Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > North England > North West England > Cheshire > Shotwick Hotels > Days Hotel Chester North, formerly the Gateway to Wales Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Days Hotel Chester North, formerly the Gateway to Wales Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Welsh Road,Garden City Sealand Deeside, Chester, CH5 2HX
Formerly the Gateway to Wales hotel, the Days Hotel Chester North has a unique location on the North Wales border, with close proximity to The Deeside Industrial Park, Chester City Centre and the North Wales coast. Easy access to the M53 / M56 motorway networks means we are also ideally placed to explore the local area and beyond, with Liverpool, Manchester and The Wirral in easy reach.

All rooms have been tastefully decorated for both the business and lesiure traveller. Take advantage of the hotels well appointed leisure club which contains a swimming pool, spa pool, steam room, sauna and gymnasium.

Our restaurant & lounge offers a wide variety of food in a relaxing environment. All public areas and guest rooms have FREE WIFI access

Chester's wealth of attractions and sights are all only a short distance away from the hotel these include the Cheshire Oaks Designer outlet Village, Chester Zoo, Blue Planet Aquarium, Chester City Centre, we are also on the door step to Deeside Business Park with a number of local and national companies. Relax and enjoy "Great Value Under the Sun" at the Days Hotel Chester North.
Picture of Days Hotel Chester North, formerly the Gateway to Wales Hotel, Chester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 84 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great steam room with 70's style seating!!

Reviewed by
Andrew W

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent service
Staff really friendly. Went out of their way to help.
Basic rooms but at the prices they charge you wouldn't expect anything more.

Reviewed by
S Wood

From Tain, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hot hot hot
On entering the room, it was hot. We turned down the radiator which was on full, and used the spa facilities. The spa facilities were lovely. On returning to the room, it was still very hot. We decided to prop open the bathroom door allowing the extract fan to run constantly. We return later to find the room had cooled slightly but was still hot. The heat made uncomfortable sleeping and the open window allowed the noisy traffic to enter the room.

Reviewed by
l todd

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Days Hotel Chester North, formerly the Gateway to Wales Hotel
Great hotel value for money, claire on reception was fantastic so helpful and friendly she couldn't do enough for us.

Reviewed by
L Shaw

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

OKAY
Food was very good and we had breakfast and evening meal great choice as well , staff were excellent very helpful , attentive and pleasant , facilities very good and proper heating in the rooms with radiators best way of keeping warm , location brilliant only concern room and bathroom could do with updating and a touch up

Reviewed by
mark n

From Southport, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bad communication
Room was clean tidy and appropriate however our reason for booking this hotel was sothe kids could use the swimming pool on arrival we were informed the pool ceiling had begun to fall down so pool was being repaired and had apparently been closed for several days prior your arrival on expressing my disappointment on not being informed of this prior to arrival we were given free breakfast the following morning which also wAsnt the greatest and were told e would be contacted by the hotel manager regarding a possible discount or part refund. This is quite enfuriating as still heard nothing from hotel about this and with out a doubt if I'd been informed of pool closure I would definately have cancelled and used a more family friendly hotel.

Reviewed by
M Johnston

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Noisy road
Room was not very clean and noise from busy road all night, there was mold on the bathroom ceiling and the whole room needed to be repainted. Beds were very uncomfortable only stayed one night and would not of stayed any longer.

Reviewed by
D lewis

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel was very good for price. It was a shame pool was closed due to ceiling falling in.

Reviewed by
J Lee

From Stanley, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location, great food, value for money
Hotel is a bit tired around the edges & sadly the pool was closed for the duration of our stay due to problems with the roof, but accommodation was clean & tidy, food was excellent & staff were very friendly & helpful. Room was fairly basic, but adequate for our needs - only suggestion would be for the hotel to place a mirror above the desk as there is no mirror next to a socket for hair drying. The hotel is on a main road which may be a problem for some people who are not used to sleeping with the noise of traffic going by. Chester is easily accessible, we used the park & ride which was about 4 miles
from the hotel & cost us £2 each (make sure you have correct money for the machine at the park & ride car park), the hotel is also only a short drive to the beaches of the North Wales coastline. Overall we enjoyed our stay at Days Hotel Chester North.

Reviewed by
Lynn H

From Loughborough, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

worth a visit
hotel decor is a little dated but clean and quite bright, the staff were very good and polite, the breakfast was excellent couldn't fault it in any way - evening meals not so good OK if you don't want to go out but not great. Expect some road noise but i guess the hotel cant be held accountable for that but better windows would hep - I'd stay again

Reviewed by
david m

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next