No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Manor House Hotel & Spa

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Front Street West Auckland, Durham, DL14 9HW
The Manor House Hotel, a 35 bedroom AA 3* hotel conveniently located in the charming village of West Auckland, is a historic, family owned hotel offering a friendly welcome, comfortable accommodation and extensive facilities.

With 35 well appointed bedrooms, a mix of doubles, twins and spacious Four Poster rooms split between the main building and the courtyard area, The Manor House Hotel is the perfect destination for both business & leisure.

Food is served all day in the hotel’s Juniper Restaurant with a range of quality, affordable dining options. Relax after a long day with a drink in the lounge or Stables Bar. Make use of the hotel’s leisure facilities - free for all hotel guests - complete with pool, sauna, steam room and gym. A variety of spa treatments are available on request - pre booking essential.

We also have extensive business facilities, with two meeting rooms and free wifi available in the hotel’s public areas, which include the hotel’s lounge area.

The hotel is ideally located for exploring everything that County Durham has to offer, including the famous Bowes Museum, and is less than half an hour’s drive from Durham Cathedral & Castle.

The hotel is famous for it’s history - reputed to be King Henry VIIIs hunting lodge, the Manor House Hotel offers character, heritage, and history all rolled in with friendly customer & modern conveniences.

Part of the family run STR/Keeping Inn group, who also own the the Honest Lawyer Hotel in Durham, the Centurion Bar in Newcastle Central Station, and the Victoria Hotel in Bamburgh.

Picture of Manor House Hotel & Spa, Durham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 58 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good

Reviewed by
Colin Scott

From , UK
Who stayed in August 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very comfortable clean and tidy. staff very helpfull

Reviewed by
D Smith

From Gainsborough, England
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Period features with comfort and modern spa facilities
Stayed three nights to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Fantastic room with period features and furniture. A very comfortable bed. Only had breakfast on the first morning and went out for evening meals. Spa facilities were excellent and the staff were always pleasant and helpful.
Room was too warm when we arrived ( a warm summer day in August ) and having turned off the radiators and opened the window we had to cope with the noise of the traffic nearby. Otherwise an enjoyable stay. Would recommend for anyone wanting a short break.

Reviewed by
D Fletcher

From Wetwang, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap deal for a trip to the cricket
Hotel was a bargain £122 for 2 nights and a massage each. We wouldn't go back for a spa a weekend as facilities are lacking, area not very nice and Durham was a life further than we thought .

Reviewed by
Lucie L

From Bury St Edmunds, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice Hotel in need of TLC
The staff were very keen to help and were very polite, very good breakfast and the room was comfortable. Nice stay for two nights but the hotel does need a bit of TLC with areas looking a bit tired. Worth a visit though with many pluses.

Reviewed by
Stuart D

From Southam, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant Hotel!
Excellent customer service from the moment I entered the hotel. Made the most of the spa experience, bar and restaurant! Was very sad to leave after three nights.

Reviewed by
Jayde Hill

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Smoked-back clothing
The hotel was lovely, most of the staff were lovely, set in gorgeous surroundings our only problem was that our room was directly where the smokers on the staff sat out for their cigarettes. On arrival the room smelt as if the smokers were sat in the room and as such we hardly spent any time at the hotel in the room if we could help it. The only time that it was okay was at night. All of our clothes needed washing even if they were clean because they absolutely stank! When I mentioned this to a member of staff I was brushed off without an apology.

Reviewed by
Sally D

From England
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely mini break. An escape to a quirky hotel. Food ok. We booked late so got rm 35. It was in the attic. Small but lovely decor. No shower, just a bath but very quaint. Spa was very relaxing. Would definitely book again.

Reviewed by
Cheryl C

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

overnight stay
We wanted a simple overnight stay before continuing a trip to nearby shildon railway museum.. so we were not looking for any of the hotels spa facilities. We do like our comfort though so we paid a bit more for a four poster bedroom, . The welcome was efficient and friendly, the room service we oredered was tasty and prompt (although they did forget to put any cutlery on the tray). we were given a room in the old part of the hotel, and were imptressed with the size and character of the room, with lots of old beams, and creaky floorboards.
All the staff were cheerful and helpful, and we would definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
chris s

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Manor House Hotl, West Aukland
Excellent little hotel, nice bar and good food. Pool and gym had seen better days, but it was a nice relaxing break.

Reviewed by
d ridley

From Consett, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Mixed group

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next