Reviews - Prince of Wales Hotel

3

Lord Street, Southport, PR8 1JS

Price From 65.45 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (119)

62% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • L Jones

  • June 2014

The Hotel was okay for what we paid, clean room and comfortable beds.

The only thing that let the Hotel down was the breakfast, there wasn't much chose for the full breakfast and instead of hash browns they served chips which was a bit strange. If we go again we will book room only as there are plenty of places to eat close to the hotel. The staff were very helpful except two women in the dining room who were rude.

  • Sally, R

  • June 2014

very cheap, and cheerful! Bargain

We stayed here just for one night after going to a nearby wedding, we arrived really late, but the receptionist still opened the bar to get us a drink, the place is massive, took us while to find our hidden room, which was perfectly comfortable, and clean.

This hotel has had its hayday , it's dated but I gpu d it to still be lovely and enjoyed all the old decor and fittings!. If you want a flashy hotel this is not for you, if you like quirky, and can look passed the dated decor this is for you. So cheap couldn't complain!!!. I would definitely go back again. Shower was old but was best shower had in any hotel, really powerful!!!!!!

  • Mike B

  • June 2014

Nice

hotel getting a bit old but otherwise very good value

  • J T

  • June 2014

Short Stay in Southport

Central hotel, good size rooms but need updating.

Good value for money but if you are looking for a high quality hotel this is not it. Our room was in the front but needed a good clean in places where you could not see at first glance. i.e. wardrobes, drawers under beds. Some of the facilties advertised not available, we booked bed only so cannot comment on the food. The entertainment was ok.

  • Jane C

  • June 2014

Clean tidy friendly hotel, quick service, cheap price, car park, early check in on request for a nominal fee

  • M Jackson

  • May 2014

Inhospitable and cold stay

Our room had no heating at all.

No radiator to dry wet clothes or towels. one window in the room that was too high to see out of. Breakfast not too good, no mushrooms or hash browns but chips . Private parties at night going on late. Liked the entertainment one evening when there was a good singer. We had a better room last time we went.

  • David S

  • May 2014

Good but needs money spent updating hotel

Got a good deal on hotel Hotel has some good old features but needs better maintenance A lot of neglect to a fantastic old building Hence a major project needed to bring it back to its glory Happy with my stay good location good breakfast And good value for money.

Just needs more T L C!

  • s pereira

  • May 2014

Britannia in Southport.

Grand hotel building , dont make them like this anymore...

Car parking £2 per night. Good bar prices, food buffet in restaurant 3 courses £10 , live entertainment for residents. Coach trips for the older generation so hotel cater for them . The rooms are basic , clean had usual facilities bathroom was clean and free comp toiletries. Its a grand place which needs a bit of resturation and paint here and there , you cant knock it for price you pay !!. And good location for town.

  • ann m

  • May 2014

Very basic but got a good offer last minute. Beware parking is not available and you have to pay if

  • Linda Nevet

  • May 2014

Not Impressed

Even though I requested for Ground Floor or 1st Floor twin room, as my mother has difficulty walking and a fear of lifts, I was given 4th floor double until I complained.

We were then given a dark and dismal 1st floor twin at the back of the hotel, even the window was frosted like a bathroom!. It was also quite a walk from the lift!. There was only one main lift, with a maximum of 4 people, this meant having to wait for the lift to go up and down 2 or 3 times before we could actually get in it. The dining room was dirty, with what appeared to be soil on the window sills, and the area where we could serve ourselves was covered with grease, which I ended up getting on my blouse, which is now ruined!. I complained to the receptionist, but was told there was nothing they could do. This was to be a break for my Mam, who hasn't been away since my Dad passed away 18 months ago. It's a shame that the stay at the Britannia Prince of Wales Hotel in Southport put a damper on the couple of nights we had!!