Clarence Court Hotel

4

Clarence Square, Cheltenham, GL50 4JR

Price From 163.49 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (30)

93% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Anne E

  • January 2015

Excellent Stay

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel and it did not disappoint.

Room excellent, breakfast great.

  • lesley f

  • November 2014

Third stay at The Clarence, will stay again, excellent.

  • R Mather

  • October 2014

The biggest breakfast in the world

  • robin hall

  • August 2014

An excellent character hotel.

We stayed for one night and although we arrived early, all efforts were made to get us into a room straight away.

The weather was poor so we had a light lunch in the bar which was very good. We found all the staff very helpful and friendly, our room was comfortable and the evening meal was excellent as was the choice at breakfast. Nothing to fault, we would definitely stay here again.

  • Frank B

  • August 2014

Very enjoyable break

Very friendly staff and good food in the restaurant.

Very generous portions and good quality. Hotel well situated, about a ten minute walk to the town centre.

  • A Entwistle

  • August 2014

Only one night stay but lovely

Just a quick one night stop breaking the journey between Cornwall and Manchester.

Lovely Hotel in quiet green square. Little tricky to find but blame that on rubbish navigating by me. Room huge, bed comfy and large, good walk in shower (just needs the grouting re done) Breakfast was excellent - hot food was very hot as was tea - beautifully cooked/presented and quality produce - best breakfast I've had in UK Hotel. All in all, despite brief stay, would recommend to others.

  • Nicholas C

  • July 2014

Good Night

I needed a hotel at short notice owing to a business dinner in the town centre - the price was competitive to others once I had factored in the parking and Wi-Fi.

The room allocated was spacious and well decorated, and above all, clean. Small problem with the shower, but the service was very good. Breakfast was personal and the cooked options were clearly fresh and arrived hot. It appeared that the other guests were a mixture of families and business.

  • H Stack

  • July 2014

Clarence Court Gem

I adore the history of Clarence Court and its associations with the Duke of Wellington, so I am biased before I begin my review.

Having said that, I think with such an illustrious past, the hotel could do more to boast of its history with information sheets in the room, or old maps or some such hint to nostalgia for the past.

I had a single room which was beautifully decorated, if a little narrow and snug. The shower was gorgeous - almost rainforest like, and a very attractive feature. My bed was remarkably comfortable and the views along a leafy residential street an attractive feature. I adored the window seat and sat comfortably writing cards before my evening out. The location really is perfect for a brisk 5 minutes the town centre. Parking is compact, and when I arrived back at the end of the evening, I did have a taxing reverse out of the car park to find alternative on the street car parking - which wasn't a problem or difficulty.

Breakfast is huge and it seemed, whatever choice was made, the quantity was more than ample, and the quality excellent. I would have liked fresh coffee, rather than the slightly old fashioned coffee on a heated stand (I forget its name but long before cafetierres and coffee machines came into existence!)

The staff are very friendly and helpful, if stretched between meeting the needs of diners and those checking in and out - but it is not a huge hotel so those issues are easily addressed. I enjoyed my stay very much and would love to have a longer stay on another occasion, to try an evening meal and browse the many book shelves.

The price seems just about right for a single or double room - but what would make that more appealing, is a slightly earlier check in or a later check out. I do not like that feeling of being hurried after breakfast. Those are minor niggles though, for an appealing hotel with a glorious past.

  • M Riley

  • June 2014

Good staff, welcoming ambiance.

Popular with better quality travellers and a clientele who feel they might have featured in a Jane Austen scenario. Would not appeal to riffraff, therefore quite nice and quiet. Great cooking, and homely feel. A good Laterooms venue.

  • Simon S

  • April 2014

a little gem in Cheltenham

fantastic from start to finish,lovely helpful staff.fantastic big big!room.very very clean.bedding soft & lovely.breakfast delicious & plenty of it too.just great would stay again very soon if we could afford to.this weekend break was excellent value for money.