No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Wild Boar

4AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
Crook Road , Windermere, LA23 3NF
We are delighted to welcome you to The Wild Boar, a 4 star property with a wide range of bedroom accommodation from comfortable classic country style through to sheer indulgent luxury.

Full of character, the onsite Grill and Smokehouse serves locally-sourced produce and seasonal ingredients. The Wild Boar also has a bar with real local ales, craft ales brewed in our onsite Brewhouse, extensive Whisky collection, a wine cellar and an open fires.

Set in the ancient beauty of the Gilpin Valley, The Wild Boar takes its name from the local legend of Sir Richard de Gilpin who bravely fought and killed a particularly ferocious wild boar close by. However, its fame these days has much more to do with the warmest of welcomes and standard of service complemented by our individually designed rooms, and open kitchen offering more theatre to the overall dining experience. If you do want to get a little closer to nature and the legend of Sir Richard de Gilpin, explore The Wild Boar's private ancient woodland with nature trails exclusively for guests. Indeed The Wild Boar has a very special quality that is often best experienced whilst relaxing by the open fire.
Picture of The Wild Boar, Windermere at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 13 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Newly weds first night away
The room was beautiful, made the night really special, the quirky layout of the hotel was amazing, we love the fact that dogs are so welcomed although we didn't take ours we are big animal lovers, (not a dog hair in sight), would love to stay here again!

Reviewed by
Leigh Foster

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend break
Hotel directions on website were wrong, lead us to a housing estate. The location map is not clear makes it look as though you are near windermere, The hotel is about 5 miles away from the lake, which spoiled the break, as we had planned our trip around being close to the lake and all the shops.Had to ask for our room to be changed as the first room was very dark and miserable. No bath which I had wanted. Second room was fine. No mini-bar, which you would expect in a 4 star.

Reviewed by
S FOSTER

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Must stay!
A lovely place to stay for vacation, must try....

Reviewed by
H Li

From Singapore
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Time
The staff are so welcoming and friendly. Meals excellent although my wife would have liked more plainer food to choose from. Too many things with chillies for her liking. Room really nice would have liked to stay longer.

Reviewed by
B BOLTON

From Redcar, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Birthday treat
We had a lovely overnight stay at The Wild Boar. The room was beautiful and food exceptional,the smoked steaks both fillet and sirloin were wonderful, the service was friendly and very good. The atmosphere is very relaxing and the real ales brewed on site were excellent . a definite return venue.

Reviewed by
Mel S

From Selby, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent service and friendly staff

Reviewed by
Louise Draper

From Stockton on Tees, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very comfortable place to stay
Room excellent. Bar and dining room again excellent. Food while perfectly acceptable was uninspiring and in comparison to the rest of the experience disappointing.

Reviewed by
F Pieri

From , Scotland
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Hogs visit The Boar
Excellent venue, accommodation and food of a very high standard. The smoked fillet steak is worthy of mentioning, and the top chef should be congratulated for running such a smooth operation in his kitchen. This being our first visit, and the hotel was recommended by close friends who had visited The Wild Boar for the first time this year, we would highly recommend this to friends and business colleagues for the future. Room 11 was a luxury room and the copper bath is definately worthy of use !!. We will be back.
Constructive Criticism - the access and exit points can be extremely dangerous with fast moving traffic on the road directly adjacent to the Hotel. Would suggest you place "Warning - concealed hotel entrance ahead - slow down" - to avoid any major accidents.

Reviewed by
Lynne Hoggarth

From Whitley Bay, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wild Boar Windermere
Had a lovely weekend - our room was excellent and the staff very friendly

Reviewed by
Neil Brown

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

could do better
service and bedroom ok, bathroom disappointing; needed renovation

Reviewed by
P Fielding

From Southport, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next