Reviews - The Waterhead Hotel


Lake Road,Waterhead, Ambleside, LA22 0ER

Price From 294.03 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (10)

90% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Christopher Mcdill

  • November 2015

Birthday treat

We had a lovely stay.

Hotel was excellent.

  • Melvyn Stubbs

  • October 2015


We went to the water head to celebrate our anniversary.

The staff were very friendly and accommodating. We took our dog with us and the hotel provided a dog bed, towel, food and water bowls and treats. This helped make our weekend special and the dog was allowed in the bar area for all meals

  • G Mulkeen

  • February 2015

Lovely place.

Very nice hotel and staff, food nice hotel spotless would definitely stay again.

  • J Whiteley

  • January 2015

Fabulous room, fabulous food!

We've eaten at the restaurant here before but never stayed at the hotel and decided to try it for a night before our week away.

We were not disappointed. Situated across from the lake, the location is ideal both for walking into ambleside or driving to Windermere and Bowness or taking the boat from the pier just a few yards away. Our room was clean, modern, spacious and had everything we needed and more. The meal we had was excellent, the service was great and our table overlooked the lake which was lovely. We will definitely be returning soon.

  • Steve V

  • October 2014


My wife and i stayed here for our wedding anniversary.

Nice touch was the card from the hotel and a view of lake Windemere. Treats in the room for our dog who came too. Great location however we ate evening meal out of the hotel due to not wanting to leave the dog in the room.

  • Robert H

  • July 2014

Beautifully landscaped! Mountains and a lake!

A beautiful setting.

The staff were all very polite and efficient. The rooms were clean and modern. The food was fabulous. All in all very good.

  • Joyce W

  • March 2014

Great location but not great value for money.

Extremely expensive for what it was.

Room was very clean with a comfortable bed - but then a premier inn has that as well. We'd paid extra for a lake view, but the windows had heavy net curtains that didn't open, and despite having a bay window, didn't actually have chairs, so the view was a bit of a non starter. At the price, would have been nice to have bottled water and biscuits on the tea tray - we got nothing the first night, and one gingerbread biscuit between is on the second. Dinner in the bar was nice but expensive at £60 for two main courses and a bottle of wine. Breakfast was actually pretty shocking. We had staff flouncing about in a temper and thundering past the table on the first morning - and 30 mins after sitting down we were still waiting for a cup of tea, never mind food - which was greasy, overcooked and luke warm when it did arrive, toast was cold, lightly coloured bread, with the texture of a value loaf. On the second morning I ordered poached eggs on toast. Two poached eggs without toast or any garnish were presented sliding around on a large white plate - completely unappetising. The eggs were in fact inedible - cooked to rubber, but also strangely cold. We pointed this out to the server who just looked blankly at us. We gave up and took ourselves off elsewhere for a late breakfast. This is a lovely hotel in a gorgeous setting, but at the price, I expected a lot better. A decent breakfast and some touches in the rooms such as chairs, snacks and opening curtains would have gone a long way to make it a much more positive experience.

  • john l

  • March 2014

Family trip

We arrived Friday evening to a warm welcome, the rooms were excellent and had a meal in the restaurant which could not be faulted.

  • Ron Wilson

  • February 2014

Lovely Lakeland stay at the end of January 2014

We stayed at the Waterhead during a very cold wet weekend and were suitably impressed by the quality of service we received.

We dined in the hotel on the Friday evening and the food was excellent. Can thoroughly recommend the Thai style Sea Bass. Saturday proved to be wet and windy however our room was lovely and room when we returned tired from walking. Impressed by hotel staff who were ready to recommend activities to guests. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Martin B

  • January 2014

Great - but pricey

Excellent hotel, great location near the top of Windermere; and a modest walk into Ambleside itself.

However, a bit over-priced for what it is.