Ramada Birmingham, Sutton Coldfield

3

Penns Lane, Sutton Coldfield, B76 1LH

Price From 147.10 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (134)

56% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • A Allen

  • August 2014

Ramada night

Booked executive room as a treat, for a night away without the kids before having a spa experience at a local fitness/spa club

  • C Reid

  • July 2014

Definitely worth the money.

The room was nice & clean. However the bedside phone did not work & the tv quality could have been better & in a better position. It also seemed to change channel randomly by itself.. Also the our room was a bit of a walk from reception, and quite confusing to find our room.. Maze like.. Other than that, i enjoyed my stay, the staff were very polite and i wish I had the time to use the lesuire facilities .(

  • David C

  • July 2014

poor quality room

This hotel is a sprawling 2 storey place - my room was about a 5 minute walk from the reception(!) it's like a maze.

I checked in for an overnight stay while at a wedding nearby. When i got to the room at night, the shower didn't work, the mattress was horribly over-sprung (the springs poking through into your back) and the phone didn't work. Eventually the phone came back to life after wiggling the wires a bit, and I was offered an alternative twin (I had abooked a double) but decided just to stay and go to sleep as it was 1am and couldn't face the move because I was dog-tired.

The next morning the receptionist was apoogetic and offered a 25% refund when I complained. Which was decent enough, though at £54 per night seemed like the least they could do. I would have stayed in a private B&B had I been able to find one nearby. The staff were all professional, police and nice. To me the problem is the place itself. It's typical for a low-quality corporate chain hotel. It's functional, with all the typical facilities you'd expect (bar, club, health spa, meals) but there's not a single attractive feature about it. To me, the place needs to be pulled down and built again - the staff can stay, though.

  • SUE H

  • July 2014

Lovely hotel & grounds, helpful staff but no air con !!

Lovely hotel and beautiful grounds with plenty of greenery and woodland areas, even around the car parking area in front of the main building.

Check in was quick once we got to the front of the queue but very warm standing waiting behind other people. My husband and I were in room 129 which was an extremely long walk from everything, down several long corridors and stairs.......ok

for us to navigate but people in their late 60's or older would have a problem with. Room ok for overnight stay but very warm, no air con and uncomfortably stuffy even though temperatures outside were only 19 - 22 degrees max. No fridge either which there have been in other Ramada hotels we've stayed in and rooms a bit dated but adequate. There's a nice seated area just outside the main reception / bar area where you can enjoy food &/or drinks at hotel prices or just people watch in fresh air. Staff were very helpful directing us to the nearest supermarket and also phoning for a taxi on the Saturday night. Breakfast was included in the price we paid and the old English oak room where everyone was seated was lovely, quite grand in fact !. The cooked food was first class, being replenished every few minutes and there was also a large choice of breads, cereals and fruit juices on offer. Unfortunately once again though very stuffy and we couldn't wait to sit outside for some fresh air, so just as well it wasn't raining. Didn't use leisure facilities at all so can't comment.

  • Alan C

  • July 2014

Ramada

Bathroom very poor cleanliness and two light bulbs out - not replaced at first request.

Music in restaurant intrusive - too loud. Overall state of hotel -tired!

  • Lynn H

  • July 2014

Ramada Sutton Cold Field

We took the opportunity of an excellent weekend deal, £120 for 2 nights B&B plus 1 evening meal.

The location was perfect, close to where we needed to be, close enough to the town centre to visit the restaurants and pubs, yet in quiet surroundings with nice gardens, overlooking a lake. The leisure centre was a nice bonus, well kept pool, sauna, steam room etc. The hotel bar was very nice and all the staff very friendly.

  • Sheila F

  • July 2014

Relaxing

When I booked in I was a little apprehensive but the staff was excellent and soon felt at ease.

I thoroughly enjoyed the leisure centre and the grounds on which the hotel is situated.

  • wendy h

  • June 2014

Worst bed ever

The bed was so uncomfortable springs needed replacing, There were several people having a get together at 1.00 in the morning, twice had to telephone reception to ask them to do something about it, Very tired in the morning as could not sleep due to noise and dreadful bed

  • C Grubb

  • June 2014

Enjoyed our stay

  • Alan L

  • June 2014

In Need of TLC

The Hotel as great potential but looks like no maintenance has been carried out since the 1980's.

Rooms badly need refurbishing