No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Alexandra Court Hotel

3Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
7 Newcastle Road , Congleton, CW12 4HN
Stay for business or pleasure.

At The Alexandra Court, our ethos is focused on delivering a fantastic guest experience, whether you are staying with us for business or pleasure.

Choose from one of our 15 individually designed guest bedrooms, including one family room, where you will find elegant and considered design, with finishing touches and all modern amenities. Every guest room is unique in design and gives a ‘home from home’ feel.

Breakfast is served in the Breakfast room and guests can choose from Full English Breakfast cooked to order or Buffet style .Drinks can be enjoyed in the bar and lounge with views over the landscaped gardens , the bar offers an extensive selection of spirits and wines.

Perfectly located if visiting the area on business or pleasure The Alexandra Court is at the very heart of the Cheshire countryside, in an idyllic, rural setting in the market town of Congleton with easy access to the bustling cities including nearby the Roman City of Chester, cosmopolitan Manchester and Liverpool. The stunning and contrasting landscape of the Peak District is only minutes away,with hills and country walks in abundance. Hotel visitors can explore the major tourist attractions including Jodrell Bank , Gawsworth Hall ,Moreton Hall and Alton Towers Theme Park are all located nearby , making The Alexandra Court the perfect base to explore this wonderful region.

At a glance:

- Sleeps up to 30 guests
- Free Wi-Fi
- 15 En-suite bedrooms
- Library and Wii games
- Four bedrooms have reasonable wheelchair access
- Outdoor play area
- One family rooms
- Lounge and Bar
- Conservatory
Picture of Alexandra Court Hotel, Congleton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since April 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 27 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Charming!
On arrival the hotelier was absolutely wonderful and very welcoming!
We felt at home straight away, she gave us great advice on a taxi service as we were attending a wedding at Sandhole Barn, Morton.
She was just lovely. The next morning we were served to a delicious breakfast, but more than anything, we both just felt comfortable. We never actually got to say bye!
Rooms were cosy and cute.... This suited our needs brilliantly.

Reviewed by
A Parry

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable small hotel
Nice but small hotel. Comfortable room reasonably well appointed with a big comfy bed and plenty of pillows.
Not many staff on but those there are hard working and helpful. Tasty breakfast. Shower unit in my room was a bit hit and miss with pressure and temp but that's just being picky.

Reviewed by
Adam B

From Worcester, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing experience
Hotel itself is nice, old fashioned and the service very good. However there were only young girls around and the lift wasn't working. Did not realise the restaurant was closed in the evening - no food, this was extremely inconvenient. I travelled without a car and the only place nearby to walk to was a Tesco local. It was a cold, wet evening so made the walk very unpleasant and a meal would have been more acceptable. My room was satisfactory (room 10) but the layout ridiculous. The TV screen was fixed in the corner, at the side of a single wardrobe - so partly hidden when trying to watch it. The screen wouldn't pull out into the room so I couldn't see around the wardrobe either. Not great when travelling alone. I don't like my room hot which was just as well as anyone else would have been freezing. The cold water tap ran hot water & the hot tap was spitting boiling water. The kettle was normal size & wouldn't fit under the tap to fill, so I had to fill via the glass tumbler. Breakfast was good & the server very pleasant. A very disappointing experience and won't be staying there again

Reviewed by
Terry C

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly and helpful reception staff. The deluxe double room was very attractive and the bed was extremely comfortable. Bathroom was immaculate.
I left a jumper and was phoned next day to say it was no problem posting to my home.
Peaceful and relaxing time.

Reviewed by
G Dawson

From Paisley, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay
I normally stay at the plough but as it was full I has to try some place different, as it turns out it was a great place to stay with great wifi.

Reviewed by
A Cameron

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice but time to decorate
Everything was outstanding apart from 2 little thing.
1.Even though the rooms were clean and tidy we felt the decor of the room to be a little bit tired.
2.The breakfast was lovely but the quality of the sausage was a little dubious.

Reviewed by
Andrew Murns

From Stockport , UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Alexandra Court Hotel

Reviewed by
Barbara L

From Oakham, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfectly reasonable
Hotel was very nice, pleasantly situated and well equipped. Room was well furnished and bed very comfortable. Room presented very well. Just two issues; lack of sound insulation so noise from other rooms clearly audible, and shower head leaked badly so not much water made it to the nozzle. Bathroom otherwise well equipped and room was very good overall. The garden setting was very nice and communal and bar areas were very good. Would stay again.

Reviewed by
Neil C

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short break
Very good

Reviewed by
J Chant

From Corbridge, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Alexandra Court Hotel
A peculiar place, old fashioned and strangely quiet. Room and bathroom was clean, though no ventilation in the bathroom. The whole place was filled with huge, heavy, dark furniture, which gave it an Edwardian atmosphere. Reception was polite but not especially friendly. Breakfast was OK but I 've had tons better in more humble B and B's. We didn't feel we had particularly good value here.

Reviewed by
Diane S

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next