Reviews - Great National Newcastle-under-Lyme Hotel


Clayton Lodge Clayton Road, Newcastle under Lyme, ST5 4AF

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (211)

55% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • P Lynn

  • September 2015

Dirty / worn out

There were a lot of spider webs hanging from the ceiling, clearly been there some time, the room was looking very tired

  • Tracy B

  • August 2015


Hotel staff were polite and friendly however room was very dated, toilet didn't flush properly, door to bathroom had started to rot and the carpet was coming up in places causing a trip hazard.

Areas outside of the room were well kept.

  • Ian B

  • August 2015

1 night stay


  • ray m

  • July 2015

Great National Newcastle-under-Lyme Hotel

Room was clean and extremely comfortable, my 6 year old daughter loved her first hotel "experience".

Hotel was easy to find close to motorway and an ideal stopover from Scotland for Alton Towers (just 11 miles away). Bar was well appointed and reasonable and breakfast smelled excellent, though unfortunately we overslept due to comfort of beds and had to rush. Will be stoppind again on way to/from Scotland as breaks journey perfectly

  • Brian H

  • July 2015

I have photos to show the dirt

  • Louise c

  • July 2015

Hotel was let down by the bedroom

Downstairs of hotel was lovely.

Bedroom carpet was filthy. Killed 4 silverfish as soon as we walked in. 2 Soaking wet, dirty towels in the bath & 1 clean 1 on the radiator. Hairdryer didn't work. Walls were dirty.

Bed was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was lovely.

  • T Bowman

  • June 2015

Will never stay there again!

The hotel was very tired but looked ok at first impressions until I checked in and met the Staff.

To be greeted with "You alwite", local dialect I understand but took the two girls at least minute to realise that I was new and wanting to check in as they were too busy on their mobile phones. Checked in, room clean but a bit tired, OK, had a shower and the shower curtain could not stop the bathroom flooding. OK, so I checked the TV and all I got was no signal. I reported this to reception, same girl said that always happens and will get it sorted out for when I came back. Arrived back at 9pm, still didn't work so called reception who said a "bloke" would be there in 5 minutes to fix it. Never turned up. Called reception again at 9.50pm, told them not to bother as I wanted to turn in. Next morning, reported to reception again, didn't apologise, just said that the "bloke went home"!. Went out for the day, got back early evening and still not working, called again, said would change the TV whilst I was out having a meal. Got back, no new TV. Had shower, flooded floor again. Checked out on the Saturday, no one at reception, guests waiting to check in and out and also not happy with their stay. Original girl who checked me in asked if My room was OK, I said no ..... No apology, just wanted me to pay the bill. By this time I just wanted to leave so I paid my bill and went. I have stayed at many hotels, both UK and worldwide. I have never felt the need to write a bad report as I know not everywhere is perfect but this was the worst customer service I have ever experienced. Will never stay there again because of the staff. One good note, very good Indian Restaurant next to the hotel, would definitely go there again but not the hotel.

  • M Ivory

  • June 2015

One night stay!

Old creaky accommodation.

Nicely updated bathroom (flooded floor when showering!) and the bar and bar food were good. The bedroom and accommodation access passage smelt of smoking, the bedroom furniture was rather dated and the bedroom carpet was old, threadbare and had burn marks. Didn`t like to walk bare foot. The bed was first class for comfort.

  • T Jackson

  • April 2015

Clean and tidy

The look of the hotel is modern and clean all round.

The room itself was clean and up to date with the furniture. I only stayed for a single night before going to Alton Towers and it was quite enough to be able to sleep soundly with no disruptions

  • Robert S

  • April 2015

Great National Newcastle-under-Lyme Hotel

Bit dated, clean , happy to go back!