No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Clarence Court Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Clarence Square, Cheltenham, GL50 4JR
Clarence Court hotel offers the perfect location for both business and leisure travellers.

Quietly situated on one of Cheltenham’s premier Regency squares, Clarence Square is a leafy, quiet, sanctuary perfectly placed to explore all that Cheltenham has to offer. Take advantage of the hotels enviable location and leave the car behind as we are just a few minutes walk from the centre of Cheltenham with its fine selection of shops, restaurants. and places of interest. Pittville Park, the Pump Rooms, the Racecourse and the Ladies College are all within easy walking distance.

The Hotel has been created within an elegant Regency building, which was once owned and loved by the Duke of Wellington. Many of the original features have been maintained with high Georgian ceilings, ornate coving and big sash windows.

We offer free on site car parking and free unlimited WiFi broadband access to guest bedrooms and public areas. The hotel is a grade 2 listed building and this does not allow for a lift but we are happy to assist with your luggage.

For the energetic we offer complementary full membership for the duration of your stay at Fitness First Leisure Club. The club offers a full range of wet and dry facilities and is just a 2 minutes walk from the hotel.

The hotel is privately owned and run by professional hoteliers with the emphasis placed on a warm welcome, friendly service, homemade food comfortable beds and a fantastic freshly cooked traditional English breakfast!

Sleep Well…
Picture of Clarence Court Hotel, Cheltenham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 39 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The biggest breakfast in the world

Reviewed by
R Mather

From Sale, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An excellent character hotel.
We stayed for one night and although we arrived early, all efforts were made to get us into a room straight away. The weather was poor so we had a light lunch in the bar which was very good.
We found all the staff very helpful and friendly, our room was comfortable and the evening meal was excellent as was the choice at breakfast. Nothing to fault, we would definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
robin hall

From Kettering, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very enjoyable break
Very friendly staff and good food in the restaurant. Very generous portions and good quality. Hotel well situated, about a ten minute walk to the town centre.

Reviewed by
Frank B

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Only one night stay but lovely
Just a quick one night stop breaking the journey between Cornwall and Manchester. Lovely Hotel in quiet green square. Little tricky to find but blame that on rubbish navigating by me! Room huge, bed comfy and large, good walk in shower (just needs the grouting re done) Breakfast was excellent - hot food was very hot as was tea - beautifully cooked/presented and quality produce - best breakfast I've had in UK Hotel. All in all, despite brief stay, would recommend to others.

Reviewed by
A Entwistle

From Altrincham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Night
I needed a hotel at short notice owing to a business dinner in the town centre - the price was competitive to others once I had factored in the parking and Wi-Fi. The room allocated was spacious and well decorated, and above all, clean. Small problem with the shower, but the service was very good. Breakfast was personal and the cooked options were clearly fresh and arrived hot. It appeared that the other guests were a mixture of families and business.

Reviewed by
Nicholas C

From Maidstone, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clarence Court Gem
I adore the history of Clarence Court and its associations with the Duke of Wellington, so I am biased before I begin my review. Having said that, I think with such an illustrious past, the hotel could do more to boast of its history with information sheets in the room, or old maps or some such hint to nostalgia for the past.
I had a single room which was beautifully decorated, if a little narrow and snug. The shower was gorgeous - almost rainforest like, and a very attractive feature. My bed was remarkably comfortable and the views along a leafy residential street an attractive feature. I adored the window seat and sat comfortably writing cards before my evening out.
The location really is perfect for a brisk 5 minutes the town centre. Parking is compact, and when I arrived back at the end of the evening, I did have a taxing reverse out of the car park to find alternative on the street car parking - which wasn't a problem or difficulty.
Breakfast is huge and it seemed, whatever choice was made, the quantity was more than ample, and the quality excellent. I would have liked fresh coffee, rather than the slightly old fashioned coffee on a heated stand (I forget its name but long before cafetierres and coffee machines came into existence!)
The staff are very friendly and helpful, if stretched between meeting the needs of diners and those checking in and out - but it is not a huge hotel so those issues are easily addressed.
I enjoyed my stay very much and would love to have a longer stay on another occasion, to try an evening meal and browse the many book shelves.
The price seems just about right for a single or double room - but what would make that more appealing, is a slightly earlier check in or a later check out. I do not like that feeling of being hurried after breakfast. Those are minor niggles though, for an appealing hotel with a glorious past.

Reviewed by
H Stack

From Warwick, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good staff, welcoming ambiance. Popular with better quality travellers and a clientele who feel they might have featured in a Jane Austen scenario. Would not appeal to riffraff, therefore quite nice and quiet. Great cooking, and homely feel. A good Laterooms venue.

Reviewed by
M Riley

From Unterseen, Switzerland
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a little gem in Cheltenham
fantastic from start to finish,lovely helpful staff.fantastic big big!room.very very clean.bedding soft & lovely.breakfast delicious & plenty of it too.just great would stay again very soon if we could afford to.this weekend break was excellent value for money.

Reviewed by
Simon S

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location for town centre
Would recommend this hotel

Reviewed by
L Thomas

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly run convienent hotel in central Cheltenham
Enjoyable stay at friendly run hotel.
Varied and good quality food in the restaurant for evening meal.
On site parking a real bonus in this area of central Cheltenham. Can leave the car and easily walk around Cheltenham

Reviewed by
K Cresswell

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next