No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Lancaster Hotel

3Self Classified Town House Hotel Ratings explained
4-6 Bedford Place, London, WC1B 5JD
Situaed in London's Bloomsbury close to Covent Garden, Oxford Street and the City, with its original Georgian features, the Lancaster Hotel offers a peaceful and comfortable retreat in the quieter side of London's West End. Theatre Land and Covent Garden are within easy walking distance and most of the West End's attractions are just minutes away. The beautifully appointed guestrooms offer a choice of accommodation - fully or semi-ensuite. Elegant and peaceful lounge facilities are supplemented by a restaurant offering a choice of Continental or full English Breakfast.
Picture of The Lancaster Hotel, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 57 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
72% recommended this accommodation to a friend 73% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

On arriving at hotel we were up graded to another hotel due my husbands difficulty in walking,hotel with a lift

Reviewed by
Trina Hauxwell

From Sudbury, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

On arrival we were upgraded to the Portland hotel a 4 star sister hotel across the road, why we do not know, complaining we were not. this hotel was excellent in a quiet street off a main road in a perfect location for sightseeing. we cannot therefore comment on the Lancaster but from across the in our 4 star it looked ok.

Reviewed by
A Hall

From Burton on Trent, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Never again will i ever use any hotel in the grange group
No toilet in a 3* london hotel in 2014 - didn't realise we were visiting a 3rd world country!
if you are thinking of booking this hotel i'd say no! No! No! - unless you want to get up in the middle of the night, get dressed and go seek if the 8th wonder of the world is vacant!
their response when i complained was "it's only a 3* hotel what do you expect?" and "it's clearly stated on our web-site".
i'd say - you don't expect to study a web-site these days to check if there's a toilet in a hotel room - so prospective bookers watch out for "semi-ensuite" (is that an estate agent's term?) - get real even lower rated hotel have 'en-suite' facilities -which actually includes a toilet!
as for noise (you have to leave the window open in summer as there's no air con) you can gently slumber listening to the sounds of passing traffic.

Reviewed by
Stephen F

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value in great location

Reviewed by
Brian C

From USA
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Decent value
Good value, good central location, the only slightly odd thing is having to leave you're room to use the lavatory.

Reviewed by
James P

From Chandler's Ford, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the lancaster london june 14
We were greeted and asked to settle the bill. Hadn't even seen room. Room was well appointed and clean although the hotel itself is past it's best, stair carpet tatty etc. Breakfast was not included but we did try. Once. Cooked breakfast cold, and for £18 pathetic. cold contibental option avaikable, but again inferior products used. Not good value. Nice location though and a quiet studenty area. No lift. Not ideal for families, or those with disabilities. No interaction with staff, their English was not great, not a friendly welcoming or happy stay.

Reviewed by
L Hoe

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good night's sleep, poor internet, no lift.
After struggling up two flights of stairs with my rucksack, I put my keycard in the door to face a grim, poky shower with three stray hairs from the previous guest still lingering there and on the sink. As there was no lift and I was low on energy, I didn't bother to traipse back down the 45 steps to reception to ask for an iron for my shirts. However, after an hour trying to check my emails, without success, I finally enquired about the full signal yet defunct internet connection. Reception were at first dismissive and keen to blame the particular websites I was trying to access, but they finally escorted me across the road to their sister hotel, where the websites loaded in seconds. As a business customer, this was very much an inconvenience and not what I expected and would put me off staying there again.
On the plus side, the thick heavy curtains which block out all light and cold make for a comfortable night's sleep and the morning paper left outside my door each day was handy. Location is perfect and I didn't have to use earplugs, despite being a light sleeper.

Reviewed by
Sapphire E

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pity about the ants...
when I went to take a shower, the bathroom was overrun with flying ants. I pointed it out to reception as I was leaving and the young man said. 'Yes, I Know about the ants...'

Reviewed by
Stephen Morris

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing
For what I paid I expected a bit more. (I should have read the small print as I expected a loo in the room, and found this not to be the case.) A walk to the loo, not the best thing having to get dressed at 3am to go to the loo. Whilst the room was a good size it was unbelievably hot, a warm summers day turned out to be a complete nightmare as the room has no air-conditioning. 3 cols showers helped a bit. I had to use a bin to prop a window open as it wouldn't not stay open on its own. I later found out that a fan may have been available at an extra cost. As was an iron at £1.50 ( to iron a shirt)
A rip-off Breakfast - A small bowl of muesli, tea, 3 slices of toast and a small bun.£11.50.

Reviewed by
David C

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice people, but No Toilet!
Nice customer service, but the room didn't have a toilet and a massive window that was drafty

Reviewed by
W S

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next