No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Preston New Road,Samlesbury , Preston, PR5 0UJ
You'll find the four-star Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel situated in an extremely convenient location on the outskirts of Preston, just 2 minutes from junction 31 of the M6 and overlooking the banks of the River Ribble. The hotel has recently completed a £500k refurbishment to transform its ground floor, including brand new reception, Costa Coffee lounge offering free, unlimited WiFi access and introduction of a Scottish Steak Club restaurant, the signature grill of Macdonald Hotels & Resorts. The Scottish Steak Club menu has been carefully crafted using fresh, seasonal produce and the best ingredients that we can source, including 21-day aged Aberdeen Angus beef. It is our dedication to serving quality food that makes us different.

Designed to appeal to both leisure and business guests travelling up and down the M6, Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel is within easy reach of Blackpool, Liverpool, Manchester, the Trafford Centre and the Lake District National Park and offers free parking for all guests.

Alongside our 98 extremely comfortable, airy and spacious bedrooms, many of which have also received a soft refurbishment, we have a range of modern meeting rooms, ideal for board meetings, training days and strategy conferences. For those looking to meet quickly over coffee our brand new lounge booths give you the privacy your meeting needs with Costa coffee readily available to you.

Picture of Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel, Preston at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since April 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 64 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
70% recommended this accommodation to a friend 73% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tickled trout treat
very much enjoyed our breif stay at The Tickled Trout. Had a front room,which was surprisingly quiet despite close proximity of M6.When we opened the window we heard the roar of traffic but it was so constant it did not disturb us!

Reviewed by
P Martin

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very helpful staff made this lovely hotel worth a visit

Reviewed by
M Serrell

From Kidderminster, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Customer service
Food quality very good, but had to wait one and half hours for meal in the evening to arrive. In the morning, ordered coffee and croissants and again 45mins to an hour before croissants arrived so our coffee had gone cold. Speed of service very poor, not the waitresses but the kitchen.

Reviewed by
Moira H

From Beith, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Hotel
Well located for ease of access to motorway.
Staff lovely, room very clean and comfortable.

Reviewed by
S Miller

From Bonnyrigg, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A night on the Ribble
Very pleasant stay with friendly staff and a great room at a good price. So much better value than staying in a city.

Reviewed by
Chris B

From Ulverston, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Highly Recommended
I booked this hotel as I was working in the area and could not fault it (except for a problem with the water in the morning, which was beyond the control of the hotel). Due to working late, I did not arrive until 9pm. The check-in went smoothly, I went up to my room, which was faultless and had everything I needed. I ordered room service, which I was told would take around 20 minutes, before showering. No sooner had I got out of the shower and into my pyjamas when my room service arrived. The fillet steak and home cooked chips were amazing, never have a had a steak so tender and perfectly cooked. This was washed down with a large glass of wine. The bed was very comfortable, and I enjoyed the luxury of having a king size bed to myself. In the morning I was shocked that there was no water, neither from the taps or the shower, but as I had showered before bed I was happy to use the bottle of cold water in the room to rinse my face and clean my teeth. Breakfast was very nice, but I did not have time to enjoy it as I would have liked, as I was rushing off to work. I would gladly stay here again, in fact I look forward to the next time my work takes me to Preston so I can enjoy what The Tickled Trout has to offer yet again.

Reviewed by
Sarah M

From Widnes, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Return visit after 37 years
Decided to stop at the Tickled Trout to break the journey to Penrith, having stayed there some 37 years ago and enjoyed it then. Was not disappointed, the hotel was clean and up to date with
lovely finishes. The staff were delightful, and our meal in the hotel was delicious!! Will, I am sure
return again some day.

Reviewed by
vaughan williams

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stop off on way to Scotland
We have used this hotel every November for the last five years. It has recently been updated and is very comfortable and more modern, especially in the restaraunt. Food and service is very good, excellent breakfast. Will definitely be back.

Reviewed by
P Jackett

From Swansea, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place!
Outstanding customer service, great food and room was clean, spacious and well equipped.

Reviewed by
S Jones

From Colwyn Bay, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was excellent with good superb facilities.

Reviewed by
Amer Janjua

From Blackburn, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next