No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Great National Newcastle-under-Lyme Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Clayton Lodge Clayton Road, Newcastle under Lyme, ST5 4AF
The Great National Newcastle-under-Lyme is a high 3 star hotel offering stylish accommodation, contemporary dining and an enviable location within a couple of minutes of the M6 junction 15 and Trentham Gardens, in its own spacious grounds with free car parking. Public areas are furnished with Spanish
marble and contemporary fittings. The high point of your stay at the Great National Newcastle-under-Lyme is the opportunity to wine and dine in our luxurious Kavi Indian restaurant, housing a central glass open kitchen providing the very best in Indian fusion dining. All of our rooms are impeccably styled and guests will receive an outstanding level of service during a truly memorable stay. Free wifi is available throughout all areas in the hotel. All hotel bedrooms have ensuite, freeview tv's, radio,
direct dial telephone, hair dryer and tea and coffee making facilities. Family rooms and a luxury suite are available upon request and of course there is 24hr room service available. The hotel, formerly Ramada, is ideal for a short break, but is also a fabulous venue to host your dream wedding, celebrate an event or hold a business meeting or conference, with the help of our friendly events team. We cater for small meetings to functions for upto 350 people. Guests can relax in the stylish and comfortable
surroundings of Chic bar, providing a wide selection of food and drink options. After a restful night’s sleep, guests are able to enjoy breakfast in the elegantly styled, monochrome interior of Chic restaurant. Other local attractions include world-famous pottery makers Wedgwood and Royal Doulton, along with theme park Alton Towers. All are within a short drive of the Great National Newcastle-under-Lyme
Picture of Great National Newcastle-under-Lyme Hotel, Newcastle under Lyme at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 343 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
54% recommended this accommodation to a friend 57% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Shower Didn't Have A Holder.

Reviewed by
fert m

From Hatfield, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great National newcastle under-Lyme Hotel
The hotel was a surprise for the money, the room was very clean with every thing I would expect coffee, tea making, hairdryer etc. Only one problem do not arrive on a Sunday night having travelled for more than 7 hours (due to inclement weather) No kitchen services are provided on a Sunday... I was tired, female travelling alone in an area I have never stayed before so went to bed without any meal. Advertising of the hotel remarked on the excellent curry restaurant....Breakfast was all self service including an urn for your tea and coffee which was not that hot. It was good value for money as long as you did not need a meal.

Reviewed by
E Gibson

From Ashford, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic but ok for time we spent in hotel
Photos made it look much more modern than it was. Room dated and basic, but was ok to get your head down. Breakfast average. Doubt i would stay again.

Reviewed by
P Miller

From Barnard Castle, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The photographs work wonders for the hotel by comparison to its actual state. Definitely in need of a touch of paint.
Very thin walls, I could hear my neighbours conversations.
Room smelled musky and the headboard was falling apart. Comfortable bed though and quiet location.

Reviewed by
Rebecca H

From Wolverhampton, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic Room
Room was very clean. Bathroom has a small patch of black mould directly under the shower. Only small but other than that was very clean. View out of window was nothing special but cant complaint at the price.

Reviewed by
D Jones

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not the greatest
Stayed here before, don't recall the rooms being quite so shabby last time, and a good friend stays here often and likes it, so we were a little disappointed with this stay. Yeh, ok, £54 incl breakfast isn't a bank-breaker, but . . . The shower head was broken / clogged up / low pressure, one of the towels was coming apart at the seams, the tv signal kept vanishing, room wasn't badly dirty but a good wipe down / dust wouldn't go amiss, breakfast was distinctly average, oh, and the half-broken toaster looked lethal.

Reviewed by
Andrew R

From Bury, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This is what happens when providers of the best food in the world think they can run a hotel
Dreadful Hotel but fantastic Indian Restaurant adjoining; says it all doesn't it?

Reviewed by
Charles Hughes

From Caerphilly, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good stay, clean room but hotel staff are poor
Good clean room and value for money. This is my second stay. One of the hotel staff took some time to find me a taxi number as he didn't have one!
There was a wedding reception on the day I was staying so I asked if there was a bar I could get a drink from. His response was' This is a hotel you know'
My answer was yes I know that but you have a wedding going on so can I still use the bar? Maybe a stupid question but at least he could be polite about it!
One of the bar staff couldn't pour a pint of Guinness and also it didn't taste right. So i got a lager instead and didn't have to pay again.

Reviewed by
Ravdeep B

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The rooms were very pleasant although we had two faults with the bathroom which we reported to reception upon leaving, these were written down and told they would be attended to.

Reviewed by
T Snarey

From Sudbury, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Won't go back
I found a empty bottle under the bed that waste from my family, front door deadlock didn't work or bathroom door lock. For £70+ this hotel is over priced. I wouldn't go back to the dated hotel. The standard our the work of the old renovation is very poor. Black mold in bathroom

Reviewed by
Paul O

From Swansea, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next