No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Great National Newcastle-under-Lyme Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Clayton Lodge Clayton Road, Newcastle under Lyme, ST5 4AF
The Great National Newcastle-under-Lyme is a high 3 star hotel offering stylish accommodation, contemporary dining and an enviable location within a couple of minutes of the M6 junction 15 and Trentham Gardens, in its own spacious grounds with free car parking. Public areas are furnished with Spanish
marble and contemporary fittings. The high point of your stay at the Great National Newcastle-under-Lyme is the opportunity to wine and dine in our luxurious Kavi Indian restaurant, housing a central glass open kitchen providing the very best in Indian fusion dining. All of our rooms are impeccably styled and guests will receive an outstanding level of service during a truly memorable stay. Free wifi is available throughout all areas in the hotel. All hotel bedrooms have ensuite, freeview tv's, radio,
direct dial telephone, hair dryer and tea and coffee making facilities. Family rooms and a luxury suite are available upon request and of course there is 24hr room service available. The hotel, formerly Ramada, is ideal for a short break, but is also a fabulous venue to host your dream wedding, celebrate an event or hold a business meeting or conference, with the help of our friendly events team. We cater for small meetings to functions for upto 350 people. Guests can relax in the stylish and comfortable
surroundings of Chic bar, providing a wide selection of food and drink options. After a restful night’s sleep, guests are able to enjoy breakfast in the elegantly styled, monochrome interior of Chic restaurant. Other local attractions include world-famous pottery makers Wedgwood and Royal Doulton, along with theme park Alton Towers. All are within a short drive of the Great National Newcastle-under-Lyme
Picture of Great National Newcastle-under-Lyme Hotel, Newcastle under Lyme at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 341 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
54% recommended this accommodation to a friend 57% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good price
We have stayed here on many occasions, the room we got at a cheap rate, it was a smaller room than we normally get and the view was rubbish, the heating was too high and we couldn't turn it down so had the windows open all night, but it was clean, bed comfy, tea/coffee tray, ok shower, for the price it was all just fine.

Reviewed by
sandra s

From Douglas, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Jd review Feb
Fantastic breakfast and service. Only thing was had a great wine list at the bar but limited choice available.

Reviewed by
J DALY

From Haywards Heath, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stylish and serves a purpose
The hotel was of a decent quality, aesthetically pleasing and the staff were helpful. Well priced, there was certainly value for money. The room was nice enough. Clean but a bit threadbare.

Reviewed by
Elliot Blake

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean the remote and bathroom
If the rooms and items in the rooms were cleaned thoroughly then this would be an excellent place to stay. The remote control for the tv was so grotty I didn't want to touch it. Also the bathroom was ok but just like everywhere else the hygiene levels were not consistent. Main areas were done but surfaces, behind doors, items in rooms, etc were not. Very Grotty!

Reviewed by
Paul M

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best hotel in Newcastle-under-Lyme!
Customer service was very good, polite and helpful. Rooms are smart and modern, with a comfortable bed and plenty of storage. Bathroom is clean and well kept. Restaurant and facilities are well managed and looked after, with good food in the mornings and an awesome Indian restaurant alongside.

Reviewed by
Mike Jeffries

From Salisbury, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money - No Complaints - Would definitely stay there again
Needed a bed for the night, arriving late & leaving early. Check in was simple & the receptionist polite.
Room was clean, tidy & well heated. Bed was very comfy. No noise so slept well.
En-suite bathroom was clean and very modern. Shower very good & water hot with good pressure. Spare bath-towels in the dresser if required.

Reviewed by
vanessa c

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quiet Room
I was oncall New Years Eve so asked for a quiet room (which I doubted I would get given it was New Years Eve!) so I could answer the phone and not disturb others. The hotel gave me the quietest hotel room I have ever stayed in, it was in a remote part of the hotel in like a little annex with only about 8 rooms in it and I was in the last room by the fire exit, it was very much appreciated. Reception staff were attentive and pleasant, no complaints here and I would definitely use again. Thanks again for the quiet room.

Reviewed by
David A

From Newcastle, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

1 night stay for University Interview
Was ok for pupose. downstairs area is very good and has obviuosly had some money invested ( I presume to cater for functions). However upstairs is a mixed bag. Room was fine and would have been better except for state of carpet - a number of variuos stains. If this were improved I would add an extra number to the rating. Shower pressure was also a little low.

Reviewed by
a fairlie

From Petersfield, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Stay
Good Customer Service
Clean Room
Room Had Everything We Needed

Reviewed by
J Richardosn

From Deeside, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good for price paid
Asked for wake up call but guess what? no phone in room, good location, and hotel was adequate for my needs for one night.

Reviewed by
carl k

From Grimsby, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next