No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hallmark Hotel Gloucester

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Matson Lane Robinswood Hill, Gloucester, GL4 6EA
On the edge of the Cotswolds, just 2 miles from Gloucester city centre and 5 minutes from the M5, Hallmark Hotel Gloucester offers free parking and a leisure club with a pool and gym. Having undergone a £3.5 million refurbishment, the hotel now offers contemporary bedrooms with free Wi-Fi and satellite TV. Rooms also feature a modern bathroom and a work desk. The Brasserie serves classic British cuisine in elegant surroundings. Guests can also enjoy lighter meals in the informal bar, and hearty cooked breakfasts are available daily. The extensive leisure facilities include a relaxing spa pool, Finnish sauna and a steam room. There is also a fully equipped fitness centre and indoor swimming pool, and beauty treatments are available.
Picture of Hallmark Hotel Gloucester , Gloucester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 80 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
64% recommended this accommodation to a friend 67% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hallmark Gloucester has a mixed identity that creates an average experience
The Hallmark Hotel is a strange one, on arrival we were concerned that this was a bad choice of hotel. As always the images online paint a different picture to what you're truly welcomed with and this was no exception to the rule - the previous identity of the building shows through including it's dated architecture and poor upkeep; the parking and fascia of the building is dilapidated and in need of a complete renovation, not just a paint job. Walking through the door though we were met with a contemporary 4 star climate and the internal improvements have been very well done. Reception were kind and attentive and our room was also well designed. A water leak had created some damage to our room which was crudely painted over (not a great look but nothing major). My biggest gripe with the room is linked back to the exterior ageing of the building - the windows of our room were old and decaying and were covered up with a yellowing window net covered in dry flies - horrid. Frankly the curtains were shut and weren't opened again for the 2 days we stayed here.
The leisure facilities were underneath the hotel and - again strangely - didin't feel like part of the contemporary 4 star hotel we just walked from. The facilities were much more of a leisure centre feel and very dated, nothing major at all and the facilties themselves were great - a huge jacuzzi, steam room and sauna as well as a great pool were very enjoyable and certainly improved the overal feedback of our experience.
Dinner was very very good, my partner had the mussles while I had the steak. Although cooked a little too much for my specified preference it was very nice indeed. The staff mistakenly brought over glasses of champagne for our 'birthday' which we politely told them it wasn't our birthdays, and they actually insisted it was because thats the table number we were given?! We then received another round of drinks we didn't order but no apologies. Personally if I was the Maitre D I'd have offered the champagne anyway as an apology, but became one of those little things you joke about later. A drink afterwards at the bar was also a bad experience, when we ordered a small glass of wine each and received a bottle each! I'd have thought the bar staff would have confirmed the order before simply offering up a bottle of wine each?!
All the above seem like small things and I'm being picky, but sadly they all added up to be a very average experience for the money we paid. The inside of the hotel is just gorgeous but if you're looking for a 4 star hotel like the one you've seen on the Hallmark website for a special occasion, this isn't it.

Reviewed by
M Sherwood

From Winchester, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely relaxing stay with a huge family room and fantastic food
We really enjoyed our stay at the Hallmark Hotel, Gloucester. Our family room was very large and clean. We had dinner in the restaurant and were allowed to order from the bar menu for my fussy son which helped to keep the price down too! Although quite expensive for food, the quality was fantastic and very tasty. We just relaxed a little too much in our room and didn't make use of the swimming pool but hope to return soon and do so.

Reviewed by
Victoria D

From Bury St Edmunds, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best nights sleep I've had for a long while..
Managed to have a lovely night with my partner and our room was peaceful and quiet despite there being a wedding party there the same night! Friendly staff and good service available. Would definitely return if I was in the area!

Reviewed by
A Knight

From Telford, England
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor Guest Experience from Staff
The welcome was so poor we felt like intruders and at the departure we felt like an inconvenience! Not a smile between them. The saving grace was the two waitresses at breakfast who were both friendly and helpful. For a hotel that has undergone a £million refit it has gone down hill very rapidly. The leisure club is both tired and poorly managed.

Reviewed by
Patricia M

From Bridgwater, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Myself and my husband had a very pleasant stay at the Hallmark Hotel. We arrived at 14.00 and had to wait nearly an hour before our room was ready, which was a little annoying. We were asked to wait in the bar, so bought a couple of drinks while we waited, which were very expensive. When we finally did get access to our room we were pleasantly pleased, It was spacious and very clean. I did have to ask one of the staff, still cleaning out rooms, for a toilet roll as there was only half a one in there. After unpacking I decided to visit the pool, and was very surprised to still see dirty bedding down the hallway and rooms still being cleaned out, at 1600 I thought t was a bit late in day for this.
Apart from this we had a lovely stay. We had a db&b deal, which was great value for money, and the bar had a bottle of wine on offer which meant we didnt have to pay too much for it. We enjoyed our evening meal, and the breakfast was excellent. All the staff were very pleasant and efficient. We would stay here again if we were in the area.

Reviewed by
Lynne Sing

From Birkenhead, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not the quietest of hotels as i feel there are most probably alot of groups that use it but we were not disturbed at all in the evening and had a quiet nights sleep and lots of relaxation.

Reviewed by
s smith

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap deal......apart from the food
The room was good value through laterooms, just a room, certainly not four star as suggested but okay. Food was over priced and average at best.

Reviewed by
Duncan M

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely
Great place best breakfast we have ever had in a hotel - would stay again without hesitation

Reviewed by
Lisa A

From Truro, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The receptionist was very nice and helpfull. The carpet in the room had a large fraying hole at the side of the bed. On of the hand towels had blackcurrant stains on it. The television kept on loosing its signal.
We had dinner in the resturant. the food was expensive and not value for money. When it came to paying for the meal i said i would pay on my card and the lady took my card and wandered off, coming back about 5 mins later with the card machine and my card. My concern is what was she doing with my card for those 5mins???????
We had breakfast in the restaurant on the Saturday morning. There was no-one at the desk when we went down for breakfast so we just took a seat. We helped ourselves to cerals and fruit juice. The staff had walked past us a number of times but on-one had offered to get us a hot drink. I went back to get some more fruit juice as the glasses were miniscule and had to ask one of the waitressess if we could have some coffee and could she get some plates so that we could help ourselves to the hot breakfast. It took several minutes for this to happen and so many people had been waiting for the plates to come out that as soon as she bought some out they were gone again. When we did eventually get a hot breakfast the scrambelled eggs looked green!!!
Overall not a particually good hotel but the receptionist was nice.

Reviewed by
s smith

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

room was clean , restaurant was very expensive to eat in not enough on the plate to justify the cost ....also the bar was expensive for drinks

Reviewed by
robert kertland

From bridgnorth, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next