No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Great National Newcastle-under-Lyme Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Clayton Lodge Clayton Road, Newcastle under Lyme, ST5 4AF
The Great National Newcastle-under-Lyme is a high 3 star hotel offering stylish accommodation, contemporary dining and an enviable location within a couple of minutes of the M6 junction 15 and Trentham Gardens, in its own spacious grounds with free car parking. Public areas are furnished with Spanish
marble and contemporary fittings. The high point of your stay at the Great National Newcastle-under-Lyme is the opportunity to wine and dine in our luxurious Kavi Indian restaurant, housing a central glass open kitchen providing the very best in Indian fusion dining. All of our rooms are impeccably styled and guests will receive an outstanding level of service during a truly memorable stay. Free wifi is available throughout all areas in the hotel. All hotel bedrooms have ensuite, freeview tv's, radio,
direct dial telephone, hair dryer and tea and coffee making facilities. Family rooms and a luxury suite are available upon request and of course there is 24hr room service available. The hotel, formerly Ramada, is ideal for a short break, but is also a fabulous venue to host your dream wedding, celebrate an event or hold a business meeting or conference, with the help of our friendly events team. We cater for small meetings to functions for upto 350 people. Guests can relax in the stylish and comfortable
surroundings of Chic bar, providing a wide selection of food and drink options. After a restful night’s sleep, guests are able to enjoy breakfast in the elegantly styled, monochrome interior of Chic restaurant. Other local attractions include world-famous pottery makers Wedgwood and Royal Doulton, along with theme park Alton Towers. All are within a short drive of the Great National Newcastle-under-Lyme
Picture of Great National Newcastle-under-Lyme Hotel, Newcastle under Lyme at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 297 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
55% recommended this accommodation to a friend 57% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Absolutely boiling hot! All radiators and towel rails were on constantly even with it being 20degrees plus outside!

Reviewed by
M Thomas

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Adiquate
Room ok not the cleanest no hairdryer and never got brought one after asking. Restaurants closed and receptionist unable to show us to a restaurant just a local pub.

Reviewed by
K Ashby

From Torpoint, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Renamed hotel
We had previously lived in the area but had never heard of the hotel but it had been taken over (twice ) and renamed but even the friend who lived half a mile away didnt know it by the new name! Room was clean and well presented. The only problem was with the toilet as for a big bloke like me it was badly sited to close to the wall. Excellent value for money at the price paid would visit again

Reviewed by
Edward Scholefield

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely decorated rooms, completly blown away by the value of the hotel for the night including breakfast, absolutly brilliant. Will deffinatly be coming again and would highly reccomend. And the indian resturant food was delishious, great idea as we still got dinner and that was also beautifully decorated.

Reviewed by
S Nix

From Bicester, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Average
Good value budget accommodation. Rooms basic. Food not great. Very limited menu. Served frozen food. Unless you try the Indian restaurant on site. Not best Indian food either. Very salty and expensive. Bar prices are reasonable £3.50 for a pint of Peroni is not bad

Reviewed by
Derek Riseborough

From Dunfermline, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was clean but bathroom shower curtain was mouldy,floor tiles were cracked and there was silicone and paint marks left by decorators..not a good look. Staff were very nice especially the male member of staff who helped us move room after we were giving the wrong room.

Reviewed by
S Barrie

From Dundee, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This hotel was terrible. The room was dirty and we found various stains everywhere. We were woken up several times throughout the night by arguing and fighting and when we tried to call the reception there was no answer. We will never stay here again.

Reviewed by
Gareth Edwards

From Merthyr Tydfil, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was good value for the money. But unfortunately that was all that was good about it the room smelt very foisty and there was a big ridge in the carpet . The carpet was filthy coverd in stains and the bathroom floor had marks on it and it was not cleaned in the two days that we stayed there .

Reviewed by
J Hawkins

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Could be better
I thought this hotel was rather dated, rooms were tired looking with stains on the carpet etc. It was incredibly stuffy too with no air conditioning in the room. The corridors were like an oven on the hot afternoon I arrived. The staff were pleasant and very helpful though, and the Indian restaurant was very good if you like Indian food. Breakfast was good catering for all tastes. For me on business the hotel served a purpose but for a leisure break or holiday it would not be my choice.

Reviewed by
Nick Drew

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Get what you pay for
Paid £60 for a double room inc breakfast which was one if the cheapest prices I found. The hotel was clean and tidy, however was disappointed that after travelling for 5hrs that neither if their restaurants they mention in the description were open-not even the bar, so had to find a pub nearby instead. On appearance the room we stayed in was modern ish, but the mattress was awful - could feel the individual springs despite a mattress topper. Breakfast was the highlight - full English help yourself, but also continental choices. Staff very friendly. For cost I would stay again.

Reviewed by
A Ward

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next