No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Manor House Hotel & Spa

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Front Street West Auckland, Durham, DL14 9HW
The Manor House Hotel, a 35 bedroom AA 3* hotel conveniently located in the charming village of West Auckland, is a historic, family owned hotel offering a friendly welcome, comfortable accommodation and extensive facilities.

With 35 well appointed bedrooms, a mix of doubles, twins and spacious Four Poster rooms split between the main building and the courtyard area, The Manor House Hotel is the perfect destination for both business & leisure.

Food is served all day in the hotel’s Juniper Restaurant with a range of quality, affordable dining options. Relax after a long day with a drink in the lounge or Stables Bar. Make use of the hotel’s leisure facilities - free for all hotel guests - complete with pool, sauna, steam room and gym. A variety of spa treatments are available on request - pre booking essential.

We also have extensive business facilities, with two meeting rooms and free wifi available in the hotel’s public areas, which include the hotel’s lounge area.

The hotel is ideally located for exploring everything that County Durham has to offer, including the famous Bowes Museum, and is less than half an hour’s drive from Durham Cathedral & Castle.

The hotel is famous for it’s history - reputed to be King Henry VIIIs hunting lodge, the Manor House Hotel offers character, heritage, and history all rolled in with friendly customer & modern conveniences.

Part of the family run STR/Keeping Inn group, who also own the the Honest Lawyer Hotel in Durham, the Centurion Bar in Newcastle Central Station, and the Victoria Hotel in Bamburgh.

Picture of Manor House Hotel & Spa, Durham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 60 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
81% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

poor room
room was small , bathroom was dirty and did not feel clean.

Reviewed by
T Girt

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room
I Paid the extra for a 4 poster bed and when we got the it was 4 planks of wood nothing like the pictures at all also we kept waking each other up with the noise of the bed.

Reviewed by
l chambers

From Sunderland, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not one I would return to! A big disappointment and complete waste of money
The place looks like a haunted house from the outside with a badly covered exterior walls. The whole hotel is in dire need for a major refurbishment. It can not be counted as a 3 star in any way unfortunately.
The rrom I was given was in the attic and I could not even take a pee standing as the roof would hit my head. Same for the shower. I requested for a room change and showed it to one of the staff and he agreed how impossible it was to have a shower or pee in the toiled considering he was 6feet tall and i am 5'6!
Customer service was ok - at meal times they would come ask me if i was ok and how my meal was. But when I asked where the breakfast was, I would have expected them to walk with me and show me instead of telling me where it was as when I did follow their directions, the only entrance I knew to the breakfast area was locked!
I am very disappointed as I thought I would try something different from the usual Premier In - The price was advertised as 50% off and I paid £61 per night - its a rip off as I would not even pay £35 for such a stay. Also they would charge £5 for room service which is a bit steep for such a place.

Reviewed by
V S

From , England
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A birthday treat for my husband
On arrival we were greeted in the reception area by a friendly welcome and was given our room key and a complementary free drink voucher for the stable bar on a night time, we crossed the court yard to where our room was, the bottle of champagne in our room was a surprise as we haven't had this before at previous hotels we have stayed in .

Reviewed by
H Simpson

From England
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good

Reviewed by
Colin Scott

From , UK
Who stayed in August 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very comfortable clean and tidy. staff very helpfull

Reviewed by
D Smith

From Gainsborough, England
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Period features with comfort and modern spa facilities
Stayed three nights to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Fantastic room with period features and furniture. A very comfortable bed. Only had breakfast on the first morning and went out for evening meals. Spa facilities were excellent and the staff were always pleasant and helpful.
Room was too warm when we arrived ( a warm summer day in August ) and having turned off the radiators and opened the window we had to cope with the noise of the traffic nearby. Otherwise an enjoyable stay. Would recommend for anyone wanting a short break.

Reviewed by
D Fletcher

From Wetwang, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap deal for a trip to the cricket
Hotel was a bargain £122 for 2 nights and a massage each. We wouldn't go back for a spa a weekend as facilities are lacking, area not very nice and Durham was a life further than we thought .

Reviewed by
Lucie L

From Bury St Edmunds, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice Hotel in need of TLC
The staff were very keen to help and were very polite, very good breakfast and the room was comfortable. Nice stay for two nights but the hotel does need a bit of TLC with areas looking a bit tired. Worth a visit though with many pluses.

Reviewed by
Stuart D

From Southam, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant Hotel!
Excellent customer service from the moment I entered the hotel. Made the most of the spa experience, bar and restaurant! Was very sad to leave after three nights.

Reviewed by
Jayde Hill

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next