MERCURE LEICESTER THE GRAND HOTEL

4

Granby Street, Leicester, LE1 6ES

Price From 250.11 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (49)

78% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Elizabeth W

  • April 2015

Room

Large room and comfortable but dark as only one window looking out on courtyard .

Excellent location for access to Richard III exhibition and station - that's what you pay for as room is expensive.

  • J Byrne

  • April 2015

Expensive

The room was fine.

Bed was adequate.

TV was terrible. Small and didn't work well at all. Coffee machine was rubbish.

The room was expensive for what it was. Very basic with few features/facilities.

To top it off, paying for parking after paying that much money for one nights stay was a slap in the face. Where was I meant to park.

  • Michael O

  • March 2015

Mercure Hotel the Grand

I found the hotel comfortable and clean but the bed was not very comfortable, and surprisingly I was charged £10 for breakfast which I thought was steep given the cost of the room.

The staff were helpful and the experience was a perfectly reasonable one.

  • marion r

  • March 2015

Not good value for money

Tired room in need of revamp.

Carpet stained, musty smell, someone's chewed chewing gum left on table, generally needed good clean. Tea & coffee tray none too clean, kettle old and battered. Very disappointing.

  • Kate F

  • January 2015

Great hotel

Having stayed at the mercure a few times I could not recommend it highly enough.

Quiet, well furnished modern rooms with an excellent breakfast service (I would massively recommend the breakfast option). Central location but having its own secure car park was also a huge advantage.

  • C Davies

  • January 2015

Your should have told me before I booked !!!!

Upon arrival it was clear the the Hotel is undergoing major refurbishment which several people told me has been going on for ages.

The reception was dusty and cold, miss matched furniture, terrible battleship grey paint which I was told is to remain - Really - it is awful.

Food was completely cold,(not the staffs fault) the tables covered in dust, the dirty lift was broken from time to time, no help offered with luggage. The Grand is not so Grand anymore, if it every was.

The smell of paint was overwhelming too.

The staff seemed embarrassed and de motivated, I am not surprised, they deserve a medal for working in those conditons and trying, as they did, to provide a good service -

Wake up Mecure Hotels, this is a really bad hotel and I have stayed in many of yours - please rethink the colour scheme. I thought I was on the Ark Royal . I have always used Mecure - I will think again

Not good at all - you should warn people that you are being refurbished - greedy !

  • t ward

  • December 2014

excellent value for money

City center hotel with secure parking excellent room

  • derek bowden

  • December 2014

Short stay

  • Adam B

  • November 2014

pretty disappointed

We were really disappointed with the accommodation.

It is a very tired old hotel. The room was nice but the bathroom was awful. However the breakfast really was very disappointing. The fried breakfast looked like it had been cooked out the local greasy spoon. Overall not worth the money we spent. Really sad as we were so looking forward to this short break.

  • april l

  • October 2014

fabulous

on entering the hotel the reception staff are so ready to please.

i am now a regular at this hotel and have stopped there on many occasions. i have booked another two saturday nights as this is a great city to go out in xx