No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Ramada Birmingham, Sutton Coldfield

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Penns Lane , Sutton Coldfield, B76 1LH
Set in its own spacious grounds overlooking a picturesque lake, Ramada Birmingham/Sutton Coldfield is just 15 minutes' drive from Drayton Manor. Free parking is available, and Birmingham Airport is a 20-minute drive away.

Located in Walmley, Sutton Coldfield, the hotel is about 8 miles (13 km) northeast of Birmingham city centre. The Ramada has easy access to the M42 and the M6 toll road and is well located for the NEC, the International Convention Centre and the NIA.

Guests can enjoy the on-site health club includes an indoor pool, a relaxing sauna and solarium, as well as a steam room and spa bath. Guests can exercise with a game on the squash courts, and work out with a gym, dance and aerobics classes available. A beautician and hairdresser are also available.
Picture of Ramada Birmingham, Sutton Coldfield, Sutton Coldfield at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 141 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
59% recommended this accommodation to a friend 63% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Could have been fantastic but let down by maintainance & some of the staff
On first appearance this was a fantastic place to stay, gardens are beautiful, lovely looking hotel etc. Check in staff were great and rooms spacious with patios out to grounds. However on looking closer our room was quite dirty, the bathroom still had shampoo in the bath and main room had crumbs on the floor and rubbish behind the bed from previous occupants! The patio door lock was very insecure and there was no key, when asking at reception it appears that if the key is missing there is no replacement available! Our wet towels were refolded and put back rather than being replaced..The restaurant was not bad on the first night, if a little slow in service, and pricey, but on the second night we were very unhappy with the service, the staff were rude and unhelpful, and to pay £15 for sausage & mash (no veg) with over an hours wait from ordering to service was unacceptable, especially as there were only about 5 tables occupied. We then got the sweet menus quite literally thrown at us so we left. The next night we ate in the bar which was so much better, the staff were friendly and helpful, it was cosy and comfy and the food came quite quickly and there were a couple of different choices which worked out much cheaper but in fact better (larger portions and nicer food) than the previous evening. If you stay here I would suggest you avoid the restaurant and go eat in the bar instead, and don't expect much in the way of house keeping, we saw staff spray air freshener about so it looked and smelt as if they were cleaning but didn't actually use the duster they were holding!

Reviewed by
V tompkins

From Fort William, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel, lovely walks for dog and leisurepool was just that
Brilliant that you can take your dogs to such a quality hotel and so handy for NEC

Reviewed by
Anne Taylor

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good stay by lake side rooms
Good over night stay in one of the lake side rooms. Room clean and everything fine there.
If I was too be critical some small details at the hotel could be renewed rather than left as they are but overall a good stay and no complaints.

Reviewed by
Kevin A

From Frome, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal if you are looking for somewhere with lots of facilities
Good gym, pool etc. This is quite a large hotel which is well spread out. Only ate breakfast did not eat in the restaurant for dinner. Quite close to Sutton Coldfield and you could also get a bus into Birmingham. This is a good value for money for a chain hotel. A good base for the West Midlands.

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our facilities and found our location, 5 miles from Birmingham City Centre, to be convenient. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Reviewed by
Ian H

From Loughton, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dated and Dirty
Stunned, thought I had moved back to the 70's as I walked through the door. The place is dated and dirty and did not meet expectation on any front. The bed / mattress needed replacing the décor well is just very old and on the whole it was a below average place to stay for not below average money.
On a positive note, the staff were helpful and friendly, shame the hotel itself is such a let down.

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review on your recent stay at the hotel. We are a 3 star mid-market hotel and, while we concur that some areas of the hotel would benefit from investment, it is our aim to ensure that our facilities are clean and comfortable so I am sorry that this was not the case on your visit. On a positive note, I have passed on your comments regarding the friendliness of our team.

Reviewed by
Vicky M

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel was Great!!!
The Ramada Sutton Coldfield was great for what we wanted!! The room was spacious, clean and comfortable.
The staff were really pleasant and helpful and the hotel facilities were great for all ages (my kids loved the pool the most).
The hotel is situated in a great location for travelling to other parts of birmingham.

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. The team were delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay and we hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future so that you can, once again, take advantage of our leisure facilities.

Reviewed by
L Geoghegan

From Trowbridge, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoy staying at the hotel but would prefer room to be in the main building.
Bar manager remembered us from the summer. He was very welcoming, a credit to the company.

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review on your recent stay at the hotel and we were pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable time. We do have a number of rooms in our Penns Mews annex but are more than happy to allocate a room in the main hotel building so please do call us before your next stay. I have also passed on your comments to our Bar manager who was delighted that you were impressed with the service he delivered. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Reviewed by
John Dillon

From Wigston, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I accept it was the Christmas period and probably a skeleton staff but some of the daily compliments like tissues and coffee/tea/sugars were not always replaced fully. Also if I had paid full price (we had a special offer) I probably would have expected a mini bar/ fridge.

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the hotel. I am sorry that our housekeeping service did not meet expectations on this occasion and I have passed on your comments to our team as it is our standard to replenish the coffee making facilities each day. Unfortunately, we do not have any bedrooms with fridges but are more than happy to provide ice buckets to guest bedrooms on request.

Reviewed by
A Halsey

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

review
difficult for those who have difficulty walking up stairs as there is not lift access directly to all parts of the hotel, however they do ask if you need assistance in the event of fire. Excellent room service menu.

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the hotel. I am sorry that you found some areas of the hotel to be difficult to reach. We are happy to discuss accessibility requirements in advance of arrival so please do contact us before your next visit and we will be able to allocate a more appropriate room for you. Our menus are regularly reviewed and we take all guest feedback on board so I will pass on your positive comments to the food and beverage team.

Reviewed by
Angela S

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Book the lakeside rooms
Nice rooms for the lakeside location and worth the extra money compared to the rooms not in the main hotel

Reviewed by
Kevin A

From Frome, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next