No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Preston New Road,Samlesbury , Preston, PR5 0UJ
You'll find the four-star Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel situated in an extremely convenient location on the outskirts of Preston, just 2 minutes from junction 31 of the M6 and overlooking the banks of the River Ribble. The hotel has recently completed a £500k refurbishment to transform its ground floor, including brand new reception, Costa Coffee lounge offering free, unlimited WiFi access and introduction of a Scottish Steak Club restaurant, the signature grill of Macdonald Hotels & Resorts. The Scottish Steak Club menu has been carefully crafted using fresh, seasonal produce and the best ingredients that we can source, including 21-day aged Aberdeen Angus beef. It is our dedication to serving quality food that makes us different.

Designed to appeal to both leisure and business guests travelling up and down the M6, Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel is within easy reach of Blackpool, Liverpool, Manchester, the Trafford Centre and the Lake District National Park and offers free parking for all guests.

Alongside our 98 extremely comfortable, airy and spacious bedrooms, many of which have also received a soft refurbishment, we have a range of modern meeting rooms, ideal for board meetings, training days and strategy conferences. For those looking to meet quickly over coffee our brand new lounge booths give you the privacy your meeting needs with Costa coffee readily available to you.

Picture of Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel, Preston at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 74 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
70% recommended this accommodation to a friend 74% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Uncomfortable night
We stayed on Friday evening on our way to Royal Liverpool for the Open. It was a hot evening and there was no air conditioning or fan in the bedroom, therefore we had to open the 2 windows. Unfortunately this meant we had the constant noise from the traffic on the road in front of the hotel as well as the motorway. Not only that, when I awoke about 3.30 in the morning there was also the noise of the house martins chirruping away and people talking outside which made it rather difficult to get back to sleep-not a good start to my day at Hoylake! And the member of staff on the desk only said 'Thank you ' when my husband handed in the keys- no 'Have a good day' or 'Hope you have had a good stay' or even a question 'Did you have a pleasant stay'!

Reviewed by
I Lynch

From Linlithgow, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel but food let it down
We booked last minute at a very good rate and were very happy with our room and the friendly staff. The only thing that let it down was the food. We came down for breakfast at 10.45am, breakfast finished at 11am. Most of the food had been cleared from the buffet and we asked if they had closed! We were told that they were still open and shown to a table with half the cutlery missing and debris all over the floor around us. We ordered hot drinks and the girl asked if we would like cooked breakfast and we advised what we would like. The coffee stated strange so my husband left it and when the cooked breakfast came the beans were a sold blob, there was grease all over the plates and my husband had black pudding which he detests and no fried bread which he had ordered and the tomatoes weren't cooked. The whole experience left us unable to eat for most of the day. So by all means stay at this lovely hotel, but don't book breakfast!

Reviewed by
Dianne Kerr

From Johnstone, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Breakfast
On this occasion we found the breakfast not up to the normal standard, we told this was because everyone had come down late for their breakfast! We ordered scrambled eggs with our full English when it came the plate was too hot to handle but the eggs were cold. We sent them back and they were brought back a bit warmer.

Reviewed by
H Nuttall

From ely, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Impressed
Hotel has had a re-fit since last there, quality has been raised considerably and we had a short but enjoyable stay. Positioned close to the M6 it is a good stopping off point and for what I payed good value.

Reviewed by
Nicholas W

From Hook, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice Room but some issues
This is a big hotel & getting to the room involved a long walk with luggage-through a number of doors & up steps-Quite difficult for ourselves. Very comfy room & high class bathroom but shower over bath-difficult for less agile to access + no non-slip mat or other facility.
The bank of several air conditioner units immediately outside window made a lot of noise!! Could not leave window open on a very hot night either.
Food in hotel is rather expensive but is quite nice. We only had one main meal at lunch time on day of arrival .Breakfast was included in our booking, it was very nice with good choice on buffet. The 'Full English' was ok but sadly VERY greasy-fried bread black pudding inedible for that reason. Two boiled eggs exactly right & lovely. Had to request croissants & pastries which were supposed to be on buffet.

Reviewed by
Diane S

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value
This was a heavily discounted late booking and excellent value for money

Reviewed by
Peter B

From Whitby, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great accommodation very convenient location
Very impressed overall the executive room was spacious and very comfortable.

Reviewed by
E Hall

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel by the river
We enjoyed our overnight stay at the Tickled Trout. We were able to check in in plenty of time to rest, enjoying the view of the river and relax after our journey down from Scotland before heading into Preston where we had a show booked. We returned later that evening and had a nightcap in the lovely recently refurbished bar and retired to our room where we slept very well. The bed was very comfortable (although we always prefer feather pillows) and we were not disturbed by the noise from the nearby motorway as the window was extremely well sealed. We skipped breakfast (which sounded great) in favour of a lie-in and left very content at a much appreciated 11.30 departure. Some hotels make you leave at 10 which I can't stand!

Reviewed by
J Nicoll

From Edinburgh, Scotland
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What A Perfect Place!
Stayed at this super hotel for two nights and really wished we could have stayed there longer. Excellent impression as soon as we stepped into the Reception area and saw the beautifully shiny tiled floor. Very friendly and helpful staff on our arrival and we got the same attention when we were leaving there. Our room was spotlessly clean in every way. Sparkling bathroom and beautifully clean white linen on the 'oh-so-comfortable' large double bed. We had the best couple of night's sleep we've had in a long time. To top it all, we had the most glorious view of the river just outside our first-floor window and it was so lovely to get up in the morning, make a cup of tea and sit at the little table and chairs in the window and watch the swans and ducks (plus a heron!) on the river outside. We also watched a small group of cows wandering up and down the river bank opposite plus the odd cyclist speeding past in the distance. A really relaxing start to our day. We would definitely make a point of staying at this hotel if we were in the area again. Would recommend anyone to stay here and to be sure to ask for a room with a river view! You won't be disappointed.

Reviewed by
Marilyn B

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant Experience
Just a 1 night stay , reception courteous, Nice room , good breakfast , reasonable rate,

Reviewed by
michael h

From Thornton Cleveleys, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next