Reviews - Prince of Wales Hotel


Lord Street, Southport, PR8 1JS

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (121)

63% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Lyndsey R

  • January 2015

Prince of Wales

The first room we were allocated was 408 or 410 which was disgusting to say the least.

I spoke with the lady on reception (she was pregnant if this helps to recognise her), she apologised and moves us to a much better room than the first. Again, although better than the first room, the stains on the furniture was very off putting but the bathroom was much better than the first (if u kept your shoes on so the wet carpet didn't wet UR socks or bare feet). The room was ok for a night. When we arrived the restaurant was serving dinner which smelt very strong and not very appetising so we dos not use those facilities.

Would we stay again. Probably not.

Such a shame a lovely building that needs ripping out and completely renovating.

  • paul f

  • December 2014

very old fashioned and run down

when entering the hotel a nice coal fire greets you, after this its downhill all the way the main lift wasn't working so we had to use the service lift which had a dirty unpainted entrance.

the corridors to the room had damaged walls with paint peeling off,the carpets should have been thrown out years ago. the room had a old tube telly and the remote was held together with tape .The bed sheets were clean but the valance was filthy and un ironed..The room was cold due to the radiator stat turned down, it did warm up aller when the heating gets turned back on at 5 o'clock. I have since been told by locals that this is one of the three hotels to avoid.The breakfast was barely edible coffee and tea are pre served on all the tables in flasks which are so stewed you can barely distinguish what they are

  • Peter Barnes

  • December 2014

Could do better

This is a lovely old hotel albeit a liitle bit of faded glory.

The room we were first given was freezing cold because the radiators were turned off and the valve defective. We were given another room which heated up after we turned the radiators on. We know that economies need to be made during low occupancy times but as we had prebooked our room should have been pepared and heating turned on for our arrival. No heat in bathroom !.

  • B Atkinson

  • December 2014

Lovely weekend just a rubbish mattress

We stayed bed only there were too many chairs in the room on one of them I knocked my leg and have a massive bruise.

The mattress was worse than sleeping on a bed of nails. Would have been better if the mattress was decent.

  • thomas g

  • December 2014

we were moved from the prince of wales to another hotel. so never got to see the hotel.

so not happy about being moved to the scarisbrick hotel.

although the room was nice, i was looking forward to taking my wife for a birthday treat to the prince of wales. have had really good reviews from friends. we go away quite often but this has really put us off trying for the prince of wales again. this

really spoilt our break.

the reviews are for the SCARISBRICK

  • L Whyatt

  • December 2014

prince of wales

The room we were given was brilliant.

Have stayed here before By far best room we have had. Unfortunately breakfast was diabolical. would have breakfast elsewhere next time .Would definitely use Late Rooms again.

  • peter morris

  • December 2014

Prince of Wales Hotel

number sixes allround!

  • John H

  • November 2014


Myself and my partner have stayed at this hotel in the past and always think you get value for money.

The room was very spacious and the food was plentiful with a lot of variety, and the hotel staff bent over backwards to help. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would stay again at the hotel....

  • David P

  • November 2014

Value for money old fashioned hotel with history I will stop here again some .


  • November 2014

A Hotel in the dark ages

I booked the breakfast a half price deal, the fare on offer was awful the layout was out of the dark ages the toast came out on a huge tray I did not even entertain having any of it.

The table in the dining room was next to where plates were being cleared a constant scraping and clanging of plates. Tea and Coffee were left on a tray on this table to give to guests when they asked for their preference it could have been sitting there a while. I would not pay the full price for it. Infact the following morning we went to The Metro Hotel and had a wonderful breakfast, we could not face the scrum or the food again. The bedroom was in the basement in what I guess used to be a nightclub, it was clean but was in serious need of upgrading. On checking out the receptionist did not even ask if we enjoyed our stay. Would I stay here again no not even at a bargain price its back to The Premier Inn for me.