No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Ramada Birmingham, Sutton Coldfield

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Penns Lane , Sutton Coldfield, B76 1LH
Set in its own spacious grounds overlooking a picturesque lake, Ramada Birmingham/Sutton Coldfield is just 15 minutes' drive from Drayton Manor. Free parking is available, and Birmingham Airport is a 20-minute drive away.

Located in Walmley, Sutton Coldfield, the hotel is about 8 miles (13 km) northeast of Birmingham city centre. The Ramada has easy access to the M42 and the M6 toll road and is well located for the NEC, the International Convention Centre and the NIA.

Guests can enjoy the on-site health club includes an indoor pool, a relaxing sauna and solarium, as well as a steam room and spa bath. Guests can exercise with a game on the squash courts, and work out with a gym, dance and aerobics classes available. A beautician and hairdresser are also available.
Picture of Ramada Birmingham, Sutton Coldfield, Sutton Coldfield at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 142 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
59% recommended this accommodation to a friend 63% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

came to watch athletics event
The room was down a quiet corridor and was looking out onto nice gardens/lawns. the bed was too soft and the pillows were not comfortable.
The hotel was full of families (august BH weekend)
Didn't have time to use spa facilities. Free parking. convenient for 15 drive to alexander stadium
Not handy if you didn't have a car - we walked half a mile to get to nice indian restaurant
Lots of food for breakfast- but cafeteria style

Reviewed by
Jacky G

From Truro, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Me and my boyfriend stayed her over August bank holiday, it was only 15 minutes drive from Birmingham. The hotel was nice for what we wanted. The pool, spa and sauna was really nice, great facilities. Breakfast is till 12 on a Sunday which was really nice as we didn't have to rush around! Would recommend to anyone!

Reviewed by
C Jesty

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay only.
Myself and my son stayed here overnight on the way South - thank goodness!! We stayed here accompanied by my mother a few years ago, as e have relatives close by, and the stay was ok but this time (in the same room) I noted that nothing had changed. That meaning the décor was the same but notably more tatty, the beds just as uncomfortable but now tired and the general demeanour of the place miserable. The girl on the desk late in the evening was the only good point, she went out of her way to make sure we had enough tea/sugar etc for our room when I enquired but overall the only plus point was I booked this room late and it was discounted. Therefore, ok for a stopover at cheap rate but for a holiday, try elsewhere!!

Reviewed by
C Harvey

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Family Stop
We stopped here with our 4yr old daughter in a family room and it was great value. The staff were impeccable & we thoroughly enjoyed the brief stay.

Reviewed by
Gareth J

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room 211 was noisy with fans running outside

Reviewed by
W A McIlmoyle

From Donaghadee, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tired hotel - excellent staff
The hotel looks beautiful from the outside and indeed the welcome is splendid however the rooms are not well maintained. I would suggest the housekeeping team may need a little help on standards.
We had a beautiful balcony view over the water but the balcony had cigarettes butts on it (not ours - we do not smoke) which may the environment feel unclean.
The bathroom was shabby which made it look grubby. The wallpaper was coming off the wall.
The spa can not really be called a spa - more like a local community leisure centre. It was not welcoming or clean.

Reviewed by
Joanne D

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ramada night
Booked executive room as a treat, for a night away without the kids before having a spa experience at a local fitness/spa club

Reviewed by
A Allen

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Definitely worth the money. The room was nice & clean. However the bedside phone did not work & the tv quality could have been better & in a better position. It also seemed to change channel randomly by itself.. Also the our room was a bit of a walk from reception, and quite confusing to find our room.. Maze like.. Other than that, i enjoyed my stay, the staff were very polite and i wish I had the time to use the lesuire facilities .(

Reviewed by
C Reid

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

poor quality room
This hotel is a sprawling 2 storey place - my room was about a 5 minute walk from the reception(!) it's like a maze. I checked in for an overnight stay while at a wedding nearby. When i got to the room at night, the shower didn't work, the mattress was horribly over-sprung (the springs poking through into your back) and the phone didn't work. Eventually the phone came back to life after wiggling the wires a bit, and I was offered an alternative twin (I had abooked a double) but decided just to stay and go to sleep as it was 1am and couldn't face the move because I was dog-tired.
The next morning the receptionist was apoogetic and offered a 25% refund when I complained. Which was decent enough, though at £54 per night seemed like the least they could do. I would have stayed in a private B&B had I been able to find one nearby.
The staff were all professional, police and nice. To me the problem is the place itself. It's typical for a low-quality corporate chain hotel. It's functional, with all the typical facilities you'd expect (bar, club, health spa, meals) but there's not a single attractive feature about it. To me, the place needs to be pulled down and built again - the staff can stay, though.

Reviewed by
David C

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel & grounds, helpful staff but no air con !!
Lovely hotel and beautiful grounds with plenty of greenery and woodland areas, even around the car parking area in front of the main building. Check in was quick once we got to the front of the queue but very warm standing waiting behind other people. My husband and I were in room 129 which was an extremely long walk from everything, down several long corridors and stairs.......ok
for us to navigate but people in their late 60's or older would have a problem with. Room ok for overnight stay but very warm, no air con and uncomfortably stuffy even though temperatures outside were only 19 - 22 degrees max. No fridge either which there have been in other Ramada hotels we've stayed in and rooms a bit dated but adequate. There's a nice seated area just outside the main reception / bar area where you can enjoy food &/or drinks at hotel prices or just people watch in fresh air. Staff were very helpful directing us to the nearest supermarket and also phoning for a taxi on the Saturday night. Breakfast was included in the price we paid and the old English oak room where everyone was seated was lovely, quite grand in fact !! The cooked food was first class, being replenished every few minutes and there was also a large choice of breads, cereals and fruit juices on offer. Unfortunately once again though very stuffy and we couldn't wait to sit outside for some fresh air, so just as well it wasn't raining. Didn't use leisure facilities at all so can't comment.

Reviewed by
SUE H

From South Ockendon, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Mixed group

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next