No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Ramada Birmingham, Sutton Coldfield

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Penns Lane , Sutton Coldfield, B76 1LH
Set in its own spacious grounds overlooking a picturesque lake, Ramada Birmingham/Sutton Coldfield is just 15 minutes' drive from Drayton Manor. Free parking is available, and Birmingham Airport is a 20-minute drive away.

Located in Walmley, Sutton Coldfield, the hotel is about 8 miles (13 km) northeast of Birmingham city centre. The Ramada has easy access to the M42 and the M6 toll road and is well located for the NEC, the International Convention Centre and the NIA.

Guests can enjoy the on-site health club includes an indoor pool, a relaxing sauna and solarium, as well as a steam room and spa bath. Guests can exercise with a game on the squash courts, and work out with a gym, dance and aerobics classes available. A beautician and hairdresser are also available.
Picture of Ramada Birmingham, Sutton Coldfield, Sutton Coldfield at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 142 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
59% recommended this accommodation to a friend 63% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

on entering room 244 their was a very strong smell of sewage.
Went to have a bath and there was only 1 bath 1 hand towel.
Getting ready the next morning i noticed beer bottle tops under the curtain and my wife opened the net curtains and was disgusted to notice the cob webs at the top of the window frames.

Reviewed by
p butler

From Bedlington, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Don't stay above the kitchens
The first room I was given (room 206 I think it was) was above the kitchens and the powerful extractor fans exhausted right outside the window which was not adequate to keep out the high noise.
I complained and they moved me to another room. The new room was much better although there was some light pollution which the curtains failed to keep out.
The hotel is a little tired but the staff were friendly and the food was good.
The price was fantastic only £60 per night and this included breakfast and a dinner up to the value of £22.

Reviewed by
Karl S

From Macclesfield, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

overnight stay
The staff were friendly and courteous; the communal facilities were of a fair standard; the rooms were clean but very dated and in need of revamp. the room was very hot an stuffy; the hot water tap over the bath was faulty (actually hanging off) - it was reported but not repaired; there was no hot water in sink tap in any event! Had I been staying longer it would have been unacceptable but as I was only in he room for a few hours it did not impact upon my stay - but I would not elect to stay again after the experience. But the staff were lovely.

Reviewed by
Jane S

From Wolverhampton, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Coffee drinkers beware of sunday breakfast
great friendly staff on Friday and Saturday but coffee on Sunday was undrinkable so food wouldhave been a 5 is now a 2

Reviewed by
Rose M

From Bude, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fab would return
Fab hotel all the staff were friendly and helpful. Bit of a maze to get to room but we enjoyed the hunt lol once you've found room it's fine. Definitely return in the future

Reviewed by
ROY B

From Walsall, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel, near to sutton night life ! WIFI is needed though

Reviewed by
Ciara M

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Getting to our room was a nightmare
Trying to get to our room was such a nightmare. We used the lift, but then had to take our 5 suitcases down numerous stairs and a long way to our room. Would ask next time to be closer to the lobby, as getting up and down the stairs was terrible.

Reviewed by
C Gill

From Canada
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

came to watch athletics event
The room was down a quiet corridor and was looking out onto nice gardens/lawns. the bed was too soft and the pillows were not comfortable.
The hotel was full of families (august BH weekend)
Didn't have time to use spa facilities. Free parking. convenient for 15 drive to alexander stadium
Not handy if you didn't have a car - we walked half a mile to get to nice indian restaurant
Lots of food for breakfast- but cafeteria style

Reviewed by
Jacky G

From Truro, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Me and my boyfriend stayed her over August bank holiday, it was only 15 minutes drive from Birmingham. The hotel was nice for what we wanted. The pool, spa and sauna was really nice, great facilities. Breakfast is till 12 on a Sunday which was really nice as we didn't have to rush around! Would recommend to anyone!

Reviewed by
C Jesty

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay only.
Myself and my son stayed here overnight on the way South - thank goodness!! We stayed here accompanied by my mother a few years ago, as e have relatives close by, and the stay was ok but this time (in the same room) I noted that nothing had changed. That meaning the décor was the same but notably more tatty, the beds just as uncomfortable but now tired and the general demeanour of the place miserable. The girl on the desk late in the evening was the only good point, she went out of her way to make sure we had enough tea/sugar etc for our room when I enquired but overall the only plus point was I booked this room late and it was discounted. Therefore, ok for a stopover at cheap rate but for a holiday, try elsewhere!!

Reviewed by
C Harvey

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next