No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Great National Newcastle-under-Lyme Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Clayton Lodge Clayton Road, Newcastle under Lyme, ST5 4AF
The Great National Newcastle-under-Lyme is a high 3 star hotel offering stylish accommodation, contemporary dining and an enviable location within a couple of minutes of the M6 junction 15 and Trentham Gardens, in its own spacious grounds with free car parking. Public areas are furnished with Spanish
marble and contemporary fittings. The high point of your stay at the Great National Newcastle-under-Lyme is the opportunity to wine and dine in our luxurious Kavi Indian restaurant, housing a central glass open kitchen providing the very best in Indian fusion dining. All of our rooms are impeccably styled and guests will receive an outstanding level of service during a truly memorable stay. Free wifi is available throughout all areas in the hotel. All hotel bedrooms have ensuite, freeview tv's, radio,
direct dial telephone, hair dryer and tea and coffee making facilities. Family rooms and a luxury suite are available upon request and of course there is 24hr room service available. The hotel, formerly Ramada, is ideal for a short break, but is also a fabulous venue to host your dream wedding, celebrate an event or hold a business meeting or conference, with the help of our friendly events team. We cater for small meetings to functions for upto 350 people. Guests can relax in the stylish and comfortable
surroundings of Chic bar, providing a wide selection of food and drink options. After a restful night’s sleep, guests are able to enjoy breakfast in the elegantly styled, monochrome interior of Chic restaurant. Other local attractions include world-famous pottery makers Wedgwood and Royal Doulton, along with theme park Alton Towers. All are within a short drive of the Great National Newcastle-under-Lyme
Picture of Great National Newcastle-under-Lyme Hotel, Newcastle under Lyme at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 330 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
54% recommended this accommodation to a friend 57% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

rundown faulty towers do not stay here!!
Dirty carpets
Dirty bath
TV doesn't work at all no signal
Staff barely speak English
Can't open windows a lot

Do.not stay here terrible place !!!

Reviewed by
Hollie Regan

From Bridgend, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor service
The service at the front desk was poor and the room was very dusty.

Reviewed by
r wilson

From Stockton on Tees, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wierd Hotel
Ok this is the wierdest hotel i have ever stayed in. When you first arrive thr outside looks like a mixture of an old people's home and a hospital, we must admit to be a little scared to go in.
As soon as you get into the reception it is much better however i can see why people say the reception staff as unfriendly i can assume that the staff get alot of abuse.
as you get further into the hotel it is even more bizare its as though they have even just started refurbishing to a 4 star standard and either run out of money and completed it with a B and Q basic range or that their handy man is as good as DIY as me !
The rooms are actually quite nice with a huge double bed, they added a single bed which covered part of one of the door ways which we had to squeeze past and a folding bed which was the most squeakiest bed in the entire world we put it down in the end and used just the matress.
The windows were very old and constantly a bit open for ventilation and they were single glazed and so the room was freezing. we asked for the heating to be turned on and this never happened as the maintenance guy was on holiday.
We paid £53 for a night for four people and this included all you can eat breakfast. It included bacon. sausages. eggs. tomatoes. beans. hashbrown. fruit. coffee. tea. and a range of fruit juices.
People are wrong though you would not get this cheaper elsewhere for the money. We would have paid almost that cost just for breakfast at Alton Towers.
The bathroom is clean but half finished. so the door didnt lock. the taps were b and q value but the rest was high spec. Wierd.
We would go again and book more than one day but would take an electric heater.
Dont be put off by reviews on this site, its worth the money and when the problems are ironed out. the windows are changed andbthe decor is finished they can double the price per night. It was a Radison Hotel beforr the current owners after all.
One last thing creep up the stairs if coming in late they are Very squeaky.

Reviewed by
simon harvey

From Crawley, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Awful
I didnt stay i had to book in at the holiday inn down the road queued at reception for 40 mins while at least 6 customers tried to resolve complaints unsuccessfully at the point i reached the front of the queue I was asked to take a seat and wait by someone who could not speak English after 10 further minutes with noone at reception I left the hotel
I am not booking through your site again if I end up paying for this hotel everyone there had booked through laterooms and the hotel was a disgrace

Reviewed by
Heather Dowber

From Llandudno Junction, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Family visit after Alton towers
Located close to Alton towers so ideal base for night. Booked a family room. Arrived about 6pm and checked in. Check in staff wasn't very welcoming or happy to see us but that could have been due to him having a couple of disgruntled guests before seeing to me! Check in was fine, got to room and there was only 3 beds, a queen size and a single. There were two adults, 10 yr old and 7 yr old in our party but decided an adult and two kids had plenty of room in queen size bed so didn't worry about asking to change. After an hour or so found a put me up bed in wardrobe complete with bedding! Why wasn't told that it was there on arrival, I've no idea.
The room was ok although walls dirty and carpet was "rucked" up and bobbly in places. Bathroom was clean although tiles were loose but had complimentary body wash etc which I wasn't expecting. Only had towels and cups for three people but the 7 yr old was happy to share! Restaurant was closed to no where to have a family meal, breakfast was good, great service and good hot. Check out was better, welcoming staff who asked how stay was. Was charged price quoted whereas poor gentleman before us was told one price but charged a higher one.
Overall was ok for the money paid but attention to detail is missing.

Reviewed by
J Beales

From Ipswich, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very pleasant stay
On arrival the receptionist was pleasant and efficient. The room was bigger than I expected, clean and well presented. The bar service in the evening was friendly and quick. The self service breakfast in the morning was an excellent start to the day, and check out was quick and very easy, and despite having just had to deal with an awkward customer, the receptionist was friendly and charming.
To be honest I could find no reason to fault the service or accommodation, and enjoyed my brief stay.

Reviewed by
Geoff B

From Ashford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Need more staff
Overall the hotel was good value for what we paid. However, upon arrival there was a mix up with our booking. We had booked 2 rooms and they only appeared to have allocated us one room. They did eventually sort his but after about a 10-15 minutes wait. After checking in we decided to have a drink in the bar which was open but with no barman to be seen. We waited about 10-15 minutes again and eventually had to go and look for someone to serve us at the bar. The following morning we went down to breakfast where there would have been plenty of choice (self service) but several of the options had run out and were not replaced unless someone asked for them. Again i believe this was due to staff shortages as there was only one member of staff who was setting tables, clearing tables and also replenishing the food. The food itself was tasty enough but could have been a bit hotter. The staff themselves were pleasant enough, there just wasnt enough of them! The rooms were clean and comfortable and I still feel the stay was good value for what we paid.

Reviewed by
Val D

From Durham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Genuinely the worst hotel experience I have ever had...
I'll review this hotel in a timeline. It makes just a bit more sense to review it that way so everything has a sense of placement.
00:30am, Saturday morning - arrived at the hotel. Granted, I was very late, however the reception is open 24 hours - or so it would seem. When I arrived I left the rest of my party at the car to take out the luggage and approached the reception only to find a note on the reception stating 'if you require assistance please call the night porter on XYZ' (XYZ being the number on the note). Now this I was prepared to accept which was fine, it was just after midnight so that's okay. I called the number - 7 times - to no avail. 10 minutes later and by some strike of luck the night porter arrived and after just managing to work out what I was saying, we got to the check in point.
00:50am - we were handed the keys (two couples, two rooms). Neither of these card-keys worked.
01:00am - after faffing around with swapping keys between ourselves and trying various methods of door insertion we went back down to the reception to get new keys. Again, these didn't work.
01:15am - the night porter brings up the 'master' key and trusts us on our word as to what rooms we are in, letting us in before finally leaving the other couple we were with - in possession of said master key.
** red flag ** - Whilst we would have never done this, an untrustworthy group could easily have lied about the room they were staying in and either got a free upgrade on their room (unbeknown to the porter) or walked in on someone else either sleeping or doing whatever else they could have been doing at roughly 1am. At the very least I would have expected the room claim to have been verified or even possibly remembered what rooms he gave us since it was no less than 10/15 minutes before that he gave us the keys. Also, leaving a guest with a "master" key - no. No. No. No.
That was the end of our first night of incredible fun. We all settled down for the night into our extremely poorly furnished and relatively dirty rooms. I back up this claim with photos which unfortunately LateRooms won't let me attach, but these will be going to the hotel's parent company directly. Examples of which however - extremely shoddy silicone work around the bath, massive cobwebs all around the corners of the bath, dust on every surface, stains on the already horrible yellow carpets in the rooms and the other couple we were staying with found a few half empty bottles under their bed. We daren't look under ours for fear of finding something worse.
--- Next day ---
Roughly 10:00AM (and after the worst night sleep every more on that soon) I approached reception about the key issue. Quite abruptly told that she didn't have a clue how they didn't work but again, took me on my word of the rooms and gave me 2 brand new keys for the rooms. By now, kinda regretting being as honest as I am as I could have easily at this point 'upgraded' to their (no doubt similarly dirty and horribly furnished) suite. Either way, eventually got a couple of working keys (after 2 attempts again). Now briefly back to the worst night sleep ever issue...
--- The heating did not work at all in either of our rooms--
I raised this issue with reception only to be told (on the Saturday) that the 'handyman wasn't in today'. Not one to put up any arguments I left it at that and went back to the room to use the hair drier to heat it up. The hair drier in the room however - Didnt work. Neither did the socket next to it for us to plug in the hairdrier we brought with us. This left us resorting to plugging in the hairdrier further away and in the corner, meaning the room took literally hours to get to any degree of acceptable heat. I didn't feel comfortable plugging it into the socket next to the bed, given there was various exposed wiring and a cable that went to something but came out of nothing, again exposing various wires (live or not, I didn't dare chance it to find out!). Remember during the night because this is an old building it gets absolutely freezing and I woke up multiple times throughout the night to put on another layer. Shocking that this wasn't addressed, or another couple of rooms offered - or at least a portable heater?!?!
Now onto the final day. This is the big one for me :
10am I was delivered breakfast to my room. This would have been lovely only I hadn't ordered breakfast and by the time I realised it had been placed on the unit across from the bed, the little lady that brought it had vanished,
I went down to the reception and told them they might want to check cause I hadn't ordered any thing for breakfast and therefore their going to have a (no doubt more) agitated guest. The response - "sod 'em".
Okay, cool. The breakfast stayed in the room (PS if you like microwaved frozen food this place is the way forward) and went to waste. This is a huge issue for me, as it basically means they have knowingly upset a customer and if someone done that in my company, I would be furious (maybe that's why I'm a sole trader?)
All in all, experience was exactly that - and experience. This hotel has 'Ramada' signs all over it. It's got nothing to do with Ramada anymore.
Granted, the hotel themselves can't do anything about the road signs that point to the ramada hotel, but they can about the signs inside the hotel itself. Every direction sign from the rooms onward is still the old Ramada signs. Not entire sure of the legalities there however I for one was extremely unimpressed by my stay.

Reviewed by
Peter Walker

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money and friendly staff
The staff were excellent. Very helpful and friendly. The hotel does need modernising and work is in progress to do this. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. Breakfast is a buffet with plenty of choice. Would happily stay here again.

Reviewed by
D O

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room had badly stained carpet and the hot food was cold. value for money. you got what you paid for.
were allocated a room with only a large double bed even though are daughter was 15.we queried this and were told this is a family room. we requested to see the manager and explained that we would not be sharing a bed with our 15 year old daughter.(we had checked with the hotel that we would be in a triple room} this was sorted out but only by a another resident changing rooms. The room we had was comfortable but the carpet was heavily stained which was unpleasent..The hotel was good value but food as cold which for us was the final nail in their coffin.

Reviewed by
J Seal

From Farnborough, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next