Reviews - Ramada Birmingham, Sutton Coldfield


Penns Lane, Sutton Coldfield, B76 1LH

Price From 124.85 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (101)

54% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Jacky G

  • August 2014

came to watch athletics event

The room was down a quiet corridor and was looking out onto nice gardens/lawns.

the bed was too soft and the pillows were not comfortable. The hotel was full of families (august BH weekend)

Didn't have time to use spa facilities. Free parking. convenient for 15 drive to alexander stadium

Not handy if you didn't have a car - we walked half a mile to get to nice indian restaurant

Lots of food for breakfast- but cafeteria style

  • W A McIlmoyle

  • August 2014

Room 211 was noisy with fans running outside

  • C Harvey

  • August 2014

Overnight stay only.

Myself and my son stayed here overnight on the way South - thank goodness!.

We stayed here accompanied by my mother a few years ago, as e have relatives close by, and the stay was ok but this time (in the same room) I noted that nothing had changed. That meaning the décor was the same but notably more tatty, the beds just as uncomfortable but now tired and the general demeanour of the place miserable. The girl on the desk late in the evening was the only good point, she went out of her way to make sure we had enough tea/sugar etc for our room when I enquired but overall the only plus point was I booked this room late and it was discounted. Therefore, ok for a stopover at cheap rate but for a holiday, try elsewhere!!

  • Gareth J

  • August 2014

Family Stop

We stopped here with our 4yr old daughter in a family room and it was great value.

The staff were impeccable & we thoroughly enjoyed the brief stay.

  • Joanne D

  • August 2014

Tired hotel - excellent staff

The hotel looks beautiful from the outside and indeed the welcome is splendid however the rooms are not well maintained.

I would suggest the housekeeping team may need a little help on standards. We had a beautiful balcony view over the water but the balcony had cigarettes butts on it (not ours - we do not smoke) which may the environment feel unclean. The bathroom was shabby which made it look grubby. The wallpaper was coming off the wall. The spa can not really be called a spa - more like a local community leisure centre. It was not welcoming or clean.

  • A Allen

  • August 2014

Ramada night

Booked executive room as a treat, for a night away without the kids before having a spa experience at a local fitness/spa club

  • C Reid

  • July 2014

Definitely worth the money.

The room was nice & clean. However the bedside phone did not work & the tv quality could have been better & in a better position. It also seemed to change channel randomly by itself.. Also the our room was a bit of a walk from reception, and quite confusing to find our room.. Maze like.. Other than that, i enjoyed my stay, the staff were very polite and i wish I had the time to use the lesuire facilities .(

  • David C

  • July 2014

poor quality room

This hotel is a sprawling 2 storey place - my room was about a 5 minute walk from the reception(!) it's like a maze.

I checked in for an overnight stay while at a wedding nearby. When i got to the room at night, the shower didn't work, the mattress was horribly over-sprung (the springs poking through into your back) and the phone didn't work. Eventually the phone came back to life after wiggling the wires a bit, and I was offered an alternative twin (I had abooked a double) but decided just to stay and go to sleep as it was 1am and couldn't face the move because I was dog-tired.

The next morning the receptionist was apoogetic and offered a 25% refund when I complained. Which was decent enough, though at £54 per night seemed like the least they could do. I would have stayed in a private B&B had I been able to find one nearby. The staff were all professional, police and nice. To me the problem is the place itself. It's typical for a low-quality corporate chain hotel. It's functional, with all the typical facilities you'd expect (bar, club, health spa, meals) but there's not a single attractive feature about it. To me, the place needs to be pulled down and built again - the staff can stay, though.

  • SUE H

  • July 2014

Lovely hotel & grounds, helpful staff but no air con !!

Lovely hotel and beautiful grounds with plenty of greenery and woodland areas, even around the car parking area in front of the main building.

Check in was quick once we got to the front of the queue but very warm standing waiting behind other people. My husband and I were in room 129 which was an extremely long walk from everything, down several long corridors and stairs.......ok

for us to navigate but people in their late 60's or older would have a problem with. Room ok for overnight stay but very warm, no air con and uncomfortably stuffy even though temperatures outside were only 19 - 22 degrees max. No fridge either which there have been in other Ramada hotels we've stayed in and rooms a bit dated but adequate. There's a nice seated area just outside the main reception / bar area where you can enjoy food &/or drinks at hotel prices or just people watch in fresh air. Staff were very helpful directing us to the nearest supermarket and also phoning for a taxi on the Saturday night. Breakfast was included in the price we paid and the old English oak room where everyone was seated was lovely, quite grand in fact !. The cooked food was first class, being replenished every few minutes and there was also a large choice of breads, cereals and fruit juices on offer. Unfortunately once again though very stuffy and we couldn't wait to sit outside for some fresh air, so just as well it wasn't raining. Didn't use leisure facilities at all so can't comment.

  • Alan C

  • July 2014


Bathroom very poor cleanliness and two light bulbs out - not replaced at first request.

Music in restaurant intrusive - too loud. Overall state of hotel -tired!