No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Alexandra Court Hotel

3Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
7 Newcastle Road , Congleton, CW12 4HN
Stay for business or pleasure.

At The Alexandra Court, our ethos is focused on delivering a fantastic guest experience, whether you are staying with us for business or pleasure.

Choose from one of our 15 individually designed guest bedrooms, including one family room, where you will find elegant and considered design, with finishing touches and all modern amenities. Every guest room is unique in design and gives a ‘home from home’ feel.

Breakfast is served in the Breakfast room and guests can choose from Full English Breakfast cooked to order or Buffet style .Drinks can be enjoyed in the bar and lounge with views over the landscaped gardens , the bar offers an extensive selection of spirits and wines.

Perfectly located if visiting the area on business or pleasure The Alexandra Court is at the very heart of the Cheshire countryside, in an idyllic, rural setting in the market town of Congleton with easy access to the bustling cities including nearby the Roman City of Chester, cosmopolitan Manchester and Liverpool. The stunning and contrasting landscape of the Peak District is only minutes away,with hills and country walks in abundance. Hotel visitors can explore the major tourist attractions including Jodrell Bank , Gawsworth Hall ,Moreton Hall and Alton Towers Theme Park are all located nearby , making The Alexandra Court the perfect base to explore this wonderful region.

At a glance:

- Sleeps up to 30 guests
- Free Wi-Fi
- 15 En-suite bedrooms
- Library and Wii games
- Four bedrooms have reasonable wheelchair access
- Outdoor play area
- One family rooms
- Lounge and Bar
- Conservatory
Picture of Alexandra Court Hotel, Congleton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 26 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfectly reasonable
Hotel was very nice, pleasantly situated and well equipped. Room was well furnished and bed very comfortable. Room presented very well. Just two issues; lack of sound insulation so noise from other rooms clearly audible, and shower head leaked badly so not much water made it to the nozzle. Bathroom otherwise well equipped and room was very good overall. The garden setting was very nice and communal and bar areas were very good. Would stay again.

Reviewed by
Neil C

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short break
Very good

Reviewed by
J Chant

From Corbridge, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Alexandra Court Hotel
A peculiar place, old fashioned and strangely quiet. Room and bathroom was clean, though no ventilation in the bathroom. The whole place was filled with huge, heavy, dark furniture, which gave it an Edwardian atmosphere. Reception was polite but not especially friendly. Breakfast was OK but I 've had tons better in more humble B and B's. We didn't feel we had particularly good value here.

Reviewed by
Diane S

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

beautiful hotel to look at but once inside walls are so thin that you can hear everything from the other rooms and from the water system which makes the hotel very noisy at night - it was gone 1.30am before it was quiet enough to get any sleep.

Reviewed by
Nia G

From Rhyl, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Despite the helpful, charming young receptionist who couldn't have done more on the Sat; the charming elderly man who took over; the lovely comfy bed, the rest was of a disappointing standard. The cold water tap which ran hot, the Sun morning, lighting power-cut for 2 hrs, the very inexperienced Sunday kitchen/waitress staff, the surly male at reception disappointed us. What chef can't scramble eggs? A lovely old building with attractive garden. I'm very surprised by such fulsome praise in previous reviews. Change of management?

Reviewed by
j giles

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

an enjoyable experience with helpful staff.

Reviewed by
Chris B

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

last stop of our trip
our third stop at Alexandra Court and cannot fault the service and accomodation except for the minor problem with the lift...it jerks a bit when you get in...can be a bit disconncerting to those of a nervous disposition!....and the tendency of the swipe-card for the room- door to stop working .Both minor inconveniences in an otherwise excellent service . Note...rooms 14 and 15 overlook the very nice garden!

Reviewed by
alan steadman

From BRISTOL, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No problems at all. Would stay again no problem.

Reviewed by
William R

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely hotel with character
the hotel was very nice with loads of character and a lovely garden area, receptionist was very helpful and friendly, there was a party on when we arrived so it may have been a problem if we had wanted to use the hotels facilities, garden, bar etc as it was we went out so it caused us no issue we would definitely stay here again

Reviewed by
dave thomas

From Ellesmere Port, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Weekend

Reviewed by
G BROTHERTON

From Ossett, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 Next