No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Ramada Birmingham, Sutton Coldfield

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Penns Lane , Sutton Coldfield, B76 1LH
Set in its own spacious grounds overlooking a picturesque lake, Ramada Birmingham/Sutton Coldfield is just 15 minutes' drive from Drayton Manor. Free parking is available, and Birmingham Airport is a 20-minute drive away.

Located in Walmley, Sutton Coldfield, the hotel is about 8 miles (13 km) northeast of Birmingham city centre. The Ramada has easy access to the M42 and the M6 toll road and is well located for the NEC, the International Convention Centre and the NIA.

Guests can enjoy the on-site health club includes an indoor pool, a relaxing sauna and solarium, as well as a steam room and spa bath. Guests can exercise with a game on the squash courts, and work out with a gym, dance and aerobics classes available. A beautician and hairdresser are also available.
Picture of Ramada Birmingham, Sutton Coldfield, Sutton Coldfield at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 143 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
59% recommended this accommodation to a friend 63% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ramada review
The rooms ae very dated, every time i use this hotel it takes what I class as a long time to checkin there computer systems need updating to make this a slicker operation and easier for the person who is on the reception . The last room i stayed in was right next to the boiler or air conditioning or something but anyway it kept me awake all night.

Reviewed by
T Smith

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short stay
We were given a very large room - excellent for families. breakfast was good with plenty of choice. the leisure facilities were excellent and the location is very peaceful by a lake

Reviewed by
M Miah

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

not too bad...but some improvements are needed fast.
ive stayed here a few.times...however on this ocassion..the mattress was.completely caved in and the shower leaked/gushed heavily meaning i didnt get a good sleep at all....also the walkway to the spa over the lake needs urgent cleaning as the smell inside is upleasant. other than that the hotel is ok....set in nice grounds...oh and the liquer at the bar and the breakfast is a little expense (~20% too much in my opinion for hotel guests).

Reviewed by
R Lakhay

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

2 night stay in exec room
Check in was straight forward no problems. Staff were chatty and friendly. We booked an executive room. Room was ok, served its purpose. Deco probably could do with an update. Room was clean enough but nothing to shout about. We had one towel and one hand towel between two which I found odd. I'm not a complainer so we managed. I'm sure if we had of asked reception for more towels we would have got more I just found it odd only to have one towel to share. We used the gym facilities which were good. Didn't get chance to use the pool but it looked quite big from the window. We didn't eat at the hotel as we ate out so cannot really comment although the breakfast smelt nice as we walked by. I don't think I would choose this hotel again for two reasons which may be personal reasons and may not be all rooms but both mornings myself and my husband woke up feeling very hungover and had unsettled sleeps. I'm not sure if it was down to the heating. Its hard to explain but we stayed at a travel lodge for our 3rd night of our trip and don't have the problem. We woke up with very sore throats and dry mouths and headaches. And although the hotel can't help it and it will sound petty but I should mention it but the ducks start there duck squarks at around 4.30am - 5am and wow they can squark. If you are getting up early this won't bother you if you fancy a lie in tough! I don't want to leAve a negative review because the hotel served its purpose, staff were friendly and the room was very cheap on late rooms for two nights. I wouldn't want to pay full price and I did find the travel lodge more comftable. Sorry ramada.

Reviewed by
Debbie H

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ok for a short stay
Room was clean and tidy, could do with a refurb

Reviewed by
K Holsey

From Halesowen, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We were agreeably surprised with the quality of the accommodation, although there did not seem to be air conditioning and the room was warm. But this is what we expected for the price. Very satisfied on the whole.

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the hotel. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Reviewed by
M Ramadan

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ramada Sutton Coalfield Experience
Probably the worst hotel accomodation in years and I travel extensively
1 - I upgraded to an Executive room at £94 when I could have stayed at superior hotels for less
2 - The double bed was small but incredibly there was only a single sheet covering a very worn matress - It felt dirty and it was a terrible nights sleep due to the mattress digging into me
3 - The carpets outside the rooms on my floor were soaking wet clearly due to leakage - It absolutely stunk and smelt of eggs which I could smell through the room - It made your stomach turn
4 - On checking out - temp on the desk with a manager assisting - no "How was your stay" because I would have mentioned all the issues - as there others complaining I simply couldnt wait to get out of there
5 - I could mention all the little things but the list would be too extensive but here are a couple of exaples:
6 - Upgrade promise of a flat screen tv - a small tv on the cabinet
7 - Bathroom in serious need of a make over inclusing the room funriture
8 - Poor signage - so many corridors to your room you get lost
I never compalin but the experience was so dreadful I though I should post this
The whole hotel is in dire need of a facelift

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback regarding your recent stay at the hotel and I am sorry that you experienced a number of issues that impacted on your stay. We have identified your booking and passed on your comments to our team so that we can use your feedback to improve both our product and service in the future. Once again, please accept our apologies.

Reviewed by
A Nash

From Hockley, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Appalling
This hotel is a disgrace for the money paid, old, tired and dirty. So called executive room a as dive disappointment, long track from reception, shabby, cold and not even particularly clean. Had no running water in room for majority of stay, could not even flush the toilet and even when it came back on mid morning the shower didn't work, only saving grace were the staff who were friendly and tried to be helpful at all times.

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the hotel and I am sorry that your stay did not meet with expectation. It is with regret that, during one weekend, the hotel did experience a problem with the water supply that was beyond our control. It was isolated to a specific area and was rectified by an external contractor as soon as possible. We appreciate that this caused inconvenience and apologise for any disruption you encountered.

Reviewed by
S Wallace

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room 217
If you are given room 217, simply turn around and sleep in your car!
The rest of the hotel was okay but the room I was given was like stepping back in time, very dirty and grubby metal framed single glazed windows, poor lighting, not to mention very small.
Not what I expected, I have taken photos and sent them to the general manager for feedback.

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the hotel. I understand that our General Manager has been in touch with you directly and we apologise once again for the standards that you experienced during your stay.

Reviewed by
A Fowler

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value
Friendly helpful staff. Great facillities. Restaurant food good staff. Efficient and plight. Good customer experience

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the hotel. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope to be able to welcome you back soon.

Reviewed by
David P

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Group of men

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next