You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - Days Hotel Chester North, formerly the Gateway to Wales Hotel

3

Welsh Road,Garden City Sealand Deeside, Chester, CH5 2HX

Price From 118.44 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (43)

74% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • A Courtney

  • May 2016

Cheap, and you can tell

Accommodation was ok, room was adequate, but not particularly clean.

Bathroom looked liked it might have been cleaned a few days before my stay. Dining area was a little 'tired' and the seats were dirty; both ground in grime and fresh food crumbs from the previous occupants. Food was edible, but was clearly microwave meals. Breakfast was very good though, for the money. Help yourself buffet, both continental and cooked options.

This is an ok place to stay if you just want somewhere to sleep for one night after arriving late, and then heading off first thing next morning.

  • MARK D

  • April 2016

great value clean rooms

All great, Pool even better after a long day.

  • L Norris

  • April 2016

Business Trip / Overnight stay

I booked the room for a business trip and arrived at the hotel at 9.15pm.

The restaurant was closed, but a limited menu was on offer (pizza's) but I didn't order any of the food. Breakfast was buffet style and very busy due to many families staying at the hotel (Easter holidays). Although I only had tea and toast, there appeared to be a fair selection of hot food on offer.

  • kate s

  • December 2015

Not bad!

Sat Nav's don't seem to like the hotel postcode and doesn't take you to where the hotel is located.

The hotel should really update it's website explaining a better postcode to use when getting there by sat nav. We arrived 25 mins before check in which we thought the receptionist may have let us check in even if we couldn't go to the room just yet. She explained we couldn't check in until the check in time (25 mins away!) when we asked if we could at least leave our bags she looked shocked that we asked, which i didn't think was an unreasonable request. The room was basic but clean. Later when we asked if we could book a taxi to take us into the city centre we were advised there was a wait time of 2 hours for taxis. The receptionist was really helpful though and when a cancellation came a long she booked it for us straight away which was great customer service.

The room was supposed to have a hair dryer which was missing. The receptionist did bring one up to the room for us though. There was also a pool at the hotel however when we arrived we were told there were swimming lessons taking place 8 to 10 am so we couldn't use at these times, check out time was 11 so didn't really give us time to use this facility. Overall the hotel wasn't bad but i think there is room for improvement

  • K Latham

  • November 2015

great stay

Staff really polite room was good comfy night

  • Stephanie F

  • October 2015

Much nicer hotels available.

We were not impressed with the hotel, from the moment walking into reception to be greeted by a mumbling member of staff, to the room which was not as clean as possible, mould around the bath and big crumbs on the floor.

The room had an adjoining door and we were woken by their residents singing loudly at 07.00hrs. Breakfast was not included in the price and if we chose to have it the price differed on the different days.

  • p connell

  • September 2015

Days Hotel Chester North, formerly the Gateway to Wales Hotel

unfortunately we were disturbed by a child shouting on the landing outside our bedroom,the door next to our bedroom at times was allowed to bang shut,and a workman decided to use a chainsaw to cut some small trees down in the field under the bedroom,thair was no facility to make a cup of tea in the bedroom which is standard i believe in most premier inns.other than that the room was comfortable and clean also a nice welcome from the young lady on reception

  • Jane Thorne

  • August 2015

Comments about our stay

I had breakfast & it was 9.30am- so it didn't finish for 30 minutes.

I asked for another croissant as all that was left was two very screwed up ones, that were all squashed.

The man serving at breakfast told me that there was no more available & didn't offer a solution of an alternative, also there was empty bowls in the cooked options that weren't topped up when we went down.

  • grace h

  • August 2015

The hotel is situated in a great place just of the motorway but the pictures of the hotel do it justice, the pool was very small, the sauna and steam room were right at the desk then lockers didnt work wasnt very clean, bed room was standard but breakfast was better

  • Hannah P

  • July 2015

Customer service great, everything else ok

We stayed for one night in a family room, there were four of us - two adults, a three year old and a one year old.

Room was a bit cramped once the sofa bed and travel cot were up and the room was a bit too warm and had a funny, stale smoke smell - both issues were helped by having the window opened but as the room was right next to the main road it was a bit noisy. Breakfast was ok, good choice of cereals, bread etc but the cooked breakfast (especially the sausages!) was quite salty and not really appropriate for little ones. Our three year old loved the pool and the staff were very friendly, helpful and gave great advice on how to get in to Chester - bus services run from right outside the hotel every 20mins or so and take you in to the centre.