No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Preston New Road,Samlesbury , Preston, PR5 0UJ
You'll find the four-star Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel situated in an extremely convenient location on the outskirts of Preston, just 2 minutes from junction 31 of the M6 and overlooking the banks of the River Ribble. The hotel has recently completed a £500k refurbishment to transform its ground floor, including brand new reception, Costa Coffee lounge offering free, unlimited WiFi access and introduction of a Scottish Steak Club restaurant, the signature grill of Macdonald Hotels & Resorts. The Scottish Steak Club menu has been carefully crafted using fresh, seasonal produce and the best ingredients that we can source, including 21-day aged Aberdeen Angus beef. It is our dedication to serving quality food that makes us different.

Designed to appeal to both leisure and business guests travelling up and down the M6, Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel is within easy reach of Blackpool, Liverpool, Manchester, the Trafford Centre and the Lake District National Park and offers free parking for all guests.

Alongside our 98 extremely comfortable, airy and spacious bedrooms, many of which have also received a soft refurbishment, we have a range of modern meeting rooms, ideal for board meetings, training days and strategy conferences. For those looking to meet quickly over coffee our brand new lounge booths give you the privacy your meeting needs with Costa coffee readily available to you.

Picture of Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel, Preston at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 94 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
71% recommended this accommodation to a friend 74% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic stay
Everything about the stay was absolutely fantastic. The room wasn't huge but quite quirky & was fine for the 2 of us. Evening dinner & breakfast were superb & the staff could not have done more. Only piece of feedback would be that we would have preferred to have a movie option in the room. All in all a great stay though

Reviewed by
V Ellis

From Stockton on Tees, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Flatters to deceive
The Tickled Trout aspires to be something it isn't just yet. On check-in there were three peopel behind reception chatting together with no other customers than me and I was totally ignored - not a great first impression! I was given room 211, nice and spacious with an adjoining sitting area, but the room smells of damp which permeates everything - not a good second impression. The common areas are attractive and the food is good but a little pricey. I fail to understand why you go to the bar, pay for your drink then have to go and sit down waiting for it to be delivered - why can't you have it there and then?
Having said this, the bed was exceptionally comfortable and the food good and tasty. Not bad value overall, but several things still need to be put right.

Reviewed by
R Fenton-Jones

From Cirencester, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Motorway motel with excellent food
This is a Motel near the M6 Preston North exit which provides reasonable quality rooms, excellent service and very high quality food. If you just eat the breakfast it is good value - dinner can be expensive but is high quality.

Reviewed by
Richard Quicke

From Hook, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room Temperature
The Hotel is well worth a visit, the refurbishment that has been carried out is very nice. The inclusion of a Costa coffee shop is a really nice touch. The only gripes we had are as follows:
We stayed in room 222 for one night. The weather outside was cool, the room was VERY warm. The radiator was not on, and there were no other controls to turn heating down. So we couldn't understand how the room was so warm. We slept with the window open for the night, to the sound of the nearby motorway. We did not speak to reception that evening, just put up with it.
On check out we mentioned it to the young lady on receptionship about the issue of the heating, and she just said she was sorry we had been bothered, but never took down any further details.

Reviewed by
j gavin

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Call me to discuss 07989147744

Reviewed by
Robert F

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

stop over
First class service and close to the motorway.

Reviewed by
john goodland

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Food, clean and tidy - a great place to stop.
Great Food, clean and tidy - a great place to stop.

Reviewed by
N Warren

From Bromsgrove, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

River view
Our room had a river view - very nice watching the swans! The room was clean and adequate for our one-night needs. However, the broken window lock meant we could hear the constant noise of traffic on the very busy M6 all throughout the night; this was mentioned to the receptionist at check out and we were assured it would be addressed. All the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. The breakfast was fantastic. In all, a great stay for a great price. We would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
Jonathan M

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing
We waited 1 hour to be served with our cooked breakfast by which time some items had run out. No system in restaurant meant people served out of turn. Food mediocre. Manager handled complaint well however.
Room was well appointed but shower tepid at best.

Reviewed by
M Paterson

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Noisy, tired rooms, loud and whingey staff - overpriced food.
Not great really. Went for a weekend in an executive double room with my partner to stay near the kids scout camp. The rooms were ok but paint chipped(behind the tables and in the bathroom) and felt a bit old fashioned, broken doors on wardrobes(which I tried to fix and realised it had been broken for a long time - the carpet was the new runner for the door!), tv was below the bed height which was just annoying.
I specified a quiet room to which the concierge acknowledged...... but got us overlooking the motorway. It was a hot night so had to open the window with no air con and it was noisy.
The staff going on and off shift on Sunday were very loud to each other across the foyer and the chap seating people for breakfast was trying to tell the waitresses how to do their jobs, which they didn't appreciate and told him - in ear shot of us. I thought the food was very expensive. £5 for a chicken breast in your salad! Was glad there is a shop next door that sold nice BLTs... Car park was full on Saturday night on our return and we had to park at the far end of the car park, which is poorly lit. The girl serving us coffee in Costa was very nice and pleasant and the bed was very comfortable. I wouldn't stay here again unless it was on business and I wasn't paying.

Reviewed by
chris m

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next