No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Preston New Road,Samlesbury , Preston, PR5 0UJ
You'll find the four-star Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel situated in an extremely convenient location on the outskirts of Preston, just 2 minutes from junction 31 of the M6 and overlooking the banks of the River Ribble. The hotel has recently completed a £500k refurbishment to transform its ground floor, including brand new reception, Costa Coffee lounge offering free, unlimited WiFi access and introduction of a Scottish Steak Club restaurant, the signature grill of Macdonald Hotels & Resorts. The Scottish Steak Club menu has been carefully crafted using fresh, seasonal produce and the best ingredients that we can source, including 21-day aged Aberdeen Angus beef. It is our dedication to serving quality food that makes us different.

Designed to appeal to both leisure and business guests travelling up and down the M6, Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel is within easy reach of Blackpool, Liverpool, Manchester, the Trafford Centre and the Lake District National Park and offers free parking for all guests.

Alongside our 98 extremely comfortable, airy and spacious bedrooms, many of which have also received a soft refurbishment, we have a range of modern meeting rooms, ideal for board meetings, training days and strategy conferences. For those looking to meet quickly over coffee our brand new lounge booths give you the privacy your meeting needs with Costa coffee readily available to you.

Picture of Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel, Preston at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 89 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
71% recommended this accommodation to a friend 74% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

acceptable, but not ideal if you want peace and quiet
disappointing in that noise from motorway was overbearing. Not a peaceful break. Seemed to be a lot of new staff who were still training. Room was lovely-overlooking the River. Breakfast was a bit disappointing for a 4 star. Unfortunately had to cut the 2 night break to a 1 night, having said that it was nice to get away from the motorway noise.

Reviewed by
S Sloan

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable Accommodation in Convenient Location
Very pleasant hotel ideal for the business traveller as just off motorway.
Rooms are clean and comfortable and my room had a beautiful view looking over the river.
Great bathroom with excellent shower.
I ate in the restaurant the food was good however the choice of vegetarian dishes was limited
Staff were helpful and very pleasant

Reviewed by
Lynn D

From Bridgend, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great
Had a nice stay.

Reviewed by
K Bates

From Ashton Under Lyne, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very enjoyable stay
Very well run hotel. Albeit next to motorway , once in the room motorway noise did not affect our enjoyment. Restaurant looked over River Ribble and the view was lovely. Food excellent and served promptly. I had requested a ground floor room with shower for elderly relative and the Hotel took the time to contact me before our stay to say bedroom was on first floor but there was a lift and asked if I was ok with that. Breakfast really nice and a lovely choice. Will definately stay here again if travelling again.

Reviewed by
Bruce H

From Dunfermline, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Totally Dequate accommodation with pleasant and professional staff
Very good

Reviewed by
S Mackay

From Linlithgow, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tickled trout experience.
The party consisted of two families with young children. The hotel could not have been more helpful, once we were there and it was well set up for dealing with youngsters. Our only disappointment was that we asked three times by phone directly with the hotel,for the two rooms to be next to one another, so one person could stay on duty and use a child monitor for the second room. This would enable the rest to have a meal in the restaurant. Despite assuring me that this had been noted on the computer, on arrival we were given rooms on separate floors. The best deal was two rooms separated by two fire doors and 28 rooms apart. Please could the hotel respond to this. It was a very disappointing aspect in what was a lovely hotel in all other aspects.

Reviewed by
Jocelyn Hanrahan

From Sutton Coldfield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tickled Pink!
This hotel is perfectly situated for those travelling north or south, just off Junction 31 of the M6. Ample free car parking. The rooms are comfortable and mine was quiet, well appointed, spotlessly clean and had a pleasant view over the River Ribble. The public areas are bright and spacious and the restaurant serves a pretty good range of dishes, although service can be patchy. Excellent breakfast. Overall, a great hotel in a convenient location.

Reviewed by
Howard W

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Breakfast mayhem
I stayed with my daughter overnight and included breakfast in our booking. I have to say it was the worst breakfast I have ever had in a hotel!!! Appalling service and tepid food which was not worth the wait. Buffet section was not replenished tables weren't cleared and breakfast orders were not correct . Having to ask for everything took ages and we were not able to eat together as food came at different times. Would definitely not eat here again.

Reviewed by
lesley inwood

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel
Lovely hotel, very clean room but bathroom could of done with some updating. not much choice in the restaurant so we decided to eat elsewhere.

Reviewed by
C Hills

From Rochester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An excellent overnight stop
I was carrying frozen food and the kitchen staff kept it frozen in the hotel freezer overnight. I could not have had better attention.

Reviewed by
Moir C

From Blairgowrie, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next