No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Ramada Birmingham, Sutton Coldfield

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Penns Lane , Sutton Coldfield, B76 1LH
Set in its own spacious grounds overlooking a picturesque lake, Ramada Birmingham/Sutton Coldfield is just 15 minutes' drive from Drayton Manor. Free parking is available, and Birmingham Airport is a 20-minute drive away.

Located in Walmley, Sutton Coldfield, the hotel is about 8 miles (13 km) northeast of Birmingham city centre. The Ramada has easy access to the M42 and the M6 toll road and is well located for the NEC, the International Convention Centre and the NIA.

Guests can enjoy the on-site health club includes an indoor pool, a relaxing sauna and solarium, as well as a steam room and spa bath. Guests can exercise with a game on the squash courts, and work out with a gym, dance and aerobics classes available. A beautician and hairdresser are also available.
Picture of Ramada Birmingham, Sutton Coldfield, Sutton Coldfield at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 143 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
59% recommended this accommodation to a friend 64% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel
The staff made this hotel, going out of their way to accommodate requests, genuinely friendly helpful staff

Reviewed by
Annette P

From Thornton Cleveleys, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice room over looking the lake
Stay here about 3-4 times a year on business and book the executive rooms which are out by the lake.
Good free broadband speed if you need it by using the cable in the tv rather than wireless.
Shower dripped but luckily couldn't be heard when the bathroom door was shut.
Other than that nice clean room but air conditioning rather than just windows would be better.

Reviewed by
Kevin A

From Frome, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tired but comfortable
Stayed at The Ramada when attending a wedding locally. Reception staff were helpful and we were able to access our room before 2pm. Room was spacious and comfortable but rather dated. Bathroom was adequate. Corridors to rooms were somewhat tatty and required decorating.
Used the Leisure Centre for a swim which was very quiet and again requires updating.

Reviewed by
J Melland

From Chesterfield, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Totally unfit room
1)Neither door locked, used ironing board to jam door, felt very unsafe.
2)TV would not change channels. A young man brought batteries but once off, would not go on again.
3)The shower was rusty, looked unclean.
4)This hotel is long overdue a overhaul.
5)The only good thing was the young, helpful staff whom I could not fault. They saved your bacon!
I had help with my case, I had pleasant room service food, and they even found me a newspaper.
I could not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Reviewed by
E Johnson

From Stirling, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Expecting better
This hotel is a bit tired and needs an update. The bed was comfy though and the view across the lake from the bedroom was good. Pity the outside area for the bar leads directly onto the car park. The grounds are fantastic. Can't say the same for the boring inside or the room we were in. Lighting could have been better with proper bedside lights. The well rehearsed receptionist put us off. She seemed to be in a speed talking challenge - telling us details of breakfast times on certain days and how to reach our room at break neck speed - like she was talking to a machine!! I'm sure she meant well but please - talk to me as if I'm a human, even if it's the 100th time you've had to do it that week. Your customer service team need to do some training.

Reviewed by
Susan D

From Looe, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend Stay
Hotel lived up to expectations - we enjoyed a bar snack on arrival and a breakfast on the Sunday which was very good. The only downside was the bed - mattress not at all comfortable and the room was quite a distance from the main reception.

Reviewed by
Jennifer G

From Rossendale, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ramada review
The rooms ae very dated, every time i use this hotel it takes what I class as a long time to checkin there computer systems need updating to make this a slicker operation and easier for the person who is on the reception . The last room i stayed in was right next to the boiler or air conditioning or something but anyway it kept me awake all night.

Reviewed by
T Smith

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short stay
We were given a very large room - excellent for families. breakfast was good with plenty of choice. the leisure facilities were excellent and the location is very peaceful by a lake

Reviewed by
M Miah

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

not too bad...but some improvements are needed fast.
ive stayed here a few.times...however on this ocassion..the mattress was.completely caved in and the shower leaked/gushed heavily meaning i didnt get a good sleep at all....also the walkway to the spa over the lake needs urgent cleaning as the smell inside is upleasant. other than that the hotel is ok....set in nice grounds...oh and the liquer at the bar and the breakfast is a little expense (~20% too much in my opinion for hotel guests).

Reviewed by
R Lakhay

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

2 night stay in exec room
Check in was straight forward no problems. Staff were chatty and friendly. We booked an executive room. Room was ok, served its purpose. Deco probably could do with an update. Room was clean enough but nothing to shout about. We had one towel and one hand towel between two which I found odd. I'm not a complainer so we managed. I'm sure if we had of asked reception for more towels we would have got more I just found it odd only to have one towel to share. We used the gym facilities which were good. Didn't get chance to use the pool but it looked quite big from the window. We didn't eat at the hotel as we ate out so cannot really comment although the breakfast smelt nice as we walked by. I don't think I would choose this hotel again for two reasons which may be personal reasons and may not be all rooms but both mornings myself and my husband woke up feeling very hungover and had unsettled sleeps. I'm not sure if it was down to the heating. Its hard to explain but we stayed at a travel lodge for our 3rd night of our trip and don't have the problem. We woke up with very sore throats and dry mouths and headaches. And although the hotel can't help it and it will sound petty but I should mention it but the ducks start there duck squarks at around 4.30am - 5am and wow they can squark. If you are getting up early this won't bother you if you fancy a lie in tough! I don't want to leAve a negative review because the hotel served its purpose, staff were friendly and the room was very cheap on late rooms for two nights. I wouldn't want to pay full price and I did find the travel lodge more comftable. Sorry ramada.

Reviewed by
Debbie H

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next