No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Coombe Abbey Hotel Warwickshire

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Brinklow Road Warwickshire, Coventry , CV3 2AB
A warm welcome awaits as we invite you to step straight into the history books and enjoy the unique experience that is Coombe Abbey Hotel.
Originally a 12th Century Cisterican Abbey set in 500 acres of breathtaking parkland, with formal gardens designed by Lancelot "Capability" Brown, Coombe Abbey offers a haven of peace and tranquility from the stresses of the outside world.Imagine a hotel where every room is different, where you may find a grand four-poster bed, or a bathroom which is hidden behind a bookcase.It does not matter how many visits you make to Coombe Abbey as every trip will feel like the first. That's because each of our magnificent bedchambers is unique, offering guests warm lighting, rich colours and stunning furnishings.Dining at Coombe Abbey is a feast for all senses. While yours eyes delight in the surroundings of our Garden Room Restaurant your taste buds can savour the flavours of Coombe's fine food. The dress code for the restaurant is smart/casual no demin or trainers. Should guests wish to dine at the hotel then pre booking is essential, this can be done through our reservations team. If a table reservation is not
made then it can not be guaranteed that a table in our restaurant would be available.

A warm welcome awaits you.Coombe Abbey is just 4 miles from the A46 and 6 miles from the M6 motorway.The M1, M40, M42,M69 are all close by. Coventry Airport is just 5 miles away, while Birmingham NEC and International Airport are a short drive away.
Picture of Coombe Abbey Hotel Warwickshire, Coventry  at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 81 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Spooky but nice
I went here for my 10 year anniversary and that this place is haunted. The staff were friendly and the breakfast was very nice with a lovely atmosphere in the giant conservatory. The halls are dark and give a nice cosy/haunted feel to the place. Plenty of space and lights in the room and the 4 post bed was lovely to sleep in with a very very comfy mattress. We didn't have a roll top bath but the shower/bath was fine. There were no children in sight which might be a plus for some people. Any hotel we go to now will be hard to live upto the standards of this one. Local area had a lot of restaurant choice but would avoid the Toby carvery near the mega chippy.service was appauling but didn't let it ruin our weekend.

Reviewed by
J Bradley

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel as always
I have not stayed here for some years, but as always it was superb. I stayred one night and got upgraded to a "brand" room in the new block. The room was well equipped especially the fruitbowl, water and decanter of Cognac!
Had dinner in the restaurant and the food was great.

Reviewed by
Tony G

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a wonderful place to get away to
from the time you walk in and are greeted by reception to the time you leave your treated like a valued client, everything is not a problem, the staff , the food , the rooms, the whole exrerience makes you feel really special . if you are after a treat try the "afternoon tea" its to die for

Reviewed by
jeff f

From Gravesend, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Any other hotel will struggle to match this experience, awsome

Reviewed by
w enslin

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Worst hotel ever!!!
Where do I start. First impressions were ok apart from the chavs having bbqs outside main entrance in the park and crazy kids running around like headless chickens the building itself looked nice. The lady on the desk was so morbid and depressing she could turn milk sour. We couldn't find our room and were just given vague instructions (go left then right then left) wtf??? Eventually found a bell boy that kindly showed us where our room was. The room itself was quite nice. Apart from the air con sounding like a pneumatic drill and having the power of the blow as weak as an asthmatic weasel.
Finally when we went down to dinner we got refused entry as wasnt wearing a tuxedo and monical. The man was so arrogant and had such a bad attitude should not be working in any form of customer service or any job where he has to communicate with other life forms as he doesn't seem to be able to speak without shouting and coming accros aggressive and arrogant. We decided to go eat elsewhere and couldn't get out the car park as need a stupid code to get out. Eventually managed to sneak out behind someone else.
Eventually when it came to bed time The bed was so hard it was like sleeping on a concrete slab. The blanket (or shall I say blankets) was so heavy I'm convinced it was made of lead. It literally stopped the blood circulation to your whole body.
Didn't want to socialise more than absolutely necessary so decided to get breakfast in bed. We wanted full English breakfast but were refused this. Instead we were offered cold toast, warm orange juice and cereal. The only thing that was ok was the coffee.
Overall a dreadful experience. We need a weekend break to get over this weekend break.
Avoid at all costs.
They even had the cheek to try and overcharge me by £30???
Ps: this hotel is supposed to be haunted but no sign of spirits not even Casper. More paranormal goings on in our local supermarket. .

Reviewed by
Mark B

From Milton Keynes, England
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was great

Reviewed by
V Thompson

From Leamington Spa, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

silver wedding
I took my wife here for our 25th wedding anniversary,it was absolutely beautiful.a perfect setting for that special occasion.looking forward to stay again.

Reviewed by
kevin page

From Derby, England
Who stayed in April 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely experience! Surrounded by history and beautiful grounds.Great breakfast with a choice of nearly everything.
Only bad point was the hard bed.

Reviewed by
j wills

From Dudley, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My stay
If you are frequent traveller like me you will find the experience of staying here very different but in a very good way. The hotel offers a unique experience of Od England. Everything about this hotel will both surprise and please you. I highly recommend it.

Reviewed by
C Jones

From Neath, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly


Food was stunning, location and building superb.
Room was comfortable and cosy, but the connecting door to the next room was disappointing, we could clearly hear the tv next door and the occupants talking.

Reviewed by
Andrew F

From Bath, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next