No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hallmark Hotel Gloucester

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Matson Lane Robinswood Hill, Gloucester, GL4 6EA
On the edge of the Cotswolds, just 2 miles from Gloucester city centre and 5 minutes from the M5, Hallmark Hotel Gloucester offers free parking and a leisure club with a pool and gym. Having undergone a £3.5 million refurbishment, the hotel now offers contemporary bedrooms with free Wi-Fi and satellite TV. Rooms also feature a modern bathroom and a work desk. The Brasserie serves classic British cuisine in elegant surroundings. Guests can also enjoy lighter meals in the informal bar, and hearty cooked breakfasts are available daily. The extensive leisure facilities include a relaxing spa pool, Finnish sauna and a steam room. There is also a fully equipped fitness centre and indoor swimming pool, and beauty treatments are available.
Picture of Hallmark Hotel Gloucester , Gloucester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 79 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
64% recommended this accommodation to a friend 67% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Seriously good value, comfort,service and great food
A weekend away should be just like this. Great service from the moment we arrived, super room and although the hotel was busy with a function there was no compromise on quality, attention to detail or service. The room was very clean and pleasant, nice and quiet as requested, and the restaurant excelled with great food at dinner and breakfast . All round a perfect stay !

Reviewed by
geraldine W

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sad hotel
Not sure if they were doing it up or pulling it down but I know I pulled into a building site and couldn't believe it.the room was sad as well as the leisure complex it needs a lot of money spent on it.

Reviewed by
P Weston

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

OK place to stay
Everything fine, food good and not overpriced.
Rooms spacious and warm.

Reviewed by
P WAINWRIGHT

From Whitchurch, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable stay
Nice interior good size family room. Some things like towels not being left in the bathroom (I finally found them in the wardrobe) & only 2 packets of biscuits for a room with 4 would have made it perfect but otherwise no major complaints. The children went swimming and thought the pool walls were grimy but I can't verify that. Food in the restaurant was OK. Staff very corteous and friendly.

Reviewed by
S Finch

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not As Good As I Expected
The hotel was not as good as I expected. My wife and I stayed for two nights. The room was large and reasonably comfortable but the whole experience was let down by mold on the window frames and ner curtains that had bot seen a washing machine since the day they were put up. The breakfasts were reasonable quality however the service was quite chaotic. On the first morning or order was taken reasonably quickly but the food when it arrived was only moderately hot. The second day we were told to select a seat ourselves and then were forgotten! Repeated requests for the tea and coffee were ignored and our order was only taken when it became obvious that I was not a happy customer. The tea and coffee finally arrived after the cod food. Not a 4 star experience!

Reviewed by
Clive Guyll

From Barnard Castle, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A short comfortable stay.
The hotel was clean , comfortable , and attractive . The restaurant and bar area were very pleasant and the children were made to feel welcome . In fact the staff were very attentive and really made us feel that nothing was too much trouble .
The pool was great and really warm , a nice extra for our stay , as was the ski school opposite the hotel which I hadn't know about before hand . The hallmark hotel is a good choice for a short break .

Reviewed by
Emma M

From Chelmsford, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice little hotel, but still a work in progress for Hallmark
I stayed here for one night and was fairly happy with the hotel, it has clearly had work done to it but I assume this is still in progress due to some closed off buildings. Overall happy with the room, comfy bed and nice rooms. Hallways in need of a new carpet, looks a bit 70's and linear. Had a look around the hotel and some bits look in need of attention (some cracked light switches for example) but I have every confidence this is being picked up. Breakfast Buffet was nice though had to prove to hotel that breakfast was included in my rate after they tried to charge, they happily removed the charge without any hassle.

Reviewed by
P Allen

From Dukinfield, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hallmark Gloucester has a mixed identity that creates an average experience
The Hallmark Hotel is a strange one, on arrival we were concerned that this was a bad choice of hotel. As always the images online paint a different picture to what you're truly welcomed with and this was no exception to the rule - the previous identity of the building shows through including it's dated architecture and poor upkeep; the parking and fascia of the building is dilapidated and in need of a complete renovation, not just a paint job. Walking through the door though we were met with a contemporary 4 star climate and the internal improvements have been very well done. Reception were kind and attentive and our room was also well designed. A water leak had created some damage to our room which was crudely painted over (not a great look but nothing major). My biggest gripe with the room is linked back to the exterior ageing of the building - the windows of our room were old and decaying and were covered up with a yellowing window net covered in dry flies - horrid. Frankly the curtains were shut and weren't opened again for the 2 days we stayed here.
The leisure facilities were underneath the hotel and - again strangely - didin't feel like part of the contemporary 4 star hotel we just walked from. The facilities were much more of a leisure centre feel and very dated, nothing major at all and the facilties themselves were great - a huge jacuzzi, steam room and sauna as well as a great pool were very enjoyable and certainly improved the overal feedback of our experience.
Dinner was very very good, my partner had the mussles while I had the steak. Although cooked a little too much for my specified preference it was very nice indeed. The staff mistakenly brought over glasses of champagne for our 'birthday' which we politely told them it wasn't our birthdays, and they actually insisted it was because thats the table number we were given?! We then received another round of drinks we didn't order but no apologies. Personally if I was the Maitre D I'd have offered the champagne anyway as an apology, but became one of those little things you joke about later. A drink afterwards at the bar was also a bad experience, when we ordered a small glass of wine each and received a bottle each! I'd have thought the bar staff would have confirmed the order before simply offering up a bottle of wine each?!
All the above seem like small things and I'm being picky, but sadly they all added up to be a very average experience for the money we paid. The inside of the hotel is just gorgeous but if you're looking for a 4 star hotel like the one you've seen on the Hallmark website for a special occasion, this isn't it.

Reviewed by
M Sherwood

From Winchester, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely relaxing stay with a huge family room and fantastic food
We really enjoyed our stay at the Hallmark Hotel, Gloucester. Our family room was very large and clean. We had dinner in the restaurant and were allowed to order from the bar menu for my fussy son which helped to keep the price down too! Although quite expensive for food, the quality was fantastic and very tasty. We just relaxed a little too much in our room and didn't make use of the swimming pool but hope to return soon and do so.

Reviewed by
Victoria D

From Bury St Edmunds, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best nights sleep I've had for a long while..
Managed to have a lovely night with my partner and our room was peaceful and quiet despite there being a wedding party there the same night! Friendly staff and good service available. Would definitely return if I was in the area!

Reviewed by
A Knight

From Telford, England
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next