No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Ramada Birmingham, Sutton Coldfield

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Penns Lane , Sutton Coldfield, B76 1LH
Set in its own spacious grounds overlooking a picturesque lake, Ramada Birmingham/Sutton Coldfield is just 15 minutes' drive from Drayton Manor. Free parking is available, and Birmingham Airport is a 20-minute drive away.

Located in Walmley, Sutton Coldfield, the hotel is about 8 miles (13 km) northeast of Birmingham city centre. The Ramada has easy access to the M42 and the M6 toll road and is well located for the NEC, the International Convention Centre and the NIA.

Guests can enjoy the on-site health club includes an indoor pool, a relaxing sauna and solarium, as well as a steam room and spa bath. Guests can exercise with a game on the squash courts, and work out with a gym, dance and aerobics classes available. A beautician and hairdresser are also available.
Picture of Ramada Birmingham, Sutton Coldfield, Sutton Coldfield at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 141 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
59% recommended this accommodation to a friend 64% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dated and Dirty
Stunned, thought I had moved back to the 70's as I walked through the door. The place is dated and dirty and did not meet expectation on any front. The bed / mattress needed replacing the décor well is just very old and on the whole it was a below average place to stay for not below average money.
On a positive note, the staff were helpful and friendly, shame the hotel itself is such a let down.

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review on your recent stay at the hotel. We are a 3 star mid-market hotel and, while we concur that some areas of the hotel would benefit from investment, it is our aim to ensure that our facilities are clean and comfortable so I am sorry that this was not the case on your visit. On a positive note, I have passed on your comments regarding the friendliness of our team.

Reviewed by
Vicky M

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel was Great!!!
The Ramada Sutton Coldfield was great for what we wanted!! The room was spacious, clean and comfortable.
The staff were really pleasant and helpful and the hotel facilities were great for all ages (my kids loved the pool the most).
The hotel is situated in a great location for travelling to other parts of birmingham.

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. The team were delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay and we hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future so that you can, once again, take advantage of our leisure facilities.

Reviewed by
L Geoghegan

From Trowbridge, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoy staying at the hotel but would prefer room to be in the main building.
Bar manager remembered us from the summer. He was very welcoming, a credit to the company.

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review on your recent stay at the hotel and we were pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable time. We do have a number of rooms in our Penns Mews annex but are more than happy to allocate a room in the main hotel building so please do call us before your next stay. I have also passed on your comments to our Bar manager who was delighted that you were impressed with the service he delivered. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Reviewed by
John Dillon

From Wigston, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I accept it was the Christmas period and probably a skeleton staff but some of the daily compliments like tissues and coffee/tea/sugars were not always replaced fully. Also if I had paid full price (we had a special offer) I probably would have expected a mini bar/ fridge.

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the hotel. I am sorry that our housekeeping service did not meet expectations on this occasion and I have passed on your comments to our team as it is our standard to replenish the coffee making facilities each day. Unfortunately, we do not have any bedrooms with fridges but are more than happy to provide ice buckets to guest bedrooms on request.

Reviewed by
A Halsey

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

review
difficult for those who have difficulty walking up stairs as there is not lift access directly to all parts of the hotel, however they do ask if you need assistance in the event of fire. Excellent room service menu.

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the hotel. I am sorry that you found some areas of the hotel to be difficult to reach. We are happy to discuss accessibility requirements in advance of arrival so please do contact us before your next visit and we will be able to allocate a more appropriate room for you. Our menus are regularly reviewed and we take all guest feedback on board so I will pass on your positive comments to the food and beverage team.

Reviewed by
Angela S

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Book the lakeside rooms
Nice rooms for the lakeside location and worth the extra money compared to the rooms not in the main hotel

Reviewed by
Kevin A

From Frome, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

If you've got a choice, choose eleswhere
This hotel is like a rabbitt warren and you can walk miles to your room. Not a problem in itself but the rooms are dated, especially the bathrooms with sub standard showers in many. Food in the restaurant is hit and miss as is the service. While not expensive this hotel needs some work to bring it back to the realms of value or quality. NB Not tried the Gym but the pool is cute for messing about in but useless if you want to actually swim.

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments on your stay at the hotel. We are a 170 bedroom hotel so some rooms can be a short distance from reception although we are happy to allocate a room close to reception or the lifts on request. We are a mid-market 3 star hotel and, while we agree that some areas of the hotel would benefit from investment, we do endeavour to provide a friendly and professional service at all times so I will pass on your comments to our Food and Beverage Manager for review.

Reviewed by
Sheila S

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the whole place appears tired and more resembles a nursing home than a hotel.

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the hotel. I am sorry that your stay did not meet with your expectations on this occasion.

Reviewed by
m howley

From Cottingham, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Needs a refurb
Staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms are very dated, the bathrooms are poor, very old units and bath/sink, some shoddy repairs carried out, both the corridor and room smelt damp, not what i expect from such a large hotel chain.

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at the hotel. I have passed on your comments to our team and they are delighted that you found the service to be friendly and helpful. We do aim to meet and exceed customer expectations in this area. We do have some more recently refurbished Executive bedrooms which we would be more than happy to allocate for your next stay.

Reviewed by
A Clark

From Grimsby, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overall not very good
The hotel is just a little bit shabby. The bathroom was grubby and the shower didn't work. Just well overdue an update. The bed was not very comfortable.
The hotel is a maze of corridors and stairs, and is very spread out. So if you have any mobility problems make sure the hotel knows this when you book.

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review of your stay at the hotel. I am sorry to hear that the cleanliness of your bedroom was not up to standard and I have highlighted this to our housekeeping manager so we can revisit staff training. The hotel is an old building with a number of corridors but our front office team proactively tell guests the best route to their bedroom on check in. We are also happy to accommodate requests for rooms close to reception for our guests with mobility issues.

Reviewed by
A Cole

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next