No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - MERCURE LEICESTER THE GRAND HOTEL

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Granby Street, Leicester, LE1 6ES
Victorian charm meets modern comfort at this 4 star Leicester hotel. A short drive from the National Space Centre, you can also step out from Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel and find the city's Cultural Quarter, nightlife and shopping. The 104 rooms are stylish and modern, with complimentary high-speed WiFi and satellite TV. Dine in Marco's New York Italian restaurant and enjoy a variety of meals inspired by American-Italian cuisine, including pastas, pizzas, hotdogs, steaks and much more. If you fancy a drink, pop over to Marco's Bar and enjoy a glass of wine or a cocktail. The hotel has 7 well equipped meeting rooms for all conferencing needs.
Picture of MERCURE LEICESTER THE GRAND HOTEL, Leicester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since April 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 46 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
66% recommended this accommodation to a friend 69% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Your should have told me before I booked !!!!
Upon arrival it was clear the the Hotel is undergoing major refurbishment which several people told me has been going on for ages!
The reception was dusty and cold, miss matched furniture, terrible battleship grey paint which I was told is to remain - Really - it is awful!
Food was completely cold,(not the staffs fault) the tables covered in dust, the dirty lift was broken from time to time, no help offered with luggage. The Grand is not so Grand anymore, if it every was.
The smell of paint was overwhelming too.
The staff seemed embarrassed and de motivated, I am not surprised, they deserve a medal for working in those conditons and trying, as they did, to provide a good service -
Wake up Mecure Hotels, this is a really bad hotel and I have stayed in many of yours - please rethink the colour scheme. I thought I was on the Ark Royal !
I have always used Mecure - I will think again
Not good at all - you should warn people that you are being refurbished - greedy !

Reviewed by
C Davies

From Aberystwyth, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent value for money
City center hotel with secure parking excellent room

Reviewed by
t ward

From Nuneaton, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short stay

Reviewed by
derek bowden

From GUERNSEY, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

pretty disappointed
We were really disappointed with the accommodation. It is a very tired old hotel. The room was nice but the bathroom was awful. However the breakfast really was very disappointing. The fried breakfast looked like it had been cooked out the local greasy spoon. Overall not worth the money we spent. Really sad as we were so looking forward to this short break.

Reviewed by
Adam B

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel
Having stayed at the mercure a few times I could not recommend it highly enough. Quiet, well furnished modern rooms with an excellent breakfast service (I would massively recommend the breakfast option).
Central location but having its own secure car park was also a huge advantage.

Reviewed by
Kate F

From Kettering, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fabulous
on entering the hotel the reception staff are so ready to please. i am now a regular at this hotel and have stopped there on many occasions. i have booked another two saturday nights as this is a great city to go out in xx

Reviewed by
april l

From Walsall, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Leicester Experience
Hotel was faultless, save for my experience in the restaurant-bad service, slow, and meals not up to standard of rest of hotel-was told it was because of refurbishment that certain items of food and drink that were still on menu, were not on. This could easily have been expressed by waiting staff-I heard other customers complaining too, about the long wait and quality of food, one customer refused to pay the bill.
In view of the fact that I was there for a patient and carer day, as a widow of someone who had died of Mesothelioma, (asbestos lung cancer) and other guests some of whom were actually suffering from this illness, it was not a very pleasant experience.

Reviewed by
Liz Edmonds

From Chipping Campden, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

brilliant stay
Because the room was so cheap we weren't expecting much but I was pleasantly suprised as the hotel was extremely good. I have a bad back and most beds are problematic but this bed was the best I have ever had. Must ask the management where they can be purchased. All in all I would highly recommend this hotel. Breakfast was fantastic.

Reviewed by
kathleen watt

From York, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

when i took my suitcase off the top of the wardrobe a mountain of dust fell off all over the place.
The staff at dinner refused to accept that the 15 pound deal dinner was real, I tried to explain that when we pay 15 pounds we get 22 pounds worth of food. But because we didn't spend 22 pounds each he said we would have to pay full price. So really we didn't get the deal. The staff need to be educated in this, they didnt have a clue.
The window in our room was stuck, so it was extremely noisy outside when we were trying to sleep. Also the bed was so hard we woke up with back ache.

Reviewed by
K haley

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Inside Leicester
The hotel itself was very smart. The check in staff were first class, as were the restaurant staff.
The room was fine, but much smaller than expected. The hotel decor looked a bit tired. However, the carpet edging had been taken up in the corridors and the closer I looked the more I realised that the interior had probably never been refurbished. Nice that there was a car park attached to the hotel. Sadly this cost extra (£7 per night). The hotel is situated right in the heart of Leicester. Sadly, stepping out of the hotel at night brings one onto a street covered in discarded fast food, various folk staggering around clearly high on something, and small gangs of loud young men out for a good time on the town. I wouldn't stay here if you have kids, or are vulnerable in any way.

Reviewed by
clive w

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next