You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter your destination and perform your search again.

Reviews - Prince of Wales Hotel


Lord Street, Southport, PR8 1JS

Price From 70.77 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (55)

65% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • tracey c

  • March 2015

Worse than staying in a prison cell

We arrived at the hotel only to be told there is no parking spaces and to drive around and find a space in the street.

Once we had found a space we went into the hotel to be greated by a very unfriendly receptionist!. Then going into our room to find that there was no windows, or fire escape!!. Also note to self if you sit on the toilet you can get a shower.... As the water goes all over the bathroom and floods the floor!. The bed was like sleeping on the floor, the pillows were that thin there was actually no point in having them!. At 7.30 in the morning we was then greater by the fire alarm!!. breakfast was ok but nothing special!!

  • GARY C

  • March 2015

Town center hotel

Always a good place to stay, has all you would need in a town center location, with parking on site at £2 a night good value.

Will stay here again when in the area.

  • W Gresty

  • March 2015

Not so clean

The hotel itself was kept clean and tidy, the staff were all polite and helpful.

The breakfast was plentiful and of good quality, The only complaint was the room could have done with a better clean and it is looking a bit worn

  • J Corner

  • March 2015

Southport's best location and value for money Hotel

This is my third stay at the Prince of Wales Hotel and i would definately come again-staff are excellent-nothing too much trouble.

Rooms are very clean and comfortable with lovely comfortable beds. There is always something going on at this hotel and the lounge is welcoming and ideal to sit in and just relax. Located on the main street with shops/bars and restaurants just a few minutes walk away, and the beautiful promenade. If driving your car is in a secure area for the duration of your stay with very reasonable rates.


  • March 2015

Prince of Wales Hotel

The worst hotel I have ever stayed in,room disgusting,food terrible,no room service after 1

  • David H

  • February 2015

Needs TLC

Staff very good and friendly and overall a really nice hotel.

However, it is in need of some TLC - decorating and some renovating is definitely required. With over 100 rooms it is impossible to comment on all but the room I stayed in was comfortable and what you would expect for a B&B. But, as with rest of hotel a good lick of paint wouldn't go amiss. Also needs updating on facilities - no sat TV, not even freeview. TV was old and remote held together with duct-tape. So, while I got it cheap off Laterooms, it would not have been good value at full price. Breakfast was good though. Buffet style and plenty to choose form. Nice bacon and nice sausages (these can be a little suspect I find).

Would stay again.

  • j wright

  • February 2015

the hotel is in need of modernisation.

Good location.

The staff very helpful. The room was awful.the valence sheet was dirty. Paid for breakfast but after the state of the room decided not to risk it.

  • sandra h

  • February 2015

Prince of Wales Hotel

Bathroom had no heating, or heated towel rail.

Bed was comfortable. Good sized room. Breakfast very good value.

  • GARY C

  • January 2015

Central City Stay

Having stayed here before I find this a friendly and very reasonable place to stay while in the area,nothing to much bother for the staff to help with.This is an old style hotel but has had a spruce up everywhere and will stay again .

  • p hodkin

  • January 2015

Daty in Southport

We have stayed here before this time we were in the basement which was very quiet a better room than before.The evening meal was very quiet but plenty of staff.The breakfast was very busy over 250 guest but good quality food and very efficient front of house will definitly stay again.