Manor House Hotel & Spa

3

Front Street West Auckland, Durham, DL14 9HW

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (64)

70% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Vanessa H

  • January 2014

Relaxing break in a beautiful hotel

Fantastic value for money.

We booked on a special offer and couldn't of asked for anything more than what we received. Gorgeous rooms and great service. Will definitely return!

  • Ronnie M

  • January 2014

very friendly

booked at the last minute.

friendly staff , room was comfortable and very clean would definitely stay again.

  • ELAINE H

  • January 2014

Disappointing!

Having stayed here a few times before, we were looking forward to some quiet time together and good food.

The staff as always were very pleasant and welcoming. Unfortunately, the food was a big let down, breakfast was sparce and hardly cooked, continental items ran out, no fruit, no butter, even the toast offered was meagre. We had an old menu in the room and not many of the items we had chosen we available. The room service tray was left in our room all night, not very pleasant, cold fish all night in the bedroom. The excuse given was the fact it was between Christmas and New Year and no deliveries had been made, plus they had a wedding party booked in. Fair enough, but surely sufficient supplies should have been ordered in advance. We hadn't booked on a deal, paid full up prices and we weren't discounted on our departure. If you pay reduced prices you half expect a reduce service, but not when they charge these sort of prices. The spa was fully booked as well, which was probably due to my not booking early enough, however an advanced warning of the need to book early would have been good. I'm afraid we won't be going back again.

  • Mervyn F

  • November 2013

Not a happy experience

Our first impressions on entering the hotel were of shabbiness.

On entering reception ,15 min earlywe felt that we shoukld not have the audacity to arrive before "regulated" checkin . Our room ,a double so called, was extremely small and ill furnished. The hotel itself seemed to be a mis match of furniture. The staff seemed to be regimented and not trained to be either welcoming or meet customer needs. Food was of average quality. Overall a very disappointing experience. The appropriate feed back form was filled in and left. Took an early breakfast just to get away from it.

  • stephanie m

  • October 2013

Disappointing experience

Clearly the owners had a vision which unfortunately was not carried on throughout the hotel.

The room furnishings were new and looked chic but let down by tired furniture. The bathroom was newly fitted but clearly had skimped on costs and no hot water in the shower. Light from outside building lights shone into the room due to way curtains had been fitted which spoilt the ambiance of the 4 poster room. The restaurant menu was limited and quality of food and wine was poor. Vegetarians should stay clear unless they are looking for a 1970's approach. Swimming poolvery small.

  • K thompson

  • October 2013

The staf were friendly on arrival and were polite and very helpful.

I had awonderful time at the hotel. I only stayed one night and it was lovely, had a lovely meal could not fault staff.

  • Lynn G

  • October 2013

Disappointed

Stayed here in February this year and found accommodation and food ok for a 3 star.

Very disappointed this time. Bed was not very comfortable due to a very lumpy mattress. We ate in the hotel on the first evening only, as we found the food very poor. We tried two different bottles of wine and found both poor quality and undrinkable, consequently we ate elsewhere the following two nights. Breakfast was not much better with scrambled egg resembling rubber.

  • Helen P

  • September 2013

Character Hotel

Quirky hotel, comfortable clean and the staff were really friendly.

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this great old building that is full of character.

  • J Quirk

  • September 2013

It was our Anniversary so a short break away for 3 nights value for money excellent, Room was very nice only problem was the bath room shower not very clean Housekeeping just needs to be looked at

  • julie w

  • September 2013

Great value for money

We found the hotel to be perfect for our needs the only drawback was that we didn't have enough time in our schedule to make the most of the facilities as we were using the hotel as a stop over.

Check in was painless, bedroom was a little too warm (I think because we were near the pool room??) but was clean and the beds were comfortable. Food was great and choice was varied , the staff throughout were friendly and happy to help. Hotel was quirky, beautiful old building decorated in a sympathetic style that felt laid back rather than austere. Fabulous countryside surrounding the location which we would love to go to explore.