No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Preston New Road,Samlesbury , Preston, PR5 0UJ
You'll find the four-star Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel situated in an extremely convenient location on the outskirts of Preston, just 2 minutes from junction 31 of the M6 and overlooking the banks of the River Ribble. The hotel has recently completed a £500k refurbishment to transform its ground floor, including brand new reception, Costa Coffee lounge offering free, unlimited WiFi access and introduction of a Scottish Steak Club restaurant, the signature grill of Macdonald Hotels & Resorts. The Scottish Steak Club menu has been carefully crafted using fresh, seasonal produce and the best ingredients that we can source, including 21-day aged Aberdeen Angus beef. It is our dedication to serving quality food that makes us different.

Designed to appeal to both leisure and business guests travelling up and down the M6, Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel is within easy reach of Blackpool, Liverpool, Manchester, the Trafford Centre and the Lake District National Park and offers free parking for all guests.

Alongside our 98 extremely comfortable, airy and spacious bedrooms, many of which have also received a soft refurbishment, we have a range of modern meeting rooms, ideal for board meetings, training days and strategy conferences. For those looking to meet quickly over coffee our brand new lounge booths give you the privacy your meeting needs with Costa coffee readily available to you.

Picture of Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel, Preston at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 103 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
71% recommended this accommodation to a friend 75% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good reception staff and very clean room. Food good and reasonably price . Pot of tea in room bit over priced good trip!

Reviewed by
Eileen J

From Dorchester, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Vegetarians beware!
I am not in the habit of complaining, so this is a serious comment. The restaurant menu had only one vegetarian option. When I raised this with the waitress she just offered me something from the bar menu (two options). Two staff asked about my stay. When I commented on my concerns, both of them said they had raised the issue with managers but nothing had happened. Why bother with feedback if the hotel doesn't take any notice? This was not a four-star experience.

Reviewed by
Chris J

From Durham, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly staff
This hotel was perfectly suited for us while on a very long car journey, right on m6, perfect for a stopover.
Hotel was what I would expect from a McDonalds Hotel, smart and clean, notably though, staff were very friendly and welcoming.
Would recommend.

Reviewed by
Lynn P

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value
After a 6 hour drive the reception we got when booking in was nothing short of perfect. Attentive and professional with a room upgrade and a glass of wine on the house it was a pity that we were too tired to visit the bar.
Breakfast was very good as well. All in all a very good experience.

Reviewed by
m anley

From St Neots, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location just off the M6. Quiet room.
Good meal in the restaurant, however charged for the wrong food and the computer pricing was to blame. Chech your bill.

Reviewed by
A Sinclair

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Christmas traveling with dog
Delighted the hotel was so dog friendly and convenient for M6 for journey up to Scotland.very good evening meal.

Reviewed by
Jean S

From Axminster, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tickled Trout weekend
All good, for us the best hotel choice in the area. Has been re-furbished very well, the room was really nice overlooking the River (if a bit of a way from reception!). Public areas (bar / reception / restaurant) all welcoming and comfortable. Breakfast had a very good choice. All staff very pleasant, service very good. A good experience all round, we'll definitely use again when next in the area.

Reviewed by
steve w

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good value for money
Arrived to a very friendly welcome from the receptionist. Booked with late rooms 2 days before arrival and was delighted with the price. Excellent location if travelling as very close to the m6 motorway

Reviewed by
Y Lewis

From Inverness, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel

Reviewed by
Daniel H

From Chorley, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable and Convenient Hotel
Hotel is in a great location just off the M6.
The staff are very professional, courteous and welcoming and nothing was too much trouble.
My room was comfortable with beautiful views over the river.
The restaurant was pleasant with exceptionally helpful staff however I was disappointed that the vegetarian menu is so limited.

Reviewed by
Lynn D

From Bridgend, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next