You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel

4

Preston New Road,Samlesbury, Preston, PR5 0UJ

Price From 189.36 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (78)

78% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Chris Metcalfe

  • August 2016

Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel

Good hotel.

I would stay there again, friendly staff and good food.

  • Christine B

  • August 2016

Welcome Accommodation

Friendly staff, excellent dinner.

  • Dave Jackson

  • August 2016

Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel

Nice stay.

  • Richard H

  • July 2016

Poor customer service, Scold hazard in Shower, Poor access to Hotel

Ok here goes...

Hotel is at Jn31 of the M6... which the person we phoned had to look-up even though they were actually based in the Hotel... because of the Road structure, while you can see the Hotel, you have to drive 2 miles to turn round and be safe to enter the hotel car park. Not a lot that you can do about the roads but perhaps a mention. Got to the Hotel about 11.30pm and the computers were down so there was quite a bit of faffing about but eventually got there. Not too bad a night's sleep, room was adequate except that the Shower was lethal... ran shower while not in it... scolding hot... turned down to the minimum and it failed to get much cooler, nearly gave up but it then got cold... so raised the temperature a little... still quite cold... so started to suffer the shower rather than enjoy. Soaped up and without any loss in power or adjustment it went to scolding hot while i was in it (not for long!)... ended up rinsing in the bath. Breakfast... note it is a continental breakfast that costs £19 more than room only on Laterooms but do be vigilant if looking at Mobile Web as it's not obvious... being a hotel and not a travelodge I would have expected a Full cooked breakfast but this is an additional £10 for the two of us... you know it was more the aggrevation than the cost... and I would have considered better hotels for a similar cost. Staff... hmmm... corridors are narrow but cleaning staff left trolleys almost blocking the corridor even though there were areas every so often where there trolleys could stand... good luck getting past them with a suitcase. In breakfast two staff walked directly in my path while I was walking back to my table from the buffet.. it was as though "I'm busy, don't get in my way"... what happened to customer is King and basic manners. As for checkout... disaster... 4 couples deep and one person servicing... not her fault but a management issue... I wanted to complain about the shower in our room so no one else gets scolded but we had waited 10mins (I had moved our luggage out the car in two goes and returned to find my wife in exactly the same position in the queue).... we couldn't wait... so I put the key and card on the desk and expressed everyone's opinion that they needed someone else to assist. It takes a lot to motivate me to write a review and individually the issues were not major (except the shower) but it was the culmination that aggrevaited me and spoilt our stay.

  • andrew s

  • July 2016

Brief business stay

Public areas much improved in recent years.

The evening meal and breakfast were both of acceptable quality and generally in line with what I would expect from this type of hotel (if rather expensive). Evening service was slow though, plus the red wine was too cold. Bedroom generally fine although shower cubicle could do with being freshened up (discoloured grout and sealant).

  • Catherine H

  • June 2016

Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel

Hotel room ticked all the boxes for nights stay.

  • Lorraine H

  • June 2016

Comfortable Nights Sleep

The bed is so comfy with that fresh cotton feel of the sheets and the pillows are easy on the head.

Reception staff are very friendly and you don't have to worry about housekeeping staff coming to your room too early in the morning.

  • paul G

  • May 2016

Review

Fantastic view of the lake.

Unexpected extra charge for cooked breakfast. Booked twin but got a double, however staff quickly got sorted. Pricey evening meal which was nice enough but would be cautious of eating in again

Could do with sorting out the mobility access (you need to use about 6 steps to get to lift.

  • Jonathan P

  • May 2016

Tickled Trout

Ideal stop over for us on a long journey.

Fuel plus shop and cash machine adjacent also handy. Ample car parking. Traditional style of room of good size with bath and separate shower.

  • K Robbins

  • May 2016

Very average family stay at tickled trout

Room really nice and spacious.

Breakfast - I had full English - average. My wife had Eggs Benedict whilst lovely was the smallest She had ever had - one egg with ham on half a muffin. Someone really looking after portion control a little too much.

Just expected a little more after previous macdonald stays