester

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Matson Lane Robinswood Hill, Gloucester, GL4 6EA
On the edge of the Cotswolds, just 2 miles from Gloucester city centre and 5 minutes from the M5, Hallmark Hotel Gloucester offers free parking and a leisure club with a pool and gym. Having undergone a £3.5 million refurbishment, the hotel now offers contemporary bedrooms with free Wi-Fi and satellite TV. Rooms also feature a modern bathroom and a work desk. The Brasserie serves classic British cuisine in elegant surroundings. Guests can also enjoy lighter meals in the informal bar, and hearty cooked breakfasts are available daily. The extensive leisure facilities include a relaxing spa pool, Finnish sauna and a steam room. There is also a fully equipped fitness centre and indoor swimming pool, and beauty treatments are available.
Picture of Hallmark Hotel Gloucester , Gloucester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 77 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
65% recommended this accommodation to a friend 68% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

room was clean , restaurant was very expensive to eat in not enough on the plate to justify the cost ....also the bar was expensive for drinks

Reviewed by
robert kertland

From bridgnorth, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First impressions
On arrival at the hotel, we found that our room was down several flights of stairs at at the end of the building and no lifts. As I have arthritis we asked if there was a room nearer but was told that the hotel was full. However, the following morning the receptionist said that a room was free in the corridor opposite the reception area and would we like to move. We agreed and my husband did it while I was working. The room was lovely. Just a couple of quibbles - the iron had not been checked and there was burnt marks on the bottom and it did not work but was replaced and the phone did not work. A maintenance man was suppose to have looked at it. Otherwise, we found the staff very helpful and pleasant. We only had breakfast in the hotel but there was a reasonable selection of food available.

Reviewed by
E Bornasty

From Stevenage, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing stay but great potential.
Requested a quiet room. We were given a really nice room but it overlooked a wedding party. A quiet room was provided but it was not so clean and the decor was not quite as good. The restaurant was very busy but the service was friendly. Tables too close together. We noticed mistakes were made with orders - one with ours . The Tetley bitter tasted unlike any other Tetley's my husband has had before! The house wine was expensive but very nice. The bill for our stay was double what I expected. They had charged us twice for the dinner!! The staff are young and friendly but need better training. Glad we had not paid the full price for our stay!!

Reviewed by
Sarah C

From Winsford, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor at the edges
who has a 2 slice toaster for a whole dining room of guests, and it obviously was normal as it happened on both days of our stay. Breakfast catering timing weak, some food cold, definitely not up to star rating.

Reviewed by
clive W

From Fareham, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Was a great stay, staff very friendly and rooms in good order.
Only slight moan, why do they use such cheap toilet paper!!

Reviewed by
Andy T

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our anniversary get away
Breakfast was excellent. Evening meal was poor, portion size limited, variety of choice limited. Reception staff very good, gym staff very helpful. Woken each morning by (early) delivery wagons due to room location. Spa treatments excellent value and great staff.

Reviewed by
M Carrick

From Abingdon, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant Hotel
The reception staff were business like and the restaurant staff polite and helpful. Food was pleasant and good value for money

Reviewed by
P Bailey

From Maidenhead, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The lost city of Atlantis would be easier to find!!
The point of booking this place was the location regarding the accessability of the Cotswolds and the many historical places of interest.Unfortunately even with maps and regularly stopping and asking locals,unless you mention the Ski Slope they looked at you blank and the signposts in the area were shockingly poor.We got back to the hotel after over an hour driving around in the dark desperate for a cold beer and with the help of a taxi who i flagged down and paid £10 we finally found the hotel again at 11.15pm we were told the bar was closed!!...I could go on and on about many other negatives including an ignorant male receptionist but it will be futile.

Reviewed by
damian bescoby

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Stay
We stayed here for the RIAT Air Show, good acc and great food but WIFI very poor!!! I wanted to uploed a short video every night but this was not possible, This type of acc should be on the ball but lagged behind smaller B&B with their WIFI.

Reviewed by
j roberts

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hallmark refurbishment
Nice room - Good refurbishment to room. No lifts, so really unsuitable for families with children but cots were available and set up in room, which was great. We had a nightmare with the stairs. Restaurant staff were fabulous but reception staff were unwelcoming. Food was really nice. Leisure facilities need a refurbishment. The smell of damp and mould under the bridge in the swimming pool, was appalling. We decided after five minutes this was not really suitable for our little one. Current too strong and stench, positively concerning. If you were just doing a city/country stop over it would be a great hotel but if you were wanting a leisure break, not so great. Sorry..don't like to write bad reviews but my honest opinion was mediocre.

Reviewed by
Kathleen B

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next