No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Ramada Birmingham, Sutton Coldfield

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Penns Lane , Sutton Coldfield, B76 1LH
Set in its own spacious grounds overlooking a picturesque lake, Ramada Birmingham/Sutton Coldfield is just 15 minutes' drive from Drayton Manor. Free parking is available, and Birmingham Airport is a 20-minute drive away.

Located in Walmley, Sutton Coldfield, the hotel is about 8 miles (13 km) northeast of Birmingham city centre. The Ramada has easy access to the M42 and the M6 toll road and is well located for the NEC, the International Convention Centre and the NIA.

Guests can enjoy the on-site health club includes an indoor pool, a relaxing sauna and solarium, as well as a steam room and spa bath. Guests can exercise with a game on the squash courts, and work out with a gym, dance and aerobics classes available. A beautician and hairdresser are also available.
Picture of Ramada Birmingham, Sutton Coldfield, Sutton Coldfield at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 145 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
59% recommended this accommodation to a friend 64% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ok for a short stay
Room was clean and tidy, could do with a refurb

Reviewed by
K Holsey

From Halesowen, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We were agreeably surprised with the quality of the accommodation, although there did not seem to be air conditioning and the room was warm. But this is what we expected for the price. Very satisfied on the whole.

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the hotel. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Reviewed by
M Ramadan

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ramada Sutton Coalfield Experience
Probably the worst hotel accomodation in years and I travel extensively
1 - I upgraded to an Executive room at £94 when I could have stayed at superior hotels for less
2 - The double bed was small but incredibly there was only a single sheet covering a very worn matress - It felt dirty and it was a terrible nights sleep due to the mattress digging into me
3 - The carpets outside the rooms on my floor were soaking wet clearly due to leakage - It absolutely stunk and smelt of eggs which I could smell through the room - It made your stomach turn
4 - On checking out - temp on the desk with a manager assisting - no "How was your stay" because I would have mentioned all the issues - as there others complaining I simply couldnt wait to get out of there
5 - I could mention all the little things but the list would be too extensive but here are a couple of exaples:
6 - Upgrade promise of a flat screen tv - a small tv on the cabinet
7 - Bathroom in serious need of a make over inclusing the room funriture
8 - Poor signage - so many corridors to your room you get lost
I never compalin but the experience was so dreadful I though I should post this
The whole hotel is in dire need of a facelift

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback regarding your recent stay at the hotel and I am sorry that you experienced a number of issues that impacted on your stay. We have identified your booking and passed on your comments to our team so that we can use your feedback to improve both our product and service in the future. Once again, please accept our apologies.

Reviewed by
A Nash

From Hockley, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Appalling
This hotel is a disgrace for the money paid, old, tired and dirty. So called executive room a as dive disappointment, long track from reception, shabby, cold and not even particularly clean. Had no running water in room for majority of stay, could not even flush the toilet and even when it came back on mid morning the shower didn't work, only saving grace were the staff who were friendly and tried to be helpful at all times.

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the hotel and I am sorry that your stay did not meet with expectation. It is with regret that, during one weekend, the hotel did experience a problem with the water supply that was beyond our control. It was isolated to a specific area and was rectified by an external contractor as soon as possible. We appreciate that this caused inconvenience and apologise for any disruption you encountered.

Reviewed by
S Wallace

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room 217
If you are given room 217, simply turn around and sleep in your car!
The rest of the hotel was okay but the room I was given was like stepping back in time, very dirty and grubby metal framed single glazed windows, poor lighting, not to mention very small.
Not what I expected, I have taken photos and sent them to the general manager for feedback.

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the hotel. I understand that our General Manager has been in touch with you directly and we apologise once again for the standards that you experienced during your stay.

Reviewed by
A Fowler

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value
Friendly helpful staff. Great facillities. Restaurant food good staff. Efficient and plight. Good customer experience

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the hotel. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope to be able to welcome you back soon.

Reviewed by
David P

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Second stay in a Ramada
The grounds to hotel are very well kept and attractive. There is a sense of luxury upon arrival. Unfortunately rooms are in desperate need of an update. As this was the second time I have stayed in a Ramada hotel this seems a common factor.
From the state of the divan bed to the shower the decor is very dated and tatty. I've stayed in cleaner looking rooms for half the price.

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the hotel. We are a mid-market 3 star hotel and, whilst we concur that some areas of the hotel would benefit from investment, we do offer a clean and comfortable room which we feel represents good value for money. We hope to be able to welcome you back in the future.

Reviewed by
Andrea P

From Sutton Coldfield, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wrong Room
When I checked in I was given a room which belonged to someone else, I contacted reception and informed them of the error and they responded efficiently and catered for me with an executive room which I was very impressed with.
I would definitely stay at the Ramada Hotel at Sutton Coldfield again for further visits to Birmingham in the future as I also found the staff to be very helpful and friendly.

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback regarding your recent stay at the hotel. Please accept our apologies for the error with the key to your bedroom. We have picked this up with the receptionist in question to ensure that procedures are in place to ensure this cannot happen again. We are delighted that you were satisfied with all other aspects of your stay and hope to welcome you back soon.

Reviewed by
L Jeanpierre

From London, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice!
The hotel is lovely, excellent customer service. The restaurant was very nice with lovely food and presentation, reasonably priced. The pool, sauna, steam room were lovely, spa pool was same temperature as pool so did get a bit chilly! There is no solarium.
Lovely grounds.
The room was large, lots of space and very clean. The bed seemed okay to lie on and relax, but as we slept on it, it was more uncomfortable, with a lack of support in both mattress and pillow. Good location.

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on your recent stay at the hotel. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and were able to take advantage of our leisure facilities and restaurant. Thank you for your comments regarding the comfort of the bed which we have passed on to our housekeeper who is currently looking at replacing some mattresses.

Reviewed by
N Butler

From Newport, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Yuck never again
This hotel was way below par and certainly not value for money. We were directed to our room but because of an overly complicated system of lifts, stairs and levels were unable to find it. In the end we had to come back to reception- it's my opinion that if it takes ore than a minute to explain where the room is they should really offer to show you to it! After this bad start we entered into our room which smelled strongly of smoke- despite being billed as a non smoking room. The decor was tired and shabby. There were several broken items including an arm chair missing a leg. The bathroom was dark and unclean, we didn't get hot water through in the shower at any point. The bed was very uncomfortable with poorly fitting sheets. The walls must be very thin because we could hear our neighbours televisions throughout the night. We left the hotel exhausted! In short it was all very disappointing. If we had not checked in so late and only been staying one night we would have walked straight back out the door! I told all of this to the receptionist upon checking out but there was no offer of recompense or apology- I expect none of this came as a surprise to her!

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the hotel. As a result of the layout of the building, some of our rooms are a short distance away from reception however, we are happy to allocate a more easily accessible room on request. We are continuously working to improve both the maintenance and cleanliness of our bedrooms and I am sorry that we did not meet with your expectations on this occasion. Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Reviewed by
L Green

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next