No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Great National Newcastle-under-Lyme Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Clayton Lodge Clayton Road, Newcastle under Lyme, ST5 4AF
The Great National Newcastle-under-Lyme is a high 3 star hotel offering stylish accommodation, contemporary dining and an enviable location within a couple of minutes of the M6 junction 15 and Trentham Gardens, in its own spacious grounds with free car parking. Public areas are furnished with Spanish
marble and contemporary fittings. The high point of your stay at the Great National Newcastle-under-Lyme is the opportunity to wine and dine in our luxurious Kavi Indian restaurant, housing a central glass open kitchen providing the very best in Indian fusion dining. All of our rooms are impeccably styled and guests will receive an outstanding level of service during a truly memorable stay. Free wifi is available throughout all areas in the hotel. All hotel bedrooms have ensuite, freeview tv's, radio,
direct dial telephone, hair dryer and tea and coffee making facilities. Family rooms and a luxury suite are available upon request and of course there is 24hr room service available. The hotel, formerly Ramada, is ideal for a short break, but is also a fabulous venue to host your dream wedding, celebrate an event or hold a business meeting or conference, with the help of our friendly events team. We cater for small meetings to functions for upto 350 people. Guests can relax in the stylish and comfortable
surroundings of Chic bar, providing a wide selection of food and drink options. After a restful night’s sleep, guests are able to enjoy breakfast in the elegantly styled, monochrome interior of Chic restaurant. Other local attractions include world-famous pottery makers Wedgwood and Royal Doulton, along with theme park Alton Towers. All are within a short drive of the Great National Newcastle-under-Lyme
Picture of Great National Newcastle-under-Lyme Hotel, Newcastle under Lyme at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 340 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
54% recommended this accommodation to a friend 57% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not the greatest
Stayed here before, don't recall the rooms being quite so shabby last time, and a good friend stays here often and likes it, so we were a little disappointed with this stay. Yeh, ok, £54 incl breakfast isn't a bank-breaker, but . . . The shower head was broken / clogged up / low pressure, one of the towels was coming apart at the seams, the tv signal kept vanishing, room wasn't badly dirty but a good wipe down / dust wouldn't go amiss, breakfast was distinctly average, oh, and the half-broken toaster looked lethal.

Reviewed by
Andrew R

From Bury, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This is what happens when providers of the best food in the world think they can run a hotel
Dreadful Hotel but fantastic Indian Restaurant adjoining; says it all doesn't it?

Reviewed by
Charles Hughes

From Caerphilly, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good stay, clean room but hotel staff are poor
Good clean room and value for money. This is my second stay. One of the hotel staff took some time to find me a taxi number as he didn't have one!
There was a wedding reception on the day I was staying so I asked if there was a bar I could get a drink from. His response was' This is a hotel you know'
My answer was yes I know that but you have a wedding going on so can I still use the bar? Maybe a stupid question but at least he could be polite about it!
One of the bar staff couldn't pour a pint of Guinness and also it didn't taste right. So i got a lager instead and didn't have to pay again.

Reviewed by
Ravdeep B

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The rooms were very pleasant although we had two faults with the bathroom which we reported to reception upon leaving, these were written down and told they would be attended to.

Reviewed by
T Snarey

From Sudbury, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Won't go back
I found a empty bottle under the bed that waste from my family, front door deadlock didn't work or bathroom door lock. For £70+ this hotel is over priced. I wouldn't go back to the dated hotel. The standard our the work of the old renovation is very poor. Black mold in bathroom

Reviewed by
Paul O

From Swansea, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Okay for money, rather dirty though
Bed was very comfy and breakfast was good, downfall was that the rooms were dirty, stains and dust ect.

Reviewed by
Charlotte M

From Great Yarmouth, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money
Excellent hotel for a overnight stay,room was good although a little tired.booked for a bed,breakfast and evening meal and definitely was value for money.The only downside was upon arrival once checked in no information was given regarding as to where we needed to go to find the room,no details were given for our evening meal or breakfast!!!,when we asked,the receptionist just said"you can go to the Indian restaurant next door upto 11pm!!great if you don't mind Indian food but what if you didn't?.I must say though the service and the quality of food in the Indian restaurant was outstanding,breakfast was served in the hotel and that to was very good

Reviewed by
Jacqueline S

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Shunted to another hotel
Travelling from Cleethorpes to Stoke you'd like to know where your stopping before you set off. Room was cancelled at 3pm on the day due to 'electrical issues'. Another hotel was booked by them for me (after they asked me if I wanted to source another room myself!!!), great until they sent me the wrong road and postcode (5 miles away) making me late. On arrival I frustratingly tell the manager of what's happened, who tells me that the reason for cancellation is probably not true and that they run a full rooms policy and they very frequently 'send people on to stay here' and it 'happens all the time'. If you like not knowing where you might be staying, book away, you'll find it right up your street. As for me, never again.

Reviewed by
Barry M

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Booked through late rooms only to be told that room was not avalible. Then after being found a more expensive room we were nearly overcharged the next day after being told breakfast was included the night before and then charged for it when we checked out . So what started out as a £44 night was then supposed to be £75 then it nearly cost us £100. Stayed here a few times before and had no problems after this we will not being staying again

Reviewed by
Samantha X

From Stoke-on-trent, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good exactly what I needed
Helpful staff and good looking rooms and hotel

Reviewed by
A Johnson

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next