No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Preston New Road,Samlesbury , Preston, PR5 0UJ
You'll find the four-star Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel situated in an extremely convenient location on the outskirts of Preston, just 2 minutes from junction 31 of the M6 and overlooking the banks of the River Ribble. The hotel has recently completed a £500k refurbishment to transform its ground floor, including brand new reception, Costa Coffee lounge offering free, unlimited WiFi access and introduction of a Scottish Steak Club restaurant, the signature grill of Macdonald Hotels & Resorts. The Scottish Steak Club menu has been carefully crafted using fresh, seasonal produce and the best ingredients that we can source, including 21-day aged Aberdeen Angus beef. It is our dedication to serving quality food that makes us different.

Designed to appeal to both leisure and business guests travelling up and down the M6, Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel is within easy reach of Blackpool, Liverpool, Manchester, the Trafford Centre and the Lake District National Park and offers free parking for all guests.

Alongside our 98 extremely comfortable, airy and spacious bedrooms, many of which have also received a soft refurbishment, we have a range of modern meeting rooms, ideal for board meetings, training days and strategy conferences. For those looking to meet quickly over coffee our brand new lounge booths give you the privacy your meeting needs with Costa coffee readily available to you.

Picture of Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel, Preston at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 98 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
71% recommended this accommodation to a friend 74% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tickled Trout weekend
All good, for us the best hotel choice in the area. Has been re-furbished very well, the room was really nice overlooking the River (if a bit of a way from reception!). Public areas (bar / reception / restaurant) all welcoming and comfortable. Breakfast had a very good choice. All staff very pleasant, service very good. A good experience all round, we'll definitely use again when next in the area.

Reviewed by
steve w

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good value for money
Arrived to a very friendly welcome from the receptionist. Booked with late rooms 2 days before arrival and was delighted with the price. Excellent location if travelling as very close to the m6 motorway

Reviewed by
Y Lewis

From Inverness, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel

Reviewed by
Daniel H

From Chorley, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable and Convenient Hotel
Hotel is in a great location just off the M6.
The staff are very professional, courteous and welcoming and nothing was too much trouble.
My room was comfortable with beautiful views over the river.
The restaurant was pleasant with exceptionally helpful staff however I was disappointed that the vegetarian menu is so limited.

Reviewed by
Lynn D

From Bridgend, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleasant stay
Staff great. Room spacious. Good choice at breakfast.

Reviewed by
ANNE W

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

dont believe the disabled friendly on it's ad !
Took my mum here after hip replacement, made sure I asked for twin on ground floor, only when I checked in did I find they were on 2nd floor and there were steps to get to the lift !! we had to go to the lift via the car park and fire door in the end. The table in the restaurant had food all over the floor from the last meal had there and the service was really poor....... 2 attempts to get both a jug of water and a cup of coffee and 20 mins wait for sweet meant I simply gave up on the idea. The carpet in our room was not one you want to step on in bare feet! The radiator didn't work in the room and they provided an ancient looking electric heater in the end. Despite saying a manager would get in touch still waiting 3 days later........... it's long overdue a refurb and some staff training if you ask me, definitely wont be back that's for sure !!

Reviewed by
Adele J

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic stay
Everything about the stay was absolutely fantastic. The room wasn't huge but quite quirky & was fine for the 2 of us. Evening dinner & breakfast were superb & the staff could not have done more. Only piece of feedback would be that we would have preferred to have a movie option in the room. All in all a great stay though

Reviewed by
V Ellis

From Stockton on Tees, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Flatters to deceive
The Tickled Trout aspires to be something it isn't just yet. On check-in there were three peopel behind reception chatting together with no other customers than me and I was totally ignored - not a great first impression! I was given room 211, nice and spacious with an adjoining sitting area, but the room smells of damp which permeates everything - not a good second impression. The common areas are attractive and the food is good but a little pricey. I fail to understand why you go to the bar, pay for your drink then have to go and sit down waiting for it to be delivered - why can't you have it there and then?
Having said this, the bed was exceptionally comfortable and the food good and tasty. Not bad value overall, but several things still need to be put right.

Reviewed by
R Fenton-Jones

From Cirencester, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Motorway motel with excellent food
This is a Motel near the M6 Preston North exit which provides reasonable quality rooms, excellent service and very high quality food. If you just eat the breakfast it is good value - dinner can be expensive but is high quality.

Reviewed by
Richard Quicke

From Hook, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room Temperature
The Hotel is well worth a visit, the refurbishment that has been carried out is very nice. The inclusion of a Costa coffee shop is a really nice touch. The only gripes we had are as follows:
We stayed in room 222 for one night. The weather outside was cool, the room was VERY warm. The radiator was not on, and there were no other controls to turn heating down. So we couldn't understand how the room was so warm. We slept with the window open for the night, to the sound of the nearby motorway. We did not speak to reception that evening, just put up with it.
On check out we mentioned it to the young lady on receptionship about the issue of the heating, and she just said she was sorry we had been bothered, but never took down any further details.

Reviewed by
j gavin

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next