No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Ramada Birmingham, Sutton Coldfield

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Penns Lane , Sutton Coldfield, B76 1LH
Set in its own spacious grounds overlooking a picturesque lake, Ramada Birmingham/Sutton Coldfield is just 15 minutes' drive from Drayton Manor. Free parking is available, and Birmingham Airport is a 20-minute drive away.

Located in Walmley, Sutton Coldfield, the hotel is about 8 miles (13 km) northeast of Birmingham city centre. The Ramada has easy access to the M42 and the M6 toll road and is well located for the NEC, the International Convention Centre and the NIA.

Guests can enjoy the on-site health club includes an indoor pool, a relaxing sauna and solarium, as well as a steam room and spa bath. Guests can exercise with a game on the squash courts, and work out with a gym, dance and aerobics classes available. A beautician and hairdresser are also available.
Picture of Ramada Birmingham, Sutton Coldfield, Sutton Coldfield at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 143 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
59% recommended this accommodation to a friend 63% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

disappointed
No direct lift to our room and therefore unsuitable for elderly occupants with cases. Corridor smelt dank and stale.
On plus side some very good staff.

Reviewed by
John B

From Weston Super Mare, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend break
Good location for us, visiting family. My booking was not handled efficiently; I was booked out twice and had to trek to Reception to re-register - no-one answered the room phone. On the last day of my stay the room wasn't serviced, beds not made, bins not emptied , no tea/coffee etc. On leaving I was assured it would be investigated but no real apology or offer of refund - this was disappointing service.

Reviewed by
M Beadsley

From England
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Would stay here again staff are very polite!!!

Reviewed by
C Smith

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

AN ENJOYABLE STAY AT A FRIENDLY AND COMFORTABLE HOTEL
Our stay will be remembered for the helpfulness of the friendly staff and the excellent quality of the food.

Reviewed by
S Humphreys

From Worthing, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect for our stat
Had a great time in Birmingham. Great location with easy access to city centre via bus, train or taxi. Would definitely stay again as were able to get a good nights sleep after an easy night out in town. The customer service was excellent and staff all helpful, friendly and efficient.

Reviewed by
laura s

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ramada Sutton Coldfield
Excellent in all respects. Very pleasant stay, friendly & efficient staff, excellent breakfasts & evening meal, super accomodation overlooking lake. Couldn't fault it!

Reviewed by
J Scott

From Chester le Street, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

1st. Room allocated was a twin , when we had requested double , this was sorted quickly , unfortunately the double we were given was directly above the function suite ! Hardly a recipe for a relaxing stay . When we went to check out the receptionist did not even ask how our stay was , we had to tell him about the noise problem.

Reviewed by
a leishman

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Strange layout
The hotel has a fairly strange layout and it felt like we walked miles to get to our room from reception
Have stayed previously in rooms that overlook the lake & leisure suite which were better located
Staff friendly but we did have to ask for a bottle of wine 3 times at dinner before it arrived

Reviewed by
P Bell

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good away break0

Reviewed by
Sharon O

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Disappointing
I booked this hotel for my partner's birthday, therefore I wanted something special - booked an 'executive' room for a better experience. What did we initially get for our £100 plus cost - a room (5202) sufferring from such bad damp/water ingress that the smell was over-powering. It was obvious that we couldn't stay in that room, so returned to reception. Instead of being offerred another room, we were instructed to return to the room to liaise with house-keeping (who were apparently going to attempt to make the room habitable). After waiting in the corridor outside the room for 10 to 15 minutes, we finally gave up waiting for house-keeping and returned to reception with our bags. At this point I was so disappointed I was tempted to drive home, as I felt no confidence in the hotel or it's staff. We were told to wait in the bar whilst a replacement room (a suite - 105) was prepared for us. Apparently there were issues such as bulbs in the bathroom that needed attending to. We were offerred a free drink from the bar whilst we waited.
This was all a far cry from my planned afternoon tea, followed by a swim etc. Eventually 30 - 40 minutes later we were able to go to our new room, which was a lovely large room overlooking the lake. Even this room was poorly maintained with cracked floor tiles, defective lights (indeed one downlighter over the bath, hanging out of the ceiling!).
We decided against dinner in the hotel, as the restaurant menu was very limited. It reminded me of a little chef menu, plain food along the lines of burger and chips etc.
After a good night's sleep we were both disappointed with breakfast. We both declined the hot offerring as it was obviously very dried up from being under the heat lamps. We stuck to items that the hotel had not prepared, such as yoghurt and croissants.
This review would have been a 'one' rating had it not been for the second room we were offerred which had such a lovely outlook.
This hotel is in a very run down condition, signs of neglect are everywhere in the building. The issues of water ingress are more serious, and judging by reviews on here have been on-going for some time.... My mantra from now on is to stick to Premier Inns - hotels such as this one are too unpredictable.
The final insult was that I filled in the feedback card, and included my email address. Unsuprisingly enough, I have heard nothing (three days so far).
Please avoid this hotel - there are much better ones in the area for this money, it's not worth the disappointment.

Reviewed by
Karl P

From Thetford, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next