No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Cranston House

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Cranston Road , East Grinstead, RH19 3HW
Very attractive large detached house in a quiet residential area within walking distance of the town centre, railway station arts Centre and hospital. Private offstreet parking. Gatwick airport is 15 minutes away by car. Rooms are of a hotel style with ensuite, hospitality tray, freeview TV with DVD and free WiFi internet access. Optional breakfast available - buffet £6, full cooked with choices £9. Children over 10 years are welcome. Payment can be made by debit/credit card or euro currency When a credit card is used a 1.5% handling fee is charged. Reception OPENS 2pm and CLOSES 10pm. Please contact Cranston House direct 01342 323609 if you wish to arrive outside Reception Times.
Picture of Cranston House, East Grinstead at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 8 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stay
We were given a warm welcome - the accommodation was good and very good value. The continental breakfast had many choices, all fresh.

Reviewed by
William R

From Trowbridge, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect guest house
Comfortable, clean, good food, friendly owners and all within walking distance of East Grinstead station for an evening in London. Perfect!

Reviewed by
Gillian W

From South Brent, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

stay at cranston
Good family run hotel, lovely house, room I was in was more modern than I personally like but that is personal taste and certainly not a negative.

Reviewed by
D Scott

From Warminster, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place to stay and as we were going to a wedding called the owners and requested an earlier check in at 1pm rather than 2pm and this was not a problem which we appreciated..

Reviewed by
Marion Lockwood

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend stay at cranston house
Booked a twin room for a local squash tournament
Hotel clean and friendly and convenient for East Grinstead, but unfortunately did not sleep well as we were put in a room on the top floor on a stormy night and the relentless rain/wind kept us awake. Given we appeared to be the only guests that weekend we would have appreciated being in a warmer / more sheltered bedroom! Otherwise, experience was satisfactory.

ManagementResponse

Hello Trevor, Thank you for your review. It was most unfortunate that you were away from home over a particularly stormy night before you were involved in a squash tournament. You mentioned the number of rooms you thought were occupied. During your stay the house was half full with all twin rooms taken. We have significantly upgraded the sound insulation between rooms so there is less intrusive noise to disturb guests. The peaceful environment which is produced gives guests the impression that the house is less full than it is. Each room comes with heating which the guests can control and so enjoy their appropriate room temperature both day and night. When you return do ask for a room on the north or east side of the house away from the prevailing wind and rain. Best wishes, Brian Linacre

Reviewed by
T MAJOR

From West Malling, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Accommodating!
We wanted to get changed after a long journey for a special lunch so the owners allowed our party of 7 into our rooms at midday. We were extremely pleased with how they put themselves out for us.
A spotless house and our room was very spacious and well equipped.
The best recommendation we could give is to say we will most definitely use them again when next visiting our friends again.

ManagementResponse

Thank you Gill for your review. Where possible we rearrange our room cleaning schedule to allow early entry for guests attending events. Our cleaning staff have a very good attitude to careful cleaning and presentation of the rooms for guests. They are pleased to read your comments. We look forward to your return to Cranston House the next time you need to stay overnight in East Grinstead. Brian Linacre

Reviewed by
Gill B

From Newbury, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An extremely well presented, clean and modern accommodation. The room was finished to a high standard with everything that a business traveller could want. The breakfast was well cooked, hot and presented well. The proprietors were friendly and helpful without being overly so. Good value for money and no surprise that it has the rating that it does.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your very pleasing comments. Reviews help us maintain our standards and we are pleased that you found the accommodation at Cranston House good value. We look forward to your return visit. Many thanks,

Reviewed by
Paul Simpson

From Sapcote, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly and clean

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your positive review. We look forward to your next stay at Cranston House.

Reviewed by
Geoffrey Barrett

From Saltash, England
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.