Reviews - Prince of Wales Hotel


Lord Street, Southport, PR8 1JS

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (128)

63% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • ian glynn

  • July 2014

Above Average

Everything good apart from the car park being too small leading to traffic wardens having a field day on the surrounding streets.

  • Jill Dransfield

  • July 2014

Excellent hotel stay

  • Wayne Ramsden

  • June 2014

basic accommodation,needs updating

This building has lost some of its grandeur.

In need of a make over and keen management to clean the place up, stayed in an "Executive" double room??. Nothing much to warrant that. Clean sheets, warm room (June) clean towels.

  • Patrick landy

  • June 2014

shopping trip to southport

i have stopped at this hotel before and would recommend this hotel, but this time they put me in room 134, no windows and next to lift noisy, bad room if you want to sleep....

  • L Jones

  • June 2014

The Hotel was okay for what we paid, clean room and comfortable beds.

The only thing that let the Hotel down was the breakfast, there wasn't much chose for the full breakfast and instead of hash browns they served chips which was a bit strange. If we go again we will book room only as there are plenty of places to eat close to the hotel. The staff were very helpful except two women in the dining room who were rude.

  • Sally, R

  • June 2014

very cheap, and cheerful! Bargain

We stayed here just for one night after going to a nearby wedding, we arrived really late, but the receptionist still opened the bar to get us a drink, the place is massive, took us while to find our hidden room, which was perfectly comfortable, and clean.

This hotel has had its hayday , it's dated but I gpu d it to still be lovely and enjoyed all the old decor and fittings!. If you want a flashy hotel this is not for you, if you like quirky, and can look passed the dated decor this is for you. So cheap couldn't complain!!!. I would definitely go back again. Shower was old but was best shower had in any hotel, really powerful!!!!!!

  • Mike B

  • June 2014


hotel getting a bit old but otherwise very good value

  • J T

  • June 2014

Short Stay in Southport

Central hotel, good size rooms but need updating.

Good value for money but if you are looking for a high quality hotel this is not it. Our room was in the front but needed a good clean in places where you could not see at first glance. i.e. wardrobes, drawers under beds. Some of the facilties advertised not available, we booked bed only so cannot comment on the food. The entertainment was ok.

  • Jane C

  • June 2014

Clean tidy friendly hotel, quick service, cheap price, car park, early check in on request for a nominal fee

  • M Jackson

  • May 2014

Inhospitable and cold stay

Our room had no heating at all.

No radiator to dry wet clothes or towels. one window in the room that was too high to see out of. Breakfast not too good, no mushrooms or hash browns but chips . Private parties at night going on late. Liked the entertainment one evening when there was a good singer. We had a better room last time we went.