No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Ramada Birmingham, Sutton Coldfield

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Penns Lane , Sutton Coldfield, B76 1LH
Set in its own spacious grounds overlooking a picturesque lake, Ramada Birmingham/Sutton Coldfield is just 15 minutes' drive from Drayton Manor. Free parking is available, and Birmingham Airport is a 20-minute drive away.

Located in Walmley, Sutton Coldfield, the hotel is about 8 miles (13 km) northeast of Birmingham city centre. The Ramada has easy access to the M42 and the M6 toll road and is well located for the NEC, the International Convention Centre and the NIA.

Guests can enjoy the on-site health club includes an indoor pool, a relaxing sauna and solarium, as well as a steam room and spa bath. Guests can exercise with a game on the squash courts, and work out with a gym, dance and aerobics classes available. A beautician and hairdresser are also available.
Picture of Ramada Birmingham, Sutton Coldfield, Sutton Coldfield at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 142 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
59% recommended this accommodation to a friend 63% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Second stay in a Ramada
The grounds to hotel are very well kept and attractive. There is a sense of luxury upon arrival. Unfortunately rooms are in desperate need of an update. As this was the second time I have stayed in a Ramada hotel this seems a common factor.
From the state of the divan bed to the shower the decor is very dated and tatty. I've stayed in cleaner looking rooms for half the price.

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the hotel. We are a mid-market 3 star hotel and, whilst we concur that some areas of the hotel would benefit from investment, we do offer a clean and comfortable room which we feel represents good value for money. We hope to be able to welcome you back in the future.

Reviewed by
Andrea P

From Sutton Coldfield, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wrong Room
When I checked in I was given a room which belonged to someone else, I contacted reception and informed them of the error and they responded efficiently and catered for me with an executive room which I was very impressed with.
I would definitely stay at the Ramada Hotel at Sutton Coldfield again for further visits to Birmingham in the future as I also found the staff to be very helpful and friendly.

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback regarding your recent stay at the hotel. Please accept our apologies for the error with the key to your bedroom. We have picked this up with the receptionist in question to ensure that procedures are in place to ensure this cannot happen again. We are delighted that you were satisfied with all other aspects of your stay and hope to welcome you back soon.

Reviewed by
L Jeanpierre

From London, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice!
The hotel is lovely, excellent customer service. The restaurant was very nice with lovely food and presentation, reasonably priced. The pool, sauna, steam room were lovely, spa pool was same temperature as pool so did get a bit chilly! There is no solarium.
Lovely grounds.
The room was large, lots of space and very clean. The bed seemed okay to lie on and relax, but as we slept on it, it was more uncomfortable, with a lack of support in both mattress and pillow. Good location.

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on your recent stay at the hotel. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and were able to take advantage of our leisure facilities and restaurant. Thank you for your comments regarding the comfort of the bed which we have passed on to our housekeeper who is currently looking at replacing some mattresses.

Reviewed by
N Butler

From Newport, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Yuck never again
This hotel was way below par and certainly not value for money. We were directed to our room but because of an overly complicated system of lifts, stairs and levels were unable to find it. In the end we had to come back to reception- it's my opinion that if it takes ore than a minute to explain where the room is they should really offer to show you to it! After this bad start we entered into our room which smelled strongly of smoke- despite being billed as a non smoking room. The decor was tired and shabby. There were several broken items including an arm chair missing a leg. The bathroom was dark and unclean, we didn't get hot water through in the shower at any point. The bed was very uncomfortable with poorly fitting sheets. The walls must be very thin because we could hear our neighbours televisions throughout the night. We left the hotel exhausted! In short it was all very disappointing. If we had not checked in so late and only been staying one night we would have walked straight back out the door! I told all of this to the receptionist upon checking out but there was no offer of recompense or apology- I expect none of this came as a surprise to her!

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the hotel. As a result of the layout of the building, some of our rooms are a short distance away from reception however, we are happy to allocate a more easily accessible room on request. We are continuously working to improve both the maintenance and cleanliness of our bedrooms and I am sorry that we did not meet with your expectations on this occasion. Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Reviewed by
L Green

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Shocking service, tried to give us a double room for a family room, we would have had to put the extra bed on the TV!!!
Alternative room was dirty smelly & the carpet was completely covered in dog hairs !!!

Reviewed by
S Mann

From Brentwood, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

really disappointed
beds lumpy, radiators banging and rattling, poor nights sleep

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on your recent stay at the hotel. I am sorry that you experienced issues regarding your bedroom during your stay and hope that you managed to speak to a member of our team during your stay as we are always happy to offer a room move where possible.

Reviewed by
keith c

From Newquay, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Awful!
Stayed on this hotel for a weekend break. The customer service is ok but not very helpful. Handed in my paper, just thought without saying Hello, How are you and not looking you in the eye. The room is two small for a family. The whole room is wear out. The only good thing in the place is the swimming pool and the sauna is broken! Plus they double charged me!

Reviewed by
G Parkin

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Size of rooms very good with nice view over the river. Some of the décor and furnishings a little dated and disappointed the Jacuzzi was not working. Last minute booking to attend Crufts at NEC so ideally located for this and not bad price. Served purpose for visit.

Reviewed by
joanna l

From Bishop Auckland, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Could have been fantastic but let down by maintainance & some of the staff
On first appearance this was a fantastic place to stay, gardens are beautiful, lovely looking hotel etc. Check in staff were great and rooms spacious with patios out to grounds. However on looking closer our room was quite dirty, the bathroom still had shampoo in the bath and main room had crumbs on the floor and rubbish behind the bed from previous occupants! The patio door lock was very insecure and there was no key, when asking at reception it appears that if the key is missing there is no replacement available! Our wet towels were refolded and put back rather than being replaced..The restaurant was not bad on the first night, if a little slow in service, and pricey, but on the second night we were very unhappy with the service, the staff were rude and unhelpful, and to pay £15 for sausage & mash (no veg) with over an hours wait from ordering to service was unacceptable, especially as there were only about 5 tables occupied. We then got the sweet menus quite literally thrown at us so we left. The next night we ate in the bar which was so much better, the staff were friendly and helpful, it was cosy and comfy and the food came quite quickly and there were a couple of different choices which worked out much cheaper but in fact better (larger portions and nicer food) than the previous evening. If you stay here I would suggest you avoid the restaurant and go eat in the bar instead, and don't expect much in the way of house keeping, we saw staff spray air freshener about so it looked and smelt as if they were cleaning but didn't actually use the duster they were holding!

Reviewed by
V tompkins

From Fort William, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel, lovely walks for dog and leisurepool was just that
Brilliant that you can take your dogs to such a quality hotel and so handy for NEC

Reviewed by
Anne Taylor

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Group of women

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next