No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Stanhill Court Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Stan Hill, Charlwood , Horley, RH6 0EP
With Free Wi-Fi and 10 minutes from Gatwick Airport, Stanhill Court offers an 2 rosette Award Winning Restaurant, Four Poster rooms and twenty miles of uninterrupted views. Spoil yourself to a stay in a four poster room and get breakfast in bed (pre ordered and subject to room service charge). Free parking is available with stay, charges apply here after.

Set in 35 acres including ancient woodland and featuring many four poster bedrooms, it is no surprise that Stanhill Court Hotel was awarded "Most Romantic Hotel" by the AA along with many other accolades, including two AA Rosettes for Restaurant 1881. The hotel also features individually furnished bedrooms. Built in the Scottish Baronial style, the barrel roof reaches a height of fifty feet and is surrounded by a minstrel's gallery, grand staircase and original stained glass windows leading into the main hall - this type of architecture is not often seen nowadays and many find it a joy to behold. The added benefit in winter is the additional warm welcome of the open fire. The building is an architectural delight with so many original features, including a carved wooden staircase and ornate ceilings with pitch pine throughout the main hall. Instead of noisy airport flight paths you can enjoy verdant countryside with free roaming wildlife, including deer and grazing sheep and cows.

The Hotel offers an exclusive Shuttle Service to Gatwick Airport via a local Taxi company. Please enquire at the hotel for more information.

Picture of Stanhill Court Hotel, Horley at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 53 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel room was very small for the size of four poster bed.
Bathroom window didn't open which didn't help with the steam from the shower fogging up the mirrors.
Hotel was mainly for airport travellers waiting to catch an early morning flight from Gatwick, not very romantic as advertised.

Reviewed by
f halsall

From SHEERNESS, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stanhill Court
My husband and I stayed for one night at Stanhill Court. We ate in the restaurant, the choice and quality of the meal was excellent and the staff were very professional and pleasant
We would definitely stay again

Reviewed by
G Rofe

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Beautiful Hotel
A beautiful old property standing in its own grounds. Rooms are good. Decor excellent. Food very good. My only comment is that the place lacks soul. The reception is tucked away out of sight. The staff are very polite. No one once asked if we'd enjoyed our stay, had a good journey down etc etc or even struck up any sort of conversation. If you want to be anonymous this is the place. It would cost nothing to make this place a memorable place to stay at.

Reviewed by
colin h

From flint, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

wish we could have stayed longer!
The hotel & grounds were stunning & the staff couldn't have been more friendly or helpful. The 9nly negative comment is that the non slip bath mat needed a good clean or replacing. Will definately be recommending this hotel to friends & family travelling from Gatwick or simply for a staycation getaway ❤❤❤❤❤ it!

Reviewed by
susan gray

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Gorgeous location, lovely staff, greta rhubabrb crumble
Worth the price I paid on Laterooms but not the rack rate shown as comparison. Room was quite compact. Would have liked an armchair to relax and watch TV rather than having to sit on the bed. Shower cubilcle could have done with a good clean along the edge creases. The staff were very accomodating, the view from the terrace fabulous. Food both in the bar and the restaurant was excellent and reasonably priced. Getting there might be a challenge in the winter

Reviewed by
Lesley C

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight Stay

Reviewed by
Chris S

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice setting, room very spacious but breakfast not included, and no bottled water in the rooms. Over priced.

Reviewed by
J Phillips

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would visit again, at the bargain price.
The hotel was very plush, peaceful and grand. Excellent cleanliness. The food was first rate, and at a very reasonable price. I would have loved to walk around the grounds.
BUT..There was no one at reception to greet us.When he arrived he was a bit off and just handed us the key and explained where the room was. Having never stayed before, we looked for any literature in our room to explain the facilities and routine of where we had the evening meal and also breakfast. It stated on the internet there were grounds to walk in, but nothing to say or show where we could go. No map, no diagram and nothing obvious in the grounds.
On going down for the evening meal there was no one to show us where to sit. 2 male staff were just chatting amongst themselves, and really not friendly. Their attitude seemed different to us, as ours was a bargain room, and very friendly to the fully paying customers. The saving grace was a young, bubbly blonde waitress. She totally made the evening and the meal. A real asset.
The female receptionist next day was very helpful and friendly, took the time to explain our route out of there, even though she was busy.

Reviewed by
IAN K

From Tiverton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing!
I booked this room last minute as wanted a night away for me and my partner that we could chill out and not feel in your typical box hotel room
This hotel was far from that is was stunning right from the moment you pull in the drive I felt like a princess couldnt have asked for me the staff were so polite and accomodating and the food was out of this world cant wait to return!

Reviewed by
Kelly M

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely room in beautiful house. Gounds were impressive and relaxing. Great value.

Reviewed by
D English

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next