No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Preston New Road,Samlesbury , Preston, PR5 0UJ
You'll find the four-star Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel situated in an extremely convenient location on the outskirts of Preston, just 2 minutes from junction 31 of the M6 and overlooking the banks of the River Ribble. The hotel has recently completed a £500k refurbishment to transform its ground floor, including brand new reception, Costa Coffee lounge offering free, unlimited WiFi access and introduction of a Scottish Steak Club restaurant, the signature grill of Macdonald Hotels & Resorts. The Scottish Steak Club menu has been carefully crafted using fresh, seasonal produce and the best ingredients that we can source, including 21-day aged Aberdeen Angus beef. It is our dedication to serving quality food that makes us different.

Designed to appeal to both leisure and business guests travelling up and down the M6, Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel is within easy reach of Blackpool, Liverpool, Manchester, the Trafford Centre and the Lake District National Park and offers free parking for all guests.

Alongside our 98 extremely comfortable, airy and spacious bedrooms, many of which have also received a soft refurbishment, we have a range of modern meeting rooms, ideal for board meetings, training days and strategy conferences. For those looking to meet quickly over coffee our brand new lounge booths give you the privacy your meeting needs with Costa coffee readily available to you.

Picture of Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel, Preston at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 85 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
71% recommended this accommodation to a friend 74% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tickled trout experience.
The party consisted of two families with young children. The hotel could not have been more helpful, once we were there and it was well set up for dealing with youngsters. Our only disappointment was that we asked three times by phone directly with the hotel,for the two rooms to be next to one another, so one person could stay on duty and use a child monitor for the second room. This would enable the rest to have a meal in the restaurant. Despite assuring me that this had been noted on the computer, on arrival we were given rooms on separate floors. The best deal was two rooms separated by two fire doors and 28 rooms apart. Please could the hotel respond to this. It was a very disappointing aspect in what was a lovely hotel in all other aspects.

Reviewed by
Jocelyn Hanrahan

From Sutton Coldfield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tickled Pink!
This hotel is perfectly situated for those travelling north or south, just off Junction 31 of the M6. Ample free car parking. The rooms are comfortable and mine was quiet, well appointed, spotlessly clean and had a pleasant view over the River Ribble. The public areas are bright and spacious and the restaurant serves a pretty good range of dishes, although service can be patchy. Excellent breakfast. Overall, a great hotel in a convenient location.

Reviewed by
Howard W

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Breakfast mayhem
I stayed with my daughter overnight and included breakfast in our booking. I have to say it was the worst breakfast I have ever had in a hotel!!! Appalling service and tepid food which was not worth the wait. Buffet section was not replenished tables weren't cleared and breakfast orders were not correct . Having to ask for everything took ages and we were not able to eat together as food came at different times. Would definitely not eat here again.

Reviewed by
lesley inwood

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel
Lovely hotel, very clean room but bathroom could of done with some updating. not much choice in the restaurant so we decided to eat elsewhere.

Reviewed by
C Hills

From Rochester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An excellent overnight stop
I was carrying frozen food and the kitchen staff kept it frozen in the hotel freezer overnight. I could not have had better attention.

Reviewed by
Moir C

From Blairgowrie, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very clean hotel
The hotel room was very clean - bed very comfortable

Reviewed by
P Williams

From Ipswich, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing food and helpful staff
I had a pleasant stay at the tickled trout for two nights. The staff were friendly and very helpful. The food was amazing! I thoroughly enjoyed breakfast. You could tell it was real eggs and not the powdered type some hotels serve. My only gripe was that there were lots of cobwebs in the bedroom and about 6 spiders and cobwebs in the bathroom. The room was clean apart from the cobwebs.

Reviewed by
s thorpe

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A disappointing stay...
We chose this hotel over others in the area as when I phoned to check I was told they did do gluten free breakfasts. We arrived very late and the man at the check in was very helpful, even carrying our bags to our room. However our room was extremely hot and the window only opened slightly. When you did open it you got quite a loud road noise (but we did expect this). Slept terribly due to the heat. Shower leaked all over the floor and then at breakfast was told there was no gluten-free bread and no gluten-free sausages (despite having ordered this when booking).
The staff were all extremely helpful and polite (they said at check out the ground floor rooms were cooler but that is was a problem with some rooms!) but we will not be staying in a Macdonald hotel again.

Reviewed by
E H

From Marlborough, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

l
l

Reviewed by
Shaukat Patel

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wait for food, too long...
Although I didn't actually have a full breakfast, I did observe my friends having to wait a considerable time for their breakfast, nearly an hour, an apology would have gone some way to alleviate the frustration!

Reviewed by
M Byrne

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next